220137 User submitted reviews online!!
Illini State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (815) 795-2448
CGID1023

Illini State Park

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   9   8   9   6   6   10   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$17
We love this campground for two reasons. Close to home so that I can commute to work and the river sites with their view of the river and barges. Nothing can beat the sun coming up over the river with a barge in site. The river sites are in the Great Falls area sites 1-20. We give the park a review of 8 because of the quality of water (we bring our water from home) and the fact that only 20 of the sites are on the river. If I was coming to the area to visit Starved Rock State Park, I would choose this campground and use it as my home base. There are a number of restaurants in the town of Marseilles a short drive away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
We spent a lot of our early camping days at this park and have always loved it. Watching the barges and activity on the river is always fun. The sites are big with plenty of room between sites, and there are plenty of huge old trees to provide shade. Also, relatively easy off/on to I80 even though its a mile or two away from the interstate. Now the bad news. The park seemed to be much more run down than we remembered. The bathrooms/showers were awful - dirty and smelled like egg water. When I checked the showers, the egg water smell got worse, so I'm sure the smell comes from the water dripping from the showers. Showers also on a push button system. I pushed the button and - I timed it - 9 seconds later the water went off! Can you imagine taking a shower where every 9 seconds you have to push a button? The 30 amp power was also geeky. Twice our power went out for no apparent reason. Came right back on, but still. We now have a 45' motorhome and we encountered a few low hanging branches - nothing major though - and some turns were tighter than we normally like, but we were able to get in and out of our site and the campground with only a little bit of extra maneuvering. I sure hope Illinois comes up with some money to update this campground because despite the negatives, we still like this place! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
What a great park with many sites right on the river where you can watch the barges go by day and night, along with other boat activity. This would be a 10 if they had water hook ups at the sites. Site was easy to back into and easy to level our travel trailer. Some sites are close together, but most are a nice size, and there is plenty of grass area between the back of the sites and the water. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
Great Campground for a state park. Lots of hiking. We have spent many a family weekend hiking, biking and fishing at this park. The views are amazing!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
This is a state park. The grounds are well cared for but recently they have had problems with the plumbing. We understood that the re-opened park has a temporarily sewerage solution so it might fail again. The sites on the Illinois River are really great: most are quite large. There are lots of trees but, if you are careful, you can still get satellite access. There is only electric for hook-ups. There are water spigots that can be used communally, if you’re close enough or have enough hose. We weren’t, but it was not a problem. The showers and restrooms were acceptable for daytime use. The lights are on a very short-cycled timer, which was a bit disconcerting, after dark. It can get a bit busy on week-ends. They were kept clean. There is also playground equipment and a snack bar with ice cream! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Nice looking from the initial drive in. The lady at the front desk was nice too, though we told her we were pretty new at the backing in, seeing that this was only our 2nd voyage. She gave us a pick of 2 sites since I guess people do not do much fall camping. The problem was the sites were so unlevel and I'm not sure why she didn't put us closer to the park seeing that we had 4 kids with us. After propping the one side up on blocks, we did the best we could and still ending up unlevel. The sewer looked to be recently installed and didn't have a screw top so the sewer line just sat there. Found out the last day that it was clogged so we ended up dumping all our waste from 4 kids and 2 adults onto the clay. My husband said the bathrooms were clean but had no towels or blow dryers of any kind in the men's restroom to dry hands. The kids' park was awesome, the kids loved it. The people seemed nice, waving HI each time they'd pass. Not sure if there is a pool because it was too cold to swim. In all, a nice place. If they could fix their unlevelness and sewer, it would be even better. We'll most likely come here again because it's near Starved Rock were we like to go hiking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
The campground hosts were very friendly, polite and professional. Large shady or sunny sites depending on your preference, also sites available on the river. There are a number of stray cats in the park, some are sweet and some just avoid you. The facilities were clean and functional, however they could use updating. There is a strong sulfur smell in all the water, If you put it in your camper the water in your camper will smell. I used their water to rinse out my water bottle before filling it with spring water, the sulfur smell made the water undrinkable. We may stay here again, however, we would bring water with us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
This is a wonderful place to camp! Family friendly, quiet, clean and an overall pleasant stay. We will be coming back again. I cannot say enough of how well maintained, and clean this campground is! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$15
