218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Leo Carrillo State Beach was rated 7 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (310) 457-8143
CGID10137

Leo Carrillo State Beach

Camp Information
Sites
135
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   3   7   8   2   10   6   8   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$23
A typical state beach campground. Very busy at this time due to summer vacation. Surrounding landscape scenery is very nice with lots of large trees and shrubs. Beach access is easy especially if you're camped at the front of the park. Could be a long walk if you're in the back. Thought it would also be quieter in the back due to less pedestrian and vehicle traffic. Many choices for beach areas depending on what your pleasure may be. Great area for tide pooling as it is very close. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2013
$45
Let's see, what do we have here - dusty sites, quite some trash all around the park, no water hookups, no electricity, showers you have,to pay for additionally, and all that for 45 bucks. To me, that's kind of rip offish. I won't stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$39
This is a decent state park. The sites do have a decent amount of space between them. All are listed as 31' long but the actual pavement is only ~20. Some have bushes and trees right next to the pad preventing extension of slide outs. Also, some have a fence/hillside close to the rear of the site that limits the length of the RV that will fit. To be safe, check the campsite photos website to make sure you can fit. There is another beach that is much nicer than the main beach. Follow the road under the bridge to the parking lot. Dogs are also allowed on this beach since it is technically not part of the state park. This is one of the closest state beach campgrounds to LA, so many of the sites are packed with way more than 8 people per site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
Everything you may expect from a good state park camping. It has clean showers and bathrooms and it is very near a beach. Friendly and helpful staff. There are rangers that give guided tours for kids. Worth a recommendation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2012
$42
We are 3.5 months into a month rv holiday and this was by far the worst park we have stayed in. First of all $42 for no hookups, no view, no privacy and showers that did not work is a liberty! No internet connection, no mobile signal and the beach across the road is terrible. I really cannot fathom why people stay here to be honest as it had no redeeming features whatsoever. I give 1 mark for the friendly welcome from the ranger and 1 for the fact we only booked 1 night thank god! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Is is our favorite place to camp with friends. We camp here a couple times a year. Although it doesn't have full hook ups, it's walking distance to the beach. It has great hiking trails, and great bicycle trails as well. We always have a great time here. The camp hosts are friendly and nice, and park rangers are helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
I wrote an earlier review of this campground and rated it very highly. I went last month and had a terrible experience. There was a group of campers directly across from us who were loud, obnoxious and drunk the entire weekend. We complained, but the rangers didn't seem to do too much until Saturday night (our last night here). The rangers said that they can't do anything until someone complains, which I thought was ridiculous. If the quiet hours begin at 10:00 PM, shouldn't the rangers be able to enforce that? Also, the park is going on a new "site specific" reservation system beginning in March. If you don't know the sites, you should try to do some research. Some sites are large and spacious with lots of shade, while others are small, cramped, and treeless. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Busy campground but they kept the restrooms clean. We did like how far we were from other campers. The restrooms were clean. We had lots of fun with the beach and sites. Will return next year. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$23
Nice campsites with good separation. Excellent for families. Biggest problem we had was lack of cell/aircard wireless service in site #30. Per the website, there is AT&T wifi within a couple of hundred feet of the store, but we were too far away. I would go back if/when we don't need the cell/aircard service. Rate reflects senior discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Great campground. Get your reservations early and try to get there early to find a good site. No hookups, so you'll be dry camping, but if you get a shaded site, you'll be happy. Great beach with sea caves close by. Visit the beach at low tide and there are incredible tide pools. My family and I go at least four times a year. They lock the gates at 10:00 PM to keep out the riff-raff. Last few times it was so quiet at night it was incredible. The only sounds you heard were the coyotes in the hills! Incredible place for how close it is to L.A. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com