206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Charlestown State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (812) 256-5600
CGID1059

Charlestown State Park

Camp Information
Sites
192
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   8   10   7   9   6   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$39
This is a beautiful State Park -- paved campsites with with modern hookups. The campsites are fairly well spaced in a grassy area. We found the price for full hookups a little expensive, and there is an additional $7 onetime entry fee. However, the campground is 25-30 miles from Louisville, KY, where there are limited number of pleasant campsites. The pads were only long enough for our 40-foot RV, so we had to park the toad on the lawn beside the RV. That worked out OK, and seems to be permitted by the rules. We would stay here again if we return to visit Louisville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
This campground in a state park was a very pleasant surprise. Spacious sites with smoothly paved parking areas and roadways, and decent, clean bath houses. There are some shade trees, but the park consists mainly of nicely cared for grass. The park is about 30 minutes from Churchill Downs and Louisville, KY. The campground appears to be under utilized, but that may be an incorrect impression. One warning -- if you make an online reservation and plan to arrive on a Sunday, arrivals and departures on Sundays are 5pm for both. Wouldn't you know, of all those sites, when we arrived at 3:30, the one I selected online was occupied by a family not intending to leave until exactly 5pm. There was no problem switching to an open site, but we did have to drive around a bit to find one that was suitable for our rig. We would definitely return if camping again in the Louisville area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$23
Have nothing but positive to say about Charlestown. Beautiful park with secluded sites. Awesome playground for the kiddos (once you find it in the woods)! Paved roads and sites. We walked and looked at all of their sites and only a few were not level. Would recommend this park whole heartedly! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$29
Large wooded state park with campground adjacent to the Ohio river. Very quiet. All back-ins of varying length; some with full hookups. Paved access roads and sites. Sites vary from mostly level to a noticeable slope. Good spacing between sites. Some sites full hookup. All appear to have picnic tables and grills and some with fire rings. Power good. Water pressure good. No Wi-Fi. We will stay here again when in area. Warning: If coming from the south, GPS may attempt to route via Charlestown Landing Road. Do NOT turn there - dead end road with no turn around! Entrance is approximately 1.5 miles further north directly off Indiana highway 62. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
After a disappointing stay at another park, we moved here to finish our stay in the area. This is a large state park with a very nice under-utilized campground. The park has facilities from primitive to full hookup. There are 3 large, clean shower/restrooms. If you aren't an Indiana resident, a one time $7 fee is required to enter the park. We are enjoying our stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
Campground sites very spacious, mostly level, and paved. Very few have much privacy and few trees except at the back of the sites. Very well maintained campground. If I were rating on just the campground, then I'd give a 9/10, however, the park as a whole is a little overwhelming. Nice trails (take a hike to Rose Island if you get a chance) and also good views of the Ohio River. Not much in the way of other activities though and no pool for the kids. Due to lack of pool, it's a good spring / fall destination when normally it would be too cool to swim anyway. If those things don't matter to you, then it's definitely a nice campground worth visiting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
Arrived just at the start of the season as they just turned the water on to one of the loops on April 4th. This is a nice campground and unknown to many people. Sites are paved and generally level. We had no problems leveling our RV. Sewer sites are available. Sixty one of the new sites are Class AA with 50 amp service and individual water and sewer hookups. The majority of the sites in the campground are electric only,. That said there are MANY sites. It is a LONG drive from the gate at Indiana 62 into the campground area, but the roads are very nice and there aren't any overhanging trees to cause a problem. Digital TV signal is good due to proximity to Louisville. Most sites would also have good satellite access. Absolutely no Wi-Fi although my AT&T and T-Mobile signals are strong. Charlestown is a nice little town with some shopping, grocery, and restaurants. Good access from I-65 in southern Indiana. It's good road all the way to the park. Price is high, but it's a nice place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$27
Reasonably sized and level sites. Most are electric only which is what we had. Park has higher rates on the weekends which is what we paid. We were surprised to see that you have to pay seven dollars to get into the park and then another 27 for camping making an electric only site a bit expensive at thirty four dollars. If I return to this area I would go to Taylorsville State Park in KY which was 21 dollars per night for 50 Amp and water and a pull through site and it is about the same distance from Louisville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
A bit pricey for electric only. However, there are FHU sites in the large state park. No one was on duty when I checked in, but a security officer came by and took care of everything. Very friendly and helpful. The sites are all fairly level and easy to maneuver into. The campground is about 2-3 miles inside from the gate and even further down the road are some overlooks on the Ohio River. Good park to use when exploring the Louisville, KY area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
This park is 15 miles to downtown Louisville, KY and is the only real campground within 25 miles of Louisville. It is clean, spacious and well maintained. Hiking trails all over the place. The Ohio River is on the lower edge of the park with Fourteen Mile Creek to the east. The mid-week rates are the most reasonable. The park has full service sites and electric sites but no pull through sites. There are plenty of level sites, the better sites for wildlife viewing are on the outer edge of the northern section. Raccoon, coyote, deer, turkey and red squirrel roam through the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Great state park with plenty of room between sites and good water and electricity. The park rangers were helpful and courteous. Ticks were a problem but that was not the fault of the park. Blackberries were ripe and delicious. Much better campground than any of the 'commercial parking lots' in Indiana or Kentucky. We were here four days and things could not have been better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
