214919 User submitted reviews online!!
Black Rock Mountain State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (706) 746-2141
CGID10892

Black Rock Mountain State Park

Camp Information
Sites
31
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   9   10   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
Highest elevation Georgia State Park campground, running along narrow ridge of steep mountain heavily forested. Rhododendron thickets. Site variable depths with EW. Most fairly level. Dump station, two clean bathhouses with hot showers. Road up mt narrow, steep, twisted but class A's make it. Further up mt a nature center/views/gift shop. Went there as it promised to be the coolest campground during our August heat wave, and it was nice. Is rustic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
Great park if you're in a tent or a small RV. This is the highest state park in Georgia as it sits on top of Black Rock Mt. above Clayton. The road up here twists and turns. The up side to this campground is that it is on top of a mountain and connects to many trails. The camphosts are great (as they are in most state parks in Georgia). The drawback is many sites are very close together (for a state park) and the bathrooms were just so-so. So pick a good site and a tent or small RV and you are set. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
We really enjoyed our 3 nights stay at this State Park. The camp hosts were very nice and informative. The only complaint we had is that after quiet hours the camp host did not enforce the quiet time. Overall, we enjoyed ourselves and had fun. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
The park personnel were friendly and helpful. The sites are level and have water, electricity, and cable TV. Bathrooms are clean and have sufficient hot water for showers. The road up to the campground is very steep with some curves. Roads inside campground are narrow and have some sharp turns. Not really suitable for big rigs. There are trails to hike within the park, a camp store, and amphitheater. This park is in a great location, with lots of attractions and things to do nearby. Near NC line, and close to Highlands, Franklin, NC. Dillard House nearby for good food, Sky Valley for skiing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
As I have previously stated, I am a GA state park fan. We have about 10 more to stay at and will have camped at all. This was one of my favs! We enjoyed hiking down to the waterfall which even my mother was able to do. We were here in June with temps in the 90's everywhere we had been, however, it was in the 50's the morning we woke up at this park. It was awesome! The fantastic cable TV lineup was an additional bonus. Also, the Dillard House is close by and fabulous! I highly recommend this campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
This is the second time we have visited this park. On this stay we pretty much had the park to ourselves. The General store was closed and there was a slight confusion at check-in, on who to check in with. The park was very clean and quiet. The camp host was pleasant. The reason for the (7) was the lack of activities and the dirty bathroom floor. This is still a beautiful park on top of the mountain. I guess we are just here out of season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$28
Access from Hwy 441 is on along several miles of a road that is narrow, winding, and moderately sloped. It was easy to navigate with our truck camper but I talked with someone with a 34' travel trailer and they had to swing out into the oncoming traffic lane to make it around some of the curves. Most of the sites are small to medium in length but there are some long sites. Sites in the first loop are hard to get into as they are at nearly a right angle to the narrow loop road. The second loop is really a spur off a one-way loop. There is a turnaround at the end of the spur that would be very tight for long rigs. Unfortunately this is where most of the long sites are located. That said, the campground is situated at the top of a ridge that provides beautiful views in nearly any direction. Had a nice view of the lights of Clayton from our site. Sites are gravel and reasonably level. Fire rings and picnic tables are provided at each site. Bath houses were not very clean but usable. Be sure to go to the visitor center ... even better view there! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
This is probably the most beautiful campground I have camped at. You camp in semi-secluded sites sitting on top Black Rock Mountain. The views are indescribable. The web site says the maximum length is 25'. I camped here in a 29' travel trailer with little problems. I would not come here with anything larger. Upon entering, you encounter a 2 mile road I would estimate 8-10 percent grade that is pretty scary. There is no way two RV's can pass in many places on the road, and there are several switch backs. The park shuts off the water from November to December. I am not sure why, but believe it is because the lines would freeze. There is a 15 degree difference from the town to the top of the mountain. All things said, the scary drive to the top is worth the great camping experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com