221698 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Trails / Indian Lakes was rated 5 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (812) 934-5693
CGID1055

Thousand Trails / Indian Lakes

Camp Information
Sites
678
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$52



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   1   6   4   7   5   9   1   1   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$52
Stayed in KOA section over the 4th. Nice campground with lots to do. We had planned on going to Brookville Lake but decided instead to stay at the campground. There's a 3 mile bike / running path also. One negative is that while they do advertise they sell propane, they do so only between 8:30-9:30 AM. Quite odd. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
Booked with Koa for a pull thru site, nothing even close to level in a completely empty koa section! Everything over grown, dumpsters over flowing, low hanging branches from trees everywhere. Basically, deplorable! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$1
Late April, early May stays. Stayed here down/up on a short trip to Mammoth Cave. Very large campground with multiple sections. Stayed both times in the phase 4 section which was very open. Nice grass, no trees, full hook-up's. We choose this section after driving through the first section to the right which seemed very rough. Signs of recent excavation and very uneven grassy areas, by contrast the section we were in was nicely kept. Quite a few annuals were clustered along the the wooded side. Most seemed reasonably well kept. Easy access for our 43' rig. Re-entry into the campground is by a bar coded pass. Be cautioned the reader is extremely low for full size trucks. Staff all seemed friendly and helpful. Camp host in our section was friendly and introduced themselves soon after we set up; as well as, welcomed us back on the second visit. Camp store was currently in remodeling. Propane across the street was extremely expensive @ $39.99 for a 40# tank. Campground has limited propane hours in the am. Pool was not open. Never seen a full size stainless pool before. Facilities looked nice and assuming open later ─źn the season. We use this campground as a base camp for visits to a convention in Cincinnati and visits to the Creation Museum. 45 min and 30 min drives respectively. Cell signal for Verizon and ATT were both excellent. Campground WiFi showed up at one bar on devices where we were, as well. Price reflects Thousand Trails zone pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$1
Large park with Koa inside of it. Would have been great if the campsites weren't such a mess. Our site was right next to KOA and had two hunks of moldy carpet, garbage,broken down picnic table and no fire ring. The KOA had neat sites that were mowed and nice tables. We drove around for half an hour looking for a decent site and most of them had no defined pad or driveway. Very noisy park due to large number of construction workers living there. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$1
TTN now shares park with KOA. KOA sites are clean, gravel, with picnic tables. TTN sites pale in comparison. Large leased area and many empty rigs on premise. Limited FHU sites in camping area. Another example of where TTN has decided to place their emphasis - and it's not in the membership camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$1
Did not actually stay at campground - we were traveling in area and decided to check it out as part of this campground is becoming part of the KOA network - unfortunately no one was at gate to allow access - only way in via a keycard. We understand they are to open full time on April 15th however please note - there are NO SIGNS whatsoever at this point from I-64 or on I-64 signs showing this as a KOA nor as Thousand Trails so you are on your own finding the campground. It is best though to use Sunman, route 101 exit off I-64. Based on previous reviews, lets hope they improve the KOA section of the campgrounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$1
We spent two weeks here over the Labor Day Holiday and had our choice of some 14 sites with full hook-ups and 50 amps. Friends joined us within a few days and all had excellent sites nearby in Phase 4. We found the rangers and store help to be friendly and helpful. Breakfast was only on the weekends but was good and reasonable. This is a huge park but is well cared for. We have seen major improvements in the preserve over the past few years since this lady took over as manager; we appreciate her efforts. The annual rentals are under control here compared to other TTN parks as Phase 1 with over a hundred sites has most of the "personal" sites. Although we live far from here, we frequently spend time in this park since we like the area and plan to return often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
This park is not your typical Thousand Trails resort. The bathrooms and showers are aweful and were not checked for 4 days on our stay. The staff is not friendly. The park seems to be run down as many of the electrical connections seemed to be falling apart. Do not expect to get full hookups unless you are permanent. My advice is keep driving to the next campground. I wish there was a number less than 1. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2012
