219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Roaring Run Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (724) 593-7837
CGID10301

Roaring Run Resort

Camp Information
Sites
230
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$8



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   8   7   8   8   1   8   4   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$8
I don't know what the deal is with these negative reviews. The new owners, who took over the place over a decade ago, turned the resort into a second-rate facility into a first-class campground. My experience has been very good. My husband and I joined as members recently. You have to register as a member or come with someone who is already a member in order to stay here, so maybe some of the negative reviewers tried to camp and weren't members. I do know that the staff takes the rules seriously. I completely support this. You don't have drunkenness or rowdiness; you get family people, and you can relax without any worries. What do I dislike about it? I wish there was more food available. I try to limit my cooking while I'm on vacation. If they had more nights where prep food was available, I would very much like that. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
The advertised "teen center" does not exist, nor is it being worked on. The store isn't bad although somewhat under stocked. The pool is great and there are lots of hiking trails adjacent to the park. There is Wi-Fi available for a charge, and cable TV available, although it doesn't work well in every site. Be VERY, very careful to obey ALL the rules, even if they are not clear. "Adult" supervision is age 21, not 18, especially in the pool area. Also, do not speed, even if you see others get by with it. They will actually fine you here. Agree with earlier post: always pay cash, do NOT let them put it on your bill. Stay with your kids under 12 all the time or they'd better be the most perfect kids in the world. (Thank heavens mine are all grown and gone, they'd never have survived this park!) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$10
Very nice park although sites are a little out of level. Did not have full hookups, just water and 30 amp, but that was OK for me. Plenty for kids to do, nice pool. Easy to visit falling waters and Ohiopyle from here. Restrooms and showers I would rate 7 of 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$1
We stayed here through ROD, so no charge. This is an okay park, but we only stayed overnight. The roads are pretty rough, with large dips. They need to trim the trees. We could not get into the first site assigned to us, site 7. Unable to get satellite TV due to the trees. Verizon Mifi worked well. Dogs are allowed but there were restrictions on where they could be walked and we were warned about the waste patrol; not an issue for us as we pick up after our pets. Our site, 10, was flat, but the electric and water were on the wrong side of the motorhome. There is no sewer hook-ups; only 30 amp. No WiFi, no cable TV. Staff were friendly and helpful. Doubt that we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$10
Not a bad park for a few days. Interior roads a little rough. 30 amp only, no Wi-Fi at site # 88. Biggest drawback, no sewer hookup. AT&T data and voice not real good. We stayed here under C2C so the $10 rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$1
Well maintained park, had nice big spaces with lots of trees. Was dissapointed that they did not have sewer. They have a honey wagon, but they wanted $12 and that seemed high. They have activities on the weekend. Nice area, great golf nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Dump, Dump, Dump. Oh yes, the brochure paints a beautiful picture. We were placed in a tent site after I made the reservation in February for Memorial Day weekend. The electrical hook-up was 20 amps which was insufficient for our air conditioner. The pop-up next to us was also plugged into the same outlet as we were. Needless to say, the fuses popped constantly as they also had an air conditioner, microwave, TV, refrigerator and hair appliances. The water pressure dropped on Saturday and on Sunday, so no one could flush their own toilets anywhere. All of the permanents ran to the campgrounds bathrooms and literally filled them to the brim with their filth. After complaining numerous times to the office, someone finally, after 2 hours came and looked at them. Two hours after that, someone finally came and worked on them for one and a half hours. There was also a 2 and 1/2 foot deep hole by the water tap which someone could be seriously hurt in. There was a beautiful fireworks display on Saturday evening, but if there would have been a fire, it would have kept on burning because there was no water to put it out with. A carnival was in the upper lot, but then again, the people from outside of the park who came to ride the rides did not have a porta potty in which to go to the bathrooms. Another issue, I had were the golfcarts everywhere. The permanent campers all had one. They rode through the campground aimlessly just to gawk at anything they could gawk at. I would never ever return to this dump. I have been camping for over 45 years and this experience was enough to turn me against camping; but then I have to remember that there are good campground out there. Just not this one! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$10
This is a very nice membership park. We stayed here using our ROD membership. The roads in the park need some work due to the recent rains. There are no sewer hookups but they do have a dump station and honey wagon service. Wi-Fi is now available in the Cedar Lodge. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$8
Roads are rutted, but useable. Some sites are up steep roads, making them difficult for some vehicles to park their trailers. Mini-golf is great, much more entertaining than you'd expect. The pool was pretty cold, even in summer. They have games and movies available and a book swap which was well stocked. For the most part: camp personnel are helpful and nice, but never, ever tell them to "put it on your bill." Pay for it, right then. From what I've observed first hand and also been told by several other campers, accounting seems to be a bit of a problem, although not in favor of the camper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$10
This is a membership campground that we were able to stay at with our RPI membership. Located less than 5 miles off the Pennsylvania Turnpike in the Laurel Highlands area of Pennsylvania, this is a very nice campground. Interior roads are gravel and rather rough after the seasons rains. Sites are all back ins and gravel. They are mostly level. Sites offer 30 amp, water and cable hookups. There is a dump station on the way out of the park. The entire area is heavily treed but we managed to get satellite reception with our free standing dish. Our Verizon air card also worked well here. Pittsburgh is less than an hour away and there are several state and National parks in close proximity. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com