220396 User submitted reviews online!!
Gulpha Gorge Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (501) 624-3383
CGID9981

Gulpha Gorge Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   8   9   9   8   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$12
Gulpha Gorge is a urban campground next to a highway that takes you into town. The highway has a lot of traffic, but you get used to it. This park is a first come first serve. It has a long walking trail, almost 1 mile long. They have a automated machine that checks you in and takes your money. You need to make sure you have the correct amount when you are paying. There are no showers, but nice bathrooms. Our Verizon works great here. If you are using satellite make sure you dish is mobile. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$12
Rate reflects National Parks senior pass. Nice campground with full hookups, and plenty of shade. No reservations, and pick out your own site. Get one away from road, as road noise starts early in morning. Also, check level, as some site have a pretty good slope. It also has a picnic area, so there is a lot of non camping traffic. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
The proximity to downtown Hot Springs is a plus for this campground (5 minutes). Due to sequestration, there is no longer a Park Ranger on site, so there is no access control and transients were a concern to us with young children playing outside. You pay using a machine and while were there it was cash only. There are no showers and the restrooms needed cleaning, so we were glad to have full hookups. Sites are paved, level and are well spaced. No fire rings, but each space has a grill. The large trees and clear spring create a nice ambience, but there is some noise with large trucks downshifting on the nearby road. We enjoyed our stay at this campground and would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$12
The check-in machine wasn't taking credit cards (it seems they never are). Otherwise this is a very nice campground. We were a little rushed when we checked in and chose a site that wasn't very level. We should have taken a little more time to select a better site. The park host told us she was a little surprised we took that spot because of the tree at the back corner. The sites are pretty close together. The host was very nice and offered us a lot of information about what to do in the area. She also told us that parking was free in the lot near the visitor center on weekends. We really enjoyed our time here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$12
This campground is located at 305 Gorge Road not downtown where the National Park Visitor Center is. There are 39 sites in the park, some of them with full hookups but no showers. There used to be showers here but they were taken out because of abuse from outsiders, and full hookups were put in. It is a pretty campground on the creek where one can cool off. There are modern bath houses and water is available for registered campers. All the sites are back in and there is a size limit posted where you register by machine but the camper next to us put his 35 foot RV in a 25 foot slot including his car which was placed on the grass. It costs $10 a site and $24 for a site with full hookups but with a pass it is half that. The hostess was very helpful and informative. There is a trail about a mile and a half to bathhouse row in town but to drive in it takes about fifteen minutes. There is no parking in town for an RV at the National Park Visitor Center so ask the host for ideas where to park. We parked across from the National Park Administrative Building and on weekends there is no fee, but I asked a police woman and she said there was no parking for RVs at all in town. She was cold and not helpful at all. Needless to say, we waited a few minutes until the visitor center opened up and they said where we were was fine –there are four RV, Bus Tour slots right next to the old visitor center that you can park at. There is a little conflict with the park and the locals because nowhere are there signs that parking is free on weekends so some people were paying. This was a two night stopover for us on a weekend. The hostess told us that it doesn’t always fill up but if you want full hookups and arrive late you might have to pull in to some of the sites that are not level. Good stop. We enjoyed the historic section of Hot Springs and had a nice walking tour by a park ranger explaining Bathhouse Row and how the park became a National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$12
Beautiful campground close to Hot Springs. Only negative is on the right side of camp there is a lot of road noise. Arkansas campgrounds are beautiful and immaculate. The host here was excellent (from Wisconsin). I thoroughly enjoy camping in Arkansas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$24
We camped for one night when passing through the area and had no problems. The host was very nice and the small park well maintained. We did not hike the trails because we were only passing through, but saw others doing so. Our GPS did make us miss the entrance and there was only one road in so watch closely. No showers, but bathroom was very clean. We did not have a tow vehicle and we did attempt to go to the NP without success because there was no RV parking. We gave up and returned to campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$24
Nice setting. Many hiking trails and can hike to Hot Springs and bathe in spa. No showers at campground. Nice camp hosts. Everything clean and well tended. Automated registration, no ranger when we camped. No reservations accepted. Stayed 2 nights. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$22
