223422 User submitted reviews online!!
Elkhart County Fairgrounds was rated 8 out of 10 based on 74 user reviews. Phone: (574) 533-3247
CGID1070

Elkhart County Fairgrounds

Camp Information
Sites
288
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   5   7   8   7   7   9   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$25
We attended a rally here. The rate was a rally rate. The Fairgrounds route is fairly indicated on the approach roads. They have a nice wide Main Entrance but their signage can be a bit confusing. When we arrived (a day early) we used the Main Entrance but there was another event held over the weekend and you were required to use a different entrance and exit. Not terrible but somewhat confusing. The entrance road was a bit rough with a huge hole in it. They did patch the hole while we were there. We had no problem finding and backing into our site. Paved roads with level gravel sites. Plenty of room between sites. All utilities are located at rear of sites. Make sure you carry enough water and sewer hoses. The electric connection was just a few feet for our rig but could be further away if your connection is not located on rear of your rig. This is a great place to hold a rally or just spend a night or two. The Fairgrounds were clean and obviously well taken care of. We really enjoyed our stay and would/will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$32
Camped here again for this years FROG Rally and once again they set up know how to for lots of units to camp. They have a regular camping area but also plenty of extra sites also we had 508 rigs. Sites level all hook ups good, grounds are kept very nice and clean. Will return We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
We did not stay here for a rally or fair. It was a little eerie to stay in a virtually empty fairground. The only others we saw were workers setting up for the fair the following week. The train tracks run right by the fairgrounds. The trains run all night. I like the sound of a train but this was a bit much. The $30 fee was a bit much when all you are getting is a space, no pool or other amenities. We tried it once but wouldn't do it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$26
We also stayed here about 9 years ago and chose to stay here again when we were in the area this year. The campground is convenient to the Amish country sites and events, and is very convenient to many RV manufacturers, service centers, accessory manufacturers, etc. The campground is clean, secure and offers a very big area for walking or biking. Plus, access to Goshen's trail network is just across the street. The Wi-Fi was reliable but not extremely fast. There are no amenities beyond the basic RV-related necessities. Overall we find the fairground to be a good choice for staying in this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
We stayed overnight to have work done on the trailer. The fairgrounds were nice and the bathroom/showers were clean. Other than the trains that came by, it was quiet and peaceful.We enjoyed our stay here and would come back if we needed to have work done. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
We were here for The Escapees rally and found the facilities very good for us. The sites vary and some were a bit soggy during wet weather. Would stop here again as it is close to town and many RV suppliers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$1
Rate for site was included in our rally registration. Main road into the fairgrounds was closed for construction causing us to make a detour of several blocks. Trains are loud at times, but generally a nice park with ample level sites and good utilities. We have stayed several times and would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$21
We camped here with an RV rally for a week so rates reflects the rally rate. There are several RV parking sites and we were in the 300 area backed up to the train tracks. Believe me train business is alive and well. At least they waited to round a bend before blowing their horn every time they flew by, which was just about every few minutes. You can get used to them quickly, just can't talk or hear the TV over them. Some sites require extra sewer, electrical or water connections. There was a Mennonite Relief sale during the week we were here, and there were thousands of cars and people. The big attraction was the quilt auction. The grounds in the park are beautiful with lovely areas of flowers and shrubs, very well taken care of and also a good place to ride bicycles. A great place to stay to tour all the area around Goshen, Indiana. Would definitely stay here again. A wonderful place for a rally group. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
We were here for the FROG rally and had a wonderful time. The grounds were beautiful hard to believe it was a fairgrounds, plenty of sites, there was a lot of train noise as there is a very active rail line right behind the grounds, but after awhile we got used to it. Would not hesitate to stay here again when in the area. As a matter of fact, would be our 1st choice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$29
Despite it's name, the campground is located in Goshen. We stayed in the northwest section. Interior roads are paved and site drive ways are gravel. Small amount of green space between sites. The full hookup utilities are located at the back end of the sites, so hookups are a reach for some rigs. WiFi signal was good at our site, but a little slow. There are no trees. Sat TV was easy. Verizon cell had 3 bars. Fairgrounds are located in the heart of the RV industry. Tours are available. Very good nearby family style restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
This would be a nice place to camp, when no events were scheduled. If you're flexible, check the event schedule on their website. Yes, they have full hookup, 50 amp sites; a few even have concrete pads. BUT, no, you're not going to get one of these if anything is going on. An RV group was having a rally when we got here. We were relegated to the "public camping" area. This is an unlevel grass field with water and 30 amp electric. It was still a pleasent stay. We would return if we could schedule it when a nicer site was available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
