206518 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Norman Motor Coach Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (704) 489-6033
CGID9897

Lake Norman Motor Coach Resort

Camp Information
Sites
58
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   8   6   7   9   9   10   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$65
Stopped here for one night. Most sites have view of lake, park both the car and MH on concrete pads, good utilities. The onsite management is great, helpful and assists with getting in and out of the sites. Would stop again if in the area. Price was more than we normally pay, but one of the better sites we have had on our trip to and from New England. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$50
When we arrived at the park, we were created by a lovely woman whom was the manager. She took us to our site by golf cart to I sure it was adequate. Which it was. She also took is around the small but beautiful park. The bathrooms were clean, recently updated, and handicap accessible; as were the showers. She even helped us back into our site. The site was on the small side but well manicured. Site was mostly well kept grass. You park on a concrete slab which is level. The 30 and 50 amp service was flawless. As was the water and cable. Wi-Fi worked at all sites with a strong signal. Fires are permitted with a fireplace which they do not supply. There is a marina with slips and pontoon boats available for rent. There is also a boat ramp. The rentals were much cheaper than the competition. Small fee for the ramp. Kayaks are available and complimentary. Overlooking the marina is a large deck with The RV Bar on it. Open during the Summer Months. Cannot give an opinion on the bar as it was closed. However, the deck is a nice and quiet place to sit and read or relax. No trees to offer shade at any of the sites. Laundry room is open 24/7 and is clean. 2 washers and 2 dryers which are fairly new. Not a bad size room considering the size of the park. We have been to larger parks with the same size laundry room. Also propane and ice is available for sale there. Very safe park as well. It is gated with a card access gate. It is always closed. The park is located on NC-150. Which is convenient if you are visiting the Mooresville area as we were. Less than 10 minutes to the shopping area. Road noise was not a factor for us. Very few vehicles at night. Our site was close to the road. In all, a very friendly, clean, and well run park. Manager could not be more helpful. I would not recommend this park to families with small children . Best for couples, big rig friendly, over night stays, or long term stays. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$50
Staff friendliness and assistance was top-notch at this park. They helped with disconnecting my car and then gave me a tour of the facilities after guiding me to my site and helping me park! Road noise is very loud at the lower-priced sites where we stayed, which are next to highway 150. Spacing between sites is quite limited, although there is room to park cars between units. The sites are concrete and level, but my jacks came down on the edge of the concrete pad since they are "u-shaped" in the area under the coach. Lots of concrete and no trees made for a hot stay when we were there. All sites have picnic tables and full hookups, water and power are strong, cable and Wi-Fi are included. The bathrooms are beautiful and sparkling clean with nice showers. There are 2 washers and 2 dryers in the small but clean laundry room. The open-air beer and wine bar overlooks the lake and is a nice place to meet others. There are no walking trails, unfortunately. Easy access to nearby stores and services, and larger stores can be found 9 miles east in Mooresville. This place is expensive, but the lake view is nice if you can afford it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$58
Very clean park, access is tight but they are very good directing you into your space. If it would have been warmer they have an outside cabana/bar that would be nice for meeting other campers and enjoying the lake view. Other than the road noise, it is a nice facility to stay at and was convenient location for NASCAR facility touring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$50
The view of the lake is lovely. The sites are very tight and difficult to enter and exit. The bathrooms are very nice. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The cable is limited with no ESPN in NASCAR country: Wi-Fi is spotty. There is no playground, but plenty of room for dogs. For a park that bills itself as a "Resort", it was full of day workers in small, older units. Parking is very limited. We found it overpriced for the space and amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$65
This could be a nice resort; however, the developers put too many sites into too small an area. The sites are small, close together and there is no turning or maneuvering room within the resort. We had to drive in and back out. There are three levels to the resort. The upper level had a bad sewer smell. The road to the bottom level, which is lake front sites, would cause most larger rigs to bottom out. Be sure to look first before you accept a site down there. The view of Lake Norman is very nice and the Wi-fi worked well. We had a 50 amp hookup and the AC was good. As others have said, it seems like a lot of money for what they offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$48
