223495 User submitted reviews online!!
Key Largo Kampgrounds and Marina was rated 7 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (305) 451-1431
CGID9940

Key Largo Kampgrounds and Marina

Camp Information
Sites
207
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$64



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   6   5   9   1   6   9   3   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$64
Pricey in the winter months. The campground is clean and has medium to large lots. Many are shaded. There is a sandy beach where kayaks can be launched easily. The campground is not directly on the ocean. There is a barrier island between it and the ocean. There are many permanent residents who keep their lots up nicely. Bicycle paths are close by and a Publix food store and KMart is within walking distance. About a mile from John Pennekamp Park. Good Wi-Fi connection, and cable TV is part of the deal at no extra charge. Staff is wonderful and accommodating. Gated entrance with security guard. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$75
The pull throughs were too short for large rigs (40') with trailers, so I had to unhook my trailer. The views were nice, the park clean, and security was always present. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$60
We enjoyed our stay here. The pool was nice and the restrooms clean. The reason for the mediocre rating is the park feels like a "trailer park". There are many older trailers here that are only marginally kept up. However, we would stay here again as the rates are fairly reasonable for the Keys in the winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$36
Difficult to locate without GPS. No signs on 1A except for small road sign indicating a campground. Office staff was friendly and efficient. Cable service requires a channel box to receive stations and this is free. The problem is that all TV's will carry the same station in your RV unless you can find a way of getting behind each TV to connect a box. Close to Publix and restaurants. John Pennecamp State Park is a short ride away that take snorkeling and scuba trips out to the reef. The campground has a mix of permanent sites along with owner leased sites. Sites are wide, roads are narrow, and navigation is difficult since parking is allowed on both sides of the internal roadways. Site crews are diligent in leaf blowing. The start at eight in a morning using gas powered blowers. Pool is clean and tidy but the poolside furniture in need of replacing. Cycle rental and RV repair company are close by on Hwy 1. Everyone is friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$60
Nice, clean park, and quiet at night. Most sites are for mobile homes. Wi-Fi is available for free and working very well but only on the back of the office building or when you're close to it. Felt very comfortable at this park and would stay there again. We are traveling without GPS and had some difficulties finding that park since there is no sign at the street which is leading to it from highway one. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2012
$60
A very old, decrepit park with miserable support staff at the front desk. Complaints were handled with resentment. It's wide open for what they call "Weekend Warriors" that is, those who come from Miami on the week end to run wild and make noise. Security? What a joke!! The rentals are not overseen, and ours was infested with bugs and mould. Unfriendly, unclean and smelly from a sewage plant. You can do much better! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$67
Key Largo Kampgrounds is primarily for permanent/long term residents. There are some sites available to RVers and also tent sites. The overall atmosphere is pleasant and tropical. However, the outdated and unclean bathrooms detract from what could otherwise be a wonderful experience. The campground is also hard to find. It is at the end of a side road off of US 1, and there is no signage on the highway. The ladies bathroom smelled of urine, and after reporting it to the office there was a strong ammonia smell on top of the urine odor. YUCK! The showers were reasonably clean, but not at all inviting. The laundry room was also outdated and in need of remodeling. If the facilities were updated and kept clean I would rate this campground a 4 1/2 out of 5. As it is I would only recommend staying here if you have no need of the bathrooms or laundry facilities. Disappointing! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$55
We had a campsite on the canal. This is a permanent home with campsite community. We found friendly people and a sense of security and peacefulness. If you like to fish or go to Pennecamp State Park nearby, this is the place to be. It is reasonably priced for the Keys in the winter. The spaces were a little tight to manage, but with patience it was doable. 40' motorhomes around us were in place. Many residents were snowbirds from northern USA and Canadians enjoying the warm Florida winters. Noseeums come out at evening and early AM so just wear some insect repellent. Within walking distance to department store and large grocery store and eating establishment, but yet it was very quiet in the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2010
$70
This is Not a RV campground. It is a trailer park with a few open spots they are renting as campsites. The kiddie pool was nice to have, but there were folks smoking and college kids drinking at the pool. I wouldn't call it family friendly. Most of the permanent residents were nice, but they are mostly senior citizens looking forward to the weekly bingo or shuffleboard game. This is not ocean front, but borders a canal that leads out to the bay area. Don't leave trash out. Some animal turned our trash can over and drug the whole bag under the motorhome and made a mess of it. The nightly rate was $60, but by the time you add on the additional fees, it was more like $70. I won't recommend this place for anything other than the pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2010
$75
