220521 User submitted reviews online!!
Colfax Recreation Area RV Park & Campground was rated 10 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (318) 627-2640
CGID9849

Colfax Recreation Area RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   8   10   9   10   9   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$32
This is a real gem of a park operated by the Red River Water Commission. The park is about 12 years old and is in excellent shape. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Usually campground Wi-Fi systems don't work too well; this free setup worked like a champ. The showers were clean and the bathhouse has a small laundry room with a free washer and dryer. If interested, you can walk out to Lock and Dam #3 Control House, knock on the door and the friendly folks inside will give you a tour of the local control room. $32 is perhaps a bit on the high side, but the park does honor the Golden Age Pass for half-price; $16 is a great deal for a campground of this caliber. It's a popular spot so reservations are recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$12
Excellent park. Long, level concrete sites, good hook ups, nicely landscaped, and just about the friendliest folks we've ever met running the park. No cable TV but good antenna reception. Wi fi ok. Lots of trails for walking and biking. Very nice playground for young children, but teens might be bored unless they like to fish. There is even a new free washer dryer for campers to use. Grocery store in town is nice but there is only one cafe in town, and it's not open for breakfast. Only down side was a terrible ant problem, which the park was spraying for every day we were there, but we did leave with an infestation in our RV. We loved the park and will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$24
We called ahead and made reservations based on previous reviews, and we were very pleased. Courteous staff, clean park/restrooms/showers, and like-new facilities including lighted boat ramp and slips, and fish cleaning station. We stayed for a month and it suited us just fine, but there is only 1 place to eat or buy groceries in Colfax and you'll have to go to Alexandria if you want more selection (30 minutes away). The trees are not mature, so don't plan on shade in the summer. We will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$24
Ditto what everyone said before me. This was a great stay for us. We are big on COE parks and this park is equal if not better. The grounds were clean and manicured very well. The restrooms were spotless and the heaters in the men's room were very warm for a December evening. This is a very well planned and constructed park. You will not be disappointed. The park attendant made a special trip to our site to bring a Park and Red River Rec area brochure. Nice walk down to the COE office at the Red River Lock and Dam. Travelers note: DO NOT take Louisiana Highway 8 between Leesville and IH49 Exit 103. This road is not an RV friendly route. Go through Alexandria or take another route. Avoid La. 8. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Wow, what an awesome find in the middle of nowhere! Needed a place to stay while traveling on Highway 49. Was a little concerned that this park was 11 miles from the highway, but WOW! it was totally worth it! This is a state run camp and was totally clean and professionally run. Sites had at least 100' of space between them! BIg RIG FRIENDLY! Lawns were maintained very well. Paved driveways and pads. Excellent Wi-Fi. Excellent TV reception. Super clean restrooms and laundry room. The manager was very friendly and wanted to be completely sure we enjoyed our stay. I would have given it a 10+ if it had a pool, but other than that it was PERFECT! A gem of a find! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$24
This is a gem of a place, well maintained and set in lovely landscaped grounds, overlooking the Red River, with lots of trees. Very quiet, even on weekends, with a friendly and helpful staff. Wide level sites, lots of space between RV's, clean restrooms, picnic table on a concrete pad, fire ring, grill, only 25 sites, all 10x65 and back in, full hook up. This is not the place to be if you want shops and restaurants etc. This is a place to chill out, and relax. There is a small grocery store in town. No WiFi signal at our site, other than that this place is a 10/10. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$24
This park is still a very "young" RV park. The trees are still rather small, but growing very nicely. The Bathrooms were immaculate and warm, being that it was very cool the weekend we were here. There are only 25 sites here, which is nice because you are not on top of each other. Wi-Fi was slow, the playground is really nice for young children and very peaceful. A little off the beaten path, but worth it. The small town of Colfax is pretty much dried up other than a good grocery store and Dollar General. The park is gated and the employees were top-notch! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
Great RV park. Well maintained, lots of grass, pads are paved, basically level, with good hook ups. Quiet! Location is a bit out of the way, but worth the extra time. Will definitely be back. Plenty of room for a 40 M/H and a towed. Shade trees will be an added plus in years to come. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$12
Wonderful park with big spaces. We have been camping for over 40 years and this is one of the best parks we have ever seen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
We had a good time in Colfax. The staff was friendly and the area very clean. Its a great place to go to for fishing and or boating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$12
This park is great. The only thing is that it is a ways from things you want to see and do but I don't hold that against them. Level sites, full hookups, 50 amp, free washer and dryer, etc. Staff is very friendly and helpful. If you are going to spend any time in the Alexandria or Natchitoches area this is the place to stay without a doubt. Plenty of room between the sites. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$12
Though we stayed here only one night, I would definitely recommend this RV campground. Everyone was so very helpful, kind, and knowledgeable. Sites are level and very spacious as well as beautifully maintained. Laundromat was awesome. Would stay here again anytime on our way east. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
We traveled in a toy hauler and brought our 1500 Gold Wing. It was easy to unload and load back without being in the road. The park is fairly new, so the trees are small. Shade is at a minimum. There is a nice building that can be reserved for parties. Someone was having a HS class reunion while we where there. Water level was low, so the boat ramp and pier were closed. We enjoyed riding in the area on the motorcycle. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$18
Driving to the Colfax Corp park makes you wonder, you are so far in the boondocks. Then you see the park, what a surprise! Easy back in sites, each one large and paved with HUGE grassy areas all around, a nice concrete pad, and all the hookups! Free Wi-Fi, free showers, free laundry. Great place to stay for a few days to relax (and fish, if that is your thing) but bring your own night life, it's way in the country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com