214299 User submitted reviews online!!
Apgar Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (406) 888-7800
CGID9947

Apgar Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
194
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   6   7   8   9   9   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$10
$10 per night (that’s half off using our Golden Age Passport) was for a pull-through primitive site in loop A with a fire ring and picnic table. Some sites are very level while others require substantial leveling. Apgar is the only campground within Glacier NP that can accommodate rigs up to 40’ in the parking area of the site. The remainder of every site is generously sized and has a level pad for tents, if needed. The sites are mostly in the shade with lots of big trees. Glacier National Park is spectacular. A portion of the Going to the Sun road was closed for plowing and repair during the early part of our stay but opened up on July 4th. There are plenty of other roads to travel if the Going to the Sun road is closed. There are over 700 miles of trails within the park, with varying degrees of difficulty. Bicycles are allowed on the roadways and several, but not all, trails. AT&T and Verizon cell service is spotty at best but we received good reception at the Apgar Visitor center area as well as in the towns of West and East Glacier. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
Return visit, and things are the same. Same rate (and half price to $10 with proper pass) and same ill-fitting sites. Level does not exist. Big rigs really shouldn't come here. This campground is for the truck campers, tents, smaller trailers and motor homes. Lots of families having fun and all ages on bikes. Verizon cell and air card only work near host sites and in Apgar Village & Transit Center. Water available from spigots and in restrooms. Fee showers but not in the Village. They are only in private CGs outside. We rate this a 7 for the ambiance, great location, and overall camping experience. Will return, but weekdays work best. Hard to get in on the weekends. No reservations and fills up nearly every day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
We checked out this campground when we were in the area without our RV. It is the closest campground to Glacier NP being located IN the park itself, between the West Glacier entrance and the main lodge. It is quite heavily treed but the spaces are roomy on pull arounds off the drive that winds through the campground . Probably not good for large rigs, but do-able. There is a shuttle that comes through Apgar to take guests to the boat and/or bus ride tours or the main lodge. We might stay here for a short visit if there was no availability in Coram or Columbia Falls, but it would not be our first choice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
The campground is in Glacier National Park near the town of Apgar. We arrived early in the morning and did not have a problem finding a campsite we liked that our 34 foot 5th wheel trailer fit into. The campground hosts / managers were very friendly and accommodating. Campsites are available on a first come-first served basis. Campground access roads are asphalt and in good condition. Loops A, B, and C are big rig accessible. All sites are gravel and NOT level, and range from “somewhat level in places” to “impossible to level.” Trees at some sites may prevent slide-outs from opening completely. None of the sites have electric, water or sewer hook-ups. Generators are restricted to running during three periods during the day. The campground is located in a dense forest that provides a lot of shade. Each campsite has a fire ring and firewood is available at a fair price in Apgar Village. Lake Mc Donald, Apgar Village and the Apgar Transit Center are within easy walking distance. The campground is very quiet at night. Bathroom buildings are dated and require maintenance. Bathroom fixtures are also dated, with cold water only, and all were clean. Showers are available in Apgar Village or at the private Glacier Campground for a fee. RV sewer dump station is located near the entrance to the campground, was in excellent condition and had easy access. We stayed 2-nights and paid $20.00 each night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Fun place to stay, loved the location. Easy bike or walk to the Transit Center, and Apgar Village. Wish we could have stayed longer, or if they had a shower house nearby. No reservations so you have to cruise around for a site. Be sure to check the Park's campground status page beforehand. Many sites are unsuitable for a RV. Verizon cell and internet worked very weakly in Loop C; signals better by Village. Had a bear in the campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Very nice. One of the larger campgrounds in GNP. All the sites are pull through, but some look like they could be tricky because of trees. The park is about a 10 minute walk to Apgar Village. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$10
Our nightly rate reflects the Senior Pass. The sites are mostly pull through, the problem is the road in the loops are one way and the "inside" camp sites of the loop puts an RVs door away from the camp site. To rectify this, people go the wrong way so they can have the door of their RV facing the camp site. Not much of an issue I guess, since the Rangers did not seem to mind. This is a camp ground with flush toilets and a really nice place to stay while in Glacier. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
Apgar is a lovely setting in Glacier National Park. The sites are primitive and wooded. The area is very beautiful with full access to the park and the Apgar Village. A great place to stay for a few days with out electricity. A dump station and water fill up are available. Lake McDonald is breath taking. The campground can be very full at times during the summer. You may have to stay outside the park to get a spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$10
Senior rate. $20 is full rate. Water is available at host site in loop A. Dump station also has water, but I watched people dump and then go wash their hands at the potable water fill. Use plenty of bleach if you fill here. Dump station layout is real bad and had a pretty good backup when we were leaving. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Good campground to stay at for the week. Site had good shade and decent privacy, but not the same for all sites. Flushable toilets, sinks, water and garbage. Great place to just camp with no fancy stuff. Was fairly quiet but very busy with the summer campers this year. Would recommend to anyone unless you like camping in luxury. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
Dry camped and tight for big rigs. Couldn't find a private park this late in the season, but were tired and couldn't make it to our destination. It was a good overnight spot -better than a rest stop, that's for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
This is a nice, national park campground. Dry camping only. As noted previously, many of the sites are tight, and many are not level, but we didn't have any problems getting our 30' fifth wheel into a site. These campgrounds were not designed for 40' motorhomes!! Most sites are heavily shaded, so solar didn't work well here, not did the satellite. Verizon broadband worked well. There were good ranger programs every evening, and Apgar Village was an short walk from the campground, and has a decent restaurant, gifts shops, and visitor center. Overall, an excellent place from which to explore the western side of Galcier National Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
Dry camping, Natl. Park access, this campground has it. If your rig is over 32ft. be careful in allot of these camp loops they are tight and if your not careful you can get yourself into trouble. Each spot has a view and because we were there the last part of September we virtually had the campground to our selves. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$10
This is a decent enough park. There are four different loops with one of them pretty close to the road to McDonald Lodge, so there's quite a bit of traffic noise. Very few sites appeared to be level, so it may take some careful selection or a lot of work to get leveled. It's a good family campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$10
There are very few usable spaces for a 40' motorhome here. The sites may measure 40' but if they are pull-throughs there are very tight bends and also many tree obstacles: not only with the sites but driving through the loops. Big Rigs: do not go into Loop D. The road at a turn has trees at both sides of the bend in the road. We missed tearing off our awning by inches! Motorhomes do not bend to make turns! The restrooms in Loop D were very dirty. A noisy trash truck comes through the loops every morning. They have many dumpsters so they were't even full enough to be emptied. We have been here many times over the years, but will not return to this campground. We prefer not to use public campgrounds when visiting national parks. The sites are decently spaced from each other with open vegetations so your neighbor will be visible. There are water spigots and flush toilets in unkept restrooms. The dump station is not easy to use for a 40' motorhome either: another tight bend with trees. There is a lot of road noise and motorcycle noise in this campground. Opening date is mid-May. Closing is mid-October. There are no reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
The sites are pull throughs horseshoe shape. Very quiet and serene. Lots of families and very close to Going To The Sun Highway. Follow signs for Apgar Village as you must go through there to get to campground. Deer go right through the campground. We would recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
A really fantastic campground in Glacier National Park. Lots of things to do right there at the campground, like fishing, swimming and eating. There are gift shops as well as a boat launch. Would go back again! Scenery is beyond other places by a wide margin. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com