This is a park of mostly permanent trailer homes. It is also fairly run down. Most importantly the owners are very rude and not accommodating at all. We left before checking in for this reason. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$80
I agree with previous posters: a great RV park, neat, clean and secure. We have come here every other year for over 15 years. Our primary focus is boating, fishing, and diving so we always reserve a canal site, reserve early! These sites have dock/tiki hut on your site. We tow our boat with motorhome. The on site ramp and docks are excellent. Easy access via channels to open ocean. Nice snorkeling, kayak/canoeing in canal or wading/swimming at beach. Location of park is walk/bike distance to: a shopping center (food, K-mart, ice cream, radio shack, etc.,) AND several great restaurants (try the Fish Market, just north or Tower Pizza, just south). The on site marina, ramp, docks and waterfront sites and nearby stores/restaurants make this our destination in the northern keys. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$70
This campground was a great find in the keys. It was close by to shopping and restaurants yet secluded enough to feel very peaceful. I camped here w/my family which includes 2 young children. We enjoyed the pool, playing shuffleboard, and they played at a small playground that was enough to keep them busy yet nothing to write home about. We had a beautiful site, right on the water with a tiki hut, picnic table, and lighting. People were friendly, though at the time of year we were here, it was rather quiet. They say there are "beaches" on site, but "beaches" in the keys are not really what we think of as beaches. There was access to the water with some sand but it was muddy and a little smelly. We were able to fish from our site for small bait fish, but it was enough to keep my kids entertained. You could enter the water right from your site as well. If you have a small boat you can dock it behind your site. Our neighbors were nice enough to take us out on their boat during our stay. This campground is a great place to visit in the summer when you want to relax by the pool or book a snorkeling, diving, or fishing adventure and I highly recommend it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$80
If you camp here you must stay on a canal lot! We stayed on the canal near the beach. At the opening of the canal are 2 small beach areas. The canal lot had a tiki hut/dock. We could jump off the dock and swim in the canal right at our site. The water was very clean. The view of the mangroves was nice. The lot also had a paved/tiled patio area. If we were not on the canal I don't think we would have enjoyed this campground nearly as much. Pay the extra money and get a site with a view! Our family enjoyed the pool as well. The campground is gated and locked at night. A nice security feature. If we would ever return to Key Largo we would stay here again, but only on a canal lot near the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$57
2010 marks our 7th consecutive year in this campground. We started with a tent site; four years ago upgraded to an RV site. Very clean, quiet, friendly, gated campground. Nice pool. We can wheel our kayak from our site to the water, then paddle in the mangrove trails or to John Pennekamp SP, etc. We ride our bikes everywhere: the fish market, the grocery, library, restaurants, etc. We stay 4 weeks each year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$59
Nice park to use as a base for exploring the Keys and Miami area. The sites and roads were kind of tight, especially with the permanent trailers everywhere and the sheds, etc. they were allowed to have on their sites. Very convenient to shopping/dining. Good security. Hard to find the entrance in the dark, because the park entrance is off of the main road and there is no sign to direct you from the highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$73
Great location but extremely tight quarters for big rigs. We were there in a 40' motorhome and could maneuver our way into only one site (#75). All other sites were impossible to get into because full-time residents have built their awnings and parking areas so close to the road, there is not enough room to turn. The sites (once in them) are spacious and as others have said, very tropical and comfortable. Wi-Fi was available only in the office building. Site #75 is located right on the water and at the bottom of a one-way, U-shaped access road. Everyone we saw went in AND out what is supposedly the "in-side" of the U. The reason? The "out-side" of the U is extremely narrow (crowded by stored boats, telephone poles, and assorted buildings) and overgrown by palm trees. Basically, a place I would NOT recommend for big rigs (40' or more). Otherwise, an okay place for a short visit and a nice stop-over on the way to Key West. The Fish House (out the main gate and to the right about 1/2 mile on US1) is terrific. The conch chowder is incredible as is the Key Lime Pie. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$75
Stopped here on our way to Bluewater Key RV Resort. Would have stayed at Pennecamp, but they were doing renovations. Glad we stayed here, though. The folks were very nice. We got site 48, close to the water. Grocery store close by. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$70
The extra money for a canal-side site is well worth it. With our own dock, finished patio, and "chickee hut" (thatched cover over picnic table and patio) right on the canal, we were in a tropical paradise! The campground is full of well-thought-out and designed activities: a playground, sand volleyball court, shuffleboard court, horseshoes, basketball court, covered picnic area with TV, and large BBQ grill for tenters. Great area for kayaking and boating. Add the typical clean laundry room and showers, and we couldn't ask for anything more than a spa! This is a terrific campground. Sites are spacious, staff helpful, and we wish we were here longer! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com