206580 User submitted reviews online!!
Chicago Northwest KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 58 user reviews. Phone: (815) 923-4206
CGID1046

Chicago Northwest KOA

Camp Information
Sites
142
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   8   8   7   8   5   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
The office is located on the opposite of the road where you enter. Big rigs block the entry road and the wait can get long when you have to walk all the way around and up the hill to get to the office. Dirt sites with poorly maintained grass areas. Several long term residents here. Pull thru was fairly level and hook ups worked well enough. We probably won't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
This was an overnight for us on a 50 amp full hookup pull through. This is a spotlessly clean KOA with nice landscaping. Sites are typical KOA tight. Sites have very good power and water. Led to site and nice, courteous and helpful check in process. Gated for security. Seasonal sites nice and clean...no noise and fairly easy access from highway. Also diesel truck services at exit. We would certainly return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$52
This park is gated, you use a card key to enter the park (there is a deposit for the card). Great check-in procedures; met us at the entrance (we had a reservation), had an escort to our site, set up and then returned to the office to finish checking in. Park was full when we were there, but didn't seem overcrowded. There were activities like ice cream social, movie, face painting. Sites and roads are gravel, mostly level. Sites are close together, but not crowed on top of one another. Interior roads might make some in big rigs feel tight but we were able to get around with our 36' rig. Entrance road is narrow, but manageable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$51
We stayed here one night. The staff was very friendly. We were guided to our site. The site was a pull-through. Length was good, width was snug. The campground has cabins and smaller sites in the front, then pull-through larger sites on the upper half. The pool was clean. Cable was good. If in the area would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$47
Nice campground with friendly hosts. Narrow entry road, but short. Next to an amusement park, but it presented no noise issues. About 45 mins to Chicago. Verizon was strong, AT&T sometimes. Restrooms were clean, but difficult to shower due to the large number of mosquitoes. Rating dropped due to the levelness of the sites. Our front step was 22" off the ground. They could level the sites front to rear and crown them like the roadways for drainage. Still, we would stay here again if visiting Chicago. Access was adequate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$51
This campground is not for children. There's really not much for them to do here. Wi-Fi is very sporadic. We camped on site 80 and could NOT get Wi-Fi. We had to go up by the office. There are gravel roads with gravel sites and grass between sites. Though the sites are narrow we could fit in with a 35 foot trailer with 3 slides. Would go back primarily because there are really no other full hookup campground close to Chicago. The toll roads will eat you up!!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
Sites are very close together with no privacy. It's located right next to a Wild West theme park which is great for kids but hearing a gunfight every two hours may be a little off putting for some. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
This campground is under new ownership and is vastly improved over the last time we stayed. We stayed here for a month while we transitioned out of our house and into our RV full time. The owner and his wife could not have been any nicer or more attentive. They went out of their way to accommodate us. The campground is very clean. The staff was great. The only negatives that I would have would be the lack of cable and the water is from a well so there are quite a lot of minerals in it. We will stay here again when we are back in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
Pluses and minuses in this park. It is grassy and the utilities work fine. Tall trees blocked our internet sat dish even after I told the check in I wanted to be clear of the trees. Nice pool. The interior roads are tight and very dusty. We have a 42 foot rig. People with 45s should be skilled drivers or don't come here. Wifi was intermittent. And I did get the vibe that you were "under watch" during our stay. This was reinforced by the policy of charging a friend of mine to stay and visit for a few hours. Sort of a strange policy. I did not find the staff rude, but they did seem to be "watching" us. This park is a long drive from the city of Chicago. So if you plan to visit the city a lot be prepared to spend some time driving. Steak house next door is good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$55
45-footers may find some sites too short to support a towed car, or too far from level. Fair gravel roads and sites. Broader turns would be a big plus. Friendly staff, nice pool area, right next door to a Wild West attraction and decent wild west themed steak house. Try the Chicken Pot Pie! Frankly, too pricey for location and offerings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
We stayed here with a group and really had a great time. The owners, which are new, kept to the arrangements made with the previous owners and made our stay a pleasant one. The pool wasn't open yet which the kids would have enjoyed. The washrooms were well cleaned, but I hated the push button water supply. The Internet worked fantastic. This is a really nice, quiet place that families would enjoy. There is a wild west attraction next door. We would stay here again if we come to the Chicago area. The rate indicated was our group rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
