221717 User submitted reviews online!!
King Phillips Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (518) 668-5763
CGID10282

King Phillips Campground

Camp Information
Sites
155
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$53



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   10   7   8   9   9   3   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$53
Nice park, we had a very nice site. Feel that park should escort campers to their site since park is very large and site map is hard to read and many sites not marked. Some of the office help not overly knowledgeable on trolley stop and schedule information. Would stay here again. Many sites further into park are all shade and would not want those sites. We stayed on site H34 which was a corner lot. Firewood very expensive for amount received. Pool was nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$56
This campground is beautifully maintained with super clean showers. We were given a site on the mountainside in the back of the park. It was very nice! The playground and pool were both desired favorites for our 6 year old and 4 year old. My only complaint is the customer service by office staff. Upon check-in the teen in the office was less than helpful and seemed put out by helping me. The lady in the office did not look up or help the boy. I do believe he said no more than 10 words. He did not even tell me our site number. We have stayed at many campgrounds and this is the most unfriendly office environment we have witnessed. Aside from the poor check-in service this campground experience was wonderful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
Recently spent four nights at King Phillips in site V-9. They are only about 3 miles from the village of Lake George. Very convenient. Our site had full hook ups including cable and fair sized. Site was crusher stone which was very level. We stayed here several years back and you can see many improvements to the CG. All roads and campsites are stoned over like our site. Many sites are wooded hill side and appear to be again fair sized. Bath houses appear to have been recently remodeled as they have tiled walls, floors and counter tops with new pine wood toilet dividers. Showers were separate enclosures that were dated but clean with good water pressure. There are many seasonal campers in this park. Our site was perpendicular to three and if they were at their trailers during our visit we would of had no privacy. The hill side sites appear more private. Also, because of so many seasonal campers there is a lot of traffic (golf carts) buzzing around the CG. With the stone roads, after awhile it gets irritating to listen to the noise. King Phillips has a very irregular lay out to it and could use a golf cart escort to lead campers to their sites. We watched many arrivals pull in and then have to back out to find their spot. Office staff is very friendly and helpful with suggestions on the area. Our rate is an average with Good Sam discount for our stay which we thought wasn't bad considering the area. If we came back to the Lake George area we would consider coming back but request a quieter hill side site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
The staff was friendly and the site was clean and level next to the swimming pool. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$46
Busy campground, dirt sites. Good campground for bikers, on a major trail. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$46
Very large, well managed park. They cram a site into every available space, but the terracing on the mountainside keeps it from feeling claustrophobic. We stayed in M6: barely big enough for our 35' fifth wheel, but very comfortable once we got set up. Saw some sites down on the flat by the playground area that I wouldn't care for. Would stay again if in the Lake George area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$46
This is a very nice, quiet park. The people we met were friendly and the staff were helpful. Our site was shady and cool. Convenient to Lake George village and outlets, although we did not go to the outlets. Trolley will transport you back and forth all day long. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$47
Campsites at front of park close together. The T and M areas had shaded sites, spacious, level. Shuttle to nearby towns. Lots to do and see, War of 1812 and American Revolution sites for exploring. Lake George has multiple recreation opportunities. Would recommend if you're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
We had visited this campground many times as our friends are seasonal there. This was our first stay. The campground was well maintained, sites were level. We didn't use the pool or showers, but checked them out and seemed to be very clean. The campground overbooked the reservations and tried to send us to their sister campsite, but then found us an area where we could camp with power and water. Not sure why as there were many open sites. Our trailer would have never fit into their small overgrown dump station so we had to wait until neighbor pulled out to use that site to dump. The campground was very quiet at night and there is security that drives around with golf carts to ensure this. The campground is on the trolley route that goes right into the village of Lake George or to the outlets. Probably will not stay here again unless they can guarantee a specific site number when making the reservation (which is not done for first time visitors). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$46
Great place, very friendly/helpful staff and sites were clean and level. A couple of tight turns headed to the wooded sites but nothing unreasonable. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$47
A very nice campground on the shuttle line into town. Can't really ask for more for the rate. I used Good Sam discount. Four washers, could use a few more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
We had a site with full hookups so we did not use the showers. The restroom near the pool was clean. The restroom near our site was old and buggy. The restroom near the playground was new with private shower rooms. It appears they are upgrading them all. Park has MANY seasonal / full time units mixed in with the vacationers. Some were not well kept. Pet friendly they are not. Bicycling around the park with kids, I heard the staff talking to two separate vacationers to keep their dogs from barking and we had a note left on our door our first day telling us to keep our dog quiet. (We went to the front desk and were gone 20 minutes.) The rest of our stay, we had the windows closed and the AC on (not really camping). The Staff was extremely pleasant though. Park is a mix of flat and hillside. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
