223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Cotopaxi/Arkansas River KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (719) 275-9308
CGID10257

Cotopaxi/Arkansas River KOA

Camp Information
Sites
74
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   8   7   5   7   7   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
We had an easy in/out pull-through site for three nights after skipping another campground up the road that was undesirable. Overall a very nice facility and nothing to complain about here. Wonderful dog park for our pup. Access to the river for fishing. Fire ring and the site was very clean. Campground well kept up and very clean. Staff very helpful, could not ask for a better place to stay. Wi-Fi worked fine for a brief mail check, but use is limited by park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
We stayed in a river front site in our motorhome for over two weeks. Nice concrete patio with table and chairs, fire ring, dedicated tent area or sand box for kids to play in. Our 2 labs enjoyed the dog run, please remember to clean up after your pets. Evenings were cool, no bugs. Campground areas were kept up and very clean. Staff exceptionally helpful in all aspects of your stay. Going back in 2014 for a few months as their monthly rate is great. No TV nor cell phone reception, free Wi-Fi limited due to rural/high mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$63
We stayed in one of the river sites and it was awesome. One of my favorite campgrounds. They had concrete patios and a site for a tent. The only negatives we had were that there is no cell service and no sewer connections by the river (not really their fault). Bath houses were clean, overall an awesome place to stay. They do have a dedicated dog walk area now. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
We were nervous when we first pulled in as the sites look really small. Once we got our tent up, we found we had more room than we thought. The staff was friendly and we liked that there was a designated dog walking area although it was full of those "goat head" weeds and our poor pooch kept getting them stuck in his paws. It was nice camping on the river and hearing the water. The restrooms were clean, but the shower stalls were pretty small. We would visit again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$39
This park is right along the river, and the scenery is nice. Unfortunately, the sites are all sand/dirt, so be prepared to wipe your feet off a lot. We had a heck of a time trying to find a level site also. They charge a per pet fee, regardless if you are in a tent, cabin, Motorhome, etc. We have never experienced a charge like this before at a KOA when having the pets in a Motorhome. They do not have an actual "Pet Walk" that is maintained. Hopefully, they can improve this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
This campground has great potential, but there is a definite need for some TLC. The restrooms were old and not very clean, and the sites looked like they had not been tended in a very long time. The pavilion is falling apart, as is the picnic area. Sad to see this happen here! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$23
The park was not bad especially for the price. The location was good but it was very close to Hwy 50. Traffic noise was noticeable. It was right next to the Arkansas River which was nice. For fly fishing it was only OK water near the campground, but there are lots of easy access up and down Hwy 50. The pool was not open and was supposed to be opened while we were there. The people who run the place were very nice and helpful. The store at the campground had limited selection but had the basics. We stayed in a water/electric only pull through site. We used the camps dump station which was not easy to maneuver into. I could have pulled into one of the vacant pull through sites with sewer and used that if I wanted. I did not have any trouble using the dump station like the other reviewer did. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
CG as stated, an older but well maintained KOA. Almost vacant when we were here, so we got to pick our own spot. There are five or so 50 AMP W/E sites along the river that have a poured concrete patio (for the people, not the RV) and wrought iron table and chairs. Those seemed to be the best sites. We did not expect cell service since we were in a canyon. Road noise quieted down after 9PM and didn't start up until after 7 AM. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
While this is a pretty location and a decent KOA, there were some major issues that our party ran into during our stay. The Pro's: next to the Arkansas river with good fishing and rafting nearby. No cell service available. Fairly level sites for most sites. Fire rings and picnic tables available at each site. Fairly roomy sites with shade trees available. Premium sites are next to the river and fill up early. Pool was clean and available. The Con's: Bathrooms and showers were dirty. Wi-Fi was very week and they charge $2 a day for it. No cell service available. Route 50 is 10 feet away and road noise is fairly constant. They advertise an Ice Cream Social and did not tell us it lasted 15 minutes, so our kids missed out, however the entire staff did not. When one of the Dad's in our party asked to stay 30 minutes after checkout time so he could pick his family up from the local rafting company, he was told he needed to pay an additional $50. This is despite the stated policy on their website of a $10 "late charge". The CG was almost empty at the time of the request. When I went to pull out and dump my tanks 30 minutes prior to checkout, there was a truck parked in front of the dump location. When I asked if the truck could be moved so I can dump, they stated that they didn't know whose truck it was and that I would just have to wait. After 15 minutes, I left as it was apparent this was to discourage their customers from using the dump on their CG. We will not be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com