206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Burchfield Branch Park COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (205) 497-9828
CGID1

Burchfield Branch Park COE

Camp Information
Sites
36
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$11



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   10   8   8   9   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$11
Burchfield Branch Park is located near Adger, AL and provides great access to Holt Lake on the Black Warrior-Tombigbee Waterway northeast of Tuscaloosa, Alabama. The Black Warrior-Tombigbee Waterway consists of six lakes with a total length of 457 miles and 39,800 surface acres of water. This facility also offers great amenities, access to the water, limited hiking trails, and opportunities to view wildlife. Water front sites are numbers 1 through 7. Best site on the water is 6. Stay away from site 4 as it is configured incorrectly with hook ups on the wrong side of the RV. If you opt for the waterfront sites beware that the nearest full service bath facility is a little bit away. There is a toilet at the entrance to the loop, though. Both facilities were always in a high state of cleanliness. Don’t forget anything as the nearest respectable “Resupply Center” is far. There is a small country store at the turn off to Lock 17 Road. This is really a nice place to get away from it all. I had no cell phone or TV coverage. This was my second visit and the service/facility was consistent. Cost per night $11.00 with the geezer pass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$9.0
This is one of the prettiest campgrounds we have ever been to. The people who work at the campground are very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were spotless, the entire park is very well taken care of and well managed. On one of the days we were there the weather was bad, we heard a knock at the door, it was one of the hosts with an umbrella guiding us to a brick building with no windows. We certainly appreciated that. A tip is to bring all your supplies with you, it's a long trip to a Wal-Mart. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$9
It is a very nice park, clean and quiet. We stayed on Site 6 right on the water. There was a nice deck right out my front door. Sites 1 through 8 are river front and the rest are off the river. Sites 6 and 8 seem to be the best sites on the river. I would have given the park a solid 10 rating, but no internet or phone (cell) service. I know it’s camping, but some of us still are working. It should not be that difficult nor expensive to run Wi-Fi. Bring everything you need as it’s a long way to the Wal-Mart in Hueytown. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$18
I cannot think of anything bad about this Park. Every one we talked there running the park were the nicest we had meet. Lots of good views. Nice small creek runs behind most camp sites. Lots are very wide and level but fit a 40ft RV easy. You will love it here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
Stayed in site 4 on the water which was a tight fit for the slides on the fifth wheel but manageable. Beautiful views of the river with the leaves just starting to turn. The park is a bit out of the way which isn't a bad thing. Our guests had to walk about 3/4 of a mile to the camp site since they arrived after 10:00 PM which is when the entry gate is closed. Would be nice if they could install a gate with key code access. Very nice park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
Wow, this is a beautiful park! Very nice campsites with lantern hanger and decks. US Army Corps certainly did this one right! Very nice, very clean bathhouse with roomy showers. One of the camp hosts has property nearby and raises free-range, happy chickens. When you are here, ask him to sell you a dozen farm-fresh eggs. Watch carefully and you will see a few groundhogs in the wooded areas of the park. The only thing I didn't like is something that is typical of many National or State parks: neither my cell phone nor my wireless internet would work. Even with those issues, I will return to camp here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
A very nice COE park on the river. The park is a long way from any major town and is very remote. There are 8 sites on the river. The balance of the sites are in a wooded area along a creek and are very shady. Some are very private and some not so much. Some sites have wooden decks overlooking the river or the creek. These are especially nice. The bath house is the best and cleanest I've ever seen at a campground. The entrance road is very steep so be sure you've got enough brake and engine to deal with that. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
Our latest visit to this great little park was no different than previous visits. The hosts are extremely polite and the park is very well maintained. We stayed on the water and really enjoyed ourselves. Definitely worth the trip out here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$18
Another great Army Corp of Engineers park! There are eight waterfront sites. The remainder are hillside sites with a creek winding through them. You do not have a view of the river from the hillside sites. All sites have paved pads, picnic tables, lantern hook, grills and fire rings. Some sites have decks that overlook the creek that flows by. The majority of the sites are shady. Although there are seven first-come first-serve sites, I would have a reservation before going. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$18
We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. It took us about an hour to get from I-59 to the park, but it was well worth it. We did not have a site on the river, but were a short walk from it. We had a wonderful wooden deck on our site and complete shade. This park offers a small beach, tons of opportunity for fishing/boating…etc. The roads are paved throughout the park, so there were kids riding bikes, scooters, skateboards… Each site has a grill and a fire ring. There were 35 sites and the bathhouse we used only had 2 showers for men/women. There were a few times when my husband / 3 boys had to wait in line or go at a later time to get a shower. As far as the women’s showers, I went really early or late at night and did not have to wait. We were not able to get cell phone service, internet service, or cable which was not a problem for my husband and I, but the kids complained some. We did have X-Box and lots of movies… I hope to get to use this park again!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$8
