223371 User submitted reviews online!!
Brown County State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (812) 988-6406
CGID1089

Brown County State Park

Camp Information
Sites
429
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   9   8   7   9   8   10   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$26
This park is beautiful. Main bath house is spotless and modern. DNR staff here are Top Shelf. Lodge on sight with awesome restaurant and water park. Big swimming pool. Hiking trails for all ages and skills. Best state park in Indiana in my opinion. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
This park is beautiful! There are overlooks for watching the sunset, a lodge with excellent food and coffee for those meals you don't feel like cooking and it is very close to all the shops in Nashville, IN. We went horseback riding one day in the park and that was something fun to do. This park just has a whole lot to offer and the restaurants and shops in downtown Brown County/Nashville are outstanding. There are flea markets near by too for those looking for something to do. We had been here before and will return again soon! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
This is a beautiful, huge, hilly, treed park. We were in the campground (there are 3) farthest from the front entrance. It was actually 6 miles from the entrance, that's how big the park is! Just lovely! There is a gigantic pool (nominal fee) and a lodge with a casual restaurant. Downtown Nashville (Ind.) is a very fun, artsy place to visit. It's convenient if you are visiting Bean Blossom (10 miles) for one of their music festivals. For a State Park, it's a 10. For an RV'er like we are, it's an 8, only because they don't have full hook ups, cable or internet. Even so, we would definitely stay there again. It would be absolutely beautiful in the fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Have a 45' RV and stayed at Buffalo Ridge. The initial site we reserved had low hanging branches. Fortunately they were able to relocate us to another site. Many of the 45'+ sites definitely have his condition. You may want to look at site before driving to. Buffalo Ridge is the best option for a taller rig. I would suggest sites 18, 19, 24 and 42. Anyway, the campground is beautiful and well taken care of. The staff was excellent. A drive into downtown Nashville to shop is well worth the time. Plan on returning again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$24
Nice park. The big disadvantage for me was lack of water hookups and no 50 amp hookups. Some loops would be very tight for a large motorhome. It is a very busy park and a beautiful place to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$13
We camp here once a year, this time the final camping weekend of the season. The campground had officially moved to winter season operation the weekend before, but warm temperatures brought out the campers for this weekend. The check-in staff was a bit overwhelmed with the walk-ups, luckily we had a reservation. Given the number of campers and only one rest room remaining open, it was clean throughout the stay, a noted reason we stay here yearly. The hiking and mountain bike trails are awesome. The overall beauty of the park is tremendous. It is a wonderful weekend getaway from the city. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
This was our second stay at Brown County SP. We stay here to take advantage of the fantasic mountain bike trails within the park. The campground has nice size sites and clean bathrooms/showers. We will stay here again if visiting the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$23
This is the second time we have stayed here and loved every minute. Stayed in the Buffalo Ridge loop that is closest to the entrance in site 86 that was shaded and had plenty of room to back our 40ft RV into the spot. Hiking trails, fishing, very large swimming pool. Cell service is spotty but the setting is fantastic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Brown County is an old campground, designed for smaller TTs and tent campers. Our site was at the far end of the Taylor Ridge area on Tuliptree Road, about 7 miles from the park entrance. The cul-de-sacs and back-in sites were just large enough for our 36' FW to manuever. But the DNR staff was very helpful getting us a site we could get into. No parking on the grass, so it all has to fit on the pad. Most of the sites are carved out between trees, we had room for the slide outs, but a large tree almost blocked the steps, didn't need the awning with all the shade anyway. Our area was very quiet, but the sites alongside the road leading back to it saw traffic during the day. Plenty of rustic activities with hiking, biking, horseback riding, etc., great for getting back to nature. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$21
They have several campgrounds; I stayed in Buffalo Ridge. Sites are well spaced and vary in size from small to large enough for any rig. Roads were a bit narrow necessitating larger rigs to sometimes drive on the grass to maneuver. The campground is grass with numerous trees, but it's not enough for much shade. Roads and some sites are paved; other sites are gravel. Sites have electric only. Mine only had 30 amp. Restrooms were clean and functional, however, shower water was lukewarm and the rooms had no heat. The park has extensive trail networks for equestrians, hikers, and mountain biking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
No sewer, no water, cellphone communications sparse, sites are heavily wooded, small, and not level. There is cellphone communications and Wi-Fi available 5 miles away at the Abe Martin Lodge. Dump station was 2 miles from our site. An additional dump station should added for the large number of sites that they have. Nearest facilities are in Nashville, IN, 9 miles away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$17
