223325 User submitted reviews online!!
Thomas County Fairgrounds was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (785) 443-2844
CGID10640

Thomas County Fairgrounds

Camp Information
Sites
12
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   9   3   9   6   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$20
Stayed here en route to Colorado for one night only. It was very sufficient for the one night. A lot of space to back up our big trailer. Attendant was friendly. It was quiet and off the highway as well. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$20
Nice, clean, large back-in sites. Full hookups, it is on the county fairgrounds land. No showers/restrooms, you must be self-contained. There are no signs on roads to find this campground. You can stop at the visitor center or like most add to your GPS. Quiet area and close to shopping and gas. Great place for overnight stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$20
We made the decision to stay here at the last minute, when a thunderstorm chased us off the interstate, so I didn't have very high standards. The Thomas County Fairgrounds both met my expectations and surprised me. This is a campground that exists to serve annual county fair. The fact that it was still open puzzles me a bit, but there were another half-dozen sites occupied, so maybe they get enough business to justify it. The campground is really just an open field, mowed short, and a little muddy in the rain. There are zero activities for the children, unless you count running amok in field (after a long day on the road, sometimes that's all we need!). No pull-through sites, but the sites are incredibly easy to get into, with tons of maneuvering room, and only the utilities hookups to worry about hitting. The campground attendant was very casual -- we called in to check they had an opening, and he just told me to pick whatever site looked good to us :) As we were settling in, he came to collect our payment -- $20 cash, no registration required. Because we'd pulled off the road due to a thunderstorm, I asked about a storm shelter. It's a concrete box under the grandstand -- not exactly ideal to this Kansas girl, but lots better than a trailer in a storm! Fortunately, we didn't need it. Would I stay here again? If I needed to a place to get off the road in Colby, yes. Would I make it a destination? No. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
This is the daily rate; if you stay longer than a week I believe it is cheaper. If you don’t know where to turn off the main highway, it could be hard to find. The road is gravel and the sites are all back-in on grass. It wasn’t busy for this stay, so we were able to pick a level site without too many bumps. There is no shade, utilities were fine, and they have great water pressure. It was quiet as it is located off the main road. Both Verizon and Sprint worked OK but the Sprint was roaming. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
This is a fairgrounds that has installed full hookup campsites. The sites are dirt but level. We called ahead and was told to just pull in and pick a site. It wasn't long after pulling in a guy came around and collected the $20.00 fee. We used our antenna and were able to pull in several stations without difficulty. For a place to spend the night we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
If you need a place to stop for the night near Colby KS, this place works. Full hookup sites are $20/night. Since it is located in the fairgrounds park, I expect that it is full when there are activities at the fairgrounds. Nothing was happening at the fairground when we stopped there. There was nowhere to check in (it is just a large dirt parking lot with full hookups). We called the phone number on the sign; the person who answered told us to just put $20 in a truck that was parked nearby. It works for a quick overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
The RV park is obviously set up for Fair Carnival workers, and the sites feel somewhat tight. It is about 18’ between the sewer pipes, but each pipe is encased in concrete poured into a vehicle tire, laying flat on the ground, (they must have gotten tired of people runing over their sewer pipes). The extra foot or so taken up by the tire on each side of the site reduces site width to 16’ or less. There is a graveled road that runs across the front of the sites, but the sites are, like the rest of the area, very flat river silt. It might get a little soft in a good rainstorm. About half the sites have a dip in the middle. This dip is no problem for towable RVs, because the wheels are close together. In a motor home, the front wheels are on higher ground, and the rear wheels wind up in the middle of this dip. People must have complained though, because the other half of the sites have this dip filled in. Just park in any vacant site. A representative will come around, after dinner, (in our case) to collect fees. Basic Verizon phones worked well, and 4Gite was available on our Verizon modem and also worked well. There was no obstruction to Satellite TV signal. I couldn’t find an address for the actual fairgrounds anywhere, although it isn’t that hard to locate once you get to town. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
We had another nice stay at this campground. All the electrical have recently been replaced. It is quiet, plenty of room to maneuver, and everything worked well. The water pressure was the best we have had in a long time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Very nice host, lots of room between sites, very economic $20 nite/$100 week. There is no pressure on how long are you staying/when are you leaving. It is kind of warm with no trees, but perfect for a night stop. We would stay here again if we ever found ourselves in Colby, KS. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$14
There is a long row of full hookup sites with lots of room to back in. There were some sites occupied by extended stay workers, but we noticed quite a few rigs come in just for one night. It is a good alternative to the campground out by the interstate. They could improve the signs to make the turn off highway 25 more noticeable. The manager lives on site; be sure to ask about weekly and extended stay rates. We have always felt safe here and will come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
This a long row of full-hookup campsites at the fair grounds. It is easy to access. The sites are long with good spacing between sites. All sites are back-in. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$7
We stayed a week in this campground ($20 a night, $100 for a week) and everything worked just fine; there was excellent water pressure. The level sites are dirt/grass and there is plenty of room to back-in. All the sites seem to be full service with 50 amp. We visit family in the area and will definitely chose this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
These fairgrounds have very helpful staff. Park is well off the main road. Definitely a place I'd return to for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
The $20 is the nightly rate; it is $100 for a week. This is a great campground for an overnight or an extended stay. All the services worked well and we had no problem getting into the site and leveling. It is one of the best fairground campgrounds that we have seen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
This is a typical fairground campground but with full service and 50 amps it met our needs. The campground is easy to access off the main street and the road is good. The level, grass sites are all back in and there is plenty of room to maneuver. They also offer weekly and monthly rates. Our only complaint was the ‘puncture vines’ that liked to stick to everything. We would have no problem staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com