206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Elkhart Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 107 user reviews. Phone: (574) 264-2914
CGID1069

Elkhart Campground

Camp Information
Sites
350
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   7   8   7   8   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Since we have DirecTV we asked for a non cable site, which was on the grass, but we had no problem getting it level. 50 amp service. The owners were very friendly upon check-in and especially the 3rd day that I was there when I ran over and shattered the adjacent sewer line. Since I broke it I reported it and offered to pay for the repairs. Considering that it was over 90 degrees out and he had to dig it up to replace it I felt I got off lucky for $20. I'd stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$34
Have stayed here several times. Electric good at 122 vac. modern sewer hookups, water pressure is good but the City of Elkhart's water quality is well known as poor. Use bottled water for your coffee. Wide pull thrus some up to 90' in length, they are solid, was raining, we are 50,000 lbs and did not sink. Roads are gravel. Just off freeway. Our 45' bus was happy here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
Wide open campground. Not far from anything. The internet is a little sketchy. Our neighbor was blocking our shot at the antenna. The water smells like a river. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
Our grass pull-through site was reasonably level, wide and long enough for our 40 foot motor home and toad. Internal roads are gravel with frequent speed bumps. There were trees but none in our area to block our satellite TV. Adequate WiFi, but dropped out occasionally. Adequate Verizon signal. Friendly staff. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
Modern, clean, quiet campground. Location is close to Interstate 80. Check in was easy. Full hookup site was grassy and level. WI-FI and cable worked very well. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
Rate paid is weekly with Good Sam discount. This is a very large park, convenient to many of the motor home manufacturers and the RV museum. It appears to be an old KOA; shower, restroom and laundry facilities are old but clean. Campground is quiet and well maintained. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$31
This CG is close to many tourist attractions. We were in this area looking for furniture for our motorhome. We stayed here a week and the rate shown includes tax. I gave the CG an 8 because of the water. It had a copper smell and LOTS of sediment in our filter. We did not fill our tank here and will try another CG when next in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Campground is all pull through sites and level with grass and few trees. Sites were plenty long, but tend to be a bit snug in width. Good location for visiting RV Hall of Fame, RV factory tour, Heritage Trail. Keep in mind Amish country plus RV factories close on weekends. We visited on July 4th weekend which also RV factories close for the week around the holiday. Campground was less than half full, so plenty of room. If in area would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
This place is great for visiting Elkhart. Spacious sites, quiet camp, and safe. I don't ask for anything more.The owners are nice and we enjoyed our stay, you will too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
This is a very nice campground. Mostly occupied by temporary campers, had a lot of motorhomes when we stayed. Sites are long enough that most big rigs were able to keep two cars attached if needed. We did not experience any Wi-Fi issues like the previous. Most sites are pull though. Out site did not have a fire pit, we asked for one and 10 min later it was delivered. All the hook ups were sound, not leaky water or cable issues. I would stay at this campground again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
We have stayed at this park several times and enjoy it very much. It's convenient for RV work, shopping, and tourist attractions in the area. The only problem is very bad water, but not sure if it's the park or Elkhart so we always use several filters. Very nice people who are always trying to improve the park. Grass sites, some are very large in comparison to many parks we've been to. We will always return to this park when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
When visiting Elkhart, this is the place everyone seems to stay. It's a good place to be. Our site was perfectly level and had full hood ups with 50 amp electricity. The owners of this park are always on hand and care about your stay. I commented that our stays at previous parks advertised Wi-Fi but we must have been too far away to get the signal. They changed our site was changed so that we would be very close to the Wi-Fi antenna. We had big storms when we were here and we wondered if it was going to get bad enough that we'd have to abandon the rig and go somewhere safe. If so, no directions were given as to where we should go. We pulled in our slides to reduce our surface area and rode out the storm. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
Nice level grassy pull thru sites, we selected a non-cable site. We stayed here a few nights after leaving a rally at the Goshen 4H Fairgrounds. Will return to the park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
