223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Prairie Pines Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (217) 893-0438
CGID1037

Prairie Pines Campground

Camp Information
Sites
95
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   10   8   9   9   8   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$25
This park is a gem! Talk about a reasonable price! Used to be a mobile home park associated with a military base, so sites are large with ample parking room for your car or truck. Sites are crumbly cement, but roads are good and each has a picnic table. Very neat, very nice for a one or two night stay. Very quiet, but close enough to stores and restaurants. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$15
This municipal park, formerly a trailer park area in the long gone Chanute Air Force Base, has one of the more unusual layouts I have seen. Rather than try to describe it, I suggest you checkout the aerial view you can get on this site. We called ahead of time to make sure that the park was still open in November and, if so, still had working water faucets. We were told that the water would be turned off after this weekend (11/2). The office and bathrooms were already closed for the season. Registration and payment (off season rate of $15) was on the honor system. As there were only 4 other RVs in the park, we selected one of the few sites that looked like it definitely have satellite reception and it. As many have mentioned, the park has lots of large trees, so satellite friendly sites are few. There is no cable TV. Our site was a pull-through, FHU, and was fairly level. There was pull through access to the site only because there were no other RVs near us. If this park was anywhere near full, most sites would be difficult to enter. It would require backing in over curbs several inches high. Additionally, the electric box tends to be way back in the site, so you will be backing up 50-100" after clearing the curb. The sites are mostly grass and some sections of the sites obviously fill with water after heavy rain. I was happily surprised that, in spite other facilities being closed, the Wi-Fi worked well. I might stay here again just to visit the Air Museum next door. The odd layout, lack of cable, minimal satellite friendly sites, and lack a recreational facilities lower my rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
What a wonderful surprise! We were traveling north and needed a place to stay. Found this totally delightful place. Quiet, shaded large sites, lots of grass and friendly personnel. Would have loved to stay longer and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Overall this is a very nice facility and a pretty good value at $25.00 per night, cash only. Full hookups but no cable TV. Wi-Fi reception was OK but a little slow at times. Very clean restroom facility with private lockable individual rooms. The sites were mostly grass with plenty of big shade trees and room between sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
By far the best pleasant surprise of our long trip so far. Beautiful and unique campground. Quiet, private, spread out, quality visitors, gracious, professional hosts, and surrounded by tall trees and green grass. We loved our stay. Fun to jog on roads and right into back of the neighboring former air base. Neat air museum an easy walk across field. Great country views to south. Easy access and hosts go out of way to allow old, back-in type sites be accessed as pull through so we didn't have to disconnect our tow. Very much look forward to staying here again! What a great deal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
Great park. Friendly staff that assist with parking. Large rather level grassy/gravel sites with full hookups and picnic table and fire rings. Quite and relaxing. Have stayed here many times and have enjoyed all stays, even when it rains and we get a "lake front site". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Nice park with plenty of big shade trees. Host was great and went out of his way to be helpful. Park in quiet country area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Large full hook up sites. Larger trees are well spaced for shade and if you need clear sky for your satellite reception those sites are available too. Sites are grass. Showers and restrooms are very nice. The people are friendly. Our navigation system took us to a different location. Using the directions in Woodall we drove right to it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Very nice park, helpful hosts, big lots, call them for a short cut into the park We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
This is a must for anyone coming through the area and if not, then you should put it on your route. If we had not been in a hurry with already made reservations we would have stayed here longer. I called about 2 hours before we got here and was able to get a reservation for the night. The camp host was awesome and so friendly. They led us to our site. Our battery had gone dead due to us not having our door completely shut on our toad and they give us a jump. Will definitely stay here again if the opportunity ever arises. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
We stay here during the summer almost every year. We usually stay long term, so we've gotten to know the campers and camp hosts. The sites are easy to get into. There is no backing and all tow vehicles must be parked outside of the site. This used to be the trailer park for the Chanute Air Force base, so sites are nice and wide. All sites have a sidewalk/concrete patio for a picnic table. There's not a ton of shade and not much to do in Rantoul. Champaign/Urbana is a short drive and they offer anything your heart desires. There is a small amount of playground equipment and plenty of road to ride bikes. The shower house could use an update. There is no A/C inside, but they do offer laundry facilities for a minimal cost. This is a great long term stay park. They cut deals if you stay a week and when you stay the whole month. This park is exceptionally quiet with not much traffic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
