206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Cumberland Gap Wilderness Road Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (606) 248-2817
CGID9952

Cumberland Gap Wilderness Road Campground

Camp Information
Sites
160
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   10   10   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$10
Great place with a campground to boot. The site B3 was mostly level and offered good shade. The fire pit was clean and the grass was mowed. Overall, the place was in wonderful shape. The bathhouses were clean. The staff or hosts were nice. We will be returning soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
The biggest detractor of this park is that there are no reservations. Hence you have to play the "wait and see" game to see if you will get electrical hook up at the limited number of sites. The good news is that if you do not get a site, you can move the next day. Getting level is a challenge but that standard in this part of the country where they have mountains! There is no water at the sites but there is water available next to the dump station. Other than that the campground is beautiful. Nice big sites, spaced apart. Nice hiking trails nearby. Beautiful scenery. All the facilities are new/clean/neat. Would definitely stay again. Check the web site as they will be closing Nov. 1st 2011 for renovations until May 15th. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$17
Excellent campground, heavily wooded, very clean and well maintained. Has several central shower/restroom buildings that are very nice. Some sites are not very deep so may be a problem if you have a longer rig and only a few are close to level. There are NO water hookups at the sites (though outside faucets are available not too far away at each shower building (just remember to fill your fresh water tank before you come!). Several hiking trails are available. Cave tours were advertised but we didn't look into them. Overall, a beautiful campground, very quiet and peaceful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$9
We were able to secure an electrical site that was beautiful. We enjoyed camping experience and the historical park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$8
There is 1 pull through site. About 10 sites are long enough for a 40 footer, the rest of the sites are very short and unlevel. We were here for 10 nights and the electric sites were full every night with a lot of transients just for the night. A lot of the sites had tenter's on them as they wanted electric. It would be nice to see them add more electric sites and make them longer and level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$9
This National Park Service campground has a very easy going feel. The roads are newly blacktopped. The sites with electricity are blacktopped, but all other sites are gravel. There are few, if any, level sites. For a public campground the restrooms and showers were very clean. I wish we could have spent more time camping at Cumberland Gap. We used Golden Age Passport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$17
National Park Service campground with some 40 sites having electric hookups. Very wooded sites, some leveling was required, some poison ivy, but beautiful. Our Rate with the Golden Passport Card, was 50% off the $17 rate. TV reception was good, from Knoxville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com