This campground provide the quintessential camping experience. Large heavily wood sites with minimal facilities. It also provides a good experience for those of us with large RVs. Easy access back in sites that are large enough for the biggest rigs. Many sites have satellite TV access along with a river view. The reservation system, however, is a bit confusing. Only even numbered sites can be reserved, but nearly all of the best riverfront sites are even numbers thus without a reservation, no riverfront site. There is also a second campground with no views but electric sites and mixed trees and sun with big rig access. Sites are fairly level with gravel pad, fire ring, and table. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$17
Overall a good campground, but water has a bad sulfur smell and had problems with the breaker on the power pole. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
Very nice, clean state park. Peaceful and quiet. Loved watching the barges on the river. Park hosts were friendly and watchful of the surroundings. Bring your own water though...it tastes/smells HORRIBLE here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$22
Liked seeing the barges but bring your own water can't drink theirs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$15
We camped for 14 days in the electric area to the East of the bridge on site 25 for one day moving to site 27 for the remainder. Some of the sites are VERY close to each other and all the electrical is old. The 30A breaker at site 25 could not carry our loads while the one at site 27 could. We agreed with the rules for the campground but, they are not enforced. Multiple boats/cars on a site is common - especially on the weekend. Likewise, multiple families on a site with vehicles parked on multiple sites. The water has a rotten egg smell likely caused by sulfur. If you stay long enough to require a refill of your fresh tank, be sure to use an odor and sediment filter before it goes in. The shade is very nice. Trees everywhere. The river view is beautiful with lots of boaters, jet skis, barges, and wildlife. The sites are relatively level but, with rain they do tend to pond a bit. We were under a flood watch, but the river was never a problem. I would stay here again, but only during the week to avoid the crowds. It's much quieter during the week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$15
This is our "home" campground. We store the RV near here and camp here 3-4 times a year, always in the main loop on the east side. Watching the barges on the canal is nice. It's a pleasant small park for a weekend getaway. If you're travelling through it's about 3-4 miles off I-80 and in my opinion is preferable to the local private campgrounds. The dump station is easy to access and water fill-up is available near the camp host sites. Gas in Marseilles is consistently cheaper than the Chicago area. The last 2006 post which gave a "3" rating must have been about one of the private campgrounds as there is no pool here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$7
It was great. I would go back there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$15
All even number sites are reservable in the front part of park. Back of park is first come first serve. Sites are good size and will fit larger RVs. There need to be some upgrades done in this park. When it rains sites become water logged because of lack of gravel. Restroom were still closed when we visited. You can get a nice view of the river to watch boats and barges go by. Would return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
Stopped here for the night on the way home. I80 traffic won't be a problem as this well off the road with several turns to get there. I asked for shade and I got it. Clear in the back (outback they call it) and past some pretty shabby looking places. I asked the guy that parked me if maybe they had something near the front close to the pool. He told me I wouldn't want any of those sites because they were pretty uneven. Said he tried to get "them" to let him fix them but shrugged his shoulders. I took where I was and had to unhook just to drive back to the pool. Thats when we noticed several pretty nice looking shaded lots just down from the pool the other direction. Lady in the office said she was sorry when I explained it to her. Lots of seasonal units here and some that had been at one time. The pool was pretty nice. I would pass on this place next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2005
$15
This could be a beautiful park, if kept better. It needs more gravel in the sites. When it rains your sites will fill with water. There are 3 separate campgrounds. One you can see the river and the other 2 have no river view. They have a couple of host on duty daily. The shower house only consist of 2 showers which is not fesible for that many campers. On busy weekends be prepared to wait in line and it closes at 10:00 am for cleaning. You can see the barges, and boaters if you are by the water and it is a nice view. There is also one campground cabin that you can rent also and it has a view of the river. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$11
This state park is located on the south bank of the Illinois River, by a dam adjacent to the rapids. There is a barge canal in part of the river, and you can watch barges going through the waterway. The sites are spacious and shady. We stayed in the Great Falls campground, right on the river. There is also a Whitetail campground a little further west in the park in a forest, but it has no river views. The town of Marseilles is just across the bridge, and it has a small grocery and a few gift and antique shops. The I & M Canal state trail also goes through the town for biking or hiking. The campground restrooms were o.k., clean, but could stand some updating. This campground is about 60 miles southwest of Chicago, off I-80. It's a nice place to camp. We will return here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com