Very nice COE park. Extremely long drive from town through coal mines, but a nice setting once you get there. Site 7 is probably the best one in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$8
The view at this park is fantastic. The water sites have decks that go right up to the water. It would have been perfect except we weren't able to get cell service or satellite TV and only 1 station on antenna. It is also pretty remote. If you want solitude it's wonderful! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$16
We have just returned from Burchfield Branch. We really enjoyed our stay with a few exceptions. The campground was completely full this weekend, which meant that there was not enough showers and hot water for everyone. There are only 2 showers for men and 2 showers for women, which when the campground is fully booked is obviously not enough!! We did not have hot showers the last 2 nights that we were there. The scenery is beautiful and the fishing is pretty good. The only thing keeping me from rating this a 10 is the lack of showers or full hook ups. We will return to visit and hopefully have a hot shower!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$16
The week we were there we were one of 6 campers. It was great. We had the entire place to ourselves most of the day and enjoyed the shady campsite with the creek running next to us. I would give it a higher rating except it is so far from anywhere and no sewer hook-ups. There is a small convenience store about 5 miles up the mountain with a surprisingly diverse stock of goods. We got rib-eyes for 5.99 a pound to grill out one night. Ice, charcoal, canned goods and other camping type things are there also. The staff was very nice and helpful. We walked through the campsites 5 or 6 times a day with our two dogs. Sometimes along the road other times on little trails along the creek. Since we were there during the week there was no one at the beach area but it is large with lots of sand. The beach restrooms are not as nice as the campgrounds, in fact, they were disappointing. Easy access to the river for boaters and fishermen with a plus every now and then of seeing big barges that came through the locks just above the camping area. We will go there again sometime for a long weekend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$16
Very nice COE park. A distance from everything. Be sure you have all your supplies before you arrive. The sites #1 to #8 are right on the river with wooden decks at the shoreline. The rest of the sites are very nice but in a valley, can get HOT. This park is opened all year. Very clean and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$16
I gave this a nine only because this was our first time camping and while it was terrific I am sure there are one or two that may be nicer. They had it all, shade, fishing, beach, playground and neat as a pin. Wife a true first time camper loved it and is now hooked. It is a long way off the beaten path but is well worth the drive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2004
$16
Of all the parks we've ever stayed at, this park had the best facilities for our wheelchair dependent daughter: ever! The shower stall was huge and included (extra) a hand held shower, the toilet area was big enough for her, her wheelchair, me and her service helper dog. Every campsite in the area we were in (very few people the week after Christmas) was located next to a perfect stream and it seems someone made sure there is a water fall sound at each site. The site was paved as were the roads, and included a fire ring, a lamp post for hanging a lantern, picnic table, a grill, and a small wooden table for food preparation. The bathhouse also had an indoor (enclosed and warm!) washer/dryer room complete with a table for folding and laundry tubs for rinsing. There was a wonderful sanded playground right next to the bathhouse. There was a beach and boating area. The campsites next to the lake were right on the water and looked wonderful but we needed to be nearer to the bathhouse. It was so serene and peaceful we wish we had stayed longer. (We moved on to Vicksburg Mississippi on New Years Eve.) However there were the occasional sounds of the barges going up the river to the locke. We missed seeing that every time. Also if you go, look across the river near the entrance area for the eagles that live there. Got to say we loved this park. We will be back! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$16
This campground, which sits right between two steep hills, underwent major upgrades a few years ago. It has very nice interior roads and pretty stone bridges. The park is near Bankhead Dam at the very end of a country road. No matter where you are coming from, it is quite a ways out this road. Still, it's worth the drive. There is a "pump" operated stream that runs right through the camping area (the creek bed is real, but the water is supplied). The concrete sites are level, spacious, and shaded. There are a few sites right on the river, but these are usually hard to get. Nevertheless, the scenery is beautiful and a walk through the park provides plenty of that. All of the sites have nice scenery amongst the big tall trees. The swimming area and playground are nice. We've camped here twice and will surely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$16
Excellent COE Park. Nice beach area, clean facilities. Our site was situated too close to neighbors campfire, smoke was unbearable, spoke with them and soon no more smoke. We will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com