Real nice place, had view of lake. Would have gave it a 10 but pricey for that time of year. Want $60 a day in summer. Always clean but nothing to do, will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$55
This is a very beautiful campground, the views are great. The management is very friendly too. The only minus about this park is how steep and narrow the interior roads are. We did not drag down the slope, but we did see many gouges in the road from RVs that must have dragged before. Lots can be purchased starting at $75K, much too high compared to Lake Greenwood Motorcoach Resort, SC, which starts under $30K. Very dog friendly. Fenced dog area. Also open field/hill for for dogs. Bags to pick up after dogs are the best. Dogs are also allowed to swim in the lake, although the access shore is muddy. Pontoon boats are $200/day. Overall very nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$60
Best campground in Carolinas! We stayed lake front in a 43' Motorhome. No issues getting in or out. Friendly staff, easy check-n, escorted to our site, band on July 2th on the large deck, Nice open air bar. Very very clean! Never seen bath rooms this nice at any campground, granite counters/auto flush. Will definitely return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$60
As others have said, this park is way overpriced. All sites are very small and mostly concrete. One way in one way out. No turn around. Have to unhook your car at the gate and back up to turn around. Like camping in a parking lot with hook ups and a view. We will NOT go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$60
This is a very nice motor coach resort that sits on the banks of Lake Norman. The staff is friendly and live onsite, so there is always someone available. There is 24-hr. gated security. The restrooms are immaculate and beautiful, with granite countertops and private shower suites. This is the second time we have stayed here, and we would definitely come back again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$55
Great RV Resort, they have a party bar (open in the summer), extremely clean restrooms and showers. The resort borders the lake and has three levels with some sites on the lake, but all with great views. One problem is the access to and from some of the sites has potential drag spots for longer motorhomes and 5th wheels. We stayed in site 15 on the upper level just inside the gate and had no problem getting in the site with our 40' Endeavor. Be sure to ask for a level entry site if you need it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$60
This park is way over priced for what it is. The sites are close, you have to drive down a hill to reach the lake sites. There is no turn around anywhere. One way in and one way out. I am sure some of the sites you will have to back out of. The price of $60 bucks is way to much. If you have a big rig, stay away. The only good thing I can say is the guy at the gate is really helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
First camping experience as an adult, making review non-competitive. Easy access of major highway, good directional signage. Large, well planned check-in area. Lone attendant guided me into back-in site on upper, least expensive level and assisted hooking up lines. Received one free night through in-house promotion. Each power tower featured a sufficient night lite eliminating need to use outdoor lighting. Sites are nicely manicured, and trash is picked up each morning. My 32 footer was smallest unit in park but I felt I was treated as an equal to the mega coaches also there. In fact, my neighbor in a 42 foot 10-wheeler talked with me at length several times offering much needed advice and guidance! I'd rate this park a ten if it had incorporated shade trees into its design. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
I enjoyed our stay and the facility was very clean and people friendly this past weekend. The bar was not open when we were there. I like the idea of the concrete pad sites and full hook-ups including cable. One concern I have is there are no trees, so my RV was in the direct sun and the HVAC ran the entire time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$55
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay over the 4th of July weekend. I had a lake view site on tier 3 and a beautiful sunset every evening. The staff is friendly and helpful. I especially liked the RV Bar which gave us a chance to socialize with others staying at the resort and they had live music 2 days. Having lakeside access allowed us to use our kayaks and do a little fishing. The reasons I don't give it a 10: swimming area in the lake is kind of small and I would have liked it to be in a little deeper area where you can't touch the mucky bottom. Also there is no shade relief when it is hot. Those reasons are not enough to keep me from returning again in the near future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
