219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Red River State Recreation Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (218) 773-4950
CGID10283

Red River State Recreation Campground

Camp Information
Sites
113
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   9   10   10   9   10   9   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Beautiful, clean, well kept state campground. Most sites have full hookups. Most sites are pull thru with more than enough space for big rig and towed vehicle. Nicely treed. Spacing between sites is the most I have ever seen insuring privacy. Well kept showers and restroom facilities. Wi-Fi on two buildings but trees block access to many sites. Many sites satellite friendly despite trees. Easy walking distance to downtown restaurants, sports store and multi-screen theater. Lots of grass kept well mowed and trees vary from very young to very old (over 140 years according to caretaker). Located next to Red River of the North and surrounded by flood control levee on two sides - keeping noise down. Reservations advised but individual site photos and reservation info is online under Minnesota Parks site. Some sites are not reservable - first come, first served. Very busy on summer weekends. Two week stay limit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
This is a very pleasant campground. Stays are limited to 14 days, so the sites are occupied by campers rather than long term residents. Roads are paved with concrete or asphalt. RV sites are gravel. The park has lots of grass and trees. It is within walking distance of several restaurants and shops. There are some great hike & bike trails adjacent to the park. We enjoyed a ten mile scenic bicycle ride from our campsite. The trail was aside the banks of the Red River. We crossed to the Minnesota side and back amidst lovely surroundings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
$30 per night was for a full hookup site. In addition, there is daily parking permit of $5 or you can purchase an annual MN state parking pass for $25, which is good for 12 consecutive months from the date of purchase. Many recreational opportunities are available in the park and surrounding areas including biking/hiking trails. The campground is located within walking distance of downtown East Grand Forks, MN and its many dining and shopping opportunities. You can also walk across the bridge into Grand Forks, ND, which offers many more shopping/dining experiences. As stated in prior reviews, spacing between sites is generous and most sites are level. While there are trees in the campground, they afford very little shade but they’ve done more plantings so shade should improve in the coming years. We received three bars of 4G LTE on our AT&T phone. There is free Wi-Fi in the campground which worked well for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Holy cow, the previous reviews are right, this place is in the middle of a city! This place was created in 1997 after a flood devastated the area. This area was a housing development. After the flood, everything was torn down and rebuilt to a State Park. What is so cool about this place is that it is within walking distance of some restaurants, movie theater, Cabela's, a place to get your hair cut, lots of things. If you don't tow a car and find yourself in this area, try to stay two nights just to "do the town." You are close to a bridge where you can walk to the North Dakota side. The hookup sites are pull-through but the sites are arranged parallel along the driving road so that someone may be in front or behind, but nobody is directly beside you. You get a lot of acreage with your site. Restrooms were clean. I had to pay $35 ($30 camping, $5 car fee) for full hookup. If you have the Minnesota Annual Pass, you don't pay the car fee. You pay the car fee even if you aren't towing a car, but they don't charge extra for a towed car. Little pricey for a state park, but cheaper than a hotel! TV reception via JACK antenna was difficult. It seemed that you got the most channels when you turned it the direction of the least blue reception lights. You get CBS, NBC, ABC, ME-TV, CW, and some good Prairie Public PBS stations. I'm surprised I couldn't get a FOX station. The park does not have Wi-Fi. I detected a "city Wi-FI" but was unable to use it from my site. Verizon JetPack, cell phone, and wireless landline all worked great. The only thing I DIDN'T like was weasling my RV down DeMers avenue to get to this park. That is a busy street! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Built after the 1997 massive flooding of Grand Forks, it has to be one of the nicest parks we have ever stayed in. The roads are paved and the sites are level and spacious, affording privacy. Well looked after, it provides for a great place to stay. We extended our time there. You can walk to nearby restaurants and yet still feel you are removed from the town. There are walking and biking trails as well as some television channels and WiFi internet. Many sites can be reserved online but they also have a number of first come, first served non reservable sites. We stayed for 6 nights and plan to go back in September. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
Very nice park with many level pull throughs. We were only there for one night and didn't unhitch. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Cell service was good. We picked up an open Wi-Fi from the city, but didn't use it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
Excellent park to use as a base to visit the Grand Forks area. Walking distance to downtown of cities on both sides of the river. Close to restaurants, movies, Cabela's, Saturday morning farmers market, and more. Lots of old trees and open areas, most sites pull through. Campground was created out of an old neighborhood and the existing streets were used to layout this spacious campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
Excellent state park. Huge sites with lots of play room for kids. Has playground and tons of bike trails. Convenient to restaurants and movie theater. Right next to Red River and Grand Forks, ND. Highly recommend. Would stay again without hesitation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
