218931 User submitted reviews online!!
Benson KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (520) 586-3977
CGID102

Benson KOA

Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   5   6   6   8   5   3   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
This is my park of choice when passing through or visiting the area (close to Tombstone, Kartchner Caverns, etc.). It is the only park in Benson that has no freeway noise or sitting so close to the busy train tracks that sleep is impossible. It is an older KOA, sites and road are gravel, level and good space between sites. Easy in and out for any size rig, utilities are well placed and work properly. Wifi is better than most, and with a few small trees satellite connect is available. They now have a nice enclosed dog run which we always appreciate, though there is acres of open "dog walk" area which we use for off leash play. Owners are very helpful and friendly and they have a nice store stocked with the essentials. This isn't the paved pretty campground like the nearby Butterfield, but it doesn't have the train noise and is quiet and serene. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
Sweet gem of a KOA. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Office was well stocked. Quiet and far enough off I-10. Park was practically empty - being the off season. Only saw two or three campers in the front area. Gravel and grass spots, plenty large for our 30' Airstream and tow vehicle without unhitching. Easy access to utilities. Some small trees in front with more trees in back. Stayed one night while traveling along I-10. Not a destination in itself, but an excellent choice for the area. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
This is an OK campground with dirt roads and tight/short sites. The stes were well marked. They had great management, I came in late and my registration packet was in the night registration box waiting for me with clear instructions on where my site was and how to get to it. The staff was friendly and very knowledgeable about the attractions in the area. They provided maps with the attractions and distance/time to get there from the park. W-Ffi worked great from my site. There were mo problems with the hookups. There was a really nice tent area with shade a grass, but the RV area was pretty much just a dirt parking lot. Two ponds on site with big koi and catfish. The campground is far enough away from the interstate and the railroad, so noise is not a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$39
I stayed here for 3 days. Campground elevation is 3,561 feet. Maneuvering my 40 footer towing a dinghy in the park was slightly tight but no problem. Roads, sites and patio are gravel. Pull through sites barely hold a 40 foot coach towing. My site 46 offered 30/50 amp service and full hookups. Wi-Fi and cable TV were included in the daily rate. I was not able to receive AT&T Wireless 3G Internet but AT&T Cellular service was fine. I received Dish Network 110/119 Satellite TV from dish on roof of coach. Campground is pet friendly. Wal-Mart and Safeway are 2 miles away. I am unable to comment on other amenities due to not using them. This is a nice KOA for a few night's stay. It is far enough away from I-10 not to hear the traffic. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. They have the lowest price for propane anywhere in the area. My only negative is the people camped next to me had a motorcycle with loud mufflers that they started up several times a day. This was my fourth visit here and I would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
We decided to take a long weekend, at a KOA with facilities in Benson partly because it was close enough to Tucson so that daughter could visit. Although this park is just OK, our kids did enjoy it enough that we may go back in the right season. I thought it was a bit over priced this time of year. There were only a couple other campers in the park at all. We were greeted by a black widow spider, who was residing on the under side of the picnic table, and there were many large ant hills, but to the campground's credit, they treated the ant hills while we were on site. Dog walking is an issue, as burrs are prevalent on the ground. No shade and no grass or dirt, all rocks and gravel. Older facilities, including pool, playground, and very small 9 hole mini golf course. All in all, enough to do that if it were not so hot we would have have a good time. Would have been nice to have a fish-able pond. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$32
While this is not the spiffiest park on the planet, we enjoyed our stay here. The spaces were nice, level and wide enough to accommodate our big rig. As far as KOA's go, this is quite nice, as many KOA's we have encountered while crossing the US have been horrible in every way. The owners were delightful and worked hard to make everyone happy. Everything worked well, and we could not hear the freeway noise at all. The train horn was in the distance (but we love trains). We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
This was definitely not one of the nicer KOA's we have stayed in. It was pretty run down and not nearly as well maintained as we are used to seeing at KOA's. Their biggest asset is that they are close to so many tourist attractions, but I think next time we will look for a different place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$39
Very disappointed, expected better from a KOA. Their book says 'cable - yes' I do not consider 12 TV stations to be cable TV. Also the web site offered sites that were upgraded in fall 2007. HUH? This campground hasn't changed a bit in as many years as it has been around. You know when you drive in and there is NO OTHER RV's in it, you are in big trouble. We will NEVER stay here again and have crossed it out of the KOA book. I am also writing KOA to voice my disapproval. All of this for $39.00? No thanks! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
