214623 User submitted reviews online!!
Grassy Key RV Park & Resort was rated 9 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (305) 289-1606
CGID10073

Grassy Key RV Park & Resort

Camp Information
Sites
36
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$90



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   9   10   9   9   8   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$90
Best price in the keys with best sites perfect for big rigs like us in a 43' 5th wheel. Loved the cooled pool, foliage between sites, dock, pier with tiki hut, and reliable wifi! Excellent location close to shops and restaurants. Easily accessible to Key West without all the traffic to deal with everyday! Only con was we had a waterfront site but they are setup for motorhomes so we had water and electric lines running under our 5th wheel that we had to step over constantly, but super nice owner did provide an extension for our electric. Glad they did have an extra sewer hookup on the correct side for us though! We will be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$100
Nice level gravel sites, a bit close, but the park managers guide you in. Good, well-maintained park with a nice pool and a gulf-side marina with tiki hut to enjoy the sunsets. No laundry. We were there in the height of the season, so the prices were a bit steep. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$110
Nice park. Small, well maintained CG. Has 10 marina/waterfront sites, 2 ultra premium waterfront, and a mix of others just back from the water and small marina. Good in and out for big rigs. Gravel throughout with level sites. All sites have picnic tables. Clubhouse with a nice laundry facility and one restroom (toilet only) for the entire park. It is is open 9 am to 8 pm. There is a nice pool as well. Cable TV is provided and so is a very iffy Wi-Fi. We gave up on Wi-Fi after the first day as the data rate was almost nonexistent. In fact, if there was a good Wi-Fi I would rate the park a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$50
Great rv park! Very clean, nice view, good price. We've been upgraded for free. I don't know what reason but they gave us the best "standard plus" site they have! Was really nice from them. The only minor issue I had was that I was washing my rv and I've been told to stop that I didn't read the rules or I need to pay 25$ for water. Nowhere in the rules says that but anyway I understand that water is precious. A bit far from Key West, 1hour 15min, but we knew it before. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$43
Awesome place! The location is right on the gulf, the staff is friendly and available, the pool is perfect and the whole park is impeccably clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$96
Rate is based on pay for two nights one night free. It is a small park but has a great view of the Gulf if you have a water view site. It is tight but you can manage with a 45' motor home. Has a nice Tiki hut where people gather and have happy hour. Nice small clean pool. Management very friendly and escort you to your site. Bike paths near by. Great restaurants within a seven mile drive or less. Will return in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$95
We stayed at this resort for several nights in February 2013. The RV park is exceptionally clean and great water views. Owners tore down everything except 3 palm trees in 2009 so everything is new and modern. Real nice heated pool. We decided to book a month for next January to start our winter off on the right foot. Very hard to get sites without booking in advance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$87
Third stay here, and it keeps getting nicer. Nice clean park. Wish there could be a bit more shade, but it must be hard to grow things in coral rock. Good area, but a bit far to grocery, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$81
Small beautifully kept park. They are out every morning raking the sand and washing down the dock area. Entire park is gravel and well laid out. Office escorts you to your site, very friendly. Little pricey, but you pay extra to be right on the water. Pool is small, but crystal clean. We were there for 2 days and met the friendliest people. Would stay there again next time in the keys. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$58
Great park which I think is overpriced but, when compared to other parks in the "KEYS", it's a good deal. Clean, well maintained and managed. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Park is all gravel except for a small "beach" (not) area for horseshoes. Small Tiki bar on concrete pad next to fish cleaning station. Not appealing for evening cocktails while fish are being cleaned. It was great for morning coffee except for fish carcasses floating around. Boat docking in protected area from Gulf of Mexico bay. No access to water except for small pool which was always full of kids having a great time. We loved watching and hearing the kids having fun but missed some adult time in the pool. We would stay here again if in the area. Rate reflects one week stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
Campground was clean and the staff friendly. Wi-FI worked well at campsite. The pool is clean but very small. It is ocean front but has no beach access. Location is next to highway one and has a lot of traffic noise. There not much to do nearby and the closest public beach had a very bad odor. Our biggest complaint is about the surface. The entire campground is covered with coarse gravel and even with a ground cover it is not comfortable. We will not camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$50
