206486 User submitted reviews online!!
O'Connell's Yogi Bear Jellystone Park Camp-Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (815) 857-3860
CGID991

O'Connell's Yogi Bear Jellystone Park Camp-Resort

Camp Information
Sites
647
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$59



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   2   8   5   6   8   8   7   9   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$59
We stayed here again for Columbus Day weekend (Halloween weekend). Great time as usual. Excellent haunted house and Halloween activities. Always lots to do for young and old. The golf carts seemed to be more controlled this year, maybe they took everyone's advice. They even stop all vehicle traffic (including golf carts) during trick or treat time, and it`s enforced! We are already booked for next year. Can`t wait! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
This campground is designed for young families. Our children are grown so we just used it for camping. None of the attractions were open during our stay. Our site needed mowing. There was a little bit of gravel, but it had been overtaken by grass and weeds. The staff was somewhat friendly. They have very strict rules. We wanted our daughter and her two children to join us for a Sunday evening cook-out just for a couple of hours, but it would have cost $7 per person just for them to enter the campground. I could understand an admission fee if the attractions were open, but they weren't. I will not return to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
This campground was very busy when we arrived here on a weekend. There were kids everywhere, and all seemed to have a good time. Everyone disappeared Sunday afternoon and the week days were very quiet. Staff was accommodating, and gave us a couple of choices for campsites. We picked the longer site, with satellite TV access. Both AT&T and Verizon worked intermittently here, mostly not. Office was dim and musty: it could use a new carpet and some updating. The site itself was fine: everything worked, there was plenty of room, the site was level. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$48
The website is incredibly misleading. Great park for one night but not for a few. Our Internet and phone service actually literally stopped when we pulled up to the park and started when we pulled away. We paid $17 for Tengo Wi-Fi which had slow and limited download capabilities at the park. The 2 slides are nice; however, they cost $1 per time per slide or $18 per person for an unlimited weekend pass. The 3 pools are very small and crowded at a size of about 30' by 30' but they are cold and refreshing. The site that we had was incredibly off level. We had an issue with out breaker and they fixed it very soon after we let them know. The customer service was great. The night quiet time is not adhered to or managed. Both nights that we stayed, there was loud music as late as midnight as well as people driving in golf carts with loud music and honking and yelling. The thing that bother me the most was that I reserved 3 night 5 hours prior to my arrival without a credit card. The girl who took the reservation told me that I could change it on arrival to 2 nights if I wanted. When I arrived, I was forced to take 3 nights because the clerk told me that: "she couldn't break up a weekend." The next morning, I found out that was not true and was promptly refunded, though. I wouldn't stay here again, but I don't regret my choice to stay for 2 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$56
This campground was alright, to be generous. The employees were unfriendly, and seemed to scorn the prospect of having to actually do their jobs. The Wi-Fi cost money, but he signal was weak. The slides were good, however, the pools were always really hot, which wasn't very refreshing. The experience wasn't all that great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$60
Very nice campground. Always something for the kids to do. Great "street dance" on Saturday night. Very nice hike around the lake. The pools were crowded, but were manageable. The water slides were good, the kids loved them. All in all a nice campground close to Chicago. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
We chose this campground on the advice of some friends that had previously been here before. This was our first visit to the campground. Check in was a bit hectic as it was the 4th of July weekend and they were packed. They put us in a site that had a trailer already on it...they had just forgot to put it in storage and promptly moved it. Our site was huge and had 50amp service to run both our air conditioners. The pools left something to be desired. They had bugs, leaves and people's band aids floating in them and they were a milky white color. Needless to say we didn't spend more then 20 minutes in them. In addition the pools were packed and people waiting to get in them, I personally think there were too many people in the pools at any one time. There are no lifeguards or staff watching the pools. The pool houses with showers, bathrooms and toilets were beyond disgusting. We did not use the showers, or bathrooms as they were just plain gross. The roads are all gravel and there was a lot of golf cart and car traffic all weekend causing a lot of dust. The golf cart traffic is not as bother some as the vehicle traffic with the music thumping from it and going above the 10mph speed limit. There were moments when there were some load people after quite time, but not horrible in my opinion. Additionally there were a lot of tent campers too many if you ask me. The positives were the activities, the water slide, the paddle boats and mini golf, the playgrounds and the fireworks over the lake and the fishing on the lake. The camp store was nice and stocked and everything was very affordable. The seasonal sites were very well kept as well. I will say that the campground was very clean with the exception of the pool houses and security was out and about all the time. I would go back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
