218141 User submitted reviews online!!
Chain-O-Lakes State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (847) 587-5512
CGID1042

Chain-O-Lakes State Park

Camp Information
Sites
238
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   10   7   4   8   10   8   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
Just to clarify, the restrooms were clean enough to use, but definitely not somewhere pleasant to remain very long. The highlights for us were the security/hosts who were both active and attentive in their duties. And most definitely the scenery! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
This is our 4th time staying here. We use it as a launching point for doing things in the Chicago area. We love this park. It's a huge bummer that there are no sewer hook ups, but we still like the place - which is why we gave it an 8. Aside from being close to Chicago ('bout an hour to downtown, and there is a train station near by to take you downtown if you don't want to drive which is a nice option), there is plenty to do in the campground. There are miles of walking/biking trails, there are playgrounds for the kids, and the waterfront activities are endless. There is a quiet lake in the middle of the campground for kayaking and fishing, the BIG boat launch takes you out on to the big chain of lakes which gives access to all kinds of things. There are some GREAT bars and restaurants on the lake plenty of room to water ski, tube, fish, whatever you're into. There is also a small camp store/concessions with probably the most useless staff I've ever encountered. Bunch of pot-head-types watching movies on a computer behind the counter that get all startled when you walk in.It's well stocked though. Food, supplies, firewood, and I think it's where you can rent boats too (kayaks, canoes, row boats, etc..) If it's hot and humid, breakers will be popping. It sucks. Also, they do have a no alcohol policy. So... drink in your RV with the shades pulled if you really must. :) Fire pits are weird. OK for cooking, but not really great for sitting around and having a fire. That's about it. I highly recommend this place and we'd gladly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$26
Very quiet and wooded facility. Excellent place to relax. Great sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
Staff needs to know the correct approach to an RV spot. They brought us in on the wrong end of the site. Sites need work, mostly for leveling and gravel and mowing. Good paved approach. Wonderful atmosphere, shaded, great hiking. Pit toilets are hard to rate cleanliness. Near everything. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
If you like overcrowded campgrounds with entirely too much policing and no water hookups, this is the place for you. Good points are the boat access, and trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
We thought this park was very nice. It was clean, quiet, and it had plenty of security. Our kids had a good time playing around. We stayed close to the bathrooms and playground in the Hickory Hollow area. If we go back, it will definitely be during the week. Quiet hours start at 10pm. Everyone in the campground was respecting the rule...too bad the bar/band somewhere on the Chain O Lakes did not. It was very loud and annoying. It stopped sometime after midnight, as we were finally able to fall asleep. Also, Wilmot speedway is close by, but the races ended by 10pm. Obviously the park cannot do anything about that noise, but if you think you will fall asleep to the sound of crickets, forget it. I also forgot to add that the raccoons are VERY aggressive! They love chocolate! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
I have been camping at Chain O' Lakes State Park for as long as I can remember and it has always been enjoyable. They have a dozen different playgrounds for the kids, and great trails that will make for a great walk/bike ride. The staff is friendly, and they have a store right inside the park with everything you might have forgotten when packing for the trip, all at reasonable prices. And most important (for those of us that aren't lucky enough to have showers/bathrooms in our campers, at least), the bathrooms are cleaned at least twice a day and if one is closed for cleaning there is another one right down the street. Even the outhouses are pretty clean, so if you don't want to go too far, you don't have to. This campground is great. It has a lot of family activities--canoeing, horseback riding, fishing, etc. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
For the first time in many years, we really enjoyed camping in this park. The reason: Fox Den, the newest CG in the park (there are 6 - one group CG, 2 no-hookup CGs and 2 with electric sites.) Fox Den has spacious sites, most of which are long enough for the bigger rigs, and a few of which have 50 amp (the rest have 20/30 amps). Most sites are open & prairie-like; pads are gravel, and mowed grass sets off each campsite area from the natural vegetation surrounding it. Each site has a raised firebox instead of a fire pit. There is one set of concrete vault toilets in the CG, and across the SP road (with painted crosswalk) is a newer bathhouse with showers. A bit of a down rating for the hyperactive auto-flush toilets! The CG was quiet, not only midweek, but on Friday morning as well, when it had become mostly full. Multiple CG hosts in this park, including 3 in residence at Fox Den alone, probably helps keep order. Nice place; we'll return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