We were here for a rally involving 248 fifth wheels. The campground was very accommodating to our large group. We were in the infield, right next to the track where we would watch the horses work out. Our Wi-fi worked well as did our Tailgator (after much jockeying around). It was a great venue and we look forward to the next rally in 2015. Lovely countryside, a lot to see and do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
We stayed here for a RV rally. We were parked on the infield of the track. The site was very close to neighbors. Wi-Fi was basically useless as they turned you off it you used too much bandwidth. Verizon 4g was exceptional. Will return. Restrooms were spotless. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
We stayed here for a motor home rally. Great venue for such an event with plenty of meeting rooms and space for everyone. Full hookups with Wi-Fi for a decent price. Not many other amenities. Adjacent train tracks can be a noise problem for some. Great location to tour RV factories or visit Amish country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$21
Excellent sites - close to everything and clean. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
Clean with good electricity, WiFi and water pressure. Some sites close-back to back. Sewer hookups are at far back of site on some sites. Train noise can be bothersome if site too close to tracks. Friendly and helpful staff. Has many rallys and scheduled events so need to call ahead for availability. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$27
A nice place, level sites, hookups were all at the rear of the site. There was a lot of train traffic to be heard, but that was the only negative. For the money a good deal! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
This county 4-H Fairgrounds has hundreds of camping sites, both full hook-up and water and electric only. They rent these sites to the public when the fairgrounds is not in use for fairs. The grounds themselves are very large and all available for walking and enjoying. Our site was near the Rabbit Barn and our pooch enjoyed the wonderful scents. We were able to watch the Sulky horses being exercised and practicing. Although there are no amenities, like swimming pools, or camp stores, the town of Goshen supplied all our needs. Goshen is a large Amish and Menonite area and many buggies are on the road. This area is the RV manufacturing capital of the country and we visited the Montana factory while we were there. We will certainly return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
We were here for a rally with about 60 other RVs and we were all located in a section with back in, back to back sites. Other sections have some pull through sites. Sites were spacious and level. However, the utilities are located at the back of the site. If you stay here, you will need extra sewer and water hoses and if your electrical connection on your RV is not located near the rear, you will also need an extension cord. Free Wi-Fi is available and we were parked near a router so we had no difficulty logging onto the Internet. Others said they could not connect at all. There is Verizon 4g in this area so our Mi-Fi worked really well. Campground is wide open so no problem with rooftop satellite. There is an active train track that runs right by the campground and the trains run around the clock. A busy 2 lane road fronts the park but the noise subsides at night. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$17
Above rate reflects rally rate. Other than sewer connections being a bit high above the ground, we had no issues. They have great sites for a fairground facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
This park is centrally located to most all the attractions in northern Indiana, particularly the Amish. Sites are large, easy to get into. Park is well lit at night. Office staff super. 4G Verizon in area. Remember to call ahead to confirm the park is not rented out to a group. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$0
We camped here for an RV rally sponsored by Forest River. We had a site in the grassy field overflow area with water & electricity. Sites were a bit tight but located a short walk from the main buildings. The grounds are attractive and well maintained. Our major concern was the double railroad tracks just beyond the camping area. The line is very busy and trains blow their horns all night long. Sometimes eight trains per hour and they blow their horns at every crossing for miles in each direction. Even running the fan in our unit did not muffle the shrill horns. Not sure we would stay here again without good ear plugs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
Rate reflects rally rate. We stayed in the 'overflow' lot with only E/W, back-in, if you want a pull through site, you are way out in the grassy field. The sites are a good size and level. Excellent power & water. We were close to the train tracks, but the trains didn't affect our enjoyment. Will stay again when in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$21
The staff here were more professional and better organized than most of the private campgrounds in which we have camped. Although there were two rallies here at the time, there was no problem with finding a site. We used this location to tour the area. Bath house with very nice showers were about a block from us, although we did not use them. Wi-Fi in our area was strong although we did not use it. Good Verizon phone and air card service. All of the over the air network stations including PBS, were available in addition to many others. We stayed for 5 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
We stayed in the 'overflow' lot, back-in. Excellent power & water. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We're very close to the train tracks, but the trains didn't affect our enjoyment. This is our first stay, but won't be our last .. very satisfied. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