We camp here a few times per year and enjoy this park. I have to say I was disappointed this time - our site was very unlevel and being July 4th weekend, lots of intoxicated people on golf carts and driving their vehicles around this large campground. We cautioned our 11 year old son to be very careful going to and from the water slide because no one was obeying the speed limit. This campground puts on a wonderful fireworks show on July 4th and even though this time our experience wasn't as good, our past trips have been thoroughly enjoyable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$52
I really like this campground. We live about an hour away and can go for an overnight stay. It has always been clean and the pools are nice. The fishing is good too. The staff is polite and the activities for the kids are plentiful. I have to admit I have never been there on a weekend and can imagine the place can get very crowded. I would say the biggest complaint is that the snake bar is slow, overpriced and not that great. We normally cook and bring our own food however, and I have never had to buy anything at the store except for ice. This is a nice place to go for a couple of days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2010
$41
I will have to admit after reading the previous posts that we thought we would have a great time during Memorial Day. We were so wrong! This place was terrible!!! PLEASE DO NOT CAMP HERE!! I cannot stress this enough!!! First off they put 4 campers on 1 electrical box that is designed for 2 (hence rolling blackouts). This happened throughout the park to everyone the whole weekend. The pools were a milky color the entire time we were there and not clear (don't know what was in them). The bathrooms were very dirty, smelly and were out of toilet paper or paper towels not to mention the overflowing toilets. The were golf carts and vehicles driving all over throughout the night with many of them driving like they were at a speedway (it was really bad at night). At one point I actually feared for my child's safety at this Yogi Bear Campground. We travel and camp a lot, and I have to say this place is the worst east of the Mississippi River. During the whole weekend we spent most of our time buying ice because of the blackouts. The worst part was when they ran out of ice so we had to go into town to buy it which was pretty far away. The funny thing though was my daughter and I (on a ice run) noticed the out gate was broken. Seemed someone could not handle the chaos at this campground and just went through the gate. The manager could not be found until the last day when we were getting ready to leave. He decided to show up, and said he was caught off guard by these "problems". We thought at first to make the best out of it, but it was so poor that other campers around us had the same feeling. As a father who loves to impress his child with the Yogi Bear parks I beg you not to go to this Campground!! Go to another park, please! We are still trying to get at least half of our money back (after the manager promised ) for over a week now. The Yogi Bear Campground Corporation should be ashamed about this park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$50
This is a very nice campground within 2 hours of Chicago. Has nice grassy level sites, the pull throughs are nice and big so you're not on top of your neighbor. They have 3 pools that are fairly clean (we go a couple of times during the summer too). the cloudyness of the pools that some mentioned, is due to the chemical reaction between the chlorine and sunblock lotion, (I have a pool too). There are lots of activities for the kids. There is a very nice tent camping area back in the woods. Their Halloween weekends are great! The haunted house is excellent, better than most other haunted houses. All in all a nice campground for the Chicagoland area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$70
This campground is considered a Yogi campground, yet it didn't feel like they did enough for the kids. Has a nice beach. Too much for the weekly camper. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Very nice/clean camp ground. Tons of stuff to do mini golf, paddle boats, canoes, water slides, 3 pools, 3 hot tubs, crafts and when we were there they had dog races! Huge Ice Cream cones for 75 cents. Rained heavy on our way there and our original site was flooded there was no problem with switching our site. Very nice and dogs are welcomed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
This park was very nice and the people were very helpful. The park was clean. Our spot was by the lake: about 25 feet from edge, in a nice shaded spot. The fishing was not very good, just small bullheads. The pools and beach were very good and clean. Lots of stuff for little kids to do, but I do advise renting a golf cart for $60 for the weekend for this is a big park. One day just about sunset, I was fishing and looked up and saw a full grown eagle flying over lake. It was nested in a tree by the camper: very cool! This park is worth the price if you have little kids. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$56