Very close to Lake George Village and attractions. We were in the front and had a nice pull through: level, treed, large with good hook-ups. Although we did hear complaints from other campers about spots in the rear of the park that were small and difficult to get into. Nice staff in the office, excellent Wi-Fi. Cable TV. We were here a week and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
Well this is a seasonal trailer park at best, summer home for snowbirds!! A lot of semi-permanent items that look as though they have been here for many years. Some sites not so level and hook-ups that are scary, electric wires stapled to trees along with cable. Electric lines running through trees not far from RV's roofs and again secured to trees not poles. Sewer connections on angles instead of 90 deg. angles. Chipmunks galore there everywhere among the shaded spots and rocks. Cable did work and Wi-Fi was good. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$17
We stayed here for a couple of weeks before the busy season started. The host was friendly and had a lot of to do tips for the area. The campsites towards the front are fairly level and most shaded. Roads in the park are paved, sites gravel. Hookups well placed. There was a lot of construction going on in this park getting ready for the crowds. Great location and if you like to do biking there is a trail only 100' from this campground. Rate shown is the Passport America rate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
Rate is Passport. Note, their website does not indicate the need for reservations for Passport. Owner indicates probably will not continue with Passport. They are in the process of renumbering sites, so the map is very confusing. Killer speed bumps that you cannot get straight on, rocks the coach terribly. In order to get within 20 ft of the sewer, I had to put the electrical and water on the wrong side. Not much other choice this time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
At first this campground seemed promising. But spots are VERY tight and it is hard to find sites in the upper loops. We came in at night and it was a disaster. No privacy at all and mostly big rigs and full timers. The ones across from us came in later than we did and kept their diesel running for almost an hour. A beautiful area though on our way to Vermont. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
This is a beautiful campground built right into a mountainside. I camped here for 2 weeks and, so, got one of the ground level sites but, some of the overnight sites are straight up the mountain and not something I would want to try in a large RV. There were campers that didn't seem to have any problem with the slope but, I would be uncomfortable with the set-up. That being said, I really liked the way the sites are set up in a pod type of arrangement. It's very nice to not have the usual side by side and nose to tail arrangement and there weren't more than 8 campers per pod. The store was decent but the WiFi was only in the store/pool area. The campground is right on the Lake George transit line and there are trolleys about every half hour to both the outlets and Lake George Village. This was a nice, clean campground with friendly and efficient staff. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
We have stayed in this campground twice, and both times has been pleasant. The price is reasonable, and even better with the Good Sam discount. The office staff is hit or miss: some of the younger ones seem like they can't be bothered, but others are very helpful. One of the maintenance men was exceedingly helpful and even offered us a ride back to our camper after we bought some ice at the office. There are a lot of seasonals at the lower end of the campground, keeping pretty much to themselves. We don't swim, but the pool looked okay. The game room wasn't much to look at. It can be a little difficult maneuvering larger rigs, but manageable with caution. Our site was perfectly level and spotless. It seems that they clean the sites and rake the gravel almost immediately upon someone's departure. Trash is picked up right at your site. There is a mobile RV repairman that makes the rounds to the local campgrounds, which is a plus if you have an issue with your rig. The campground is close to many Lake George attractions. There aren't a whole lot of amenities, but if you're looking for a quiet place, close to everything and reasonably priced, this is the one for you. We had also looked at Lake George Escape, which provides more (especially for kids) but would have been almost double the price. Pet friendly, and wireless internet available near the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$31
We chose this campground because of the price. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The campground seems to be mainly seasonal campers but their campsites are well cared for. Wi-Fi is available at the office and at the campsites that are close to the office. This is a nice and inexpensive campground to use as a base to see all the different attractions of the area. We will be returning in July and will stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
Helpful staff. The park is very tight getting around. It seems it is in a thick forest as the sites are very close to the trees. Many campers appear to have taken up long term residency and a lot of lawn junk is visible. The area is beautiful and we will come back to Lake George, but probably won't stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
We stayed at one of the few sites that did have Wi-Fi access, which was up by the office. Site was gravel, fairly level. Wi-Fi was knocked out by a storm but restored a few hours later. Staff friendly. This is a huge park with lots of seasonal sites but most appeared well kept. We would do another short stay at this park at one of the front sites with Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
We chose this park because of the low nightly rate. The other more popular park in Lake George would have cost double. There are new owners here. Most of the park is permanent residents although their homes are nice. Our site was shady and quiet. This park is centrally located for all activities in the Adirondacks. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com