There are actually two camping areas. If you want a pull through site, you are way out in the grassy field and probably alone. The back in sites are closer to the frontage road, have paved roads and are well lit. The sites here are a good size and level. The Wi-Fi is excellent. The office staff could not be more helpful. You must like trains! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
We stayed several days here with an RV Rally group and the sites were very close but we expect that at rallies. All the power and water hookups worked very well. We had 50 amp which we used because it was the awful heat wave during our stay, no problems ever with the power and heavy use. They have added many new sites for gatherings. The sites are in the grass/ground but fairly level. Main roads are paved but some dirt access to sites. Easy access and gate entrance from Hwy 31 and 15. Very convenient for the area and public camping available except when they have a fair. We'd stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Great campground. We were there for a rally. The office people couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Wi-Fi and AT&T cell service were both great. No laundry facilities on-site, but the one in town was only a mile away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$29
We were parked in large grassy area. Great when weather was dry, but when it rained it was "dodge-a-puddle". Not easy to find, and even using truck routes, roads getting to park were narrow. Wifi was minimal. But for a fairground it was not bad (most are concrete, asphalt and/or gravel only). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$21
I suspect most people leaving high scored reviews for the fairgrounds are factoring in the good time they had at a rally or some other get together at the fairground property rather than just the amenities offered and park itself. I stayed here for an overnight because it was recommended and close by the shop making some repairs to my RV and I found the fairground to be merely adequate for an overnight stay. The office staff was very friendly but advised me there were no full hookup (with 50 amp electric) sites available for the night of my stay. I agreed to the 30 amp electric with water only site without realizing it was in a small, grass, far from level, hillside lot (similar to an overflow parking area) that was VERY soft and muddy from recent rains. Moved several times before I could get a site that allowed me to get close to level. A walk around the fairground later (and on the way out the next morning) reveled that at least two thirds of the sites were empty / open for the night. Gee, I would have much preferred one of the 50 amp full hookup sites which are all level, gravel, and fronting paved roads instead. Also, be aware that there are very active train tracks at the rear of the fairgrounds. If your site is in the back row you will be right beside the train tracks. And the engineers aren't bashful about blowing their horns night and day. The fairground was easy to get to and negotiate the interior roads even with our larger RV. Bathrooms and showers, although older, are well maintained and clean. No pool, plenty of space (indoor and outdoor) for rallies or RV get togethers, wifi so weak and slow it was unusable. I would not stay here again in a 30 amp electric / water site. I would stay here in a full hookup (50 amp electric) site, and probably rate the fairground another point higher, if I could be assured of not being in the back of the fairground near the railroad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$27
Roads are paved, sites are level, long and gravel. Good voltage, water pressure, Wi-Fi and location of H/U. Showers and bathrooms are located in the exhibition buildings and quite a hike, but nice. Easy drive from the major roads. We were not here during the fair, so I surprised they would allow stays. About 50 sites were open during the non fair season. It's on our return list. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$23
Very nice park and close to all attractions in the Elkhart area. 20 minutes down the road from Shipshewanna, very convenient and much cheaper than staying in Shipshewanna. Nice sites with power poles shared be two sites. The only issue would be if two 50 amp rigs were parked side by side. In that case someone must choose 30 amp. Not a problem for us as there were only about 15 rigs in the entire campground. Front office folks were very friendly and helpful. The trains run constantly (about every 15 minutes) with a lot of associated horn blowing. But as another stated, you get used to it. I heard it a few times during the night but went right back to sleep. If I'm in this area again, this is where I'll stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
Excellent fairgrounds. Very friendly people that work in the office. Sites are plenty big. We were in Site 172. Tons of places to walk a pet. Convenient to all the Amish area of Indiana. We stayed a week. We will definitely stay here again. Only recommendation is having picnic tables at each site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
The nightly rate listed is approximate as we were there for an RV Rally. The campgrounds handled almost 400 rigs with no problems that we were aware of, and our full hookups worked well the entire time. The section we were in, site #225, was pretty tight and close together but we expected that in this situation. We enjoyed riding our bikes around the fairgrounds, and the facilities for the rally were fine, if a little on the warm side in the expo building when filled with 600 people! There are trains that run right behind the fairgrounds, and they blow their horns repeatedly and for long durations both day and night. We were far enough away that we were able to sleep, but there were many complaints from the folks stuck close to the tracks! If you're a light sleeper, you won't want to stay here! It looks like a fun place to attend a fair! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