This park is northwest of Chicago just off I-90. If you want full hook ups then your choices are very limited in the Chicago area. We have stayed here three times now. Yes, the sites are pull-throughs. They are gravel, fairly level and close together. No cable TV, but we got about 15 TV stations. Bugs are a big problem so bring some spray. Next door is a Wild West Park that has shooting going on all day long. Nearest store is miles away.We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$46
We just wanted a campground to stay at on our way back from Door County Wisconsin so that we could go into downtown Chicago a couple of days. First of all, the campground is not very close to Chicago. I was told it was 15-20 minutes to Crystal Lake train station and it was 30 minutes minimum. The train ride into the city is 83 minutes. Our site was supposed to be wooded, but it was not even shaded. The hookups for the adjacent site, including the sewage, were in the middle of our site, which was already very narrow. There is a huge mosquito problem, I doubt they use any insect control. The showers and bathrooms were even full of biting mosquitoes. The showers were clean otherwise, and hot. But, on Saturday morning we walked up to the shower house to find all the door locks saying occupied, so thinking they were occupied, we waited for our turn. We got tired of waiting and walked up to the main building, only to find out that the doors were locked because they ran out of propane but didn't bother to post an out of order or closed sign. Not very impressed with this campground, it barely served its purpose. I would not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
We were a little worried about coming here because of the mixed reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised. This is not what I would call a destination campground, but it is the best campground we have found close to Chicago. The folks who run the campground are very nice and could not have been more accommodating. The free WiFi is often slow, but we have found that to be the rule rather than the exception anymore. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
We didn't like this campground at all. The roads are dusty and very tight. The sites are very close together. We really don't like to be so close to our neighbors. We would not come back to this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$55
After reading some of the older reviews about all the rules here, we chanced it and stayed here for two nights. We were glad we did. Very well maintained and a beautiful campground in a nice, quite, rural setting (except for the occasional play gunshots sounds from the Wild West town next door during the day). The sites were level and ours was average to large in size. The folks were nice. The turns in the campground are tight and the guide kept a very close eye on my TT. Whether he was doing this to watch out for me or worried my TT would hit and damage one of their wooden post, I wasn't sure. Firewood is the most expensive I've ever paid at $6 for a small bundle. Internet was free but service was frequently slow with occasional dropouts. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
This KOA was a good place to stay for about a week while visiting Chicago and surrounding areas. It was clean and had pull-throughs to accommodate big rigs towing. All staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The WiFi worked great but there was no cable TV and it was a little tricky to get our satellite to pick up a good signal but it eventually worked. It got quite full on the weekend because I guess it is considered in the "country" since it is about 50 mi from the city. Note: traffic on 90 from the campground into Chicago is a mess, even during the middle of the week. I would return for a week or less. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Campground is a decent place to stop for a night. It is clean, but very old. You can tell the owners have tried to keep up with maintenance, but when things are old, they are old. Lot's of work campers and they were all very nice. Pool is small, but good. I could not put my awning out as we probably would have hit our neighbor's slide. The campground is gated at all times, but the area is a nice area and we never felt the gate was needed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$41
Beautiful park in the country woods. Quiet and dark at night for getting a good night's sleep. Our satellite did come in although barely; it dropped out sometimes, poor signal-trees in the way. Heard NO TRAIN. Next door to steakhouse. Site was plenty long enough for big rig towing. Site was not level. Although we are traveling full timers I found the interior roads to be very TIGHT for big rig w/towing. Mosquitoes appear to be present day and evening. Septic hookups are sticking up above the ground making it difficult to drain the tanks.Person with golf cart who showed us to the site did so at full throttle, waving us on if we did not follow fast enough (it's not only tight in here but bumpy also). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
Best maintained KOA we have ever stayed in, and one of the closest RV parks to Northern Chicago burbs. Lehman's park is a couple miles closer to Chicago but it's creepy/dumpy. (Our rate reflects one month fee divided by 30 days and does not include our electric cost.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$37
Nice, clean, quiet RV park. Only negatives: Bring mosquito spray, as we got bit pretty bad in the few minutes it took to BBQ dinner. We ate inside. Not sure what mid afternoon is like but could not enjoy the nice evening weather because of mosquitoes. Internet OK for email but very slow to lock up if you try any video. Park has strong signal but is maxed out at 11Mbps. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