$0
We stayed in this park 3 yrs ago and had a great stay. Now, I will never stay here again. So many of the electric connections don't work and many of the water spigots don't work either. It took us a long time to find one that had both that did work and some shade. The 50 amp connections are very few with most being 30 amp. There are only 44 spaces with sewer. We are members of Thousand Trails, so it didn't cost us anything other than our dues. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$10
Membership campground which is open to the public. Large sites. Not all have picnic tables. Limited full hookups. Lots of green areas. Nice pool when it is opened. There are four developed areas well spread out around a lake and green open areas. Cabins are also available. Some areas such as basketball court and sand volley ball area need maintenance. Should have a bike or golf cart to get around within the park or plan on using your vehicle. Have stayed here several times. Noisy on the weekends, but quite during the week. Will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
A very nice park. Enjoyed both walking and biking on the trails. Many open sites the weekend we were there, so quite peaceful and quiet. Recommend, if coming from the west on I-74 (Indianapolis), using the Sunman -Morris exit in lieu of Exit 149-Batesville. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$1.0
Spacious campground with many sites. Limited number with full hookups. Too many golf carts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2011
$1
I'm not sure what park was covered by the last two reviews, but it sure wasn't Thousand Trails Indian Lakes. We've been here 5 days so far and there is no water at the sites from 6:00AM until after midnight. Park maintenance is an afterthought. Granted, it had rained hard just before we arrived, but the rain doesn't make the pot holes the size they are. BUT: it doesn't help any one when the members park in the grass areas, now mud and have to get pulled out. The rest rooms were also a disaster, due to lack of water for the sanitary system. When I asked for the manager Monday AM, I was informed she was off for the Holiday. You might just think: a Holiday Weekend. The manager should take a day off when they were not so busy! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
What a fine park: complete with country store, gas station, clubhouse, pool, etc. What I really appreciated is that the permanent sites were separated from the travelling RV sites, etc. Lots of wooded areas, but also beautiful open areas great for satellite dishes. Shopping and restaurants nearby. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$1
This is by far the nicest Thousand Trails we have stayed at during our travels. It is a large preserve that is well taken care of. We are staying here as members of Resorts of Distinction, hence the nightly rate. I would hope in time they create more sites with 50 AMP and sewer, so the mad dash of moving sites wouldn't occur daily. We are here over the Labor Day Holiday. Not keeping the pool open for the entire weekend seems ridiculous. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$1
This park is very clean. A lot of potholes have been taken care of. The main road and phase 1 are completely paved now. For the cheap price of a resort park, you can't really ask for too much. The grass is cut on time because of new maintence crew. The standing water is no longer an issue because of drain tile that was laid in '09. I will agree that the golf carts are overpriced. The country store has been completely redone into a restaurant which means you can get food, but not all your necessities. Because of the location of the park, you drive a mile down the road to stores everywhere. We will definitely return here. This is a great family oriented park, especially with the activities: a luau, carnival, djs, car shows and more. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$1
A couple of past reviews are over the top. We stayed for 14 days. It rained a lot this year so the ground was pretty saturated. The park does need maintenance: lots. The pool is closed in the mornings and no key on site. Has to come from Batesville each day with the lifeguard. This could, and should, be a premium park. It is beautifully treed and lots of fishing opportunities. We would stay again. Felt our stuff was safe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$1
We were fortunate to get a full hookup site but it was very early in the season. The roads need work, many potholes. As you drive by the impressive view of the golf course is quickly negated by the tacky cluttered trailer park look of the long term on-site storage campers. The best thing about Indian Lakes is the town of Batesville, from the RV parts store right across the road to the terrific new and used book store in town, everyone we met was delightful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