We stay here nearly every year traveling and the price goes up constantly without any noticeable improvements. Easy access off the interstate, close to shopping. Level sites with easy access, so it's worth the cost. Could be quieter now in the busy season. Utilities work well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
Pleasing entrance, roads paved, and gravel with annoying speed bumps. Site at back of large campground. No road, just grass leading to a level, grass site. Confusing. Good voltage. Waste pipe at least 18-24 inches above ground level. Difficult for downhill flow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
Staff is friendly and helpful. Our site was grass and you had to find the right spot to level your rig. Some sites had the deep tire tracks left by Diesel pushers when the ground was wet. The site had no shade, 300 section. TV and Wi-Fi worked well. Washrooms and showers were well kept and clean. There is a large building for rallies. We would return, and it is located in an area that makes it easy to get around the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$37
Clean and well maintained with good size sites. Good electricity, WiFi and water pressure. Level pull through grassy sites with gravel hardpacked roads. Clean laundry and restrooms. Quiet. We would return We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$31
For a over night it is an OK campground. We we arrived we was given our choice of two sites. When we found our sites, they was grass covered and no gravel and there was no fire ring. So I went to the office and asked about getting a site with a fire ring. I was told they would bring us one. We was going to stay more than one night but only registered so if we did not get a fire ring was going to move on. Needless to say we moved on cause we never got our fire ring. Also this campground is used by people transporting RVs from factories to dealers, so there was a lot traffic an noise. This campground maybe nice in the summer but off season it is not worth it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
Sites are level. Convenient to most RV manufacturers and the R/MH Hall of Fame and Museum. Friendly staff and other than some highway noise from the Nearby Interstate it was a nice place to stay. Convenient also to Notre Dame campus 20+ miles and shopping of all kinds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
Check-in was easy and quick. Park well laid out and getting into site was easy with plenty of room. Sites were level and wide and grassy. Pool did not appear to have been cleaned in quite some time. It was very dirty in color and had floating debris. If you need fast, reliable WI-FI, do not stay in this park. I could not maintain a connection and it kept constantly disconnecting, despite good signal strength. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
This park is conveniently located close to Elkhart, Goshen, Nappanee, etc. The grounds are nicely kept and the spacious, level sites have all amenities needed for a big rig. We enjoyed our stay there very much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
This is a very nice campground, family owned and well maintained. The man who checked me in couldn't have been more efficient and friendly. The big painted map outside the office must have been done before the park was updated. It is not accurate as to elec/water/sewer. For those with kids, tweens, and teens, there is beach volley ball, tennis court, basketball court, a nice pool, a very well equipped kids play ground, mini golf, and for adults two treadmills and two elliptical trainers. I was parked in 206 and the Wi-Fi was excellent. There's lots of grass, trees, paved main roads and very good gravel roads. The location is close to two drug stores, a very large super market, the National RV/MH Museum, and a Cummins Coach Care facility. I look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
We stay here often and are always impressed with the campground's condition and owners. Every year they do even more to improve it, constantly adding new sites, more amenities, etc. As for a previous bad review about the swimming pool, it is closed in September because it is not heated. When it use it is always well maintained. Easy access from the Indiana Toll road, lots to see and do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$16
Great people here, well maintained facilities with 50 amp full hookups. Level gravel sites with good water pressure, but filter use is advised due to rust in water. Rate shown is for a month. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
Good layout, some shady and some sunny spots, plenty of room, all sites very level. The campground is on flat land. We had no problems with utilities. Interior roads are dirt, gravel sites on grass. The one person in the office seemed very busy. There were dozens of motorhomes headed for a rally while we were here. Location is convenient to freeway, stores (including Walmart), and close to the Amish areas. Quiet at night. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$44
