221660 User submitted reviews online!!
Mississinewa Lake was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (765) 473-6528
CGID1094

Mississinewa Lake

Camp Information
Sites
335
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   3   8   8   9   10   10   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27
Very spacious clean, spacious sites. Helpful attendants on duty. Lots of activities available, including disk golf, basketball goals, volleyball court, hiking trails, and large beach and lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
We came to this campground after reading the reviews here, and I have no idea how it was rated so high. If you want to meet somewhere with a large family group that likes to make a lot of noise (screaming kids, people in cars blasting their stereo while driving through the park, dogs barking late into the night, baseballs and Frisbees hitting your RV, etc.), then this is your kind of place! If you are full-timing or looking for a little quiet, forget it. After 2.5 years of full-timing, we have finally learned to never stay in a large state park during the summer season. Besides the above complaints, other folks might be interested to know that the bathrooms and showers here were disgusting - not maintained at all as far as we could tell, and not clean. I will give them a break on cleanliness, since the place was completely packed and people were in and out of the facilities constantly. We enjoyed the hiking and biking paths, although they were obviously not maintained either - with old trees and branches laying across the paths. Most sites were terribly out of level, the worst we have seen. Spacing between sites was not bad. Each site had 2 tables and a fire pit. The 30-amp power and water pressure were adequate. The daily rate was too high when considering the "zero-maintenance" policy that seemed to be followed with regard to the facilities. I hope other state parks in Indiana are not like this one. Oh, almost forgot - no Verizon cell signal here at all, but I was told that AT&T works in some areas of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Rate reflects $5 entrance fee to the park. Not all sites have water hook ups but there is a place to fill tanks on the road from the entrance. We were there on a Tuesday and the park was very quiet. The sites are fairly close together so I can see how it could be crowded and noisy on the weekends. There are several restrooms with showers and several more that just have vault toilets. The restroom near our site #159 was very clean, but could use some updating. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30+
This park is an excellent park. We took our grandsons for an extended weekend. The park is very clean, the sites are very nice, lots of things to do with in the park, trails, great swimming beach with a very nice store/snack stand, playgrounds, horse shoes, volley ball. I will stay there many times again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
We have camped here many times for weekend get a ways since it is close to home. The actual campground is at Miami State Recreational area as a part of the Mississinewa reservoir complex. Be sure not to confuse it with the private campground below the dam. What other reviewers have said are on the mark except to my surprise there is now WI-FI available to most of the campsites. The broadcast antennae are mounted on the water tower so the closer the site is to the water tower the stronger the signal. The lake is strictly a flood control reservoir so be aware that water levels can fluctuate. Reservations are available via Reserve America. Weekends are busy and the full hook up sites are almost always full well ahead of the weekend so plan accordingly. The comfort stations are clean but could use an upgrade. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$26
Full hook up sites are very nice. The campground is off the main lake and easily accessible from the campground. Open area in back makes for an enjoyable weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
Beautiful grounds. Lots of children. Great place to bring a boat. The lake is nice. Mooring available. Not all sites have water and sewage. Look for full hookup if that is important. However that area can get crowded. More quiet sites are along the outside edges. Cell phone service is very spotty if at all. Texting works best, so make that arrangement before hand to save a lot of frustration. Firewood is very restricted. Contractor brings it for sale on Friday and Saturday afternoon. Otherwise, some other locals have it for sale. Great place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
A nice campground. Helps to know the terrain before picking your site. Some sites are very close together. Full hook-ups are very difficult to get in the summer. The only problem with the park is they do not offer Wi-Fi and we had no service (3G or extended) on Verizon or AT&T. For boating or the beach a good choice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$17
Nice campground. Need to check to see if you are getting a water connection site when you book it online. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
We camped in the full hook up section. Very large campsites with large area behind the RV sites. There is a slight roll to the campgrounds, and therefore, it can be hard to level larger units on some sites. Our front wheels were off the ground. However, we identified sites for the next trip that are level. Restrooms and showers are a little old and could use updating, but have seen worse at private campgrounds. We had grandchildren with us. The playgrounds were very nice. There was a very large beach and fishing piers. Camp store had very reasonable prices for ice cream, treats, etc. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
I gave this park a rating of 9 because I could not comment on restrooms and showers. There were lots of people there for the Memorial Day weekend, but when we were at our site, you couldn't tell. This is a very large park, still did not get a chance to see everything. The Dam was neat and great fishing. We selected a site on a circle, located away from main road, for the safety of my 2 year old. He had a great time riding his trike around the circle with 8-10 other children. Campers are friendly and respectful, and they all seem to have SAFETY on their mind. Whether it was my kid or someone else's, our neighbors looked out for them all. Only been home one day and already planning our next visit to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
This is one of the nicer Indiana State Parks we have stayed in. The campground is very large but quite spread out so it is easy to get an area with privacy. Some of the sites are unlevel so you just need to be cautious when looking for a site. The on-line reservation system the state uses does a good job of describing each site and they appear to be fairly accurate. The shower houses are a somewhat outdated but the campground hosts were checking and cleaning them at least three times a day. There is one area of the campground that has full hook-up and the remainder has electric only. There is a nice beach/swimming area but unfortunatley it is to far away from the campground to be able to walk to. We would stay here again anytime we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$23
Nice clean family campground but too noisy for us as there were children driving motorized scooters around the park from 8AM til 9PM. There are only 39 full hook-up sites available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com