This park is such a joke. First of all, the pot holes on the dirt roads are ridiculous. We paid $550 to stay here for a month. When it rains, the entire lot was flooded. The manager Charlene is the rudest lady you will ever meet. Her staff at the "General Store" are also not the nicest people. The maintenance people were nice, but creepy. I was scared to leave our things there during the day for fear they would have disappeared by the time we returned. The fact that people pay $7,000 to become a member here is a joke. If this is the case, then this campground should be in a lot better shape than it is in. I would definitely not recommend anyone staying here. The playground for the children to play on was completely under mud. This should definitely not be considered a Thousand Trails campground. I think that changing this park needs to start at the top with the management. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$1
Out of 726 sites only 44 full hook ups for rentals, all placed in a very small area sort of an afterthought. Huge park very outdated amenities. Roads were not potholed as stated earlier. Golf cart rental was $35.00 a day and in their park brochure, there was a listing for rental cars for $19.95 a day. Pool was closed and drained when we arrived. Nothing else going on. Many homesteaders and permanent sites, some were trashed out, some were not. Personnel were friendly. Grass was mowed and grounds presented a good appearance. We felt like outsiders with the locals and not typical of other 1000 trails parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$1
This campground was absolutely the most terrible one I have ever stayed at! It is only open to memebers, but we went on a free pass after purchasing a new travel trailer from a dealer across the road. The roads were covered in potholes, the grass was in dire need of being cut, and some of the sites towards the front were so overgrown it would have taken a bushhog to clear them out. The restrooms were filthy and if you took a shower there was no where for you to get dressed, you would have had to walk out in a towel to a stall to get dressed. The electric boxes were so old it kept knocking our power out and the man next to us had a big motorhome w/ 2 a/c units and he could only use one. The staff were incredibly rude, as were some of the guests that we encountered. Then they wanted to sell us a $7,000 membership! For a resort and the money people pay to be members, all these problems should not exsist, and they should add wireless access and cable hook-ups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$1
For a Thousand Trails park, this leaves a lot to be desired. There are only 44 full hookup sites and you have to watch each morning to see who leaves in order to grab a spot. Full hookup area sites need more gravel, the grass needed cut and there was free standing water after three days of no rain.In the non full hookup areas (most of park)sites are poorly marked, many are nothing but mudholes when it rains, and electricity did not work in many of them.No honey wagon available. Golf carts are available for rent, but a rental car would be less expensive. We will not return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2008
$1
This is not a very good big rig park. We were put on a grass area and became stuck. It is probably suitable for small RV's. Spaces were cramped and noisy. Very disappointed as we expected more from Thousand Trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$1
This is a beautiful camp ground. We stayed there over labor day weekend. Because of its size, what this camp ground needed was golf cart rentals because it is so large, so bring an alternate form of transportation. A honey dipper service, because there are not that many full service hook-ups, and central wireless internet. The only internet is up by the store. Add those three items and this would really be a resort park to go to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$1
The campground has many amenities on site. Trails, paved roads, store with fuel at the front, guard with gated/pass-key entrance, and activities. However, only 44 of the sites are full hookup. I.e., arrive early during the travel season or you'll have to survive with one of the water/electric only sites. However, the non-sewer sites looked VERY desirable. They've done a good job with the location of the sites and layout. Speed limits are 15MPH on the main roads and 5MPH in the campground areas. These are, for the most part, ignored. The golf carts are numerous, as well. Unfortunately, folks do not pick up after their pets, so watch your step. We stayed during a hot air balloon festival. The event was open to the public with a carnival, as well. We would come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$2
This is also a NACO park. We had a good site in the full hookup section. Site 8. We were here during the off season. There are approximated 40 sites in the 50 amp, full hook up section which is in mainly an open area. The rest of the sites are water and electric only except for the On Site Storage area. Nice to see the On Site Storage area as a completely separate section. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$30
This is a Thousand Trails (NACO) preserve. Very large. Beautiful lake. 9 hole golf course that is beautifully laid out but needs some TLC. Only 44 sites have sewer hook-up & 50 amp service. The rest are 30 amp. Some of the water hook-ups didn't work. Easy to get around in with big rigs, some paved roads. Very clean, nice pool & pavillion. Lighted tennis courts. Nice park, will visit again. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com