Easy to access from the interstate. Pull through sites are easy to get in and out of. Well maintained grounds and the staff is friendly and helpful. Lots to do in the area. We will stay here again when passing passing through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Excellent experience. Very clean campground, restrooms, showers and laundry facilities. 30 acres to maintain and it is done to perfection. Propane available and some food and RV items available in shop adjoining office. Near I-80 and on north edge of town. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Very convenient campground, not fancy but where it counts they are excellent. Excellent power, water, sewer location, level sites, ease of access. The camp store is very modest. The office folks are friendly and professional. They do have a pool and miniature golfing but we have not used them. There are a good number of permanent residents but they seem friendly and most of the transient sites are separated from the permanents. We have stayed at the Elkhart campground several times a year, since 2003. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
Low marks for value, other than that park was OK for a night, two max. This former KOA still has KOA pricing at its worst. For $34 (less 10% Good Sam, plus tax) we had a 30 amp, water and sewer site. Hookups were OK, but no breaker on outlet. 50 amp sites are extra as well. Cable TV is $2 per day extra, check the very limited channel selection before getting it. Very good reception via batwing, Verizon cell and broadband both very good. Basically this is just an over priced former KOA and not a destination. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
It is an easy on/off I-90 or from Elkhart. The sites were level, mostly grass. The hook-ups were well located and easy to hook up. The roads were wide and well marked. The rest rooms were older, but clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$32
We have stayed here twice for several days on our way home from our winter destination. Lots to do in area. The folks in the office are very nice and accommodating. The sites are level with great hookups. Some of the roads are a bit narrow but with pull-throughs it's no problem. It is an older park but they update something new every year. Great place for a rally as they have great indoor space with full kitchen and several different sized rooms including a huge one. Good Wi-Fi also. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$34
Location is very good, just off the tollway. Very large park with most sites being pull through. (Don't know where that previous poster was.) Large spacious sites. Office staff very accommodating. Some interior streets could use a little work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$38
Large park, most sites rather small. Most pull throughs are not pull throughs at all. Internal roads are narrow and in bad condition. Poor layout of sites and roads. Staff at Front office are clueless. Too expensive for what it is. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
The owners/managers of this campsite are very accommodating and welcoming. We camped here with a caravan of 12 rigs and the arrangements were very simple. The sites are large and grassy - no gravel parking lot here! There were lots of motorhomes and few tents in the campground, but we expected that in Elkhart. Full hookups were appreciated. We would definitely stay year again. It's very well situated, easy to find, and near lots of attractions. Don't miss the RV Museum! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Flat and mostly open. Grass sites, level with good hook-ups. Great place to ride a bike. Some sites are shaded, but most are in the open. Close to Indiana Toll Road. We would stay here again. visit the RV surplus stores in the area and take a manufacturer's tour. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
As other reviews have mentioned, the main reason to come here is location. Otherwise it is an old KOA that has not been maintained, which is a shame as it has potential. The roads have potholes that fill up with water when it rains. This also makes the all-grass sites messy. The water smells and tastes metallic. We do not think that it is the campgrounds fault as you can see many places around town that are orange where sprinklers leaves puddles. There must be iron in the water. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
Nice place, with grassy sites (wet when rains) and mature trees. Helpful staff, good WiFi, and they sell propane. The terrific RV/MH Hall of Fame is nearby, a must-see. We've stayed here before and will again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
We stay in this park 4 nights. Spacious sites. Quiet. Exceptionally well maintained and clean. This definitely is on our "use again" list. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
We stayed 21 days. The only problems we had was the water line broke at one of the campsites in our area, they had it fixed the same day. The only other problem I found was when all the sites in our line were full my electric meter in the coach was right on the red/green line, on the low side. It was very hot and muggy during our stay which I am sure attributed to the situation. We were never without power though. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
Price is with Escapees discount. A large campground that is close to Indiana Tollway 80. The road noise was not an issue. We were at the back of the campground closest to the Interstate and were barely aware of the sound. Verizon cell service was very good. Our Millicom internet card signal strength registered as 3 bars. Most of the sites were pull throughs. We stay here whenever we are in Elkhart because it is close to the RV service and surplus businesses. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