We left this park after 1 day due to very unfriendly staff and all the extra charges. My sister and her husband came to visit, and were charged $6.00 each to enter the park. Actually, some of the staff were OK, but the owners/management were rude. We forfeited our second day fee just to leave the park. Moved to Lehman's Lakeside Resort which was farther away but a much better park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
The campground is very clean and the sites are far enough apart so that you have some space. The staff is friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$39
This was a tightly packed campground. The escorts use golf carts to lead everyone in, but they do so at full throttle so both the golf cart and the following RV kick up excessive dust: totally unnecessary. Nearly everyone had a campfire so it was dust and smoke in your rig unless you kept everything closed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2009
$70
The owners of this campground were incredibly rude. They are overpriced and patrol the grounds as if it were a labor camp. The restrooms were incredibly nasty; sanitary napkins were on the floor of the showers. Do not camp here. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$42
High priced for a non-destination. Very strict for certain dogs. Tight sites,close to each other. You have to take a toll road (I-90) to get here. We will not camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$42
Generally a nice, clean campground. Staff was okay though somewhat "tight". Worst part: access road is impassable with two rigs. Sites are reasonable but difficult to exit from a site when someone is parked across from you. Was barely able to exit: had to remove a loose post to do it, and then without the toad. Way too tight! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Typical KOA with a friendly staff and all the facilities; clean restrooms, nice pool and good hookups. The showers have no water temperature adjustment and the water temperature is too hot for our liking. We stayed here two times on this trip and will stay again when in the Chicago area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
We found the office staff both friendly and helpful. When we had some issues with our rig the lady in the office immediately helped us resolve them. Great musical Friday night with two very talented guitarists. Clean laundry room. Lots of local people stay here. Located next to Wild West attraction. Had a pleasant and inexpensive dinner there. WiFi worked better than most. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
We were escorted to our site. Nice desk staff and store. They were using a backup computer system due to a big storm the day before, which still found our reservation. There must have been OK drainage since our mostly dirt/grass pull-through site was only damp despite the reported flooding the day before. We needed several blocks to level. Mature trees. Decent mowed dog walk area but under buzzing high power lines. Free Wi-Fi. Free movie and popcorn for kids that Father's Day weekend. Didn't try the TV. Pool for our 12 yr old would have required parent supervision, our 16 yr old was not allowed to watch the 12 yr old. Did not appreciate the antiquated headless shower with push-knob control which kept turning off and offered no temperature control. Was farther than we wished off I-39 when we were avoiding the toll road. Rather pricey even with KOA discount, included $4/child/day additional charge. Might stay again but would look around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$41
It doesn't really matter what condition the park is in, if you're not offered good customer service, you're not going to enjoy your stay. We are paying $41 per night, yet when we asked them to print one page for us so we could see a local attraction, they said it was against policy. It's just not good enough. Nor is the wifi which is extremely slow when it occasionally works. It's a decent drive to the train station, where you then take a further 1.5 hours (and $12 per person round trip) to get into the Chicago city. It seems that the search for an RV park with access to Chicago continues. Until then, leave your RV at home and find a cheap hotel in the city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
Typical KOA. Facilities are nice, a little old but not really a problem. The sites are pretty close together for my taste. I am here now and looking at my neighbors sewage, water and electric less than 8 feet from my front door. To give an example, my awning is covering my neighbors connections. There are fire rings, basically old tractor tire rims at each site, there are lots of tents here, but on the on the other side of the park. Lush grass is everywhere, which is a plus; the unleveled sites are not a plus. The actual graveled sites are very narrow. Our fifth wheel has one side of it's wheels in the grass and the other side on the gravel. We are about 6 to 8" off from side to side. There is some traffic noise but nothing out of the ordinary. The trip into Chicago from this site is about an hour and a half without traffic. We drove in and got a hotel downtown for a couple days. A concern I have is some staff separation. When we arrived we were welcomed openly, given maps of Chicago and other things by the ladies in the office. They appeared genuinely eager to help and know a lot about the area. The tables were turned this morning. My wife went to do a bit of laundry and was greeted by a rude host. She drove up to do laundry and was greeted by a gentlemen inquiring, "what are you doing", "Where are you going"...etc. He excitedly told her the laundry was closed and didn't know when it would be opened again. She said OK and went turn around, he again stopped her, asked what she was doing and where she was going, and not to drive on the grass. She tried to explain she wasn't planning to drive on the grass, and as if you would talk to a dog, he said, "You, be quiet and listen to me..." If you've been RVing for a while you know what I'm talking about, some people just are cut out for this, this gentlemen needs a vacation. We try not to let things like this bother us and chalk it up to a bad day, but this behavior by a KOA host was most unacceptable, we will never be here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