Before hauling our kids and camper here, we called TWICE to ask if campers were allowed to use indoor water park at the lodge. We were told yes TWICE and both times were told the cost was the same as the outdoor pool. When we arrived we were told the admission was $15 a person: all ages. We have 5 children, so that was NOT an option to swim for $90 a day (for the 7 of us). Do your homework on the sites as well. Many were incredibly NOT level, and very treed. We got our camper in the site, but were unsure we'd ever get it out. The only good thing about staying here was the time we spent at the very hospitable Gatesville General Store and the owner. She made breakfast for our large clan before we spent the day panning for gold. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Great state park with lots to do. Horseback riding, plenty of hiking trails, fire tower, outstanding mountain bike trails. Shopping in Nashville nearby. We camped here over the 4th of July weekend, and it was packed. The shower houses were kept very clean despite the crowds. Great raptor program at the lodge. The pool is a long drive from the campground. Beware, there is only ONE dump station for all 429 campsites. The line for the dump station was hours long Sunday afternoon. Glad we pulled out on a weekday. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$16
DNR staff a bit standoffish at check in-all business and no personality. Park great and plenty of shade. 30 amp, gravel sites w/some blacktop. Direct TV access no problem. Showers too hot Tuesday but fine Wednesday. No set cleaning time on showers in fact request to allow child to use bathroom before cleaning started and was told come back in 1/2 hour. This is someone who needs another job. Most sites too short for big rig so be aware. Great facility but probably needs a shake up at the top to reenergize folks to realize what customer service is. Park not 25% full on our visit. On Site 22 and shady and ok for 36' 5th wheel. Did not find any outstanding places to eat in short stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Stayed in eastern part of the Buffalo Ridge loop. This loop appeared best suited for RVs and groups. The other loops were nice, but heavily wooded, so leveling appeared difficult. The shower house was modern and very clean. Beautiful hiking paths and very large pool (but located outside the campground). Staff was friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
Prior review is pretty accurate, but the rate they mentioned were way off. We paid $18 with tax per nite and the $7 entry fee is good for the week, not a daily fee. This park is great and has something for everyone. Great sites and great views. Planned on one nite, stayed two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
This is truly a destination campground. There are so many things to do at the park from swimming to mountain biking. The pros, just to name a few, are that the sites are plentiful and there's sites for everyone, whether you like deep shade or full sun or flat and paved or sloping and unpaved, big or small, they have it all. The reservations system was the best I've ever used. Not only can you see what sites are available, you can see what sites are reserved and it shows you a photo of the site! It's like a real estate website. The weekend I was here was supposedly the last weekend of the bluegrass festival and I expected the campground to be very busy, however there was a lot of available campsites. And a lot of really, really good available campsites at that. I've never spent so much time trying to make up my mind about which site to reserve. The scenery is excellent, there's loads to do and the guard house at the front is manned 24 hours. That's just scratching the surface. The cons, and these are sort of nitpicks, are that they make you pay $8 daily admission to the park, even if you have a campground reservation. I don't mind paying that but I'd rather pay it as part of the campground stay if I'm paying in advance. It's just a more welcoming to have that all settled before you get there. Also the place is huge. You'll do a lot of driving within the park to get to the campground and within the campground itself. Bikes are a must if you're going to be there a while. They say this is the "Smokey Mountains of the Midwest." Being from the real Smokies myself, I can't say they're really anything alike but the scenery sure was beautiful and there were some definite similarities. There are some vistas you'll want to take pictures at or have a picnic. I don't know where this park has been all my life, I always have such trouble finding a decent campground when I'm in this area but discovered this one just this year. I would definitely recommend and return. Can't comment on the restrooms, we bring our own. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$24
Open all year around, this park has a lot to offer. We stayed for two nights in early May. Our pull-thru site was located in the wooded Taylor Ridge section of the park. Electricity was available, but there were no water hookups. The park was not crowded at all, so it was very quiet during our stay. There is a $7 entrance fee in addition to the camping fees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$22
Winter camping at its finest! The first of three large campgrounds is open year-round, with electric service. It snowed 4 inches the first night, and by morning the park service had the main road salted and cleared. Had a splendid afternoon exploring the other (closed) campgrounds in the snow, with no one around. Nice little nature museum nearby was open. Our only objection was a $7 entrance fee in addition to the campground fee. Can't wait to see this lovely SP in the Spring! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
We found Brown County State Park to be a very good overall camping experience. It is well maintained and has plenty of outdoor activities available. The sites are fairly spacious and well laid out. Part of stay did cover the 4th of July weekend, so the park was extremely crowded. However, there were no problems with excessive noise etc. Park rangers and staff were friendly and always available for questions etc. The camping numbers fell dramatically after the holiday weekend. Restrooms and showers were not anything special, but were clean and had plenty of hot water. The camp store is only for very basic needs, but local stores are only a short drive. We will certainly keep this on our list for future trips. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
