206530 User submitted reviews online!!
Marathon Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (715) 261-1566
CGID10511

Marathon Park

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   1   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
This is a delightful small park right off the highway, lots of tall trees. It is big rig friendly, we were traveling with friends who have a 38 ft 5th wheel and you just have to be careful. All the sites are back in and there are some a big rig just could not get into. There is 30 amp, a dump onsite and water available. We didn't use the bathrooms. We would come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
Electric only at site. Water and dump station available, $6 fee to dump. Sites are gravel/grass and somewhat level. Very quiet park that is clean and well maintained. A major road parallels the park but it is surprisingly quiet. There is a train track on the backside of the park but you can barely hear any train noise. No train noise through the night. Lots of large pine trees surround all RV sites but it is possible to get a satellite signal for TV in certain sites. Phone reception is good (AT&T). Bathhouse is OK but could use an upgrade. Also, there is no heat in the bathhouse and the overnight temperature was 35 degrees. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
We pulled in well after dark but thanks to getting on the park's website were able to discern that sites 1-8 were the big rig sites. We keep our trailer attached to our pick-up since we work out of our rig & rarely stay at a park longer than 1 night. Anyway, the self registration area is across from site 2. There are envelopes that you fill out & then deposit your money in a metal tube. The trees in the park were beautiful (which we were able to see the next day). Huge pines. The turns in the park are a bit tight but we still managed. The bathrooms... As another reviewer posted they require a code. Luckily my husband was trying to enter as someone was coming out. The fellow camper gave him the code which was 125 for the mens & the opposite for the women's 521. We don't use the bathroom in our trailer so access to the BR was pretty essential for us. The bathrooms were clean enough but they are essentially plain concrete floors & the mirrors are made of metal so they are difficult to see yourself well. If you don't like spiders this bathroom might bother you. I was hoping that the water would have been a bit hotter but it was tolerable. I didn't turn on the cold water faucet at all in the shower. My husband encountered 2 separate men that were smoking in the bathroom. Definitely not desirable-- especially for someone with asthma & when one is trying to remain & smell clean. We appreciated finding this campground in Wausau-- especially since there seems to be a lack of campgrounds in the area. We thought $18 was quite fair. I don't think it is unreasonable to charge extra for dumping-- you only have to pay for the privilege to do so. We left 2 suggestions in the pay box... To post the bathroom codes somewhere for campers & to paint no smoking signs on the door & walls of the bathroom. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
Campground toilet/shower building was locked. We did not realize until after we paid fee. Nearest toilet was nearby but it was locked at night and not open in the morning. There were only a couple of other RVs there but there was no one else around nor were any signs posted. What a disappointment, this is a lovely park and nice campground, very convenient to the highway, downtown, college. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
If you have straight talk phone service, it will not work in Marathon county. There are no private campgrounds in Wausau (business opportunity anyone?) and our dad was in the hospital in Wausau, and we needed a place to park our RV. This place was our only option. We have a big rig, but there are a handful of sites that can accommodate. Tight turns and low trees make it challenging, as well as a very narrow dump station built before the days of big rigs. A splash park and mini train are available for kids. Walk to Starbucks and restaurants. 2 big grocery stores across the street. Lots of space to walk and explore. Call ahead to ensure availability. Some sites have electric 30 amp. No water or sewer. Showers are OK and are nearby. Most unique part of this park is that it is thickly blanketed with enormous pine trees in this one city block right in the downtown. My mom has been coming to the park since she was young and remembers these pine trees. It is so shaded we didn't need air conditioning. It is also home to the fairgrounds, so avoid coming that week. Place does fill up on summer weekends. Also there is currently major construction going on right in front of the park on Stewart avenue. Noise not so much a problem, but but not fun to drive through with a motorhome. If the campground is full, they do allow parking at Walmart down the street. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
The downside: $6 charge to dump and the showers and bathrooms hadn't been cleaned for the season. Sites are "uniquely" level, but we found a good one in site 19. The upside: A huge park with lots of trails and places to walk or bicycle. Sunsets are great! Staff is friendly, but not too adept at taking care of the needs of RV campers. Self-registration is the deal here, but works. We'd come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$16
Nice park. Lots of trees. There is only electric hookups at site. There is a single water spigot and a dump station (there is a $6 charge to dump). Paved roads and gravel sites. Large playground and pavilion. Nice place for an overnight stay. No water and sewer make it inconvenient for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com