We stayed at Gulpha Gorge National Park Campground at the suggestion of the bar man at the Heart Break Hotel in Memphis. We were planning on staying at Little Rock however given his knowledge of the area decided to go with his recommendation. We were so pleased we did! We arrived to the friendly smile of the newly appointed camp volunteers who guided us to a well elevated site with full hook up. Once we were settled they came over to make sure we were settled in OK. The payment at this campground is via a vending type machine in the common room, something we hadn't encountered before. The campground is also open to day visitors with picnic tables along the rivers edge. The township of Hot Springs is an easy hike up and over the mountain, or you can obviously drive there as well. The friendly volunteers invited us to join them in the hike on the second day we were there. Being visitors from Australia we had been dreaming of a white Christmas and we certainly got our wish with 8 inches of snow falling on Christmas night! The only downfall was that the power went off due to trees falling across the power lines further up the road. Once again the volunteers checked in on everyone staying at the campground helping out where they could. After three days of no power we decided to pull up stumps and head off somewhere were we could dry out! The park was beautifully maintained and we would definitely recommend staying there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$24
Wonderful, beautiful National Park campground. All paved with full hookups. Back in sites easily handled our big rig. I would easily give it a 10 except there is some road noise. Not bad at night, though. This is a great find! Very easy to bathhouse row and the town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
One of our favorite full-hook up spots we have ever stayed at! Paved site next to a stream with fire ring, surrounded by trees and amazing fellow campers. Could not ask for more! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$10
Beautiful park. Close to everything. Large campsites, some by stream that runs through the campground. They don't take reservations, but we didn't have any trouble getting in. Sprint cell service marginal. Our cost reflects National Park passport price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
I'd say this is one of my all-time favorite parks. I visit often and have never been disappointed. Convenient, beautiful, and the camp hosts are invariably great folks. The rangers are quite vigilant, and camping solo I feel quite safe. Great stream behind some of the sites, this is my favorite hot-weather campground due to abundant shade and water. The only downside to this campground is no showers, but there are full hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
Absolutely the nicest little park I have stayed at. The sites are beautiful and have lush grass and huge trees very shaded and tucked into the valley. Just a short drive around the mountain to the hot springs or hike if you're up to it. I couldn't be happier with this park. It is so pretty. Was only planning on spending a night ended up staying 3. If you come tour the bathhouse museum it's a must do and the restaurant Andrews across the street is amazing too We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
Excellent park! Quiet and lovely and very close to the main attraction. Interior roads and site pads are paved with very good spacing and all are partial to fully shaded. Verizon coverage was good. Patrolled regularly be Park Police and camp host was terrific. We arrived around 5 pm, just after a violent micro-burst thunderstorm. Power was out and a couple trees were down in the campground. Host was very helpful in getting us a clear site. One downed tree was removed before dusk, the power was back within 3 hours.and the other downed tree was completely gone the following day. Great work! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$12
The sites along the stream are spacious and well-separated, plenty of room for a big rig and a car, and lots of trees. Those on the other side of the campground are next to the road and may be noisy, although traffic is light at night. All sites are first-come, first-served, but we had no problem finding a very nice site in mid-June. There are evening ranger programs in summer. No Wi-Fi but the phones worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$12
Nice camping. As the other reviews have mentioned, there are no showers. Received a few TV channels on the antennae, but the signal was week. Sites are level and it was quiet at night. The park is different in that it's surrounds the town. We drove to the downtown visitors center, but walking is possible especially since parking is difficult to find. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$12
As mentioned in other reviews, this is a great site. If you can get by without TV, shower facilities, and laundry. We were here in late Nov. and we had a lot of rain. (6" on the gauge down the street.) The creek came up about 5' and more big storms were projected to come through the area. We decided that a narrow canyon with all the ground saturated, and possible big storms on the way was not the best place to be. So we went down the road to some higher ground for the night. The stormed tracked about 20 miles north and dumped 6" of rain up there. If that had fallen in this area, there would have been some serious flooding in at least the sites near the creek. This is the only negative I have about the place. We went back to our old site the next day. Verizon Wi-Fi and phone worked well here. The rate was $12/day with the old person pass from the feds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$12
Rate with Golden Age Passport. This National Park CG is outstanding in all respects. There are no showers but restrooms are clean. Sites and roads are all paved. Sites with minor slopes, 30/50, sewer and water. Lots of trees for shade. The stream is picturesque. Self service check in & no reservations. Volunteers do most of the maintenance and cleaning plus man the Visitor Center sign-in desk at Fordyce Bathhouse and conduct the guided tour. Trails are in good shape and the hike from CG to Hot Springs & Fordyce Bathhouse takes under an hour. Parking in Hot Springs can be a problem so the hike is a good option. Cell phone signal & Wi-Fi signal not great but okay. On the air TV reception marginal. AR 7s runs past the CG entrance and there is some truck traffic during the day, not so much at night. When one thinks National Park CG this is not what you expect. Lots of sights to see in Hot Springs & history back to 1832. We would definitely stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$12
