214532 User submitted reviews online!!
Kan-Do Campground & RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (573) 564-7993
CGID10376

Kan-Do Campground & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
74
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   1   4   6   6   2   9   10   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
We spent on night here on our way west. Friendly and helpful staff. The bath house could use some updating/repair. If you want a level site, do not chose one with shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
Hosts are very friendly. Nice little park only 1 mile from I-70 exit 170 and 1 mile from Graham Cave State Park. We had some minor trouble with the sewer hookup on our space as it would fill up easily when dumping grey water but overall a nice stay. We stayed 2 days. This park is very quiet. There are about a dozen seasonal permanent RV's there, but all in nice condition. The hosts don't put up with any excess noise. We will stay there again. The pool was nice, but no major features beyond that. Wi-Fi worked but was kinda slow which is not unusual in such a rural location. The only complaint I have is that the spaces are close to together but the hosts seems to space people apart when possible. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
All I can say is FILTHY. The showers at the so-called bath house do not work. You get a trickle of water and the spider webs and bugs in the shower stalls are horrendous. The laundry facility is old and the washers are rusty and filthy while the dryers must be run twice to get clothes close to dry. The pool area is dangerous. Water is too shallow for depth marked and the wooden walkway is uneven, falling apart and just a huge accident waiting to happen. The roads wash away in a light rain because the gravel is to lightweight for its intended purpose of a road. The pond is nothing but a snake infested pit. The sewer and leech pond is an absolute EPA hazard. I suppose there was a sewer line break because that is all I could smell and upon walking the so-called hiking trail around the RV park I found the problem. The electrical lines are not buried and are exposed to not only the elements of weather and wear and tear, but also CHILDREN! After talking to other campers here it was not a recent problem just part of the lazy staff not keeping up with the problems of the park. Speaking of the staff, the lady at the front desk is not only a gossip, but, a lazy mean spirited person. My daughter was kicked out of the camp store when I asked her to go in to buy me a soda while I was busy. She was told to hurry because the store was closing, and this was in the middle of the day mind you. Kid friendly, I don't think so. Pet Friendly, I don't think so. Clean? Nope. Camping activities? The website says there are organized gatherings but I was not informed of any nor did I see any sign of them. Outdated metal playground equipment and no real place to run your animals. The price was cheap and I can see why. I will be reporting my finding about the sewer and electrical problems to the EPA and working on getting notice to those who stay there that it is not safe. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
We were traveling through trying to locate a campground on the 4th of July weekend and this was the only game that had sites available. It's a decent stopover place, but that's about it. Pool was very nice and clean. Access roads are tight and there are a lot of seasonal campsites, so sites for travelers are limited. Ours was extremely unlevel and was mostly fine gravel and dirt. Hookups worked fine, but it was not a place I'd want to spend much more than an overnight. Staff was very friendly and helpful and it's located close to the interstate, but no road noise. The sites just need some work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
This is a pretty park with extremely nice staff/owners. All gravel pull through sites, some with beautiful tree cover. Some sites have water access that crosses the adjacent site. Fairly easy to drive through, into and out of. Do not, however, follow your GPS to this park. You will get lost (voice of experience speaking. We used apple maps and got lost the first try, then Google maps and got lost the second). To get to this park, get off of I-70 at exit 170 and turn north, taking an almost immediate left onto State Hwy TT before you get to the Sinclair station. The campground will be on your right as you drive down Hwy TT. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
This campground needs some TLC and maintenance to score a higher rating. The pool was green and while owner said it was due to the excessive "heat". We visited 3 other campgrounds in the area- all with pools and all crystal clean.The showers and restrooms need maintenance, cleaning and updating. Our site underneath trees on the East end was not level and very difficult to set up. We had to put 2 cinder blocks and wood underneath rear levelers and nearly leave hitch on the ground. The person at the desk was really nice upon check in, but there was no escort to the site. It's not a big deal, but it's the little things-right? There is lots of grass and open fields to run and the campground is pet friendly. There is a big billboard out on the freeway that boasts all the amenities, including mini golf (none) and playground (basic metal slide and swings). This park has great potential, especially since the other parks around the area were nearly fully! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Easy access from I-70. Highway noise wasn't a problem. Gravel interior roads and spaces. Lot of semi-permanent; not too many full hookup sites for big rigs. Going west there's better places. Going east toward St. Louis not much else close to the Interstates. Lazy Day was first choice at this exit, but was full. It is OK for an overnight stop. After setting up I was told to move; so three people could park together. Wasn't asked, told and not all that pleasantly. I've been RVing for nearly 40 years and that's a first. The marked map showed me in in the right space, I'm easy going, so moved; but as a full timer for many years I have a long list of campgrounds I like and another of those I won't be back to. Guess which list this one is on. And for those reviewers giving this campground a nine or ten, I'd suggest stopping at a RV park like World's of Fun in Kansas City or Deer Creek Valley in Topeka to see what a nine or ten should look like. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
Well laid out for big rig access. Relatively quiet with nice rural setting. Open sites available for good satellite reception and shade for those who prefer it. I would stay here again without doubt. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