We stayed here last August 2008 and returned May 2009. Staff and owners very helpful and friendly. Pull thru sites need to be releveled as they are off about 2 inches. Nice mature trees n many sites. Wifi worked well but sometimes a little low. No Cable TV but a good selection of regular TV stations which is also broadcast in High Definition. Sites are wide with gravel and grass on both sides. They do allow campfires. 30# propane fill up ran $33. You're actually 4.3 miles from I-90 Interstate so you don't hear any road noise ( unusual for a KOA). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$40
Owners/office staff very friendly and accommodating. Sites were nice sized and level. Beautiful landscaping throughout the park. We were there the last weekend they were open (in Oct.) so the pool was closed. They had a nice looking playground for children. We saw quite a few kids using it and having fun. If we get the opportunity to go back to that area, we will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$41
GREAT park near I-90. Grounds very well kept with nice walkway in grassy area to walk dogs. Staff very helpful and escort to site. WiFi adequate but pretty weak. Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
Okay, the pull thru FHU sites are narrow, sites are gravel and need to be a little more level.Plus they charge for every little thing. But where are you going to find a campground closer to Chicago? Finally you can get your $10 back on the security card by returning it early (like the night before). You don't need the card to leave only to enter. WiFi is very spotty. It's weak and abruptly stops because of the weak signal from the office. We would return here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
The campground was clean and the staff was very friendly. The site was assigned and was VERY small. You can literally take 3 steps and bump into the next trailer. The pool is small (an oval about 25 feet from end to end) but is kid friendly. They have 3 wheel'd bikes to rent and putt-putt (costs extra). The camp store had a little bit of everything and the prices seemed reasonable. You can hear traffic from the highway and see a subdivision just outside of the campgrounds so it looses the "feel" of camping. I was there to visit the "Illinois Railway Museum" which was only a block away. There is also a "wild west town" next door so there is plenty to do outside of the KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
Typical KOA, very nice staff, clean,level sites. Would have scored higher, but the utility setup was bad. Power, water and sewer were right smack in the middle of the neighbors green area. So, they had to move chairs etc way off from their trailer. If you want to turn off or on anything, you had to walk right thru their area. Never have seen anything so poorly laid out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
We had a pull-through level site with 50 amp, water, and sewer. The campground was clean, well-kept but the sites were quite small with no privacy. We were escorted to our site. We did not use the bathhouse or swim in the small pool but they looked ok. This is a commercial campground and they charge for every little thing...even guests coming to visit. There was a small store and laundry. We would probably look for somewhere else to stay next time through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$36
The things we liked about this KOA was the security, the general appearance of the park was well kept, and it was an easy to get in and out of. The things we did not like about this KOA was the rules were a little nit picky, their unwanted dog list was a little extreme, and the sites could use some leveling and grading. Overall it is a nice KOA. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Great KOA! Nice spots, plenty of shade, very friendly owners. Only gripe was the $10 "deposit" on the key for the gate, meaning you can't leave early and get your money easily. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
This KOA charges a $2.00 walk in fee to people without reservations. The showers are old and the bathrooms are not well kept. Some sites have steep drop-offs. To top it off the Wi-Fi went down for the weekend and nobody in the office could fix it. They charge a $10 cash deposit for a electronic pass key to get in and out of the gate so if you have to hang around until they open to get your deposit back when you leave. I don't get what KOA is doing with getting rid of there discount program and adding these garbage fees. I do know they are not seeing me as often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$50
We stayed for holiday weekend. Nice, clean park. Operators were friendly, and VERY watchful. We would stay again here over other parks in area. They could use a gameroom for the kids... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$31
Stayed at this park for eight days, and were very pleased with our stay. Very well kept facility, many trees, owners play very active and interested role. Laundromat very clean, close to the toll road making it easy to get around. Very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
