206609 User submitted reviews online!!
Caballo Lake RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (575) 743-0502
CGID9891

Caballo Lake RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
24
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   10   8   7   10   8   9   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$15
Very small park but the clean and the price is right $15.00 a night plus electric which was minimal. Happy hour every day and the owner is so nice and inviting. Our rig is pretty big so it was barely able to fit in the spaces. Couldn't find a bath or shower room, So maybe isn't one. We were in and out but would stop again, the area is beautiful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$15
This is a very nice campground, not far off the interstate and easy to access. Quiet, no trains. It is such a nice place to stay. Gravel sites but level and nice. Picnic tables at every site. The service was 30 and 50 amps, water & sewer, but electric is extra. You pay $15.00 per night plus 12 cents for electric per kilowatt. The best part about this campground is the owner. She is very nice and loves to visit and make your stay a nice one. We will return to this campground if we are in the area again - definitely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$15
Big lots, clean and neat all over; very good WIFI, nice view of the lake & mountain; owner is very nice and helpful. We would like to come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$15
This is a great little campground, not far off the interstate and easy to access. The best part about this campground is Lake Caballo and the mountains. Site was level dirt with plenty of room for slides and awning, picnic table and divided from neighbors by rocks. Some trees are growing but don't provide much shade yet. The service was 50 amps, water & sewer but electric is extra. Verizon cell and hotspot were strong and satellite was good. I couldn't pull in any local stations via the antenna. There are no public services, bathroom, shower, laundry and no other amenities. The owner hosts a cocktail hour every night, BYOB and she supplies the snacks. CJ is friendly and helpful. I would rate this campground higher if public services were available. I will return to this campground if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$15
In general this is a nice park close to Caballo Lake (about half mile to the lake through BLM land). It’s very basic, full hook-ups, all pull-through sites, free Wi-Fi (which works) and it is clean and well-maintained. There are no facilities at all. No restrooms, etc. The owner is lovely and has a happy hour every night. You pay for electric, even the daily rate, which will run about $1-$2, depending on use. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$15
We have camped here last fall and came back because it is such a nice place to stay. Gravel sites but level and nice. Picnic tables at every site. View of Caballo Lake and nice walk down to the water. We walk our dogs down to the lake too! At 4:30 every day is a happy hour if you choose to join and bring a snack if so inclined. We visit and enjoy the sunset on the mountain above Caballo Lake every evening at Happy Hour. No problem with electric, water or sewer all in great working condition. Small park just north of the Caballo State Park entrance. The owner and very nice and loves to visit and make your stay a nice one. They have no laundry, pool etc, but it is a very relaxing place to stop and stay. Can handle big rigs as we are 42 and pulling a truck. We disconnect and park next to rig. We go into town and relax at the hot springs or eat some of the best Mexican food in town that you will ever get. You pay 12 cents for electric per kwh plus the rate of $15.00 per night. NO big deal as it is still a bargain. Owner fixed Easter dinner and invited all of us to dinner at her expense this Easter. Great meal, great owner! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$15
We decided to come here because of previous reviews. We were certainly not disappointed. i had called ahead to make sure a site was available. When we got there the manager was waiting outside to welcome us. its a clean park with gravel lots. full hookup, hydro is extra. The view of the lake and mountains is great. 4.30 is happy hour, BYOB, but the hostess provided stuffed peppers. internet is the best we've had. All the expensive parks we've been to internet was terrible. We would most certainly come back here. A walk to the lake is nice as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$15
Small, quiet, clean, great wifi, good cell phone. Mostly long term friendly people. Mild road noise outside, no noise inside. Level sites. Price is + electricity. $150/month + elect. Typical gravel sites with picnic table. No bathrooms or laundry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$15
Very nice, small, pretty RV park. Clean. Nice wide pull-through spots. Friendly host; well managed. View of Lake Caballo in distance; and path to walk to the lake, but would take more time than we had. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$15
Great place to stop/stay along I-25. Very well-maintained and well-priced. This CG does NOT have toilets or showers, so you have to be self-contained. Owner/manager is very friendly and helpful. Lots of coyotes singing at night, but otherwise very quiet. I took a hike down to the lakeside. A great place for a campfire and photo op. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
It is a nice, quiet little park. There is a great owner/host. There are no amenities to speak of, other than quail, doves and other birds, but a nice view. The owner hosts a happy hour and provides lots of info of the surrounding area. It is centrally located to a number of interesting areas. You can't beat it for the price. For some reason all parks in the area seem to be similarly priced. In most areas this would be a $25-30 per night park and they probably wouldn't be as well maintained. The sites are very roomy, which is unusual for parks in this price range. Due to the sharp angle of entry from the south, I would recommend entering from the north, i.e. park is on the east side of the road. In other words, take exit 63 off I-25 and go south vs taking exit 59 and going north. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
We'll echo what others have said - this is a great little park in an area that doesn't offer a lot in the way of quality stays. Nicely landscaped with some trees and shrubbery, the 50A pull-thru sites are wide and fairly level, but a bit short to keep your tow connected. Quiet and dark at night, it's far enough from the interstate to avoid the road noise, but only one mile for access. The host is extremely friendly and will go out of his way to make your stay pleasant. Very informal - no one stays in the house/office, so check in at the "camp host" trailer or call ahead. We had a great stay and will stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$15
Very nice host is very helpful and wants to make sure things run smoothly. This campground is clean and there are lots of places to walk (out to the lake). Sites are pretty level, electricity and water were good. Wi-Fi worked as did our Verizon air card. Beautiful, quiet location. For $15/night, plus electricity, this is a great deal! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
We love this park! The entire park is immaculate, the sites are very large and level, and everyone in the park was friendly. We ended up staying for 3 weeks. There are many great day trips that are easily accessible from this park: ghost towns, quaint towns with wonderful restaurants and unique shops, beautiful rides, historic sites, etc. We will stay here whenever we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$15
Nice stop on I-25 just north of Hatch. Rate is $15 plus electricity. Sites are a little unlevel. It was okay for one night. Wanted to stay at the state park nearby, but their water pump was inoperable. Verizon worked well here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
Out of all the campgrounds we visited in the area, this was the best. It's obvious that the owner takes great pride in maintaining the property and we were immediately impressed with the cleanliness and, more importantly, feeling of safety. Sites are spacious and meticulously clean. Would highly recommend for an overnight or long term stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
This is a surprisingly nice small park in a rather barren area of New Mexico. It overlooks the Lake Caballo reservoir, impounding the Rio Grande River, in the south central part of the state. While there are few amenities, no pool or spa, no bathrooms or showers, and only 1/3 of the sites have full hookups with another 1/3 having water and electric, the balance are dry camping sites. The friendly owner/manager graciously offers her living room and covered patio as a gathering point for campers and manages to keep the park clean and immaculately maintained. Verizon cell phone and air card service is good and the campground Wi-Fi works quite well, best of all, it’s free. There are a few sparse trees but most sites are satellite friendly. A few miles south is the Town of Hatch which seems to be the Chili Capital of the West, to the North is the interesting Town of Truth or Consequences, a small town named for the old Ralph Edwards radio/TV show. We will stop here again whenever we are in the area if only to visit with the very charming and helpful owner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
Nice clean small park. Owner/manager keeps it spotless. Easy to be sociable. Great views. Lake is a bit of a hike, and the water was low. But thousands of Sand Hill Cranes were wintering there. No bath/shower house. Make sure you go past the State Park to the smiley face flag. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
Wide sites; very nice management; easy to find; lovely country. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com