We really liked the park. Overall the campsites were ok. Many of them were small and uneven. There were plenty of trees which was nice for the shade but there was very little grass. Our site was pretty tight, we couldn't put the awning out but that was ok with all of the shade. Enjoyed fishing and hiking. Great state park and will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$26
We stay here about once a year for a local festival. The park is quiet and well kept. Sites and roads are paved and staff has been helpful. The scenery is excellent. The only downside is that some sites are close and need to have some trees taken down to make sites more accessible to a big rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
We stayed here for 3 nights, and it was nice, quiet, and serene during the day. We stayed in the back of Buffalo Ridge with very tall trees that provided lots of shade. It was a great fall trip. My only complaint is that there were 20-30 people there a few spots down from us that blasted music, were very loud, and set off fireworks all night. Park rangers never made them stop, and it made for a very restless nights sleep on the first night. There were nice little shops and flea markets here, as well as an awesome pizza place called Harvest Moon. If you like pizza, make sure to stop there. Seriously, the best pizza I have ever had! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
This was our first visit to Brown County. We stayed in Taylor Ridge Electric. What a beautiful park! There are areas that are more sunny (sites 1-100) and more wooded (100+). The things I liked were the modern (clean) shower houses, beautiful views and enormous swimming pool (capacity 2,450). Bicycles are a good idea as you can ride to the nature center and general store. The things you need to be careful of is picking a site that your RV will fit on. The website tells of the length, width, and slope as well as distance from water but you really need to check this when you book. Some are really short. In the more wooded areas there isn't much grass so we had a bit of dirt and gravel tracking into the coach. Bring bug spray! It is in the woods and you'll need it. We WILL return soon and camp here again. It was a great time despite being electric hookup only. This is the biggest park in the state of Indiana boasting 15,776 acres. It was 4.5 miles from the entrance to our site (#382). Highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$26
This is definitely one of the nicer, more natural parks in Indiana. We camped prior to Memorial Day, so it was still a bit cool and the pool was not opened yet; however, the trails and the park views were spectacular. The facilities were clean and the camp store was adequately stocked. The nature center, fishing and playground were all positive opportunities that our children enjoyed. We will definitely be going back every year! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$11
A very nice clean campground. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$19
What a beautiful park! The place is like a zoo during October because of the foliage. Indiana gets it right, there's no doubt about it! Great park for kids with the Nature Center offering education sessions on different things all week long. The Taylor Ridge area is actually on a ridge, so be VERY careful selecting a site. Was glad I loaded extra leveling wood as our moderate slope site needed extra for getting the rear end up to level. Shower rooms are nice and the park also has pit toilets. We carried gallon jugs for flushing the toilet in the coach. The place is a little on the roughing it side, but very well worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$19
This was a very nice state park campground. We stayed 5 nights here. Some sites are small, some are large. Check their reservation web site to be sure that the site you chose is good for your camper unit. We camped toward the west side of Buffalo Ridge. Those sites are well shaded. Sites were plenty big enough for our 23' trailer and tow vehicle to park. Some nearby sites have shorter parking pads that would not be suitable. Shower houses were nice. Choose wisely. Roads were paved, most pads were paved. Special fully paved handicapped sites are available. The campground roads were nice for riding our bicycles. Being on the tallest hill around, TV reception was excellent at our campsite. Stations were picked up from Indianapolis, Terre Haute, and Bloomington. Electric hookups are good. Water is nearby the sites, bring your jerry can. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Beautiful park with a number of scenic overlooks and other attractions. Note that there is an additional park entry fee that you pay just once during your stay here, and due to a covered bridge with low clearance at the north gate, all RVs are required to enter at the west gate. The campground is divided up into three sub-camps. The first camp, Buffalo Ridge, is just inside the gate and next to the small camp store, dump station, and overflow parking lot. This is the smallest of the three camps. Sites are level, grassy, some shade trees, but fairly close together. Additional vehicles are supposed to park in the overflow lot so if you will have visitors, Buffalo Ridge might be the place to stay or they will have a long hike from that parking lot. The second camp, further down the main road, is Raccoon Ridge and is more or less a larger version of the first camp. The last camp is Taylor Ridge, and that is the one we stayed in. This is the largest camp and has a few secondary roads that are rough gravel. This section is heavily wooded and the main roads run down the crests of ridges so that most sites slope down from the road, some at severe angles. Some sites don’t have much level ground surrounding the pad. Not much grass back here and it could get muddy during heavy rain. If reserving on-line pay close attention to site descriptions regarding space for slide-outs and length of parking pads, as the number trees could be a problem for you. Restrooms and grounds were clean and well maintained. While most parking pads are gravel, some look like they have been recently paved. Most sites have a newer fire ring with a grill that swings off to the side. Although I saw a few big rigs here, I would not consider this a big rig friendly campground with the heavy woods, small percentage of long parking pads, and no 50 amp electric service. If based on scenery alone the park scores a 9, but most campsites score a 7 so I give an 8. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