This is a great campground and easy to find as they have signs along the highway. We had 50 amp service, full hookup and a fire ring. The people running it are knowledgeable and friendly. This park has a theme around frogs and is well carried out. We understand they are putting in miniature golf next year with this theme. We will recommend it as it is quiet and well run. Be sure to check their board on front porch as to their specials like coffee and cinnamon rolls on Sunday. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
The owners don't seem very friendly. Pulled in, asked for guidance to our sight. Was informed there was no one to help. The lady in the front office seemed as if we where interrupting her each time we went up there. The fishing they say they have, I would NOT fish in it. Several snake holes around which I understand but being you have to stand 5 feet away from bank at the closest point, I would say to fish here is pointless. Bathrooms are absolutely gross! Thank goodness we have a bathroom in our camper. We did stay here twice thinking maybe the first time was a fluke. No, we where treated the same way both times. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THE CAMPGROUND. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
This park is very clean and safe. The lady in the office was very friendly and helpful. Nice place for a family with a sparkling clean pool and pond for fishing. No cable access but great Wi-Fi availability. We had a problem with low voltage at our site but that could have been an isolated incident. Our particular site was very un-level (gravel) so next time we will ask for another site. Will stay here again when passing through. Also note their website says they are 30 miles from St Louis but it's more like 50. Maybe 30 from the city limit sign. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
This is a nice mom & pop type campground with a Good Sam discount. The owner was very nice and assigned us a pull-thru 50 amp.site, #4. It was fairly level and about 150 ft. long. There are all dirt roads, our site was dirt and gravel. It is actually two sites, but the owner told us that she was not assigning anyone to the front site. We had no one next to us on either side. No problem with opening our slides. Good free Wi-Fi. There is a large older, swimming pool, volleyball net and a playground. Also a big grassy field in the middle to run our dogs. Laundry had 2 washers and dryers, cost for washer was $1.25, a lot less than the $2.00 we have been paying. The park is located behind the rest-area at mile marker 169, but the rest area is currently closed. We could hear some highway traffic, but it did not disturb our sleeping. Directions to the park were correct and it was a clear, easy ride to the park off the interstate. We would stay here again if traveling through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
We arrived September and left October. We stayed in lots 1 and 34. We have a 40-footer using 50 amp service with full hookups. Lot 1 was cement and very level. We agreed to change lots when another camper came in that was staying for 4 years and for whom this lot was better suited with multi-level cement areas and flower beds. Lot 34 was a gravel pull through which was level and just fine. All lots have picnic tables and burn rings. The owners were very helpful to us and very nice and accommodating. They plan family events for the campers and have a nice little store area for essentials. Just before we left, they were planning to offer homemade muffins and to-die-for cinnamon rolls at the store. It is very dog friendly which is important to us. The Wi-Fi works well and has an excellent signal. The campground is easy to locate from I-70 Danville Exit and is quiet and has nice grounds including trails through the woods for hiking and enjoying nature. The swimming pool was closed for the winter as the weather was cool while we were there, so I didn't use the pool. We did not use the bathrooms, showers or laundry facilities while here, though they do have them. We would definitely stay here again and in fact do plan to stay again when going through the area in April 2010. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
Sites were very unlevel. Were given a site which was actually two sites, one in front of the other. Pulled into site as instructed, in order to have camper somewhat level, rear of camper was almost on the ground, while front end was at least 4 foot up in the air. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Park needs landscaping attention. Some sites were too close together; others look nicer. A bad experience with owner resulted in the low rating. They did not tell us our site had been dug up and our 5th wheel instantly sank up to the frame in gumbo mud. Took a wrecker and our 3500 over an hour to pull it out. Damage to RV. He had an attitude and we will not be back and will not recommend the park. He did pay for the wrecker, but he did charge us for the stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$12
Nice place with solid rules. The owner cares about kids and about peace and quiet. So, there's a speed limit (10) and a quiet curfew (also 10). The owners aren't shy about enforcement, either. The pool is a very nice amenity, no deeper than six foot with a nice big, shallow end for young kids: who enjoy it much later into the evening than I'd wish them to, being a bit of a curmudgeon myself. There's a lot of attention to the water quality. I usually slip in the pool while the kiddies are at supper. I do wish the showers were a little nicer: management is working on this issue. The hard water at the site, stains so badly that even the regular bleaching that keeps them scrupulously clean can't prevail over the rust stains. The water is pretty sulfurous, too. I figure people pay big money for mineral baths and I'm getting one "on the cheap." The camp store is reasonably priced, with cost-comparisons to Wal-Mart. No price gouging like you see so often in captive-audience markets. I've read some recent reviews for this campground. I was here in 07/09 and I'll simply say: Not everyone can handle the rigs they drive. A camper ran off the good solid rock into the mud and got stuck, while cutting an angle they never should have attempted and were even warned about. Not the campground's fault. All in all, a nice place; the landscaping is good (excellent in places) and the lawn is kept like a golf course. The frogs and katydids are active at night and flitting bats scout the treelines in the twilight. If I had to camp in a tent in east-central Missouri for four months, I could hardly have done better. We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com