220693 User submitted reviews online!!
S & H Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (317) 326-3208
CGID1074

S & H Campground

Camp Information
Sites
225
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   6   8   4   6   7   7   4   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
1 Jun – 8 Jun 2014 (Sun-Sun) $38/night Site #19 Stayed here 7 nights. The campground is rather clean and sufficiently maintained. Nice trees throughout the park. The roads and sites are graveled which are dusty when dry and have puddles after a rain. Most of the park is long term and permanent units, some of which are in rather poor condition. The long terms have accumulated the typical junk around their unit or have beautified them to the extreme. Arrived after the office closed but a phone call brought someone quickly. Check-in was simple and we were led to a site, nothing pre-assigned. Campsite: 50/30/20 electric. Picnic table and fire pit. Site is gravel and grass which can be muddy with puddles after a rain. Water: Pressure fluctuates from low to about 40#. Quite a bit of mineral smell. Cable: None. Some antenna reception from Indy. Internet: Fast speed when it connects, which is rare. Overall their WiFi is virtually non-existent. Don’t claim to have WiFi if it is so poor that it doesn’t work. Laundry: The upper laundry as shown on their map is not there. The lower laundry has space for 3 washers and 3 dryers. There is currently one broken washer and two dryers. So basically there are no laundry facilities, for 225 sites. Showers: Shower and restroom buildings are clean and in good condition. Pool: Has a pool, but did not use. Looks good. Staff: Friendly, no problems. Social: The campground has events as shown on their website calendar. We arrived just after the “Talent Weekend” which was probably quite noisy. Most of the long term campers kept to themselves. Location: Shopping and restaurants about 5 miles either direction. Not too far from Indy. Other: Lots of kid activities; pool, mini golf, fishing pond, playground. There was an event during our second weekend. The campground filled up with the usual inconsiderate occasional camper. Screaming kids, barking dogs, vehicles and golf carts everywhere, lots of noise and people we would rather not associate with. These people would not even walk 100 feet to the restroom; they would ride in their golf cart. Sunday morning as we were leaving I used the upper restroom and found that someone had smashed the paper towel dispenser through the wall. We will only be back if there are no other options. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$21
We did an overnight and had a pull-thru near the entrance. Park staff was very nice. As it was hot and the AC was running we did not hear traffic noise which would have been minimal. The park is 4 miles from I-70. It is a nicely wooded park and caters to seasonals and the pool was well stocked with children. It is part of a lot of entertainment activities. It seemed a good family park. With mature trees and winding roads it may be a challenge for large rigs. T-storms cleared the pool in early evening but music continued to be broadcast outdoors all night. If we had not run the AC and had windows open this would have been very annoying. The rate is PA with a additional $3 for AC. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$37
Park grounds are not very nice. Trailers are stacked too close and no way to have a camp fire. Bathrooms and showers were just passable by most standards. Staff was okay at best. Will not stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$23
We paid the Passport America rate. The restrooms and showers were fair to average. Wi-Fi service at our site was good. The interior roads were fair - some had washouts. The park has many seasonal sites and activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Not real impressed. Wasn't able to connect with WiFi at all, bathrooms not the cleanest, cramped sites, mostly permanent yearly campers, great place for kids and teenagers. Staff was not friendly, the store is way over priced and very limited. I suppose it would be a nice park if you were a regular and a seasonal camper. Just not a friendly atmosphere if you're not a regular. We will travel the extra 20 to 30 minutes east to stay at New Lisbon. The seasonal campers and staff were not friendly what so ever. Won't stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Not far off of Rt. 70 just east of Indianapolis. Very steep hill to access the pull through site. Internet very spotty. Very difficult to exit as there were not signs indicating how to leave and we were not given a map when we arrived. OK for one night. Lots of seasonals with older trailers. I wouldn't say they were welcoming to weary overnighters. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Price reflects PA discount. We liked this RV Park overall. Definitely a family park with a pool, water slides, horseshoes, etc. A lot of full timers live here, but the sites are well kept. Sites are level and long enough so as not to have to unhook the truck. However, our site was narrow with side site sewer hole very close. Thought the regular price is high for the site, but not for the activities this park offers families. But our main complaint was leaving by following the exit signs. I had to stop twice and climb up on the roof to pick up the overhead wires - unbelievable! If you do decide to stay here, be sure to go back out the one-way road you came in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
