220396 User submitted reviews online!!
Hide-A-Way Lakes was rated 3 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (630) 553-6323
CGID1050

Hide-A-Way Lakes

Camp Information
Sites
600
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   5   1   9   1   1   2   1   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
Lets start at the beginning. The entrance to the campground is awful. The road is completely riddled with holes and in need of repair. The main office is back in the center of the land, so you'll have to go down to the office then possible 3-4 point turn your camper and go back to a possible site. The site I was in (15 Lakeside) was a large site but riddled with low trees and a stump so backing in was rather tight. Nothing is paved so it's all dirt and grass, and when it rained, a river ran through my site. The electrical box was conveniently located but it seems as though all of the water faucets were split 4-5 ways for multiple sites to share. Let's start with the good. All of the people in the campground were very nice. Lots of permanent weekenders and full timers and all real friendly and knew your name before you knew theirs. The price for 50amp went from $470 to $490 a month while I was there. I ended up cutting my 2nd month short and was refunded what I didn't use which I thought was good. The spots are very well shaded with lots of trees which is good for staying cool but, you'll definitely need to hose off your slide outs before you pack up and leave. This is literally the closest thing to suburban Chicago less than $800 a month, so it seems to be an obvious choice. Now the bad. My electricity went out almost daily, and not just because of the weather. If you're going to stay here, a generator is almost a MUST. Also, the park water is pump fed. No electric, no water, so make sure you have some fresh water in your tank. The whole splitting one faucet between 3-4-5 sites is a bit unnerving to me as well. One of my coworkers was staying on creekside and he even had to run his water hose across the road. Not ideal. With the roads being in such poor condition, the park can get rather dirty and dusty. There were many nights where I would have liked to open up the camper, and I made the mistake of doing so in the beginning but, the inside of my 5er was just covered in a layer of dust and dirt, so I had to just stick with a/c. There is a quiet time after 10pm but, there are quite a few people that don't follow it. Several week nights you could hear fellow campers getting rather rowdy after even 11pm, and one Saturday afternoon there was a domestic dispute that sounded like it was going on right outside my camper they were arguing so loud. The people in here LOVE their golf carts! A lot of them drive them too fast, kicking up even more road dust. I've read some other places that they call this place "Meth Mountain", and I'm honestly not surprised. This is one of those situations where, you have to ask yourself if it's worth twice the price and 10-12 more miles each way to stay in a real nice park or just to tough it out in this place. I was staying here alone and for work so, I didn't bother moving once I was established. If I were traveling with family, I would look elsewhere. If you're just passing through, it'll do for a night but, so will a Walmart. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
This is a campground, not an overnight park. No WiFi , no cable TV, poor broadcast TV, marginal Cell phone coverage, and very rough dirt roads. Trees in very poor condition . Dishes nailed to trees all over. Water and electric service intermittent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
This park is an old park that has not been cared for or updated. There is a narrow winding road into the park that will not allow two RV/trailers to come/go at the same time. There are more rusted, apparently abandoned trailers than useful sites. "Sites" are just places in the grass. The electric lines between hookups are laying on top ground. The quiet rules are not enforced. Several people partied until 1 am, using foul language. Depending upon where your site is, the restrooms can be a 10 minute hike. They are so old and not well-maintained. No lights in one - doors don't close. Empty beer bottles littered a camp road and laid there all weekend. There are very few campgrounds in the Chicago area, but this is one you want to avoid. We couldn't believe it had a Good Sam's affiliation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Difficult to find entrance road; small sign just says "camping." Access over un-signaled RR tracks, then down long country lane that looks like the wrong way; pass through unmanned kiosk (manned and locked at night); watch for close-in tree boughs and dips in gravel road. After sign-in at office, a quarter-mile drive through the heavy woods to camp sites. But it's all worth it! Huge drive-through sites between tall, mature shade trees, just park on the grass within reach of utility hookups. DuPage River runs along edge of sites, and there is a boat ramp. No street lighting, so nights are pitch black and the whole camp is super quiet. Some long-termers have been there for years. Enterprise car rentals will pick you up at your coach! It makes a great base for exploring Chicago or just taking a few days off the road to relax. Medium expensive, but considering location, it's a good choice and a really nice and secure place to recharge for the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
This campground is in Woodalls with 2 w"s rating and is misleading, so are the folks who manage it. What a dump, you take your life in your own hands here, hard to get in hard to get out. The clearance for any site is very low and risky at best. Folks did not want us there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2007
$30
After having a heck of a time, I finally found this place. The office was closed, there was no provision for after hours check-in. No phone number to call. No phone to use if you had a number for the park. No maps, no nothing. Finally found a guy riding around on his golf cart and he led me to the full hookup sites. Site very poorly laid out for today's RV's. This place is a maze of roads. Some of which, end with no notice. The roads are narrow, none are marked, and a lot of them have no turn around. Be prepared to backup. The road in is one way. The road out is also one way...but, find the exit. The people in the park were nice. The managers, office personnel and workers couldn't care if you stayed there or not. The camp store is dirty, very cluttered, and just try to find something there. I know why Trailer Life slammed the place. There seemed to be a lot of family type stuff to do. But, after the hassle I had with finding a full hookup site, I wasn't too concerned about amenities. All I wanted was out. Either arrive before sundown or bring a mighty big light, radar and a GPS cause you're going to need it. Oh yeah, there were few lights in the park. They used a Christmas light to mark the sites. The park is aptly named. I'm serious about this part, if you need electricity for life support or help in an emergency, do not stay in this campground. There are a couple of parks within 5 mile driving distance that are much safer. If you get in trouble there, you are totally on your own. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
Unfortunately what could be a nice campground has been run into the ground. The park is dirty with many old, abandoned units about. There is no enforcement of any rules so almost anything goes. We met four County Sheriff cars coming out one day that had conducted some type of raid on one of the permanent trailers!! Everyone there as a transient were there because it is convenient to the west Chicago suburbs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2005
$28
Arguably the trashiest park we have stayed in. It is a real shame, too, because with clean-up it could be quite nice. The electrical hookup was mis-wired, so we had to look around for another hookup about 50 ft away. The water hookup was inconvenient, also. Trash was everywhere and some rigs looked like they had been in their spot for 20 years. Unfortunately, it was the closest thing we could find to a work location, but will be leaving as soon as possible. The wireless internet was terrible, with a very erratic signal and very expensive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$28
There are a lot of unkempt permanent sites. The "visiting" sites were in either a shaded area, or in a field. There were full hookups. We never found the swimming lake. It was unnerving having to pass through a golf cart brigade on check-in, although someone in a golf cart was helpful in getting us to our site. There was what looked like nice tent camping along some small ponds. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com