214623 User submitted reviews online!!
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park was rated 3 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (219) 762-7757
CGID1095

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park

Camp Information
Sites
926
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   4   3   6   5   5   1   1   3   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  no  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
Rough place. It was a little scary pulling into Yogi. There is a sewage plant and run down mobile home parks right next to it. The staff was pleasant, but the park needs a lot of TLC. I am not a negative person, but I will NOT be staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
This park is OK but in need of a lot of TLC. The trees need trimmed, grass cut, etc. There are a lot of fulltime residents at this park. The first site they gave up was right next to the freeway and quite noisy. We could not get satellite and were bummed. We cruised the park and picked out 4 or 5 sites that were empty and we liked so we asked to move and they said sure. The stay wasn't too bad then. We probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$17
This is a huge campground that has a lot of potential. Unfortunately, it is located in a very bad (Run Down) area and has a very active train track on one side of the campground and a very busy 4 lane freeway located on the other side. The campground has 900 spaces with about 70% of them being privately owned. Most of them have one or two golf carts to run around in so the weekends are crazy. During the week it was not an issue. The trees and shrubbery need some serious pruning. The streets are very narrow and with the overgrown shrubbery and trees it makes it very hard to navigate large rigs through the park. The roads in the park are dirt and gravel but the park maintained them fairly well. There are some 50 Amp service sites but they are located near the freeway side of the park where it is very loud. We stayed here for one month and the price reflects the monthly rate. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Close to the National Park. Lots of year round campers that need cleaning. Wi Fi worked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$51
Usually, we feel we can count on the Yogi organization to provide a good experience. This park is close enough to Chicago to be useful, but has many, many full-time families in trailers, with very uneven maintenance of sites and facilities. The staff is also uneven in their friendliness and helpfulness, but the good ones try really hard. While we were here, there was an election for the Homeowners Board, and new pool umbrellas replaced the broken, unsightly ones overnight. Many owners really outdo themselves to create a lovely atmosphere with extensive landscaping, but the almost abandoned sites, or HUGE extended families living on other sites make it difficult to feel secure and safe in this environment when traveling with a family. We will not be staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
The entrance to this campground is unsightly with many mobile homes. The campground itself, claims over 900 sites in Woodall's and most of them are for full-timers. Although not the best camping conditions, we had full hook-ups at a discounted rate, the grounds were clean and the staff was friendly. It is only a few miles from the train to visit Chicago. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$56
This was, by far the worse RV park we have ever stayed in. As we entered, on all sides were junky and messy and smelled of raw sewage. The sites were very hard to get into. There were many permanent sites and they were also junked up with outside paraphenalia. It was very noisy even after 10:00 pm. I would never recommend this park to even my worse enemy. As it was, we were attending a family reunion elsewhere in Munster, IN and did not have anywhere else that we could stay. Also $56 a night was excessive, even though it was over a holiday weekend. All in all, this park really sucked. I felt like I was staying in the ghettos. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
In 13 years of RVing, this is one of the worst campgrounds ever. There is round-the-clock noise from the adjacent freeway, trains and the residents of this trailer park. The police made a visit on Saturday night to quiet some rowdies. Most sites are occupied by run-down trailers and fifth wheels. Give this place a wide berth! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
The staff at check in was friendly and check in was done while we were at the entrance to the park. The park seems to be a mobile home park with and provision for overnight or short term stays seemed to provided as an afterthought. The spaces provided are back in only and difficult to get into due to the narrow lanes. Backing into our designated space was further complicated by a tree at one of the front corners of the space. After several attempts we drove around to the space behind us and pulled through it into our space. The designated space was uneven and far from level. The ad for this park states that the sites are "fully equipped" but there was no cable TV. The cap on the sewer connection was on so tight that it had to be removed with a claw hammer. A sign near the entrance stated that WiFi was available. They charged $3.00 for a WiFi security code (?). We were able to connect, but the code provided was rejected. By the time we discovered this the office had closed. The fee at $45.00 for the night was excessive. On our return trip we avoided this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$50
This park is disgusting. It is flanked by a waste treatment plant, the freeway, and railroad tracks. You have to drive through a really shady neighborhood till you get to the park and this place is no better. It is a trailer park, not a campground and not an RV park. The restrooms are disgusting. The whole place is terrible and depressing. We stayed one night because it was the closest we could get to Chicago. Lost all our money, the manager said a check would be waiting for me when we got home and it has never arrived. DO NOT STAY HERE. Just keep on going. Worst place ever. My family and I traveled 20,000 miles last year in our Airstream and this was by far the worst RV park we visited. Doesn't even deserve one star. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$41
I was surprised at the price with the total disarray of this park. The front desk disconnected me twice, they gave us completely wrong directions to our site and the bathrooms were filthy. Dead bugs were everywhere and it was not cleaned during the 24 hours we were there. We are in a travel trailer and are on a 6 month road trip. This was the worst campground as of yet. I do not recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$46
This is the worst Jellystone I have ever seen. The majority live there in run down old campers. It is basically public housing for those that fell through the cracks. We pulled in, we looked around, we knew our kids would not be able to leave our sight and we knew we would have to sleep with a pistol to feel a little safe. And we left. After a 5 hour drive there, we left. We still have not gotten a refund, but at this point I'm just glad to have not spent more than 20 minutes there. The manager was "unavailable" to speak with. To me this park is a trailer park, not a campground and it is a huge blemish to the Jellystone name. I always thought Jellystone could be a trusted name no matter where it was, but I have lost all confidence after this experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2008
$1