This was our second time at this park. We were here the week before they closed for the season. The owners were cordial. The pull through sites are very close together. The campground is clean and nice and quiet. They ask you to deposit 10.00 for a passcard for the gate, which you get back when you leave. This campground is nice and just what you need when traveling, just not overly friendly IMO. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$36
We have stayed at this park before. It is as close as you can get to Chicago. We stay here when visiting family. We don't spend much time at the park but just sleep in the rig. They really need to fix the road coming into the park. We came in just after a 2 inch rainfall. They helped us get to our spot and took our tanks up to the propane for us. They came back a few hours later to help us get Dish connection. They were very helpful and friendly. The site was level and in the shade. The park is away from all the interstates and in farm country: this is a good thing. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
Site where very small and pull though site had no shade. Our electric box was under the neighboring TT awning. Rest rooms where clean and staff was cordial but not nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$44
Nice park about an hour outside of Chicago. It is a country setting however housing developments are cropping up nearby. They seemed to have a lot of rules but were not draconian about enforcing them. We had a nice stay while visiting relatives in the Chicago area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$41
This was a very quiet, peaceful campground. The staff was very friendly and helpful, leading you to the campsite so you can pull through. We had a 50 amp site with sewer and water. The sites are gravel, as are the roads, but well marked and mostly level. Bike riding would be better if the roads were paved. We had decent TV reception, but not a wide selection of channels. The store is nice, as is the pool. We would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$34
Sites were extremely small. Nothing here to justify price as pool was not open yet. Charged extra for visitors that came only for lunch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$55
We stayed here for one night on our way to the east coast. The park was well maintained, has large sites, and also had a fair amount of shade. Since we were traveling with our dog I must note that it was very pet friendly. It had a nice dog walking area that people obviously respected and picked up after. It was a nice place to spend a night, and if we needed, even longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
This is a great campground. It has a security gate which made us feel very safe. The owners were friendly and helpful. They had all sorts of neat information for when visiting Chicago. The mini golf is great for the kids and they had banana bikes too. Great fun! The wifi worked great and was free! We will camp here again in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$40
Seemed nice but the septic hookup's were in the neighbors site, right in the middle of their site , they would rather have the hook ups than care about the campers site use. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
Nice location about an hour out of downtown Chicago via one of their many tollways. It's location is away from the tollway on a secondary road that is very peaceful. I expect you would only here some road noise if you are at the front of the park and this area seems reserved for tent camping and tent trailers. This park is next to a Wild West Town attraction but you only here a small train whistle during the day as the park is only open 10 am to 6 pm. The entry drive is only wide enough for one rig at a time so you have to be alert when coming in and out of the park. Park sites were reasonably level with a few trees, all cut out of the way. My only complaint was a very metallic flavor and scent to the water. I would recommend using your water filter here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$36
We traveled here in a 31' fifth wheel in June of 2005. The facility was nice and clean, the employees were very friendly, but the sites were painfully small. This place is receiving updates under new ownership. Hopefully they cut the number of sites in half so people aren't parked awning-to-slideout. We enjoyed the local attractions so we didn't take advantage of daytime activities at the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$31
We had the place pretty much to ourselves, which was nice. There is some road noise as it sits on a country highway. Grounds very clean, as were the baths, and everything was in good repair and looked great. Pool looked nice, but we didn't use it. Owners keep sharp eye on the place and it shows. It's about an hour train ride into Chicago and makes a good base for sightseeing. We would return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2004
$25
Sites are very small, little privacy. Bathrooms were clean but needed some repair; we walked to the farther-away BR as it was new and in good shape. Separate areas for tents, popups and hard-sided units; large shady playground. Next door to Wild West Town and near RR museum, so there are fun things to do close by, despite being out in the country. We've been here a couple times when we couldn't get reservations in nearby state parks; ok in a pinch but not a place we'd choose to spend much time. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$34
Very nice, clean campground in Northern Illinois. The only drawback is the very limited amount of full hookup sites. Very helpful staff and nice activities for the kids. Next door to a wild west town which can be mildly noisy during the day but otherwise fun. We will go back again! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com