This is a great campground for the area. Our stay here was with a major club rally. Our several hundred members' rigs were provided working hookups as promised. The sites were clean and convenient. The Wi-Fi was strong and instant. The tracks several hundred yards away do carry frequent freight trains, but one readily adjusts to the sounds. The campground provides area maps, lists of potential destinations, and other information which really make planning and enjoying local attractions and tours a simple task. We will gladly return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
We stayed here in conjunction with a Rally. The grounds are nice and well kept. Sites are adequate, parked on gravel. Wi-Fi is best early morning but there also 300 rigs here so that might slow down connection speeds. The trains! Rumbling through day and night, loud horns! We would have left after the first night had we not been here for the rally. Convenient to attractions, but I would not return do to the excessive train noise, especially at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
There is a train track near by with lots of trains. There are trees by the back fence and lots of shade in the afternoon. The price is right and lots to do in the area. We would stay here again. The office was more than prepared with information about the area. Wonderful job, putting together a folder of info. We used it all the time. Friendly place to stay with full hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
Great little campground; lots of sites scattered around fair grounds. Great Wi-fi,. Trains are frequent but not unbearable. A little more shade would be nice. Good place to visit Amish country or tour RV plants; not much else to do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
Rate is for 50 amp FHU back-in site based on weekly rate. This site was in the non rally section at the very front of the Fairgrounds. Roads and pads were gravel and were level. The back to back sites are open so good satellite as well as Verizon reception. Park Wi-Fi efficiency is variable depending on the size of the rally being held in the main fairgrounds area. This park makes a great base to see the area and we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Great campground. Cleanest restrooms and showers I have seen anywhere including 5 star hotels. Will go back and eat at the Lux when I do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
We stayed here for a Heartland Rally. We were put in a grass site and though it rained, our spot was fine and not muddy. F/H were good and office staff very friendly and accommodating. We had to get our RV fixed and had to stay an extra week and stayed in the other area with the gravel sites. Wi-Fi was good and they have storm shelters. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
This is a typical fairgrounds park. Sites have full hookups and are gravel but level. It's definitely not a destination park, but it's perfect when passing through the area. There is wi-fi in the park, but we didn't use it so we don't know how well it worked. Verizon cell signal was fair to good and our Verizon air card worked well. It's true about the trains. They are plentiful, and they blow their whistles day and night. After a couple days, you get used to it. We were there 5 nights, and by the last day, didn't even notice them. Our only complaint is that many of the dog owners did not pick up after their dogs and would walk them in empty sites leaving little gifts for the next occupant. There was no onsite supervision to make them clean up after their pets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
The Elkhart County Agricultural & 4H Fairgrounds is an ideal place to stay while visiting Goshen, and nearby towns like Shipshewana, Elkhart, and Nappanee. The sites are reasonably sized, well graveled, and the roads are paved. All sites are back-in style. While here, heavy storms have generated some temporary small "mud puddles." However, the heavy rain has not produced any flooding within the park. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
If you don't mind freight trains tooting their horns and running back and forth at the back of the fairgrounds, (it's a main train thoroughfare between Elkhart, IN and Chicago, IL, then this is a nice place to spend the night. They sound like they are right next to your unit no matter where you are in the fairgrounds. The fairgrounds are neat, clean, and electric service is excellent, but we had trouble with the trains. This must not bother most people because they have rally after rally after rally there. The fairground makes it nice for bike riding all over the grounds. We spent three days here and started getting used to the train noise. The fairgrounds themselves and the building are in excellent condition with pretty landscaping, so it was a pleasant place to stay. We would camp here again. I'll just remember next time to bring my earplugs, run a fan, and run the AC too! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
We stayed here for one night and then for a week during a rally. The office staff were very helpful and gave us a good suggestion for a meeting spot for our group coming into the rally. Our full hook up site was a back in site. It was level and tidy. The public restrooms were immaculate. They are the best restrooms we have every seen. During the rally we had a grass site with water and electric only. Over 700 rigs were there and the electricity was great. They also have a very reliable free Wi-Fi that covers most of the area. This campground would be a great group destination. There is so much to do in the area. You are in an area where many RV's are manufactured. There are excellent places to have any maintenance or renovations done to your rig or to purchase new furniture. Plus, the Amish restaurants are wonderful. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
We were here for the Escapee's Rally so not sure what the rate was so I just posted $25 because it wouldn't let me post without a dollar amount. We loved it here, although there were over 700 rigs. We never lost water pressure or electric. Staff was awesome and with this many people in one place you had no trouble getting around or found any trash anywhere. There is so much to do in the area that I would like to go back and stay. I gave it a 9 due to the fact that we weren't in the full hook up area so can't comment on that area, and the trains will wake you up at night because the tracks are right behind the fairgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