This has to be the worst Jellystone I have ever stayed at. I was expecting many camping sites, but most (815 out of 926) were actually seasonal sites of which over half were run down and not taken care of. Old broken down Golf Carts and auto parts littered one site. The Trailer Park (as this is not a campground) is located between Highway 94 and some railroad tracks. Very noisy. They do not enforce their rules as people were partying, driving 4-Wheelers and Golf Carts, and dogs barking at 2 AM. Dogs were unleashed everywhere on seasonal sites. We went to the manager to complain and she told us if we didn't like it we could just leave. After a heated discussion we did get a full refund. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
Did not stay here. Drove in and left. This is one big big dump. Looks like a pig pen and is one. I am going to pursue the CG's "ratings" with Woodalls and Trailerlife. Somebody is in bed with somebody for the ratings that are published for this dump. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$42
Full-time/part-time Staff and Resident Staff were very friendly and helpful. Check-in took about 5-10 mins. When we got to our site and was about to back-in, we realized we needed to switch sites since we didn't have a long enough electric line for our reserved site...was able to move to adjacent site within minutes with the help of 2 resident staff members. Throughout the day and night, our site (West side of campground) was quiet and relaxing, except for the train tracks that were fairly busy (8-10 freight trains throughout the day) and noisy. For such a large campground, it was keep up fairly well. Overall, we would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
We arrived at the park from Mackinaw City on July 3rd. Upon entering the park we had to sign a waiver that if we hit anything they were not responsible. The roads were gravel, turns were tight, and nearly all of the sites are Lot Owners where they have put up fences to "protect" their land which made it difficult to navigate. The temporary spots in the park were not together or near the pool or playground. We were a 10 minute walk from the pool. I checked on golf cart rental and the pricing for our 5 day stay for the cart was $250 plus a $100 deposit. (which was more that our camping cost for the 5 days). Needless to say, we walked it. As we approached the weekend the conditions seemed to get worse. We ended up leaving on Saturday afternoon rather than Sunday (and lost our money for the last night) because the campground was so bad. I would not go there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$44
In my 8 years of camping this is the worst campground I have stayed at. As others have stated, the campground is virtually all seasonal with run-down trailers, sheds, fences, etc. The non-seasonal sites are scattered about throughout the grounds, not in a single location. Water went out one night and we were informed by the manager that is a regular occurrence. Our site was roughly 1/3 mile from the pool & lake, so we had to ride bikes. Roads were gravel and in poor repair causing my daughter to wreck her bike 5 times. Golf cart rental was $250 for 5 days. The pools were nice and they provide life guards. They had putt putt and pedal boat rental, but the guy working the booth was far from friendly. Most of the staff were teenagers, weren't very knowledgeable, and didn't seem to care much about our camping experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$41
This park was ok for the most part on Friday afternoon/night but things started to change Saturday afternoon. It was obvious that the seasonals started to arrive from the City (Chicago)...It was a bit frightening for my family. The teenagers hung out in the playground and looked like an inner city gang. The adults were drunk and driving around in their golf carts not caring what their kids were doing. At one point a man actually yelled some profanities at a group of young teenage girls (commenting on their "nice @#!*") right in front of my camper and my little girls! I was sickened and my oldest daughter was scared the entire night that he would come back. We did like the idea of the activities at this park, but we will NOT return for fear of our safety! Also, this town appears to be so financially depressed and run down looking...not much of a "get-a-way" We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$37
Very tired campground with an extremely large number of permanent and semi-permanent residents. Drive to our site had many low hanging trees which scraped our antennas. So-called Big Rig site was long enough for our unit, but towed vehicle had to be parked sideways. 50 AMP power was OK when we first connected, but degraded overnight with huge power swings per our Power Monitor (Good Governor). Our Progressive Power Management System thankfully shutdown power from the pedestal during the night. At that point we turned off everything and opened all the windows. Very disappointing on the first night of a 6-week trip to SD, MT, WY. Rate is after 10% Club Yogi Discount. No bargain!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2006
$38
Literally the worst excuse for a "campground" we have ever encountered. In fact it is simply a collection of rotting permanent and semi-permanent trailers on cramped sites. Would never recommend this place under any circumstances. I've sent email to Jellystone (like someone above did) asking why they would allow their name on such a place, as I can find nothing to justify it. Clearly we will never go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
This campground was very noisy due to the trains coming through next to the campground every 20 minutes. This campground has lots of yearly campers with run down sites. The camp store was being run with kids and the facilities were not very clean. The put put golf course was falling apart. "Not for us" We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$40
This park was the worst I have ever visisted. Filthy, unkept, and in dire need of matenience and mowing. I would guess that 95% of the sites are seasonal and not for weekend campers. Many lots for sale. I can see why. No activities for families. Lots of teenagers roaming around all day and night long. They also let anyone of any age drive golf carts. I have two teenage boys that wouldn't even go to the bball courts because they said the kids there were swearing and passing a joint around. Overall this place sucked. I am writing a letter to the Jellystone company to ask why they have their name on such a park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2005
$21
This campground is in an area of town that looks very run down. The office staff was all teenagers who didn't appear to know what they were doing. The campground seems to be too big with too many sites to keep it clean and cared for. The washrooms were dirty when I went in the first time but were being cleaned at around 730pm when I was going for a shower. We had to wait for them to finish. The park is full of seasonal sites with a good number of dilapidated, rusty and unkept campers, popups and the such. It is a Passport America Campground. Had it not been for our long time on the road and not much else available in the area we would have turned around and left the park. I would not reccommend the park, and am surprised it has the Yogi Bear name attached to it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$35
This is a terrible park - I cannot believe that Jellystone has their name on it. All the sites are cluttered with junk, rusted out golf carts, and storage sheds that are just about falling down. The outsides of the bathrooms were filthy - we didn't dare go inside of one. I can't express my extreme dismay at this facility. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com