We had come in late at night and was greeted by some very interesting employees. They showed us to our site and told us to come on by for some late night hot chocolate. Great kamper kitchen for breakfast. Fire pits(really nice because it was chilly), water at the tent sites. Even a discount coupon for Karchner Caverns nearby. We stayed for 3 nights just because. Will return for next summer. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$34
Easily found off I-10 using my GPS. Upon arriving at the Benson KOA, we were half way down the narrow dirt road leading into the campground when a car, truck and a pickup pulling a very large trailer tried coming out the road as we were going in. I had to actually stop my Class A as close as I could to a barb wire fence and wait for the vehicles to pass me. The car and truck made it fine but the pickup with the trailer knocked down several posts lining the drive. I suggested to the manager that they needed a wider entry/exit road. There is not room for two campers to pass! The manager was nice enough and showed me to our site. Level site, all dirt with a little gravel mixed in. A pull through so did not have to unhook the toad. Wi-Fi was very weak, used my ATT Air Card. Cable TV signal was weak but viewable. Would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$31
Clean, quiet and on the opposite side of town from the busy railroad tracks. Not much to do, but for an overnight stay, would definitely return. Management was friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$52
The park was very clean and had many personal touches. The Wi-Fi was very poor as they restrict bandwidth to the point where I have seen dial-up faster. If you need streaming video or audio for business or in my case school, do not stay here. I was also a bit upset at the times they choose to clean the bathrooms, between 11:00am-1:00pm. If you need the bathroom do not sleep in. Also, the maintenance people are very noisy, actually running a skill saw at nine in the morning. The manager is grumpy and not very friendly. His wife who works with him is a real sweetie even bringing us an extra heater so our dog would not get cold, but speaks very poor English (Korean?). This park is not smoker friendly, prohibiting smoking in the cabins. There are also very few paved roads and the paved road coming in is rough. As I need a fast internet connection, I probably will not stay here again as the cabins are not cheap and I expect more bandwidth for my money. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
Good park for an overnighter. It is in a pretty setting. The buildings are in need of major repairs. It's a tired, old KOA that needs attention. The sites are fine and the people are very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2009
$39
This is an older KOA. The sites are full of puncture vine and ant hills. After we had committed for a week, and paid, the owner mentioned the puncture vines. There are some small trees that give little shade. It has a nice dog walk but dogs get "goat heads" in their feet getting there. We were there a week and only 1 of 4 washers worked. It is a typical KOA. Anymore, they are either very nice and overpriced or run down and overpriced. The advertised big rig access is true but, barely. We will not return, nor can we recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$34
This park is a typical, dirt KOA campground. My only real gripe is with the cable TV. I guess if television comes to the RV via a cable, then it is cable TV. Benson has poor cable TV: don't expect to watch the normal cable channels while at Benson KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2009
$34
Dirt..dirt..and more dirt. Aside from lots of dirt and only 4 channels available on the cable..the park is okay for a one night stay. We were traveling with our 2 little Shih Tzu's. If you have pets, the park does not have a fenced in pet area and there are many sand spurs around the park that get into the dogs paws. If you are traveling with children, there is a small playground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
The fact that this KOA has been here so long and there are no trees to speak of, or grass for that matter, is sad. A little more water and I think they would have some nice trees! The campground is quiet, VERY quiet. There were four campers here each night we were here. That made it easy to get in and out of the restroom! The restroom was clean and maintained. Hope you like Classical music. That is what plays in the restroom. The pool looked good but we did not use it and I am not sure about the hot tub. We stayed here in July and it was 108 degrees. Hot tubs didn't appeal too much to us. This was just our hub to tour this part of Arizona. Only 25 miles to Tombstone and Sonoita, and 35 to Saguaro National Park and Tucson. I think the price is too high for this park in the dead of summer. There are probably better parks around here and in Tucson. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
This park was definitely in need of some upgrading. It might have been the time of year but there wasn’t much staff in evidence. The couple who run (own?) the facility were very accommodating and the baths and showers though old would rate 10 on a cleanliness scale. Yes, there were lots of do not signs, but George Carlin would have found some of them amusing, especially the “flush frequently“ entreaty. Despite an objective 6 rating based, mostly on the visuals I wouldn’t hesitate to overnight here again if ever passing through. Two days might stretch it though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$31