The posted rate at this park is the highest we've paid in any state park as full timers for the past 5 years. The surrounding states have much lower rates. This is the second time we've stayed at this park, we wonder if that last year we may have received an "off season" rate or $24.88 or if they have raised the daily rate by $10. We questioned the rate and were told that the rate goes up when they turn on the water. Strange since last year we had full hook ups also, the same week. The only thing I can say is it is $10 lower than the KOA in Clarkville. The restroom were exceptionally clean, however the grass was in bad need of mowing. The park had sign warning of a "tick alert and we saw several. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
We spent the night at this park on our way to Florida. It is an exceptional park and one of only a few state parks with full hookups. The park was well groomed and clean with wide paved spots. This is a huge state park with lots of hiking and it's close to Interstate 65 and Louisville. The park staff were very friendly and helpful. There were lots of birds and a beautiful night sky. Great for a autumn bike ride down to the wide Ohio River. I would have liked to stay longer to just enjoy the peace and quiet. This park is a prime example of what state parks should be and was greatly appreciated We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
Stayed from Saturday to following Friday here. Very nice quiet park. Well groomed campground. Nice plush grass around all campsites not the dirt and mud that you find at a lot of other state park campgrounds. Stayed at full hookup site. Price during week is cheaper than weekend rates. The land was once a military ammunition plant before it was turned over to state to turn into a park. So you can see old abandoned railroad cars, buildings etc. along some of the park roads. Nice overlooks they have built to view the Ohio river. Plus a boat launch if you have a boat. There are also a number of trails to walk on. Would have given a 10 rating but not much activities in the park itself to do. Although there are things to go see in close proximity of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
The Indiana DNR does not mow all areas between campsites, they try to preserve the natural eco system; as a result, this promotes an excess of insects, particularily ticks, this park has the worst infestation of ticks I have ever seen anywhere. It would seem that they place more emphasis in preserving the natural eco system than in human health safetey. We camped here for an entire week during the height of the camping season, the park was probably only 5% full at any given time. If this park would put in a lodge, a swimming pool, control insects and mow more of the campground area, it would be an ideal park, but as it is, I will never return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$24
We had a full hookup site at the reduced Sunday-Wednesday night rates. Nice park, well maintained, however no heat in the shower house, seemed unusual since it was open and the water was on and the outside temps were in the 40s. Great place to stay within 20 minutes of downtown Louisville, KY. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
This is probably the newest state park in Indiana and is well maintained. However, there really isn't anything at this park like at others in Indiana. We didn't even find a playset. It may be there somewhere but we didn't find it. If you are looking for river access to the Ohio River this has it, and it has some nice trails to walk. However, this is not a destination campground in my opinion. You are very well positioned to get to Louisville easily and we utilized this as a homebase for our activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
This is the second time we've camped here. The first time was a few years ago. The trees are bigger now and they seem to be trimming the grass around the sites more. Very VERY nice campground. Our site (#120) was very large, right across from the bathhouse and had a large shade tree. Perfect. The only complaint I have is the price. For 3 nights camping (Thursday through Saturday) it cost $104.00. Rather expensive I think for a state park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
Great park for a nice quite visit with lots of privacy. Yes the grass is grown up between the site, but it is a state park left in it's natural state where possible. Beware of the ticks in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
This a state park that is not overrun on the weekends. Even on Memorial Day weekend there were still a couple of sites available. And the sites are fairly large so that you are not on top of one another as you are in other Indiana State Parks such as Paynetown. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$18
This is a nice park, but is new and there is not a lot of shade. It was the most...how do I say this...UNIQUE park I've been in. They don't cut the grass between the sites. You do have a mowed area around your campsite which is sufficient, but the area between the campsites has been allowed to go fallow, which means there are tall grasses, small trees, weeds and the accompanying insects and SPIDERS. Sites are mostly level and there are a lot of them. We'd stay again, but suspect early spring or fall would be a better time to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2005
$31
Ok State Campground. High weeds between campsites. Ticks were bad as were the biting flies. Could not go out duing the daytime without being bit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$21
We have been camping here ever since it opened in 1998. The sites up front are electric only but very very spacious. If you were in another campground, you could easy put 3 campers in site here. They have very large yards. The only drawback because it is a new park, there is no shade. Trees are planted but not very big yet. The sites in the back have just been recently added. They have full hook-ups and are shady. They are quite large too, but there is a lot of growth between sites and you don't have the big front yard like you do up front. (We prefer up front). The bathrooms are GREAT! Very clean. The park rangers check them frequently during the day making sure they are stocked. The rangers are very friendly. Will just stop to say hello and chat awhile. The park does have a playground and all the roads and sites are paved. There is hiking trails available. But other than that, not a lot of other activities. But that is fine with us. The park is very quiet. We ride bikes and play games and have some "Family Time". It's a great place just to get away from it all. It is close to us and we go there often and will continue as much as time allows. Happy Camping Everyone! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com