A very nice, clean park. The people were all very friendly. Sites were spacious. Wristbands can be purchased to use the pools, waterslide, paddleboats and mini golf. These were $18.00 per person site. To me the waterslide was useless as it was not connected to the pool at all. You had to put shoes on to cross a gravel road. Kids under 10 had to have a parent with them which means we sat at a table with my younger child (who wasn't tall enough although the slides don't empty into a pool) while the kids went down. There is lots of golf cart traffic. Store needs some restocking of stuff. Staff said there was no shelf room, but the shelves looked very empty. Lots of activities for the kids to do even on a rainy day. Pudding wrestling and candy bar bingo was a favorite. Not cheap, but worth going. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
We stayed here for two nights with our 7 year old grandson. Having taken him to other Yogi Bear parks, I decided this one was geared to older kids. Golf carts flew around the park like they were crazy, and a girl fell off one right in front of our trailer as we were watching. There were not many activities for younger children as there are in other Yogi Bear parks. We saw Boo Boo once on a "heyride," but he didn't even stay around to greet the kids. In 48+ hours, we did not see any of the other bears. The workers were cordial, but I wouldn't say they were friendly compared with the other parks we have stayed in. Our rate is based on a midweek two-for-one rate. We might consider staying again due to the midweek rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$57
The Bad: Lots of fees to pay including a facility fee of $9 on top of the normal nightly rate. We had family come and stay one night on our site in a tent, and they had to pay the full rate of $55 to sleep on a site we already paid for! We only wanted to stay Thurs and Fri but were required to pay for Saturday as well, even though we didn't stay Saturday night. Mini golf, paddleboats and rides down the waterslide are also extra charges. Waterslide is located too far from the pool to make it worthwhile. The Good: The campground itself was nice, with clean bathrooms and showers. Heated pools and hot tubs are clean well maintained. Pretty little lake with wooded areas for primitive camping and short hikes. We did have the whole place to ourselves Thurs and early Fri as it didn't get crowded until Friday night. The pool and hot tub were great. Unless you stay by the lake will you will have very little to no shade. Staff was friendly but not very helpful. I will go back since the kids had a great time - just know your stay can get expensive. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$54
This is a wonderful family campground. We have camped here 3 times this season and we experience something new every time. Beautiful river through the property with a large lake where you can rent paddle boats. Park is large and clean and everyone in the park is friendly and ready to help. I highly recommend this area. Only two downfalls...must watch out for the golf cart traffic and it can be a bit crowded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$57
We have 3 kids 5 & under, they enjoyed the pools, painting, flying kites, riding bikes up and down the street. The staff was helpful, they showed up in minutes when I needed a pair of pliers to take down the awning. We lucked out as we where in a sparsely populated area of the park with no immediate neighbors. The only two problems was trying to get garbage picked up by the guys on the golf carts flying up and down the road. I finally had to wave them down. At one point there where a bunch of drunks speeding around the camp ground honking horns and making a ruckus on golf carts, but at least it didn't come directly by us. I'd consider going back. I enjoyed bike riding around the lake myself. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
Great campground. Lots to do! Great place for the family. Golf-cart rental is expensive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$42
Most games in arcade were broken. Store, comfort station and playground areas are in need of repair. On the bright side, swimming pools (3) were is good conditions. Golf karts were excessive running up and down the roads at all hours. Our site had no grass, luckily it didn't rain during our stay. Sewer connections were 4 inch pvc pipe sticking out of the ground, with out proper fitting, so the sewer gas smell got strong at times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$55
Horrible! The staff is the worst I have ever experienced. We rented a golf cart for 10 minutes. I allowed my 4 year old grandson to sit in my lap and pretend to drive. They came to the pool and publicly took the cart from me and kept my security deposit because I broke the rules and allowed a 4 year old to drive. The staff was rude, crabby, and not helpful. It was rather ironic that we were treated like trouble makers for allowing a 4 year old to pretend to drive and the partiers that blasted songs with [obscene] lyrics were left alone. I expected it to be a nice family place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
This is the best campground for families. Plenty of activities, great staff, even Yogi Bear, Boo Boo, and Cindy Bear are in attendance! A little difficult to find if your not familiar with the area, but well worth the trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$54
Our children love it here. Lots of activities. Hey rides are great. Considering doing a seasonal stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$29
We camped in an open area that was way too crowded, and there was no policing on noise. The staff was tired and crabby, and not helpful in any way. We couldn't wait to get out of there, and were gone within 36 hours. We won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$52