This park is situated 45 minutes from Key West. There are two beaches of note nearby, one of which caters to dog owners. The owner is firm but friendly, the staff is friendly too, and the park is beautiful. Great for boat owners, too. Only wish was that the water frontage here was actually beach frontage. There is always the pool though! My husband and I celebrated Christmas here and our family appreciated seeing us on one of the three web cams on site. The owner and staff put together a great pot luck gathering for us that day as well. Made some great friends here as we stayed for an entire month. Would certainly come back if we head this way again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$75
Immaculate park right on the gulf. Sites are level, and, along with the driveways, gravel. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Tropical landscaping is beautiful. The park does not have showers and the restroom is open only when the laundry room is open. The sparkling pool is kept at 87 degrees. The dog walking area is small and next to the highway. If your dog needs more exercise there is a very nice doggie park in Marathon (ocean side of US 1, turn in at 75th Ave, park will be on your left). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$50
Quiet, clean, new, so a little barren: could use more landscaping. Very attentive management. A little farther from Marathon than we expected: about 10 miles to groceries, drugstore, etc. But the peaceful setting was worth the drive. (Came here after leaving a very loud campground last stay.) Some good restaurants close by: you do not have to drive to Marathon for good restaurant. Very nice. Would return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
What a GREAT surprise! We were very nervous about camping in the Keys as we have seen and were made aware of some of the other "campgrounds" in the area. This is a true campground located in the middle of the Keys on the Gulf. There is one live-in that is barely noticeable and well maintained. The campground is landscaped beautifully and grounds are very well cared for. Staff was friendly and EXTREMELY helpful. They provide two lounge chairs on waterfront sites for a little laying out in the sun or gorgeous sunset watching. The pool is a salt water pool that is kept cool which was refreshing after spending the days on the water in the sun. We ate dinner at the Tiki area several nights and after the kids played cornhole and lawn golf while we played horseshoes, all provided by Grassy Key. They offer a marina which we used for a couple of jet skis and we felt very secure leaving them in the water over night. Can't say enough about how much we enjoyed staying here. The only reasons we did not give it a 10 are the following which may matter to some- sites are tight and there is no shade or grass. There is no bathhouse (which they advised up front so we were aware). Sulphur cleaning system for the pool got a little stinky in the evening. Main road traffic could get a little noisy as it is a small campground (not enough to disturb our stay and could not hear it from inside the camper) Our ONLY disappointment was the waterfront sites are view only, they made a small sandy area at back of the sites with the lounge chairs but it is not beach/water access. Overall we were thrilled, even our kids said this is one of their favorites and we will definitely return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$95
Big rig friendly, newer park with good electric and strong wi-fi. All gravel sites; friendly staff. This park was rebuilt after a major storm and lots of money was spent. Spotless laundry, game/TV room. On the waters edge you have docks, and seating areas on the water front. We stayed a week and enjoyed the easy access. You can walk to the local cafe called The Wreak if you arrive late and not in the mood to cook. We did a movie one night at the local (5 miles south). Would stay here again. No tree issues. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
Very nice, spotless campground. Looks good for boaters; level, all gravel sites. No speed bumps. Super clean laundry and mostly friendly staff. Nicely landscaped pool and grounds. I have a few concerns. When I arrived, the front my RV was covered with bugs. I mean covered. Management did see this, and I think it would have been nice for them to suggest if I wanted to wash them off it would be okay. I did ask permission and given a cool reply, "just the front". The bugs were coming off even if I had to do it somewhere else. There are several security cameras. I felt like I was being watched although none were pointed at my RV, I don't think. I might stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$59
Great little RV park located on the gulf side with boat access and dockage. It's a nice clean and well maintained campground. All new RV Campground and it shows. Spent a week here and will return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$90
Our first time there. Very clean sites if you can deal with all stone. The location in the keys is OK, 15/25 miles away from anything. The people in the office very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$90
Small campground and most of the sites are very tight. The few water front sites have more room. The pool is very small but what you would expect for a small campground. The interior roads and camp sites are large rock. The dog walk is on the swell next to the highway. The Wi-Fi was good. Not sure if we will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$78
Place is small and gravel is the size of golf balls. However, very clean and the management is nice. Man made beach area on the gulf side but no access to water. Good place to stay if you're pulling a boat. Activities at the little clubhouse were well attended. Pool was little but nice. Location is fine. Very close to Curry Hammock and about 1-1/2 hrs. to Key West. Plenty of shopping within 10 miles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$99