This camp ground had turned into a weekend get away, many permanent trailers, with all sorts of trashy add ons. They are working to clean it up. Lots of fun activities for the kids, Inflatable playground, pool, homemade ice cream, shaved ice, hayrides (no hay just a wagon with seats). Pet friendly. Fishing in a lake and river. And new this year 'Archery Tag', think paintball but with bow and foamy arrows. Lots of weekend events for families. Wi-Fi worked very well at our location. Road to campground is very bumpy. Lots of families and kids on the weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Easy to find;very narrow road getting there. RV sites VERY narrow. Our picnic table for eating was over the dump/drain for the camper next to us! UGH! Smelled of sewer gas all over. Pond was covered with scum. Pool was okay. Weekend activities for kids seem good. Store well equipped. Bath house/showers okay. Buy firewood. No cableTV, but able to bring in local stations with antenna. Lots of dogs. Many long term campsites made it look like vagabond city. Easy RV access to sites, but felt like sardines packed in a tin. Will NOT stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
We stayed here over the 4th of July weekend. No matter, this park has very narrow sites, and parts of the park have fulltimers, and they really make the park look run down. If I were the owner all the fulltimers would be in one location so the short term customers wouldn't see some of the eyesores. On the plus side, the electric hookup we had, provided very stable voltage during 90 degree weather. Seems to be a lot of activities for children. We would not stay here again, just not our kind of park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
We went to S&H because the KOA down the road was closing for the winter, we lucked out, this is a much better campground in our opinion. I do agree that the office is closed more times than open but we didn't mind that so much. We were placed up the hill and found the park to be clean and the sites fairly level, we did have to drop jacks. Plenty of room for the dogs to roam. Hookups were in a nice spot. Getting in and out was no problem for our 33 foot with tow dolly. Campground owner and workers were top notch, very friendly. Looks like spring to fall there would be plenty of shade as there are trees everywhere. We will always stay here when in Indy, we do plan on staying long term. Only wish there was cable TV hookups. Very quiet at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
No towel supplies available in rest room. Lots are long enough for a 40', but our 35' got in OK but it would have been a challenge and possibly expense in trying to navigate going out the twists and turns, missing trees, cars parked and ruts. Going out by way of the exit, do not enter did work for us. Others acknowledged they also were concerned but had not told management and were not "mobile" weekly. Clean and well kept. Utilities located well. Management and reps. were very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
We liked this campground. It had several views, pond and river. There are many activities, pool, game room, golf course, laundry, fishing. The campground was beautiful. There were different types of sites. They had every type anyone would want. Staff was very friendly. The people were great and the place was very kid-friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Surprising interstate noise. No access to restrooms after closing time. Shady sites were not available for us. Gravel with grass and a table. Good for stay while in Indianapolis. No lake access for us while we were there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
I would estimate 70% of sites are permanent party; very old rigs, home made decks and porches, old refrigerator on one porch, trash and clutter around the permanent sites. Lot of rigs/sites look abandoned, unsightly. I'll stay here annually for a couple of wks due to family visits--quiet, feels safe, the areas I need are clean. Attentive managers. I like it better than the other viable campground here, and the monthly fee makes a longer stay attractive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
We arrived late and were taken to our site. The sites were nice but needed to back out of the site because of tight turns and vehicles at other sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$33
Staff very friendly. Needed to stay one night without unhooking. Staff fulfilled our needs. Lots of permanent sites. Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2008
$1
We drove through this place thinking we would stay there. But it was so trashy that we just kept on going and didn't stop. We then checked out the other two parks in Greenfield, both of which were 100% better. We ended up staying downtown at the State Fairgrounds because Greenfield is just too far out of town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$33
Overall, a nice family owned park. Lots of activities for the kids, with swimming pool and putt putt golf. Store has limited groceries and supplies. Many of the sites are seasonal and I'm sure it can be quite busy during the summer. We stayed here over the Labor Day weekend. The park is very convenient to Indianapolis. There are 2 areas of camping, the sites up on the hill are much nicer. We were down below due to an RV Rally. Do not expect to get a satellite signal as the park is very shady. You probably could get a signal up on the hill if you got a site on one of the end spots. The park does not have cable. We even had trouble getting cell phone reception with our Verizon service. The secondary road after leaving I-70 to the park is very tight which was sort of scary when we met an oncoming vehicle. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$24
Camped here for about 3 months. Overall, fairly nice but park has two distinct areas. Nightly campers seem to be placed in a different area for the most part. Newer facilities in that area. Store has limited selection Staff friendliness/competence is all over the board. Some are helpful and nice, some clueless and rude. Large section of the park devoted to seasonal or permanent residences. Many not well maintained, giving the park a "junky" and dated appearance. Water quality in this area is poor IMO. I highly recommend a water filter of some sort. Lake is really more of a shallow pond, but there are fish in it. Saw several people catch panfish during my stay. Bathhouse in the area where I was staying was fairly old. Needs to be updated. Quite a few activities on weekends in the summer and early fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com