Downgraded greatly due to poor condition of restroom/shower area. Roaches in the women's restroom. The general impression that it was reasonably clean until spending a little time in the shower area. The bathroom tiles were very grimy at the top - the walls above the tile were also grimy. This was old dirt that apparently had been there for some time. The same with corners and crevices in the restroom. It appears these areas had just been given "a lick and a promise" for quite a while. Needs a thorough scrubbing probably a little bleach or disinfectant wouldn't hurt either. The woman at the front desk was quite pleasant. I wouldn't have minded all of the "please don't" signs if the cleanliness had warranted it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Pretty nice layout, but this campground was pretty deserted when I stayed there. Since you had to drive by another RV park to get to the KOA, maybe that park took most of the overnight traffic. Main complaint was an abundance of "please don't" signs. Please don't dye your hair in the sink; please don't turn off the speakers in the restroom; please don't leave the restroom without flushing, etc. I felt like a little kid in 1st grade!! Take some of these signs away, and the atmosphere would improve. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$34
It is acceptable for an overnight. Easy access to I-10, yet far enough away that road noise isn't an issue. Sites are level and accommodating. Water and electric are good. The WIFI has a nice strong signal. The Cable TV leaves a bit to be desired. There was a very fuzzy picture at our site. For us as "24" fans, the fact they don't offer the FOX Network is cause for serious demerits. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$32
Very friendly staff and very clean restrooms and showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$28
Yes our dog had problems with the burs in her fur. We kept her on the rocks. The dog walk in the desert is fine for short hair and larger dogs. This KOA is older and has that feel, but the utilities were fine and the showers were clean. The propane was the cheapest in the area, and folks were coming from other campgrounds to have their tanks filled here. This is not a destination campground, but worked for us for day travel to Tombstone and Bisbee. You are a half mile North of the interstate, and the train track, so while you can hear them, it is in the distance. The train does blow its whistle when it goes through town, and you will hear it, but it should only bother the fussiest of sleepers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$36
Fantastic site, first class service, site has all you need for a short or long stay. :-) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2008
$54
Grass type used in campground haw spurs - entire campground was covered - unable to let our dog walk outside without getting covered in these painful spurs to the point that he could not even walk. Spurs stick to bottom of your shoes and get inside your motor home. Campground is "worn" and quite bleak feeling. Trains run nearby all night -continuously. Not a good campground for pets and not a good campground for walking around. This campground was the most expensive one we stayed at in Arizona, but was the lowest rated by us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
This park is fine. Nothing spectacular, but certainly nothing wrong with it either. Convenient to the freeway. Pool area was a little dingy but it was OK. Train noise was not bothersome and you're not going to find anywhere in Benson where you won't hear the train. Pull throughs were plenty long and the utilities were all in working order. Don't know if it's worth an extended stay but a few days are fine and if you're just cruising I-10 and need an overnight you can't go wrong here. We'd stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
Surprisingly found a small fridge in cabin. Many homey delights in cabin. Owners were kind. Showers were clean. Laundry was available and clean. Small TV to watch was in laundry room. Wonderful stay would definitely stay there again if through their way. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$35
This was a very pretty KOA campgrounds, the mountains in the background where great, they had a BBQ dinner that you could order from a caterer if you got in late and did not want to cook, very friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$35
Helpful staff. Helped us take our tow vehicle into the local dealer for service. Little rustic but quiet surroundings. Good place to get away from it for awhile. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2007
$35
Owners spoke broken English which made check ins lengthy and difficult, very little grass anywhere, several sheds filled with wood, cardboard, and assorted trash, Koi pond needed a good cleaning, and mini-golf overdue for necessary repairs. Far enough away from I-10 that there wasn't much noise but a siren went off at 4 in the morning. OK for overnight but not much more. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
This is what a KOA is suppose to be like. You are flawless and keep up the park, we will be back ! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2005
$32
What a totally enjoyable camping experience! The couple that owns and operates the place are fantastic hosts. They led us to our site with their golf cart. They helped us parking and delivered firewood and made change. The entire campground is VERY clean. We could even use the picnic table without a tablecloth. I loved the classical music in the bathroom. We have 4 kids and we could not find anything family friendly in Tucson. It was worth the extra drive. It is about 50 minutes past Tucson (heading East). They had a nice playground, nine holes of mini golf, pool table, video games and pinball machines. It was nice to have an internet computer in the office and wireless access. I was glad to support a family business run by a family that works hard. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
1999
$20
Just your average KOA campground. Mostly gravel and dust, needs more upkeep. Fairly close to the new Kartchner Caverns State Park. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com