Large park with lots of sites, many with sewer. Some shade but not much. We were here for one night and were located in a wide open area, very hot in the afternoon sun! Sites are all grass which could cause problems if wet. If we stayed here again a shaded site would be a must. Easy in & out. Staff was very friendly and the pool area looked very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
We stayed here first because we had gotten our RV repaired and had to end up taking it to the factory. It had rained and our site was soft but there had been a lot of rain before that. This is a large park and if you don't like your site, all you have to do is tell them and they will give you another. We liked it enough that we came back for an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$16
The rate show is the monthly rate. This is a large campground in an area with many things to do. 20/30/50 AMP full hookups is the norm. Cable TV has been added recently to some campsites. The park's Wi-Fi is a little spotty but better than most we've been to. The owners are on site and do their best to make their customers happy. We spend a month each summer in the area and this is by far the best choice in Elkhart County. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
This is a nice, large park that is very popular. The sites are easy to get into and all pull-thru. The only problem that I see is that you are parked on grass which can become slippery in wet weather. We stayed in two different sites and one was really muddy. We recommend this park to everyone coming to Elkhart. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
This is a large park with long pull-through sites. The staff was very friendly. The laundry was fine, but it was a cold day and the room was not heated. Very quiet for as many rigs here in our area. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
Fairly level, open grassy sites, became muddy from the rain, paid a premium for 50A. Wi-Fi never worked. Didn't notice any taste problem with the water. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
This park is convenient to a number of RV manufacturers’ facilities and other service sites. Wal-Mart, Lowe's and an excellent grocery store (Martin’s) are nearby and the park is within a mile of the Indiana Turnpike’s entrance. The location makes this good home base for sightseeing, RV service, or visiting manufacturers in the area. Other than a slight background hum from traffic on the Turnpike, this park is quiet. Unfortunately, the park has a number of drawbacks. The Wi-Fi service is poor to non-existent. On several days during my stay I was able to obtain a weak signal. The remainder of the time I was unsuccessful in connecting. Verizon broadband service was good, however. The laundry was clean, but has only 6 washers and 6 dryers, far too few for a park of this size. Campers invariably have to wait for access to machines. The dirty water at this facility caused me to downgrade my rating. I use water from an on-board tank rather than connecting directly to a park’s system. After I filled my tank using a 1-micron sediment filter, it took several refills before the fine silt present in the park’s lines was removed from my water system. Due to these negatives, I plan on staying at another park when I return to the Elkhart area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$16
We stayed here for a month. We were in the new section that opened this spring. The sites are all grassy but level and roomy. Water pressure was good but had lots of iron in it. Glad we had a good house type filter. The owner said he is planning on putting in a filter system this year. There is really nothing special about this park, but pickings are slim in this area. The rate reflects a monthly rate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
This is your average large commercial campground. Sites are level and utilities are good. The grass is cut and the area is well maintained. The office is another story. We were the only RV checking in at that particular time and we were treated like they were just too busy to help us and that they were doing us a favor by taking our money. I would stay here again only because of it's location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
The site we were in was in the back of the park, very long, no trees for good satellite reception, and looked like a grassy field. It was easy to get in and out of, but there were holes in the site which we needed to avoid in order to get level. There was 50 amp service and two sewer hookups so a long hose was not needed. One of the interior roads was in bad condition and the others were fair to good. We would return if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$1
We were here for a rally so have no idea of rate and found sites OK except in the area we were. The sewer was way away from the other hook ups, requiring a long sewer hose or moving the coach to dump. It is older and the rest rooms show it. Very easy for a 43 ft rig to get around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
Stayed at this campground during Gypsy Journal Rally. We had one of the 20amp sites but the electricity only measures 98 volts so could not run AC or even our microwave to cook. Grounds were clean. WiFi was slow to non-existant. It is possible the Electric and WiFi problems were due to having over 275 RVs at the campground. They offer over 330 sites but appear not able to support half that many. Liked the pool as it was HOT, in the 90's. Pool made the ranking move up from a 4 to a 5. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
