218149 User submitted reviews online!!
Illinois State Fair Campgrounds was rated 8 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (217) 524-9894
CGID10497

Illinois State Fair Campgrounds

Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   4   7   9   8   9   8   6   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
We stayed late in the season so the only part open was a parking lot with hookups along the edge. We couldn't use the water as it was too cold and it froze. The sewer connection was behind a guard rail and too far away to reach. Not much of a campground, but an okay place to stay while visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
The sewer sites require a very long sewer hose as the sewers are all in the far rear. Extremely close sites. Two large motor homes with slide-outs extended would be hard pressed to not touch one another. We did not stay as we have only a 20' sewer hose and 4 slides. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
Rate reflects +55 discount. Much good about this park. As noted previously, couple that runs it is very helpful and a joy to talk to. Many sites to choose, and they have 3 bath houses to accommodate large crowds. It IS very convenient to sightseeing in the area and we found great places to eat. Noise from trains and road was minimal, and my wife is very sensitive to that. BUT: we arrived after some heavy rains and sites on the grass in the swale were flooded and muddy. There had been a number of campers for a motorcycle show and when they left, there were ruts in the grass that need to be smoothed out. I checked on two of the bathhouses. The older wooden one, in the grassy area, has NO stall walls in the bathroom between toilets, and the floor was a mess. Wife told me it was the same on her side. The newer brick bath house was better, though still not pristine. WiFi is slow, but free (I'm currently at 11.0 Mbps.) The tarmack sites appear to be on a slope, so levelers would definitely be needed. But with all that said, given the cost and the proximity to the historic district, we would most definitely stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
This was a very convenient place to stop over and visit Springfield Illinois. Easy access to all the sights and a good rate. Yes, it is a paved parking lot with water, electric and dump was available. But, in early spring when it is raining - it beats being where it gets muddy quickly. Would stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
We stayed at the Illinois State Fair Campground for one night. We called a week or so before and made a reservation but it wasn't necessary as this park only seems to be busy during the State Fair. We arrived after the office had closed, but there is a clear sign on the door with a number for security - we called them and within a few minutes, someone was with us, took the payment, gave us a receipt and set us up with power. This park is in a great location for Springfield and the sights. There is a bus (SMTD) which departs from the corner of Sangamon and 8th to downtown (it also links with the tourist Historic Sites route). We didn't use the restrooms or showers but the sites were well kept and we felt very secure. This is mostly a tarmac ground with a few trees - I wouldn't want to stay here for a long time but it was in a fantastic location for our sightseeing trips. Mostly tourists - very few 'residential' looking RVs. We'd certainly use this park again if we were visiting Springfield, IL. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
Good place to stay for a few days to visit the Lincoln sites around Springfield. Take the Campground Host recommendations on local attractions. They are very happy to help and suggest what to see and the best times to go. Full hook up sites in the grass on on the asphalt. The area lighting on the asphalt sites are very bright. Wi-Fi is strong. No road noise. If a Sunday or Monday arrival contact the Fairgrounds security, number on office door, to register and have the electric box unlocked. We would stay here again without hesitation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
Mostly a basic fairgrounds parking lot with hookups but there are many grass and shaded sites as well. The on-site managers are as friendly and helpful as we have ever encountered. Restrooms were squeaky clean and the Wi-Fi was screaming fast. Well lit and very safe feeling. Very convenient to all local attractions. Be sure to ask about the senior rate. We would definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
The main thing going for this park is the price. Basically it is a converted parking lot. Our particular space (B3) was a near perfectly level back-in with 50 amp service and a water hookup at the rear of the site. The park manager was very friendly and helpful with respect to providing guidance on the historic highlights of Springfield. This park is not always open to the public due to events at the fairgrounds, so it is important to call ahead. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
The host couple and the location are the best things about this park. They were helpful and accommodating. The park is on the state fairgrounds. It was not crowded the four days we were here. We had a choice of a few short grassy sites with sewer or the asphalt parking lot with sewer...or grass without sewer. Didn't fit on the short grassy site, so did not have sewer hook-up. The bathrooms are old and have seen better days, but they are clean. There are no picnic tables at the sites. There is a little noise from the road and an occasional train, but nothing annoying. As our dog was sick and had to be walked five times during the night, I was pleased to see good lighting for security. There was never an unsafe feeling here. For the location I would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