We have been camping at Chain-O-Lakes for the past twenty years or more, with units starting at a tent on up to our motorhome, which we now live in full time. The staff is excellent and will go out of their way to help if you have a problem. Most use of the park comes from families from the surrounding area. Honeysuckle Hollow is the older of the two RV campgrounds. The electric connections there can be a problem for newer, power hungry rigs. We have found that Fox Den is the best place to park with a motorhome. There aren't as many trees, which means that satellite reception is better. Fox Den is also home to the only two 50 amp sites in the park for public use. All of the restrooms are very clean and well kept. The park rangers are very serious about the no alcohol policy and the conservation police will write speeding tickets along the main roads. If you like to speed and drink, this isn't your park! All told, a very quiet and family orientated place. We continue to stop and stay there in the spring and fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
We stay here over Labor day weekend. We had a BLAST, riding bikes and hiking trails. There was ample space between the sites. There is no full hookup sites at all. So use water sparingly to avoid having to make a trip to the dump station. I gave this site a 9 because the mosquitos were HORRIBLE. They had just had days of heavy rain and everything was soaking wet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
It had been years since we camped here, as sites in the original electric-hookup campground (Honeysuckle Hollow) are cheek-to-jowl (especially so for a state park) and weekend campouts were crowded and noisy. Camped here on a couple weekdays and it was nice & quiet, despite many bringing rigs in to claim sites ahead of time for Memorial Day weekend. There are multiple campground hosts living on site; the ones we met were friendly & conscientious. The campground is clean (including some of the cleanest pit toilets I can remember) and well-maintained; very popular on weekends due to proximity to Chicago & its north & northwest suburbs. 3 cabins in the campground extend options to those without much gear, or desiring more comfort. This is an attractive park, with boating, horseback riding & walking/biking trails available, plus some small fishing lakes. The newer campground, Fox Den, has more spacious sites but little shade; 2 no-hookup campgrounds also have spacious, shaded sites & are popular with tenters. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
Our family enjoyed this campsite a lot. The campground was clean along with the restrooms and showers. It appeared most of the sites were large with lots of shade trees. The only issue we had was the site we were on had very little grass so when it rained it was a little muddy. Other sites around us did not have that problem and I will pick a better one next time. There is a playground for children which was in very good shape. This is a state park so alcohol is prohibited but that did not stop our neighbors from having quite a few beers. But they were very quiet and cleaned up after themselves so we were ok with that. There are many things to do like hiking, boating, fishing and horse rental. We camped here in a Motorhome We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2005
$40
We liked our site, wooded and quiet. Walking trails, biking, all available...swimming close by... We were enjoying our stay and had guests. We were quietly having snacks and drinks before dinner. A park ranger came by and searched our campsite for beer, which we were discreetly drinking (we are all senior citizens and responsible people)... The ranger gave one of our guests a $150 ticket for drinking beer outside the trailer in the open... We will never return to this park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2004
$20
We love this campground and stay here several times a year. Shady sites with plenty of space. Bike and hiking trails, horseback riding (in season), lake access, rental boats, store and concession stand. Fire grills. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2004
$22
We camp here often. There's no water hookup witch is a downer but other than that it's a great place to camp. The sites are large enough, and the scenery is pretty. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$13
This a state park, thus the sites for both tent and bigger units only have water. This camp ground was extremely clean, all of the sites are large, have grills and fire rings. Most of the sites in the newer trailer area are either concrete pads or level gravel. There are not too many, if any, bad sites in this park. There are many hiking and bike paths, boat and horse rental. If you are not looking for a pool, then this state park is great! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$11
Direct access to boating and fishing. Very large wooded park - many different types of camping venues. Lots of deer. Park rules strictly enforced. Water fill and dumps sites readily available. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com