Wow, if you travel this way stop here. Big rigs, leveling, Wi-Fi, local TV stations, quiet, well run. Host are VERY helpful. It is off the highway a few miles near a Wal-Mart (2 miles). Quiet, relaxing, and designed for short stays. I agree bathhouse is old but well built and clean with laundry and nice showers. We lucked into finding this, after several problems with flooding this place is nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
Very spacious sites: and well shaded at this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Nice, quite park with level grass sites. Good electric and water service and lots of trees. The park requires you to unhook any vehicle and park it on the concrete. Close to the Air Museum and at the south edge of town. Call for directions, GPS is not correct. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
This is a nice country setting with good shade. It is close to the aerospace museum on the former AF base. The bathhouse is very 70s but clean; individual shower rooms have toilet & sink in them as well. Only one was available during our stay, and the bathhouse is unheated, so off season can be uncomfortable. All sites have full hookups, so this shouldn't be a problem for most. Manager lives on site. The paperwork indicates this is now a county park. It is convenient to I-57 but far enough away to prevent road noise. There is an Interesting arrangement of sites: "pull-through" means you drive through an unoccupied site to reach yours. All sites have the RVs park on the grass, but vehicles must park on asphalt nearby after unhitching. Most sites require driving up over small curbs. Good value for the price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
This was an excellent park. Parking is on grass intermixed with gravel. Electricity was excellent, as was water pressure. Both open and shaded sites are available, with very easy entry and exit. Being a former mobile home park the sites are all large and flat. WARNING: All locations shown on maps on various websites or written addresses are incorrect. Call the campground for correct directions to the campground!!! There is a published 14 day limit, but I was told by two different people staying there that longer stays are possible. Weekly rate is $100 and monthly rate is $300. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
Stayed here for the Penn State - Illinois football game. EXCELLENT park, nice large lots, level, quiet ... nothing could have been better, but gave it a 9 just in case I stay at the PERFECT park, but this one was very close! I would recommend this park to anyone for an extended stay or overnight! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$14
Excellent park on the grounds of the former Chanute AFB. Could use more signs a better direction to park, but that is the only complaint. One of the cleanest and quietest parks we have ever stayed at. When we go full time, I would definitely consider this park for long term parking. Great price in a beautiful park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
We camped here with our camping club group of five 5th wheels. The park is converted from the mobile home housing of a closed Air Force base. All sites are basically 'pull through', the host leads each unit to their site through the grass and helps them get situated on their very large spot, I would say that this is definitely a 'big rig friendly' park. The hosts were very accommodating and friendly, our group had a potluck on Saturday night and we were able to use the pavilion without making prior reservations. One big plus is that you can wash your rig at your spot. Will definitely be back to see the sights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$15
Very well kept park. Big sites with a great pavillion. The restrooms and showers were all very clean and well kept up. Close to old Air Force Base and Air Museum. Easy to get to from Interstate 57. Ten rigs were here with our group and we all will return as a group again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
An extremely nice, peaceful park. It was a mobile home park when the air force base was open and is a few blocks from the Octave Chanute Air Museum and about 15 miles from the Champaign/Urbana area. The picture on the web site is an exact depiction of the park. Sites were large and level, surrounded by shade trees , but not enough to hamper satellite reception. The park is very well maintained. The roads were bordered with low curbs and the site included a parking area with a sidewalk from the street to the concrete patio at the campsite. The center of the park has sidewalks from the street to the laundry/shower building and the pavilion. Dogs are limited to two per vehicle and are not allowed in the center of the park near the sidewalks, but there is ample open grassy areas where dogs are permitted. The laundry room and showers are large and clean. The park is very quiet and far from any main highways. We found this park by accident when we took a wrong turn and found ourselves in the Champaign area. We were pleasantly surprised and extended our stay to a week. Weekly rates are $100. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
Nice park and easy to get to. Nice pull-throughs. Host very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$18
What a nice park! It's a city park. All parking pads are gravel and each site has a concrete patio and sidewalk to the street. Large sites, plenty of space between you and the neighbor. Plenty of shade. Spotless bathrooms and showers. Close to town but out in the country, so it's very quiet. We loved it here. It's only 15 miles from the University of Illinois at Champaign/Urbana. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$18
Staff very nice, bathrooms well kept and very clean. They escorted us to our site. My only complaint was the sewer connecting being so high off the ground, higher than my trailer connection which made dumping a challenge. They do have some pet restrictions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com