No shade, dirty restrooms, one shower for entire park. Definitely not for "real camping" but for those in really expensive "big rigs" and did not make us feel welcome at all. While we were out one afternoon, a storm came up and blew our picnic table tent across the way. We were threatened by a person there that we better secure our items or we would be getting a bill in the mail for damages ensued to other campers. Staff not friendly or helpful. We would not stay here ever again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
You will not find a nicer RV campground facility within 50+ miles of Charlotte! No exceptions! Right on Lake Norman (literally), spacious sites, very well manicured, clean facilities, nearly every site has a lake view, RV bar, and a management team that is as professional and "anything we can do for you" as you will ever meet. I RV seasonally and LNMCR meets the standard for "RV RESORT" where so many fall embarrassingly short of that title and expectations. It isn't the cheapest but it is the best, and only, RV Resort to stay at in the greater Charlotte area. Like everything in life, you get what you pay for and LNMCR gives you your money's worth! Sounds like a self-promotional entry here, but it is not. I have been here since late 2009 and the campground, facilities, and staff deserves, and has earned, every accolade I can write about them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$48
Wow!!! What a beautiful Resort!!! The views of part of Lake Norman are unobstructed and the sunsets are georgeous. Big rig access is a little tight, but safe and the owners provide excellent guidance to your site. Hope to return often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$45
A great place: from the checkin to checkout, the staff was very helpful. Nice to see that there are resort owners and staff that know how to treat their guests. Very clean and well keep resort. All sites are lake view. Will return when in the area. Very good restaurant right across the road. Close to many of the raceteam shops. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$55
This is one of the nicest places we have been. The fall colors at the lake were beautiful. The staff is great. We have been here twice, and will be headed here again soon. We previously stayed at Carowinds and Tom Johnson in the Charlotte area, and there is no comparison! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
Well thought out and executed new campground. It is a shame that when the economy picks up and this CG gets discovered, they may revert back to a motorcoach only facility. The management is highly responsive and I wish that it was closer so that I could use it more. The first CG that allowed a quick wash of the unit after arriving so that it can look great for the stay. Wonderful touch! I wish them all the best as we had a phenomenal stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$55
A wonderful experience! We were greeted at the Gate House by a very friendly owner and staff that understand they are in the hospitality business. A welcome package was ready upon arrival. Took less than two minutes to check-in. After check-in we were shown our site and given a tour of facilities. One of cleanest and nicest campgrounds we have ever stayed in. We stayed on a lake-front site with great views of the lake. No problem down/up the hill or entry/exit into the site. Every site has concrete pad and full hook-ups with 30/50 amps. Restrooms are very clean; worthy of five-star hotel rating: auto lights, auto flush, granite counter tops. Same for the private shower suites. Two Wi-Fi antennas. They offer pontoon, kayak, and paddle boat rentals. At $200/day, the pontoons were best rental deal in the area. Gigantic 4500 square foot deck overlooking the lake with an open-air bar. The pavilion offers a pool table, air hockey, and corn board games. A spot has been designated in the lake for swimming. It's a must stop if you're traveling near Charlotte, NC. We will certainly return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$55
This is a beautiful resort. The staff is extremely friendly, and the owner will go out of his way to make this one of the best experiences you will ever have in a campground. The facilities are clean and beautiful. They have a wonderful lakefront bar that you won't want to miss. Boat rentals are available for your enjoyment. The only negative was the fact that they did not have a pool. Even though there isn't a pool, we will go back next year. This was an overall terrific experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$55
Very friendly staff and one of the nicest places we've visited in our 11 years of RVing. Campground was very clean, with paved roads, flat level concrete pads, and full hook-ups with true 50 amp service at every site. Bath house looked like what you'd find in a 5 star hotel with granite counter tops and autoflush fixtures. Pet friendly with a gated pet park and pet stations throughout the park. Views are fantastic! Huge deck overlooking the lake with a very nice open air bar, flat screen TV and fans. We rented a pontoon boat and spent an enjoyable day on the lake. We checked rental prices in the area and found that the Pontoon rental was the lowest cost in the area at $200 per day. If you're looking for a very nice clean campground with a friendly staff on a beautiful lake at an affordable price, this is the place! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