We were here for a rally but liked it so much we stayed an extra day: the price is for the one day with 50A and full hook ups. Not shady (which we like), very convenient to shopping and dining. Not a destination cg, but worth a look if you're passing through or in the area for a different reason. (I heard that the showers were clean but don't know personally.) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$16
The office staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The facilities were always spotless. We arrived the day after the Annual County Fair had finished and everything was cleaned up. The sites and facilities were superb. I would recommend this venue to stay at any time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$0
We were here for a rally and I have no idea of the rate and we also did not stay at campground but knew people who did and also walked around it. It is nice with good sites. It is easy for big rigs and would make a good stop for an overnight or several days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
A great place to stay awhile. Prices are cheap and Wi-Fi worked really good for me. Couldn't fine the bathrooms or showers so don't know about them. We always use our own anyway. Know they are clean. This is the 2nd time here, once about 4 yrs ago and this place has really changed for the better. lots of new sites and plenty of places to park. Would recommend this place to anyone that comes thru here and I would camp here again anytime I am in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
We stayed on a water and electric only site which was on grass. Our first site was not close to level, so we moved along the fence line.The area we were in was nice and clean with grass mowed nicely. The staff was very friendly and helpful.This place is fine for a short stay while checking out the area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
The Elkhart County Fairgrounds is a wonderful stopping place if you're visiting Northern Indiana Amish Country. Very central location for visiting all of the towns and the staff have put together amazing information sheets for shopping, dining and the different locations and RV manufacturers. Everything was clean, very functional park and the staff was wonderful to deal with. Wireless was EXCELLENT (FREE) and it's all open (no trees) so dish and TV antenna reception is very good. I highly recommend using this park if you're in the Goshen/Elkhart area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
Campground was nice, grass lots, level, good place for our rally. WiFi worked good most of the time. Sewer is at the back of the lot, so bring an extra hose. Showers were very clean, but water was not hot. Overall, a good place to camp when visiting Goshen, Shipsiwana area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Spent a week attending a Heartland RV owners' rally. Site is gravel and grass and back-in. All hookups are at the rear which requires at least 20' of water hose and sewer hose. Our electric cord is at rear corner of coach so no problem. Paved in-roads. AT&T data is 3G. Our stay was great because of the many friends also present. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$13
We stayed here with a large RV rally. We came in before the rally and stayed almost a week after it ended. The park staff is very nice but the grass could have been cut before we arrived. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Nice for a "fairground". Lots of grass and good facilities on the grounds. We were there for a RV Rally. The best part is visiting Goshen and Amish Country We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
We attended a rally here (third time). The sites are long and flat, but no shade and you need long sewer hoses, electric cords and water hose for connections. The train tracks are right next to the campground and the trains run day and night, with a lot of whistle blowing. It is an excellent facility for a rally or show, but not what I would consider for a campground. They do not allow any campfires. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$21
The sites are located in the grass around the various buildings in this 4H fairground campground. There is no shade and the sites are close together and not too level. There is only one water spigot per two sites, so be prepared to share your water connection. The location is relatively convenient to the many sites of interest to RVers, particularly in Elkhart. There are also Amish areas of interest, especially Shipshewana. There is a large amount of train activity as a major line runs right next to the fairground; this is not a problem for train buffs, but might be for others. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
Stayed for a month, our cost was $350. Draw back, parked by horse track, dusty and low in the front sites. The Fairgrounds are closed several times during the summer for rallies (examples: Monaco, Gulfstream, Newmar, Holiday Rambler, Heartland) and the Fair. Sites are not open to the public at those times. Call ahead is the main suggestion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
This was an okay place: kind of interesting actually. We were here for warranty repairs on our new RV and spent 2 nights adjacent to the Sheep Barn. Except for the trains (which run and honk horns all night), the park was quiet. The grounds were well cared for and the restrooms are spotless. It was interesting to walk around the grounds and see all the potenial exhibits: there is a barn for every possible farm animal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