This is a beautiful park. If you are not a big rig, this would probably be a 9 or 10. However, we are a 53' combo truck/5th and we had LOTS OF PROBLEMS with the little turnarounds at end of site area's. Took about 5-6 tries before we could finally maneuver around. Site was downhill, so the front of trailer was almost touching the ground and I had to put blocks under rear jacks to get it up high enough for leveling bubble to even touch the mark! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
10 for beauty and location, the only reason I gave it a 7 is because of the lack of water and sewer on site, this is really a minor inconvenience but enough to not warrant a 10. If you haven't been to Brown County State Park it is wonderful and there is no better way to experience all it has to offer than by staying the campground right in the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$23
This park is one of the best State Parks we've been too. Their restroom's are clean and there was hot water throughout the entire shower. The only problem was it was a little cold inside the building. Now this was my first time taking a shower at a State Park so that might be normal. The sites were well spaced and clean. The views are beautiful. There's a hay ride Friday's and Saturdays. Very well patrolled by security. I can't wait to come back next year!!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
This is beautiful park with plenty of activities to keep the whole family happy. The stables and Saturday evening hayrides are a big hit. Plenty shopping in nearby Nashville. Sites are close, especially in the "infield" areas (back to back sites) but ours was along a drive and had plenty of room to put out awnings and slides. Paved pads are somewhat short. $25 a night is a bit steep for no water or sewer hookups but thats the new Indiana State Parks Rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
Brown County is one of my family's favorite campgrounds. We love the Taylor Ridge section because it is very wooded. The only thing that would make this campground perfect would be having water at the sites. No water makes it difficult to stay longer than a couple of days. Very relaxing getaway!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Beautiful Park! We do about 70% of our camping here. Always a pleasure coming here. Nashville has nearby shops for men, women, & children. The flea markets are interesting too. There is a dog kennel just outside of Gnaw Bone if you are going to be gone for an extended stay and don't want to leave your pets inside your camper for very long. This is an outstanding place to camp and I recommend it to everyone, especially in the fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$23
Very nice park, but needs updated and better maintained. Budget cuts have hurt the park and it is not in near the shape it once was. Buffalo Ridge has paved sites, all others are gravel. No water hookups, but restrooms aren't too bad. Staff is generally very friendly, especially Bill and Pat. They have been campground hosts for the past couple of years and they are just great people. We try to camp there at least once every year. We always enjoy the bird watching sanctuary at the nature center. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$23
Beautiful State Park. Use West entrance to get to the campgrounds - 4 mile drive from the entrance to the camp office. Very friendly staff. Be sure to check the site size before you make your reservation online. I reserved site 95 in Buffalo Ridge Electric-way too small for our pop-up. Restrooms were good. The olympic pool was fabulous. Some beautiful views-if you didn't know where you were you may swear you were looking at the Smokey Mountains. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$23
Brown County is a nice park with lots to do. They have horseback riding, hiking, swimming, hayrides, and a great nature center. There are 3 sections in which to camp. We stayed at Buffalo Ridge. There were 2 bathhouses. One was nice, the other wasn't. But for the number of campers, there needs to be another nice bathhouse. Without water hookups, taking a shower in your own camper is not feasible. We went in the month of May. Bagworms were very abundant. In the other area (Taylor Ridge), it was impossible to camp there. We drove thru a 2 mile stretch and ended up with over 1000 worms on our vehicle. You couldn't keep your windows down, for the worms crawling in. I would hope the park would have a way of spraying for these. Or it will continue to get worse. Overall I think this park is good. But it does need some maintenance and ground upkeep. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$23
Large, hilly, woodsy, scenic State Park. Much to see and do in park and nearby artist colony and craft center Nashville. Lots of tent campers here. (Not intended to be a negative comment, just a notation!) After visiting several very well kept Indiana State Parks & campgrounds, we were disappointed in the condition of Brown County State Park Campground. Didn't use restroom or shower facilities, and from the looks of their exteriors and grounds, was very happy we didn't need to. We hiked the trail that originates in the campground and it looks like they are letting it be "reclaimed" by the forest! Obviously no maintenance for years. Park employees we encountered were adequate, but not nearly as friendly and enthusiastic as those we've seen at other Indiana parks. We had a nice experience in a beautiful setting, but the campground is not nearly what it could & should be maintenance-wise. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$16
This was one of the most beautiful state parks, that we have been in. The sites were large and well away from any highways! Nashville, Indiana is also a great place for arts and crafts shopping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com