We stayed here 3 years ago and enjoyed our time touring the various towns. This stay was shorter and we were pleased to see the campground is still neat looking with the owners hard at work mowing etc. Our site was level and near a tree that provided shade. Good for walking our dogs. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
The park has paved roads, long level pull throughs that are grass, no tight turns, no trees to obstruct the satellite, 50 amp, and an excellent staff. Good place to stay while in Elkhart for repairs. Close to the highway so it is very convenient. The only negative is that the restrooms are somewhat dated. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
This is a large park that has recently undergone minor renovation, specifically in the pull-through sites along the eastern edge. These have all been upgraded to 50 amp full hookup pull-throughs, and the work isn't yet complete as the sites weren't numbered and the whole area is just grass, so site-to-site "boundaries" are difficult to judge. Several areas were still pretty soft ground, particularly where utility trenches were cut. Most of the rest of the park is shaded; the new section is open and satellite-friendly. Other than the new section, interior roads are paved or well-packed gravel and sites are well-spaced gravel, some with paved patio areas. We didn't experience power issues as previously posted, but could see how an argument might happen. Park Wi-Fi was too weak to even connect. There isn't a specific dog run, but we had no issues with our pets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
We stayed here last year: it was a good stopping place for us on the way west. This time we stopped on the way home and stayed a week to see the Amish country and the RV museum (worth the time). The sites are hard packed level grass and some are shaded, just about all are pull-through. The mini golf lacks, but the beach volley ball is good. The pool is clean and warm and empty. Most of our stay there were 0 to 4 people in it. WiFi wasn't good at our site, but AT&T air card worked well. Satellite didn't work if you had a roof dish our site faced NW, but air TV worked well. We didn't have any power problems as reported in other reviews, but the boxes do not have breakers. It's easy on and off the interstate, and close to alot of shopping and things to see. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
This is a nice campground centrally located to the interstate and Elkhart It was very quiet, both at night and during the day. Wi-Fi was a bit spotty, with low power and frequent cut-offs. We parked in the "newer" section where the power had just been updated and sewer added. The 50 amp power was very good and ran all equipment, including both air conditioners, with no problem. Only negative is that, in the area we were in, the sites were very narrow. When we extended our awning it almost hit the coach next to us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
Pluses: The Wi-Fi was good. Minuses: If you have more than two air conditioners, then DO NOT come here. My electrical breaker tripped no fewer than 10 times. I called, they came out, did nothing and had me plug in my extension to use the electrical from the site next to me. After that site's breaker tripped eight times in a single day, we just left. I talked to them a second time and they came out to my site with a multimeter, but on the phone, they argued with me like you wouldn't believe. Tried to convince me that 50 amp meant two 25 amp 110V legs! That's simply not right. That's when we said "good bye" and moved on. 50 amp is 50 amp 220V! That means TWO legs of 50amp 110V for a total of 100amps of 110, or if you were to bridge the two legs, 50 amps of 220V. They had no idea what a real campground was supposed to be wired like. They had overly weak breakers that tripped when I was pulling 15amps off one leg and 37 amps off the other! They came out to show me that 120V was coming up each leg, but was uninterested in the fact that their breakers were tripping when fewer then 40 amps were being pulling from each leg. I've been traveling full time for the last 4.5 years and have only run across about five campgrounds that had terrible electrical setups, and this is one. I moved on to another campground and have been fine (no breakers tripped) for the last two days. I would have been fine with this campground if they had a grip as to how 50 amp is supposed to work, but instead, they argued about it. That's simply wrong. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
Nice park. Owners have made improvements since our last visit. Centrally located for visits to the area. All sites have grass and have full hookups. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
We had a shady site while staying at this campground, most of the sites are out in the open and in the back of the campground. The pool was clean and refreshing. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
Very nice campground and the sites are fairly large for a private campground. Also, they have fire rings for a camp fire. Close to the interstate and the sites are pull through for big rigs. We'd stay again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Nice park with wide gravel streets and long and wide grass sites. Not a lot of trees. Power and water were good and Wi-Fi was strong. No cable TV was available. Some work going on at the park to add/revamp some sites. Has friendly staff. We paid $36 for one night with Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