Rate was with Golden Age card, so half price. What a find! A NP cg with full hook-ups on a beautiful little stream. We loved it here. The volunteers were very helpful and friendly, the part was spotless. We happened to get a site where our satellite worked, our Verizon wireless worked, beautiful sites--what more could you ask for? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$12
With our Golden Pass, a bargain at $12. Nice place, with a few minor issues. Runoff puts mud into sites, and the grass is sparse. On the weekend the proximity to the main road and open picnic area made it a bit noisy. As well, the restrooms took a beating, and were pretty gross by evening. Proximity to town is a big plus, as is the trail system. We would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$12
Located about 2 miles from historic downtown. RV spaces are 30/50 amp full hook-ups. The large spacious woodsy sites have long asphalt pads. Lots of hiking trails and the creek is nearby. Picnic table and pedestal grille at each site. Close to main road: would recommend a site farthest from road. There are several clean restroom stations throughout the park, no showers. Most of the sites are slightly sloped so leveling could be a minor problem. Registration is self serve on a machine. No reservations. It is first come basis with 14 day limit. Price reflects half price for senior NP pass. Telephone reception good. TV antenna picked up 5 stations. I would highly recommend this as the best place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$12
To us Hot Springs National Park is a very good park. Some of the sites are sloping to the front of camper quite a bit. Self check in, after selecting site enter all your information in machine which will take cash or credit card. No showers. Rate is with Golden Age Passport. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$24
No showers available. Short cut road next to campground and very noisy for a national park. No security. Camp sites are not level and require extra extension and blocks to level up rig. No one available to register you or to help with anything at all. All done by electronic machine that requires only cash to function. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
The Natl. Park c/g has been recently upgraded to include 50-amp electric and full hookups. Nice. Right on a stream, which is very nice to listen to. We travel in a 45' Prevost coach and had no problems backing our coach into our site. I would say at least 15 of the sites could accommodate a 45' RV. A big plus is the Golden Age/Access Pass. The self-pay station accepts this discount. It also takes credit cards. No park host is available off season. Its about a 10 minute drive to the Historic District. Easy access to this park. Nice job NPS! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$12
$12 is the with the senior pass. Agree with other ratings. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$24
We stayed here last year for $10 at the boondock sites and this year for $24 at the full hook up sites. We love this park for its stream-side location and proximity to the national park hiking trails. However, there is considerable Highway 7 noise (logging truck during the week; motorcyles on the weekend) and when the park is full, sites can feel too close together. But, depending on the site, you can get lots of room behind you towards the creek. Restrooms and grounds are kept spotless by the camp volunteers, and park rangers cruise through regularly, so all feels secure. We will definitely come back next time we need to soak at Buckstaff Bathhouse (highly recommended). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$12
We stayed three nights at this park which has recently been improved by the National Park Service. It offers paved sites with full hook-ups, but it is still on a no-reservations basis. You arrive, select a vacant site, and pay at a machine. We were able to take advantage of their discount for seniors. Some leveling of your RV may be required. It is a beautiful setting, quiet and shaded. We camped alongside a creek, near hiking trails and one of several clean restrooms (which, by the way, do not have showers). The park is very centrally located near bath house row and downtown Hot Springs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
A wonderful park! It's beautiful and close to everything with a great creek and trails, lots of shade. The prettiest place I've stayed yet. No showers, so go prepared. Really loved it, will stay there often. Golden Age Passport members can stay for $5 in dry sites, $12 with hookups. You can't beat that! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$10
Great park! We dry camped there 4 nights at the $10 rate and while we were there the first batch of full hookup sites opened unofficially. The ranger said that the price for these, when officially opened, will be $24. We didn't move to take one of those, as they backed up to the busy road and our little dry camp backed up to the babbling creek. Much nicer sounds. Even after the improvements, this will still be a no reservations park, which is why we got there the Wed. before the 3-day holiday weekend and stayed! Excellent hiking trails and large grassy sites made our dog happy, and the peaceful, leafy green park with the water sounds made us happy. If this place offered showers, it'd be a 10, but the camp hosts sure do keep the bathrooms clean, given the heavy use by the tent campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$5
This is a National Park. Beautiful. Camped right on the river. It had clean restrooms and friendly park host and park rangers. We are Sr.'s and received our Senior discount, paid $5.00 per night. We stayed here for three nights. It is close to the City of Hot Springs and freeway, and yet secluded and quiet. We would stay here again if in the area. They are in the process of putting in full hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com