If you are camping in the Grand Forks area, you are missing the boat if you pass up this park. It is sited right next to The Red River in grassy, partly shaded area, within walking distance of various, eateries, pubs, entertainment, and a new Cabelas, yet is isolated from them. So, there is a lot to do close by, and what appeared to be a huge playground with lots of stuff for kids just across the street. We liked this park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$48
It is a very nice, clean, and friendly park. The bathrooms and shower house are clean and new. There is a brand new playground that the kids could bike to. We attended the Fall Festival, and the kids had a good time with it. It is very close to town, interesting location and back story of the 1997 floods. We enjoyed the Hiking Club and geocaching in the park. The only issue was the location of our site that we picked, it was sugar beet harvest, and the trucks were jack breaking all night long 500 feet from our site. I would suggest picking a site in the middle or closer to the park office which is behind a dike and quieter. But it is a very nice campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
What a little gem this campground is. We were looking for a campground in the Grand Forks area and found Red River Recreation Area. The sites are large with tremendous space between sites. The roads are paved, sites are gravel, and reasonably level. Most sites have plenty of shade and the park is very easy to walk around. The restrooms and showers are clean, modern, and well maintained. At night the park is very quiet and relaxing. There is a fire ring at each campsite. I really could not say enough good things. Perhaps the only thing missing is a pool if you are looking for something for kids to do. The only negative was not with the park rangers as they were extremely friendly and helpful. I was on the road and called the number listed for reservations. A very rude state employee informed me that reservations or request were not accepted for the same day. If I wanted to make a reservation it had to be for a future date. I said OK, then can you check your computer and tell me if the park is full and I should look at another campground. The rude person said, "No, I will not. Sites for the same day are first come first serve and you will have to take your chances." As I said earlier, this was the central reservations office for Minnesota parks. I took a chance and stopped at the park. The rangers were helpful, we got a great site for three nights with no problem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
Pretty nice park, large, large sites, walking path along the river, Private setting, did hear the train. Just watch for spring floods. Close to restaurants, movie theater, Cabela's. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
Full hookups make this park a nice place to stay. There are great walking and bike trails, plus you are within walking distance to downtown Grand Forks, ND. The roads are concrete and the sites are gravel, large and fairly level with fire pits and tables. There is lots of grass and mature trees within the park. The showers, one shower house - 8 individual rooms, are separate from the restrooms and are keep very clean. There are two restrooms, one at each end of the park, also kept very clean. All are a short walk from any site. We stayed two nights. In October there are a number of workampers staying there who are working the sugar beet harvest. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
Previously a residential neighborhood, it was converted to a campground after the devastating flood of 1997. Many pull-throughs although some have side-to-side leveling issues. Some dry-camping sites at a lower price as well as some non-reservable sites. Just a few blocks off US-2 and within walking distance to numerous restaurants, movie theater, and a Cabelas store. Along the many mile long Red River Greenway with paved trails for walking and biking. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
We camped here in our 35' motor home. The sites are spacious with many shaded areas, but most were not level. We stayed in #89 and got here right after it rained and sunk in the muddy clay which also stuck to our tires like glue and took quite awhile to get it off. We could get satellite and local TV and had 4 bars on our Verizon cell and broadband card for the computer. There are miles of hiking/biking trails along the Red River which was nice. The camping fee does not include the $5.00 entrance fee. This is a very quiet park which is surprising due to its location to the busy road nearby although we had a very loud train whistle awaken us at 5:30 one of the mornings. We would have given this place a higher score if they would pave and level the sites. We enjoyed this place and would recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
This park was created after the devastating floods of 1997 as part of a major flood control effort along the Red River and it is now a prime place to stay along this area of Highway 2. Fortunately for us, the park seems underused for its quality and price. There are many pull-through sites with full hookups that are nicely spaced and private with acres of grass around them. There are miles of hiking and biking paths along the river that are away from motor traffic and very pleasant. The only real negative for the park is that the pads are dirt and can be a real mess. A few loads of gravel and this park could be a 10. We would happily stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
This is a great Minnesota State Park campground. It is two miles from I-29 in North Dakota, located just off highway 2. They are currently adding more sites. This is a little known gem. Camp site pricing does not include the $5 per day vehicle charge. There is a public playground and public pool nearby. Great bike trail system. We've stayed here twice and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com