Most of the back-in sites were being worked on and several of the pull through sites were also. The pool was still closed, wifi non-existent and no cable available. Without such amenities, this park is little more than an overnight stop spot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
Not exactly sure of the rate as we are paying; $475 for a FHU, 50amp site for the month. Lots of renovation going on. Adding all new FHU 50amp sites on the east end. New building is now all tiled on inside. Restrooms upgraded, laundry upgraded. Wi-fi works great. Owners very accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
We stayed here while having our fifth wheel repaired. The park was clean and it is close to restaurants and shopping. There was enough room to maneuver our fifth wheel around. We were disappointed with the loud music on Saturday and Sunday. The owners of the park held their religious services in their new building and it lasted until 11:30pm. The music could be heard over our TV and we had the volume up pretty high. Also, there is not a fire pit at every site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
Flat open well kept grass site. Glen with few trees. Speed bumps (why?) on perimeter road. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
This is an old campground but it’s a great place to stay if you want to visit the RV/Motor Home Hall of Fame or want work done on your RV. It’s close to all RV dealers and RV Manufacturing Companies. It’s also close to Shipshiwana and 30 minutes to Notre Dame University, College Football Hall of Fame and the Studebaker Museum. The campground does not have cable TV. Wi-Fi via our Verizon connection was very slow. Would recommend this campground for short stays. Roads and sites are gravel and there's quite a bit of distance between sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
We had a pleasant experience at this park. We only stayed one night but were very happy that we had Wi-Fi. Sites were very spacious and very big rig friendly. We didn't use the restrooms or showers or pool...so can't answer to that, but it was fine for one night and it was a great price. The park is not hard to find and we would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Overpriced about describes the park. The grass sites are narrow and a little hard to pull into. It is okay for an overnight but would not want to extend. Some areas have trees making satellite useless, although there is air reception. Laundry is extremely limited so other plans are needed. Regardless of the price, etc.: the part where most short-time guests are parked, fills by about 3PM. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$15
The rate shown is for a one month rental of a 50AMP/W/S site. It is a nice campground close to activities and sites in the RV Capitol. The grass and gravel RV sites that are easy to level on. The owners very helpful and are the on-site managers. There is easy access to Indiana Toll Road, I80/I90. There are plenty of restaurants close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
This is an older campground, and feels that way. Good for groups, with a large covered pavilion and several indoor meeting rooms available. Good overnighter, as it's convenient to the interstate but not much road noise. Restrooms were clean but need a bit of equipment updating (agree with previous poster about the drainage problem in the showers too); pool was clean. Owners apparently live on the premises, a plus in my opinion. Sites are primarily grassy; a few paved with patios seem reserved for long-term campers (who keep things very neat - even mowing their own "lawn" and planting flower gardens!) Utilities good, some sewer connections above grade; WiFi worked only sometimes. (Success probably depends a least in part on whether your site has an unobstructed view of the nearest antenna.) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This is a huge campground, close to all of the RV factory tours and the RV/MH Hall of Fame. The staff is friendly and accommodating. While it seems overpriced to me, it is near many tourist-oriented locations including the Amish country, Shipshewanna Market and lower Michigan. It is more typical of a convenient place in a big city. If you are looking for scenic beauty or quiet country surroundings, go elsewhere. If you want to be near the action, this is the place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
A nice over night park, long term we would want more trees and 'softness' to the park. WiFi connection was not very good. There is no cable. The spot was spacious enough on lawn/gravel with full hookups and drive through. As we said, good an over night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Good location just off Indiana Toll Road. Convenient to shopping, restaurants, and local attractions. Long, level hard grassy spots with picnic tables. Restrooms and laundry were clean but there was a minor drainage problem in the rear bathhouse shower. Wi-Fi was adequate and the staff was friendly and helpful. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
No complaints. Right off the Toll Road but far enough away were you didn't notice the traffic. Good gravel interior roads with grassy sites. Looks like it might have been a KOA at one time. We planned on only staying 2 nights but ended up staying for 5 nights. Very nice and helpful staff. Nice pool with the playground next to it. Very peaceful place to camp. We stayed on a W/E site which did provide some shade. Full hookups were available if we wanted but they were full sun. Propane filling station also. It is 5 minutes from the RV surplus warehouses. The RV Museum is one exit east. We will stay here again if we are ever in Elkhart again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Nice park with a very friendly staff. Easy access from I80-90, with no interstate noise. Wide roads within the park and level sites. Clean laundry room. Highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
