220505 User submitted reviews online!!
Baytown / Galveston Bay KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (281) 420-3200
CGID9973

Baytown / Galveston Bay KOA

Camp Information
Sites
90+
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   4   4   4   5   8   7   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$48
This is a nice older park with a lot of permanent rigs. There is a tricky turn around at the office that is not big rig friendly. We had to disconnect the car to get around. Our site (97) was all cement with a shade tree. There is always a breeze and the fishing pier is inviting. The leash rules are not tightly enforced with some dogs off leash most of the time. There is no traffic noise and is close to stores and the Kemah boardwalk. We went with two other couples and would come back again. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2012
$48
I agree with the last reviewer. We had a site that the sewer pipe was elevated about 18" above ground - made it impossible to drain tanks. New sites going in but they need a lot of work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2012
$43
I stayed here for 1 night in a pull through site. Campground elevation is 9 feet. Maneuvering my 40 footer towing a dinghy was somewhat tight. Roads are asphalt, my site & patio are concrete. Site spacing is close. WIFI is included in daily rate. Cable is not available. I was able to receive AT&T Wireless G3/4 Internet & Cellular service. I received Dish Network 110/119 Satellite TV from dish on roof of motorhome. Campground is pet friendly. Walmart and Kroger are 3 mile away. I am unable to comment on other amenities due to not using them. Most of their guests are monthly’s. There are only a hand full of pull throughs and most of them have monthly’s on them. Only 1 Long Enough for Motorhome & Car w/o Unhook. It appears that roughly 90% of the residents here are construction workers in fifth wheels and travel trailers. This is quite different from most KOA’s. It looks like spaces for one and two nights was an afterthought and they squeezed them in. While the sites are concrete they are very close together. There is some standing water 2-3 days after a rain. It is a little noisy from 6 to 7 in the morning and in the late afternoon with all the diesel pickup trucks going and coming. At $43 per night they are way overpriced and will not see me again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$50
We looked for a campground to stay for the winter. This was ideal, or so we thought. We were here for 3 weeks and could not stand it anymore. The bugs were horrendous. The sewer smell was awful in the high humidity. There was a mold smell from the AC in the laundry that I am sure was the reason I was ill the next day. We also had to pay extra for our electricity. They had a broken pipe and water flooded the whole of the street. We moved to another campground in the same area for $100.00 less and much better Wi-Fi. The owners did seem to be nice at first, but they became arrogant and it seemed anything we asked them, we were being a nuisance. I would never stay here again. Not even if you paid me! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
When we arrived the site they gave us was in the front of the park which was very crowded and full of permanent residents. We chose another site that was near the water and the front desk seemed very annoyed by this and told me they didn't know if we could stay there or not as we had paid for a month and they didn't allow long term stays on the waterfront. I explained that we would only be here for a month and that my dogs would not do well being cramped up in the front around all the noise. They agreed finally and let me pay. They have a clean laundry facility, the grass is cut almost daily, and the grass is watered daily as well. Thanks to "Willy the Groundskeeper", as I named him. The park is clean, the majority of the tenants are friendly and keep to themselves, and there is security on site Friday through Sunday. The 500 ft. fishing pier they advertise is nice but full of bird droppings and needs desperately to be washed. The night fishing is excellent but the other fishermen on the pier are the permanents and can be very rude or pushy if you get in "their spot". We would camp here again if given the opportunity. We would just remember to reserve a "waterfront site" so the front desk would not get so annoyed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
This RV park has recently become a KOA and as the previous reviewer stated, there are things they are still working out. Park has a nice pool, exercise room, level sites and a very friendly staff. There are some full timers towards the front of the park (away from the water), but everyone we met was friendly and helpful. They have a fairly new 500 foot pier that is well-lit at night and includes a cleaning station. Our family LOVED this. We are now saltwater fishing addicts! We stayed in Site B1, which had a nice shade tree and view. Yes, it is windy, but with the Texas heat, the winds serves to cool you off. In the evenings, it was almost cool (and we're Texans). We camped here with kids and will definitely be returning! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$29
Just became a KOA, so there’s some bugs to work out. Nothing in the store, no planned activities, no cable. Incredibly friendly staff, good water pressure and Wi-Fi, concrete pads that were very level. Stayed out on the point in an “upgraded” site -- beautiful view, but might be the windiest place on earth. Not for Winter Texans, but a good stop for a week or less. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$42
Our site was right on the bay with a nice view. The site was level enough that we didn't need to use our leveling blocks. The sites are all cement pads. The campground was extremely crowded, and the RV's are pretty close together, so if you want to spend time outside at the picnic table, this isn't the best place for that. There are a lot of oil workers who stay here long-term. Also, if you're arriving after the office closes, you might want to call ahead. We never would have found our campsite if we hadn't called the manager. She was extremely friendly and helpful, though. It is new to KOA, and they are making improvements. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$39
Nice managers. They're updating this campground and the pool is lovely. Exercise room to be done in two weeks. Our site faced the bay and pier. Beautiful view. Satellite worked well. Verizon card worked but dropped a lot. Pad was cement with patio. Old tennis courts being turned into pull throughs. City golf course just down the road. Very relaxing here. We stayed 3 nights and would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$37
A lot of work is being done to upgrade this facility. New, heavy-duty level concrete pads, updated power supplies, new sod, fishing pier, etc. Wonderful view directly over the bay. We were on the move, so only stayed one night, but would like to have stayed longer. Owners were super friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
$300 a month plus electricity. Wi-Fi is limited depending on how many users there are. Close to major highways. Very quiet away from town. Park is on a bayou near Galveston Bay. They have a tendency to wait a bit too long before mowing the lawn and the mosquitos are a big problem. (I think they are getting a grip on that now.) Managers always helpful. Manager and assistant manager on site. As always remember spring in this part of the country comes with pretty big T-storms and rain. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com