Our favorite campground. Very friendly staff. Huge sites. Lots of activities for families. You pay more but you get lots and lots more. We love the security and enforcers of quiet hours. Excellent campground! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$45
This place has gotten too big for itself. It used to be a relatively quiet campground with lots of activities for the kids. In recent years it has expanded into a former cornfield with very little shade. They began renting golf carts and this has turned the place into a speedway. All day and evening, teens are zooming around in overloaded carts not paying attention to the road. I've nearly been hit several times. Games in the game room tend to just take your money, and good luck finding an employee who cares. Since the owners retired last year, the new managment leaves a lot to be desired. The water electric sites are ridiculously crowded and sometimes inaccessible if you didn't get there early enough. Bathrooms and showers tend to be dirty, especially on popular weekends. They should have enough staff to handle this. Also in the last few years, there seems to be a lot lower standard of clientele that tends to make the park uncomfortable. We have been coming here since 1993, but I dont think we'll be coming much more. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$50
This was a great weekend, we were here with a large group and we were not cramped at all. They had large sites, clean restrooms/showers, 3 pools. Activities to keep everyone busy, outdoor movies, bingo, a dance, mini golf. We had our 2 little dogs and this campground was the great with them, people walking and socializing with their dogs, we felt like we belonged, not social outcasts. We did go on a weekend but school had started so only some kids but you can get away from the kids, the hot tubs are 18 and older only and they have lifeguards to enforce this. The lifeguards also supervise the kids at the pools so they are not out of control, which was great, since some kids can get pretty wild. The only problem I saw was their WiFi didn't work long enough to log on, when asked they said it should, I was at a couple different sites and it never worked. Staff was friendly and always around so if you had a problem they would be there to help. This is a great campground for a family. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$51
We found the park to be great for the kids. They had a great time in the pools, water slides, paddle boats, mini-golf. The kids said the arcade had defective games. We are usually picky about the campsites we choose. The site we were on had a couple of trees and was near the boggy part of the lake. When we first arrived we thought the mosquitos were going to have a feast on us but to our surprise there was not a single bite between us... We were located on a corner lot so the autos, and golf carts were always driving by. We will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2004
$35
Definitely a lot of activities for the kids, including a craft buidling where you can buy craft and assemble them while you are there. I had heard great things about this campground and was a little dissapointed mostly because of the poor cleanliness of the bathrooms and shower house. The lake is nice, though the young kids giving out the lifejackets were a little too young and didn't know how to adjust them. Finally, the small town of Amboy itself has nothing to do. Very few restaurants and certainly no social activities. So only go if you want to stay at the campground for all your entertainment and meals. It's a long drive to any towns with more facilities. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$50
Amboy is the best campground I have ever been to. It has good facilities, also has good people. If you are going during summer with your friends, best place to spend it is at amboy. I went downtown for a fest they had called Depot Days. Me and my family go to amboy every year. If you are a teenager and your tired of going to boring campgrounds with nothin to do, go to amboy, it has a dance on saturdays. All teens come out after 10. No little kids, no parents, and if they are there, they are drunk. Thats what amboys all about, having fun. I will never stop going there. Everybody there is so welcoming, and everything is just what I hoped it to be. I would rather go to Amboy, I camp at yogi bears then go to Hawaii or Florida or whatever. Amboy just has that effect on me. Best campground ever. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$45
I have to agree with the first review. If you have kids this is a great campground. But, for just going and relaxing: not going to happen. The shade is mainly in the permanent site area, we were in a big open field with no shade at all, just alot of barking dogs which management didn't seem to care to stop, even when notified. Restrooms were very wet due to all the swimmers using them. For the price, probably won't return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$42
We had a wonderful time. Our children ages 5, 11, and 13 had a great time at mini golf, the pool, waterslides, paddle boats, bingo, arts and craft, and "hey-ride". The only bad thing that happened was some of our neighbors were loud and drunk. I guess stupid people can be anywhere. We plan on going back soon! Hopefully our neighbors will be better. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$45
Aaaaaaaaaattention Campers! This resort-style campground had the loudspeakers going all day long to announce activities (usually with an extra fee), small, cramped sites and just too many campers. Not our style. Others with tweens love it for the pool and the activities which include a waterslide, mini-golf, paddle boats, a kids fishing lake and more. Just not our cup-of-tea. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com