We stayed here while visiting Lincoln's Springfield. The park is convenient to tourist sites and the manager is very friendly and helpful. Gave me detailed directions to all the popular sites. Restrooms are large and clean, though a bit spartan. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
Rate reflects senior discount. Convenient for seeing the historic sites in Springfield. Camp hosts were knowledgeable and friendly. Gave this campground a bonus star for finding a way to fit our 65' rig! Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Not much for amenities; however, a great inexpensive campground to visit Springfield. The hosts provided us with discount coupons and maps on how to find everything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Price reflects senior discount. We stayed on the asphalt 50 amp FHU sites. These could be very tight during an event, but we were well spaced and had no problems other than needing lots of hoses. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Convenient to Lincoln sites and shopping and dining. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
This campground is very convenient to visiting the Abraham Lincoln sites in downtown Springfield. The sites are either on grass or a parking lot. We parked on the grass. Some sites are nicely level while others appear to be quite hilly. The area was very quiet as there was not an event in the fairgrounds. Very little street or airplane noise. There is 24 hour security and great campground hosts. The area was easy to navigate in our short motor home, but would work for large vehicles as well. The campground is close to restaurants, shopping centers and parks, but is as quiet as a rural area. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
We ended up here 3 nights due to a truck breakdown. Campground hosts are super people, very helpful and knowledgeable of the fairgrounds and the local area. We have a 5th wheel, stayed up on grassy area - wouldn't do paved area, too close, too much leveling for our old rig. Baths OK (they are after all on a fairground). A great base for spending time in Springfield and a good value. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Rate reflects 55+ rate. FHU back-in site with 50 amp service. Free Wi-Fi that worked very well. There are sites on grass or asphalt pavement. Very close to Lincoln Historic Sites. Opens April 1st. We would stay here again on our way north. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
This campground is on the grounds of the state fair and is large and quite nice although the restrooms are typical public restrooms designed for massive use. They weren't especially clean but were useable. The campgrounds were very clean and had either paved interior roads and either grass or paved sites. The work campers were super nice and helpful. The WiFi signal came and went on us depending on who was parked next to us. There was some distant train noise but all told it was actually pretty quiet at this RV park. We were on the hilly grassy area but will select the paved flat parking lot on our next visit. This is a convenient place from which one can explore the city and all it offers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
Great staff, extremely accommodating. Enjoyed our weekend stay while attending an event held at this fairground. Park staffer was very knowledgeable of the complete history of the buildings and origins. We would definitely stay at this facility if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
The location couldn't be better and the people at the office were very helpful about sites in the area. To get a sewer hookup we had to park on a grass site that was not very level, those run up and over little hills in the park. The paved area looked more inviting but there was a rally going on so we got the grass sites. If we came through again we would definitely stay here and park below on asphalt. Beautiful fairgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
We originally planned to stay here for three days to visit some of the Lincoln sites and museum. There was so much to do and see in the Springfield area, we wound up staying twelve days! The staff is excellent and very friendly. We were even given a golf cart tour of the fairgrounds. The 50 amp elect was very strong and stable (as was the water pressure). The Wi-Fi signal was good and usually very fast. We will definitely stay here the next time we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Great overnight park. Half the sites are on a paved parking lot, half with mature trees and grass. Wi-Fi was excellent. Off the beaten path but easy to find with all the State Fairgrounds signs. Go in gate 11 and look left. We arrived on Sunday and had to call Security to check in, and they responded quickly. Real value for the price. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