Wide open facility. Reminded me of parking in a Fair Grounds environment. Sites are grassy with a picnic table provided. Forget about shade unless you bring it yourself. Staff was very friendly and helpful with local information. Laundry room was very nice and clean. We camped here 3 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Nice park with plenty of campsites. The park was clean with friendly staff. The showers were very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$33
There was a very nice staff. My electric went out, but staff showed up immediately, diagnosed the problem as a bad breaker, and repaired it quickly. There are grass spaces, but level. Hookups were new. We stayed 4 nights. There were lots of overnighters, but it was quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
Park is old, but large and level and easy to access. Nothing special about the park, but people in office pleasant. We have stayed here before and probably would again, but it would be nice to have some of the potholes and roadway into the park smoothed. Same with the whole town. Roads in town were terrible. Not sure we will ever come to the area again because of this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
Nice park except the wifi is at a crawl during the busy times. Some sites are suitable for satellite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$26
We did a quick overnight here on our way home from Iowa. We were on I-80 and pulled into the campground fairly late. Bob opened up the office and quickly got us checked into a level, pull-through site with a Good Sam discount. We were parked, hooked up, showered, and sleeping in no time. I looked around a bit in the morning and the campground was very nice. I discovered there was a great WiFi connection though I didn't remember seeing that in the ad. It was WiFi for the campground though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
A very nice campgrounds although they need to plant trees in the newer part of the park. Also they just went through (in the part of the park We stayed in) & put in all new Elect., water & sewer. (very nice) We stayed here in a 5th Wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
We stayed here for a month to get our trailer repaired, and stay for the 4th holidays. The Sites are level, services are good. The water is well water and has a lot of iron in it. Will stain things use with the water and has a smell in the mornings. This is a great place to stay. WiFi is weak but we full time and use a Sprint air card which has a good signal. Directv is good and so is local tv. We will stay here anytime we come to Elkhart. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$32
Easy on/off from Toll Road. Some shade, but most sights in open field. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$28
We were here for a few nights to do the RV museum & plant tour thing. Friendly people. Bumpy CG roads keep the speed down like it or not. WIFI works well. A little difficult to find coming from the east. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$26
Excellent location for day tours to the surrounding Amish towns.The park is huge but very neat. The owners were wonderful. Good place to camp with the family pets also. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
It is easy to move a 40 foot MH towing a car around in this park. Some shade would be nice. It is a good place to headquarter to see the RV industry and museum. Owner was friendly and anxious to help us with directions. We used our Escapees membership for a 15% discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$26
This is a Good Sam park so rate shown is before the discount. This is an enormous campground with sites of every type. I wish they had more shade. We stayed for one night in a grassy, full sun area. It is definitely handy to the RV/MH Hall of Fame and all the manufacturers. RVs of every kind can fit in this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$23
We used our Good Sam discount and were here with a group for a pre-rally. We have been here before and have enjoyed our stay. Very nice owners and very close to RV Museum, factories and Amish Country. Level sites and they are grassy also. Some areas are close together, new power being upgraded in sections. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Not too bad for an overnight. Site was in the open field area. Hookups left something to be desired. Appears to be let go downhill. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
We stayed here in July 2007. Have stayed here before. The owners do speak EXCELLENT english and are very friendly. The grounds are a little unkempt. Otherwise an OK park. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
We only stayed here 1 night. Sites were a bit narrow, but the park was not even close to full, so we didn't have people on either side of us. Easy to get around. Very nice people working there. Far enough off the tollway so that it wasn't noisy. Well maintained. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
