223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Blackhawk Valley Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (815) 874-9767
CGID1038

Blackhawk Valley Campground

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   6   6   8   7   8   7   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$14
Wonderful place to stay, very large sites with fire rings and picnic tables, we used Passport America for the low rate of $14. Did not use any restrooms. I Believe they are closing for the season in mid October. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$32
This is a beautiful, spacious campground. The trees are trimmed high, so the sites are shaded and you don't have to worry about the branches hitting your roof stuff. The campsites are large and many are along a river. About 2/3 of the campsites are for seasonal people. There are some sites for short-termers along the river. There is a huge central area with many games and open fields. The grounds and campsites are beautifully maintained and scrupulously clean. We arrived after hours and our paperwork was left out for us. An employee stopped by as we were getting it, and made us feel welcome. The dump area is well designed and easy to use (I never, ever comment about the dump, but this was a good one.) The campground is about 5 miles off the highway and was a serene stop over for us on a very long drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
The entry to the campground is down a very steep hill, with a couple of bends and trees both sides. Check-in was quick and staff pleasant. Roads are gravel and generally in good condition, although not overly big rig friendly. We were in a full hookup, 50 amp pull-through. The sites alternate front to back, so 2 adjacent RVs are door side facing each other - different. Services are good. No Wi-Fi and only had 1 bar on a 3G Verizon signal, so Internet access was non-existent. It's OK for a 1 or 2 night stopover, but no longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$15
Rate reflects Passport America rate. Campground is down in a valley so there was no wi-fi or cell phone service. No full hookup sites available for us as most of the sites are seasonal sites. Mosquitoes were very bad at dusk. OK for a one night stopover. I would look for another campground if longer than one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Nice, spacious place. Could use updated/expanded shower restrooms. Site is on river, but most of riverside sites seem to be taken by long termers. Don't get charged for visitors. Plenty of room to relax. A bit off main thoroughfares, but we planned on staying a few days. We weren't disappointed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Agree with the nice things other reviewers have said, but 30 bucks for a no-sewer space? It's not that nice. Unless you're getting the Passport rate, look elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$17
Rate reflects Passport America discount. Very nice park with a lot of distance between sites. Many are seasonal campers but are nicely landscaped and maintained. Park is also well maintained. Hookups excellent. Park is located on a nice river; large common area; great play area for kids; no pool; lots of trees but easy to drive through. The restrooms are very clean, but the paint does show some age and need of fresh paint. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
This is a good park for Passport price. The Passport connection is not advertised and was only by a casual comment that I was to get the discount. I am still waiting for the credit. The campground is split into three sections, monthly and creek side which have sewer available, and the rest which is a big treeless field on a lower level. Since we were staying several days and wanted sewer, we were assigned to a fairly narrow site with the monthly renters. Was like being in the middle of park models. I checked out the laundry and decided to wait a few days. There is also the issue of the steep entrance. I would like to try another park if I were to return to Rockford. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
We spent a night at this large campground which has many seasonal and monthly sites in addition to about 40 transient sites. There are two very large open areas with pavilions, a tent area, playground, mini-golf, shuffleboard and other activities. WI-FI is free, but some of the sites are too far to get a useable signal. The Kishwaukee River runs behind the grounds and some sites back up onto the river. Showers were well located, clean and hot. The campground was clean and quiet. Blackhawk Valley is a little off the beaten path but easily located with GPS. Nice place to stay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
We came here for the 4th of July weekend with a group of 8 other travel trailers. The road down to the office is very steep. Sites are grass, but mostly even. More seasonal sites than weekenders. There was no sewer hook-up & 4 days cut it close for capacity. Our sites backed up to the Kishwaukee River, which was not buggy. You can rent a tube at the office for $20 ($15 deposit returned), drive up river & enjoy a 3 hour meander back to the campground. Canoeing nearby also. Bathrooms were clean, but very old & need updating. The showerhouse by office was not as moldy smelling as the ones in the middle of the grounds. Fans need to be installed. Wi-Fi was not working or very weak where we were. Only USCellular & Nextel phone service, everyone else had to drive up the hill to get service. Office personnel were polite & interacted with guests. Dump station was easy to get to. We'd come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
We had a great time in this campground. We had a sewer connection even though it is supposed to be just for seasonals, which were all around us. Nice people in the office and in the campground. Very clean and well organized. Nice relaxing, quiet place for a restful stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
I started to not rate this campground but there are travelers like me who might appreciate a heads-up. It is basically for permanent seasonal users. Decks, fences and vegetable gardens take them out of the camper category. They can mow the grass and clear the brush but this is still a river bottom with humidity and mosquitoes. There is no satellite (trees) and no phone signal. A boring stay indoors. I gave it a neutral rating because of the hosts' attitude. They think if you have a router signal, you are connected to the internet. The largest font size on their website is WiFi. No internet on Monday. Host said it would be up shortly. Not to be. Monday, a week later, still no internet. Call it free if you want but if it is included, I'm paying for it. That is like saying "sorry, we are out of water." Maybe this is a wilderness experience for some but I can think of a lot places that are not shared by 1000 others. Again, some may like it but I won't be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