It's always nice to find a campground in the city when sightseeing and this one is convenient to the state Capitol and other points of interest. We were given a site on one of the asphalt lots with full hookups and 50A electric. This lot is also satellite friendly. The $20 rate is the over 55 senior rate, otherwise it's $25. The water connection is on the right side and the sewer is over a metal fence and you do need a long sewer hose to reach it. The sites in our lot are level but closely spaced. The office staff was very friendly and let us choose our site. The Wi-Fi is encrypted and very good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
This campground was an unexpected surprise. It's a huge camp that has plenty of grass and it felt like we were not at a fairgrounds, unlike others where we have stayed. Security person was always available and made us feel secure. No real amenities here, but a super strong WiFi. Of the other campgrounds around Springfield, this would be our choice. It is also easy access to all Lincoln sites. When in Springfield, we will come here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
Above rate is Sr Rate (over 55) at $125/week. Excellent utilities, aproximately 80, 50amp full hook up, back-in sites around the sides of two level asphalt lots, another 60 or so on 2 asphalt lots with significant slope side to one side. The remainder 30amp, water and electric only sites are on grass varying from level to severe slope. Has multiple bath houses, ice for sale, is well-lighted with roving security. Entry gate 11 or 12 off Sangamon Ave. We checked in on Monday when the office was closed, called the number posted and security officer arrived quickly. We never got WiFi but our Verizon broadband work very well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
As mentioned, the people in the office were very friendly and helpful. Has a large paved area for big rigs. Near the office are a lot of grassy spots, some with water/electric and others with sewer added and many with trees. WiFi works great on part of the area. No cable TV, but I got several stations using the converter box. If you want the physical address for GPS, it's 801 E. Sangamon Ave., Springfield. I was driven around in a golf cart so I could choose my space. A lot of the grassy spaces were not level and had holes. It's a good idea to call for availability because they have lots of groups coming to the fairgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
This is a large facility with many campsites. Best to enter Gate 11 at 8th Street and when inside, make a left on Campground Road. The office is straight ahead up a slight hill. We had a full hookup, 50 amp site: there is one row of sites with sewer hookups below the office. The sites are in a paved parking lot with the sites marked with painted stripes. Has good electric voltage and water pressure. WiFi is fast and the air card works well. No trees, so satellite TV is available. This facility is within a couple miles of the downtown Lincoln sites, and shopping is within about a mile. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
Had a great experience at this campground. The people in charge were the most helpful and friendly we have ever met. They showed us around the campground and gave us a golf-cart tour of the State Fair Park. Would come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
From a previous post, we thought full hook-up sites were available but when we arrived we were told that all are two-way (water, electric). As we were only staying two days, it was not an issue. The campground is nicely maintained and although all but 1 of the bath/shower facilities are beginning to show their age, they were clean. CG is very close to downtown and the major sights. The dump station is difficult to get close to, you will need 15-20' feet of sewer hose. A good value. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
We stayed at this park for 10 days, and did have sewer hookups. Our site backed up to the fence on the concrete parking lot, along with several others. Perhaps they only direct those staying for several days to the full hookup sites. I remember the park host mentioned that the fellow next to us was working here temporarily. We didn't have to move to dump for the entire 10-day period, which is always a good thing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
We chose this park due to proximity to the downtown Convention Center, about 2 miles. It is on the grounds of the Illinois State Fair, but the campsites are far enough away from the Fair activities that they don't interfere too much with the nighttime quietness of the Campground. And it's close enough for an easy walk, if you are there for Fair activities. This is a better Campground than we usually find at Fairgrounds. A very nice host directed us to our site, helped set up, then made suggestions of where to eat, and where to go while in town. Our site was a full hookup, on concrete, level, with plenty of room for slide-outs, but not all sites are that good. The roads are somewhat bumpy, but there were several big rigs in and out with no problem while we were there. A word of caution--a friend arrived at night, when the office was closed, and was led to a site by a security guard. Their site was on grass, muddy and unlevel. It's best to arrive in daylight so you can make a good choice as to where you park. Not much light at night in the park. This campground wasn't listed in any of our camping books; a friend told us about it. The campground is so large that reservations probably aren't necessary. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com