25608 County Rd 4 East. Elkhart 46514. 574-264-2914. They are working at increasing the size to up to 800 sites. We only stayed overnight and it was fine for us. Saw no rule prohibiting the use of washer/dryer, we used ours. It seems close to town and there is a lot to do in Elkhart but we were just passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$29
Older facilities but clean, owners were working hard to improve the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2006
$29
WiFi works sporadically - not very much signal strength from the back rows where those staying only a couple of days are put. They have a statement that if you have a washer/dryer in your RV, you're not allowed to use it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$29
Nice large clean park. They have a very poor laundry room. It was dirty and only 4 washers for such a big park. They also didn't seem to be in any rush to get the pool open. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$32
Stay there for a Rally! Owners were very nice! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
Sites are very narrow on dirt or grass. Entire place, although clean enough, needs sprucing up. Staff not really friendly. Good spot for rv factory tours. Amish, Mennonite area so everything is closed on Sunday. Shipshewana has flea market and nice shops but is 20 miles from here and remember, everything is closed on Sunday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
My first impression of this place was good. It was flat with lots of trees. The office staff was friendly but they are from India and have a hard time understanding and speaking the English language although check in was painless. The interior roads are good gravel with grassy sites. The grass was a little high in spots and looks as though it hasnt seen water in weeks especially around the few long term residence. All sites are pull through and easy to get into with a big rig. They are long enough to handle a 40 footer with tow attached. They dont give you a lot of width but I had both slides out and all my awnings and still had plenty of room. We were set up with minimal leveling. They have a pool which has seen better days but it is usable. There is a blacktop basket ball court with many cracks and weeds growing up through. The miniature golf looks as if it was built in a weekend by an amature carpenter. The sand volley ball court looked ok. There is a minimal stocked store, rec room, and 1 modem hookup in the office area. I didnt use the restrooms so I cant comment on them. Although it is a few blocks away from the interstate you can hear it at night but not enough to be an issue otherwise the park is quiet (no trains). Generally this park isnt all that bad. I would recommend it. It does appear to be an old KOA by the looks of the office building. We stayed for 5 nights and felt safe and comfortable. There is a Wal-Mart Supercenter close by for all your needs. It is close to the Elkhart Visitors Center, RV museum, and some factory tours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$26
Very nice campground. Sites were large enough for our 37' class A. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2004
$18
This is a pretty park with lots of grass, and shade trees. It was very crowded because of the Escapees Fall Escapade. We didn't have full hook-up because of so many people there. Some spaces are large, but not many tables around. We had a large space under trees, but some are very close. We received a discount using our Escapees membership card. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Close to many RV factories, Amish country and other interesting tourist attractions. Sites are level and spacious and room for groups and big rigs. Large meeting hall for groups. Clean and well kept facilities. We have visited this campground previously and have never been disappointed. Also close to brand new Camping World 2004. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$30
The owners really were visible in helping out and making you feel welcome. There are a few seasonals who are also very welcoming. My largest complaint was that some of the sites (ours) were quite narrow, and making a fire, even for smores seemed to be a risky endeavor if there was a unit next door. Neighborhood kids seemed to be a problem also as the pool, though stated "open", was padlocked to keep them out. They also hung out at the playground, unsupervised, and seemed to be a problem for the owner. If we were to visit again, I'd check to be sure that my site was one of the wider ones. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$21
This is an older campground. The sites and the roads are narrow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Convenient cg when visiting one of the nearby RV facilities. No road noise. Level sites though somewhat narrow. Pull thrus handled 40' 5th and toter though one should pay attention, when pulling in, to how you are going to get out if the site in front of you becomes occupied. Office modem hookup has a dedicated desk and chair. Have seen owners go above and beyond the call in efforts to please guests. We've stayed there 1-2 times per year for the past 5 yrs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$20
Park open April 1st thru November 1st. Site length adequate for big rigs, but can be a tight squeeze upon departure if the rig in the row in front of you is long, or has the tow vehicle parked behind it (which was the norm). Good interior roads, but, like the sites, not extremely wide. (245) pull-thrus. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com