This is a good fairgrounds park. It has friendly and helpful staff, paved roads, grass and tables. The Wi-Fi only worked sometimes. There are no trees so it could be hot in summer. We were in a 50 amp back in site for a week. The big problem is a busy RxR runs next to the fairgrounds so there is noise. If you can take that the place is good for visiting the RV plants and Amish area. Goshen is a nice small town with Wal-Mart, etc. Many rally's are held here so it could be full. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Stayed at this park for one week. Everything was great. Close to the RV plants. Did have a problem with bitting insects. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$21
Friendly folks at the office, but that's all that can be said. Our site wasn't very level, in a big grass field. No shade at all. No table, no fire rings. Grass was tall and damp (from previous rains?). $$ for a weak wi-fi signal. FLIES all around!...perhaps from the stables and livestock sheds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$15
Full sun on our site. Ss the sun set we got some shade, about 5 PM. It sure helped. Above average fairgrounds campground. Not much to do, but really maintained well. We checked out all the RV Surplus Stores in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
This was our second visit to the fairgrounds in the past 12 months. Both times it hasn't been crowded and we had our pick of spaces. In the Orange area, I had access to two 30 amp hookups, so I could get 50 amp service. We were parked near the horse track and enjoyed watching some of the workouts. Sites in some of the fields would present a problem getting level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$26
We camped in the Northwest section of the Fairgrounds for the last 2 years during our RV rally. The Fairgrounds are not publicly owned. This really makes a difference here - in a nice way. Because they are self-funded, the facilities are well kept. The staff is friendly and helpful. One note about most of the RV sites here, the hookups are usually at the rear of the site - all the hookups. This means that you may need a longer water and sewer hose. Maybe even a longer power cord. The reason for the hookups being in back is that the facility is multi-purpose in its use. As such, they don't want protrusions from the ground in the middle of the sites. Too hard to maneuver vehicles, shelters etc. for other activities that happen there. While they can hold hundred of RVs, try to reserve a site in the NW section. Not much for trees here. If you like trees on your site, select sites 401-410 in the NW section. The rear (west facing) of these sites have tall trees. WiFi while available, is not free. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$21
This was our second stay at the fairgrounds and would stay here again. Very friendly staff and clean restrooms. Good location, with many things to see and do in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
I have stayed at parks that were "better" but for what this place is, it gets a 10 from me. Very nice place, clean restrooms (though pretty far from where they put us), and free WIFI. We only stayed one night and arrived after the office was closed. We had called ahead and they told us which of 2 sites to take. We arrived and setup, but I did not have enough sewer hose to reach the connection. In the morning when we went to the office, the staff lady asked if we used 50 or 30 amp, and if we used sewer. When I told her I had not connected to the sewer due to distance, she just charged us for a 30 amp W/E site ($20). The best part was that checkout time was 2pm. This worked well as we were going to tour the Raptor plant and the tour was not until 2pm. So we had plenty of time to tear down and shower and go get lunch before we went over to the plant tour. Very nice staff and very nice place for being at a fairgrounds. Don't let it worry you. Oh, the trains... That was the worst part, but not the campground's fault. We would stay here again if the need arises. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$17
Good location. In the heart of Amish country. Many RV factory tours nearby. No recreation in campground but many things to see and do nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$22
This is a great place to stay if your interested in touring any of the RV manufactures in the local area. The staff is wonderful to deal with, you can receive mail and packages also. There is no pool or playground equipment. But, the fair grounds seem to always have something going on. The 4H activities are fun to watch. You should note, that the railroad tracks run along the back side of the campground, and they blow their whistles about every 2 hours, ear plugs would come in handy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$21
A delightful find. We stayed a week and visited many of the RV manufacturers in the area. This is a popular site for RV rallies. There is also an Amish community in the area and it is not uncommon to see a horse and buggy trotting down the street. While we were here there was practice for the harness racing. Lots to do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$20
Very nice fairgrounds. Some sites are too close to the railway tracks but most are OK. Very nice people in office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$16
The Elkhart County 4-H Fairgrounds is in close proximity to many activities in the Elkhart County area. The sites are fairly large and the staff is helpful and accommodating. We are camping there again in the end of July 2006. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$18
Fantastic place for an overnight. Only lost one point due to nothing to do, but it is a fairground and not a resort. Except for fair time (mid-July) it is open to RVers and rallies. Office staff EXTREMELY friendly and helpful, free showers and bathhouse immaculate, fairgrounds are beautiful. Level open sites and plenty of room for big rigs to maneuver. Quiet area except for an occasional train, but depending on where on the grounds you set up (and you get the choice) you might not be bothered by it. We were comfortable letting our children ride their bikes and walk to the bathhouse alone. Would highly recommend for a quiet, safe stay in a clean park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com