Just returned today from a very pleasant stay at Lake Norman Motorcoach Resort. Helpful and friendly staff. Great water views. However, no amenities except a bar and what we considered to be overpriced boat and slip rentals ($200/day for pontoon boat if staying on site ($285 if off site), $25/day for slip rental). Great restaurant across the street. Few sites available for larger motorhomes -- if you have a 45 footer, stick to sites at the top of the hill. No pull thrus. Good security. Apparently this campground was originally planned to be site sales but owner is struggling and is now rental only. Rate was $55 per day for 2 adults and 2 children. Extra people $7 per day, max 6 per site. Free Wi-Fi but no cable or telephone. Small roped-off area for lake swimming. Apparently a pool was planned for 2010, but we were told that's not gonna happen. That's a shame because without a pool this is just an okay place -- with a pool it would be a great place! But don't get me wrong -- we will go back, if only for the proximity to home and the great views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$48
Campground is very nice, and run by some very nice people. I enjoyed going down for "breakfast" at the lake side deck, and having coffee and meeting people. Site was level with all concrete pads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
First let me start by saying upon arrival I have never in the 9 years of RVing been greeted by a more friendly, professional owner/staff. When first driving up to the gate house you can tell that this is a really nice RV resort. Fully gated with wrought iron gates and security cameras. You are given a key card at check in to re enter into the resort when coming back in after leaving. Very safe, easy and secure. When we were greeted by the owner and did the whole 2 minutes of paper work, which was ready for us when we arrived. He took us on the golf cart for a quick cruise around the park to show us were all the amenities and were the facilities were. We were then guided to our spot #15, what a great view of the lake. All sites are concrete w/30-50 amp service. The nicest and cleanest bathrooms we have ever been in. The laundry room was immaculate, new washer and dryers, folding table and again a great view of Lake Norman. They also have a huge outdoor bar/ pavilion that over looks the lake, with a flat screen TV and fans. Bring your swim suit and fishing pole, glad we did. You can go swimming, rent a pontoon boat, kayak, paddle boat or just enjoy sitting on one of 3 boat docks and fish. They are very pet friendly, with a gated dog area and doggie clean up bags and trash cans through out the park. This should be a must on your list of places to stay if anywhere near the Charlotte area. Also close to all the major race shops. We will definitely be returning to this resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$55
This is the nicest campground we've stayed in since Petosky, MI in 2001. As others have said, very clean rest rooms and laundry facilities. Nice deck bar and beautiful views of Lake Norman from everywhere in the campground. Fast check-in, nice golf cart tour with the owner. Very safe feeling during the week we spent there. It was quiet and relaxing. We enjoyed watching the sunsets from our motorhome and sitting on the patio after sunset. We will be back -- maybe to help celebrate the 1 year anniversary in July. Good luck to the people who brought this lovely place into existence last July. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$55
This small park sits on a small Lake Norman inlet just a few miles west of Mooresville. Because ir was designed to provide a lake view to as many motorhomes as possible, the park has 2 terraced levels. It can be a little tricky getting down the steep hill to the lakefront lots in a 45' motorhome - it will probably drag. Because of its design to allow lake views, the park has no trees or shade, so you'll depend on your AC to stay cool. If you like to fish and can get your boat to the park (they have docks), this would be a great place to spend a week. They do rent pontoon boats for $200/day, so you could enjoy the water without your own boat. There is 1 restaurant across the street, but shopping and other restaurants are 8 miles away in Mooresville. The owner is very friendly and helpful and I wish him the best of luck with his new campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$55
Gated Community; very friendly staff, we were met at entrance gate house upon arrival, all documents were ready. Took less than 5 mins to check in. We were given a tour of the resort by the manager and then escorted to our site. Very clean an well maintained resort. Paved roads, concrete pads, new/modern bathhouse with granite counter tops an auto flush fixtures. Nicest bath house I've seen at any campground. We rented a pontoon boat for afternoon. Lake Norman is largest lake in NC. Huge deck, 4500 sf, on lake front with pavilion. Definitely a campground I'd recommend. Very easy to find from interstate I-77. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com