Stayed here for two weeks in February 2010. Weather was unseasonably cold so we were not able to use the pool, beach etc except 2-3 times. Beautiful new park for self contained units only. Park managers screen potential guests so there are no problems with junky units or questionable guests. About half of the guests were there for several month blocks. Not a cheap place to stay but nothing in the Keys is cheap. You get what you pay for and GKRV delivers. Would like to go back in a couple of years but doubt if it will be affordable by then. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$75
Price reflects weekly rate. Small campground with rock sites and roads, pretty tight spacing. There's a busy, noisy road right outside. Park is kept neat and immaculate. Small pool area is very nice and clean. Nice marina and gathering area with a Tiki on the bay. Free Wi-Fi and cable TV. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$99
This is at mile marker 58.7 on highway 1 in the Florida Keys. Our $112 rate for one night includes high season and a waterfront premium site. I put $99 in the nightly rate because it will not accommodate more than 2 digits. There were no baths, showers, and nor a place to walk the dog. Pets are allowed, but not on the docks. The driveways and sites are all coarse very well kept gravel. There are no grassy areas at Grassy Key. The bay, docks, pelicans, water and palms are beautiful. Cable TV is excellent with an abundance of channels. The hook ups are in excellent condition. The Wi-Fi response was excellent from our site. You really need a vehicle to travel to any shopping or restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$85
This is a relatively new park and the owners have obviously made a serious effort to have a quality RV Park. Very polite and professional staff. We had a waterfront site and it was a reasonable sized site. Everything was first class but there was one issue which ruined our stay. The weather had been quite cool and a lot of fish had died. These dead fish along with 75 to 100' of weeds were trapped against the sea wall and they stunk so bad that we chose to leave after one night and find other accommodations without the smell problem. They were kind enough to refund our money and we were on our way. I am not sure if the "smell" issue was a fluke or if it is ongoing. I rated it an "8" based on the smell issue being a fluke when we were there. Without the smell I would give it a 9 and if the smell is a regular issue I would have to give it a 5. There were no washrooms or showers but all sites were full service so that is not an issue for most people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$10
Very clean park, staff is wonderful. Also very small, cramped, and perfect if you are elderly. I wondered when I was watching the webcam before we came here, why I never saw anyone moving around. It's because it is a resort for older people who are basically inactive. It is very quiet there, so if you are aging and want an "over 55 park" this is your place. I just felt like I had checked into a retirement home, or care facility. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
We stayed here for a month in October so the daily rate actually reflects the discount for a month stay, not counting the extra charge for electricity. This was the cleanest park in the Keys we have ever stayed in. The park managers made it an even more enjoyable stay. The pool was immaculate; the marina and all sites beautifully maintained. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$70
This is a very clean and well kept campground. The sites are very spacious and there is plenty of room for slides. The hosts are very accommodating. We are looking forward to coming back in December. The view is beautiful. We were in a different campground at milepost 70 and did not like it so we moved here. We would have given it a ten if there were baths, showers, and a place to walk the dogs. But we will return. Very convenient area to see the Keys. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$60
Honestly this is a model campground. It is the best place we have been in the Keys. The place is super clean and professionally organized. The new pool is great with chilled water at the perfect temperature. The waterfront sites have great views of the bay and are worth every penny. We look forward to many returns. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
We have been to Grassy Key RV 3 times and it just keeps getting better. The host are friendly and very helpful. If there is a negative it is close to the highway and noise. It is located at approximately mile marker 57. If you are driving south it is easy to miss as the sign is behind a tree so slow down as you get near the mile marker. Very clean with a small marina. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$99
Very nice park if you want to relax. The park has gone through some major renovations so if you were there prior to last year and didn't like it you may want to take a look and try again. The staff in the park is very friendly and accommodating. Sites are good size and the hookups are in ok condition. Maintenance is quick to respond to issues. Dog walk area not very good so that is why they didn't get a 10 otherwise they would. We needed a rental car and the staff was more than willing to drive us to the airport to pick it up, unusual in most parks. The park is very clean and the pool can't be beat with the salt water system instead of using chemicals. Access in and out of the park was good; the staff will direct you into and out of the site and make sure everything is ok with you. There are docks on-site so if you have a boat this is a great place. There are issues with the free Wi-Fi as you can’t keep the connection going from most of the park. If you need to get on-line your best to go to the club house where the signal is a little better and it is free. There is gravel throughout the park with new plants between sites that in time should give some privacy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com