My family enjoyed this park very much and had a great time. We like that the campground was pet friendly and would visit again this summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
A pleasant campground with very friendly office staff. Quiet, along river off the beaten path, but easy to find. Our site was a spacious, level pull-through. Office recommended a nearby pizza delivery that brought us a GREAT pizza. There are several negatives, however. Campground caters to seasonal occupants. Only sewer hookups are reserved for seasonals. Sites close to river are seasonal also. Wi-Fi works in limited locations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
This was okay for one night. I got the last available site - #56, which was really small. The grounds look nice. They have a lot of activities going on and things for kids to do. There were lots of kids who ran around. They told me I could get Wi-Fi at my spot, which I couldn't. I could also not get any TV stations, and my phone didn't work. I got Wi-Fi in the office. When I complained, they just blew it off. I wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
We reserved 50 amp site for 40 foot motorhome. After driving 3 hours in mostly construction we checked in slot 113, hard time backing into due to many trees. This site is 30 amp and when we told office, they said that the monthly person came in early and they gave them our reserved spot 116. They had no 50 amp spaces available. Then they said slot 116 isn't 50 amp anyway. We had paid extra for 50 amp and they didn't want to cut us a deal on the 30 amp space they were giving us. Asked why they didn't call us to say there were no 50 amps available at this time, they said they just noticed it. This was the manager! We were planning a RV ralley with our club next year, however it won't be at this resort at all. Would not recommend this site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
I found this campsite online and had hoped to tent here with my family during a graduation visit to Rockford (we are from Nebraska). Even though there were heavy rains that flooded the Kishwaukee River, I was unable to get reimbursement for my night's stay. Conditions were such that we would not have been able to put up a tent and sleep in the downpour. The manager said I needed to abide by a six day cancellation policy. She was rude, unwelcoming, inconsiderate, and certainly not interested in public relations, customer service or future business. DO NOT STAY HERE. The area may be pretty, but they'll keep your money, regardless of whether or not they render a service. Unbelievable, unethical, and uncalled for. There are too many other great alternatives where rudeness doesn't accompany the stay. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
We had a great stay at Blackhawk Valley Campground. We were there as part of a group with a few other campers. The office staff did a fine job with communications in getting our rally all set up. We did not use the bathrooms, so we are unable to comment on their condition. Our young boys had fun on the mini golf course and renting the peddle cars. They have two nice large picnic pavilions with sides that can roll up or be let down. We found the WI-FI to be spotty, (it would connect but only stay connected for a minute or so) but later in the morning we did see a worker on a ladder working on the repeater antenna near our site. All in all, we would come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
It was really a nice place to camp.I will be back. We have some friends who are seasonal and they really like it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$26
Showers need to be updated badly; one shower house you can't control the temp of the water and you'll get scalded, the other has no water pressure or hot water. Wi-Fi is spotty at best and owner unplugs it half the time, so you are at the owner's mercy if he feels like plugging it in. Sites are big and level; not much for kids to do if it's not a holiday weekend, small playground area. Dogs are welcome. Quiet park, good for relaxing, river access. Staff can be difficult to deal with at times; seem to cater to seasonal campers more then overnight visitors. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$29
A nice park but too pricey, charging extra for 50 amp and $3 more for A/C, no sewer hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Quiet. Not a lot to do. Restrooms were old. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
This campground is out in the boondocks. There is no sewer hook-up, but they do have a dump station. The bathrooms and showers were adequate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
This has become our "go to" campground. It is perfect for a 2 or 3 day weekend trip. The current owners are continually improving this park. In fact, it seems that something is new or updated on nearly every visit. While I'd prefer a sewer hook up, it has not been a problem to go without one for a short trip. The seasonal sites are very well kept under the watchful eye of the management. Some of the sites on "club row" face each other, so there is potential for seeing more of your neighbor than you may want. While there is not a lot of things for kids to do on site a large water park is close by. Tubing and fishing is a short walk away on the Kiswakke River. For sure we will be back to enjoy the peace and quiet of Blackhawk Valley We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
A very nice clean, well-maintained park. The kids had a great time in the playground. There's a little pond that has frogs as well as the Kishwaukee river for fishing. The only downsides were, the sites are a little closer together than average and the water has leaves in it (which isn't a big deal if your water intake has a screen on it. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
Large, mostly level sites under huge shade trees. Very attentive and helpful staff (owners) who appear to keep an eye on everything. Lots of space in the middle of the grounds to play, walk pets etc. Will definitely visit again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Stayed one night but could have stayed a week. Huge shade trees over spacious sites. Lots of room for kids to play. On a river but all the sites on the river were seasonal. This park is a well kept secret. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com