206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Turtle Beach Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (941) 349-3839
CGID11078

Turtle Beach Campground

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   2   8   9   4   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$55
We liked this campground and will be back for 7 nights in late April, so why the so-so rating? Primarily because you can't see the beach from the sites and the beach is not that great, with two steep terraces to the water. Sites are sandy with overhanging trees that will dump stuff on your rig but provide some shade. There is some noise from the adjacent Turtle Beach public parking until late at night, and the sites nearest the road get road noise, but traffic at this end of Siesta Key is not heavy. Sites are really designed for up to 30' motorhomes. Bigger rigs will struggle to get situated as will trailers and 5ers due to the narrow campground road. Hookups are all situated at the rear of the site making for a 20' sewer hose run for us. Bathroom is old but fairly clean, laundromat is a nice plus. Like others we enjoyed Turtles Restaurant across the street with a bay view (not the pub with a street "view"). So in spite of my stated concerns we'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
As other reviews state, the spaces are small but since we were in a 17' Casita travel trailer this was not an issue. Our site had full hookups with Wi-Fi (local 20 TV channels available for small additional fee). It is basically one long street with 40 sites. Has security gate and is operated by Sarasota County. It is all about location, location, location. Walk 100 yards or less west and you are on Turtle Beach, walk same distance east and you are at Turtle Beach Pub and Marina. If you are a beach person this it it. Beach, boating, kayaking. All the things we love. Stayed in June so the summer rate was great. $32.00ish. Will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$70
The guy below must have been an awful driver. Yes, the sites are not too big, but there is easily enough room to park a 25 ft trailer. Sounds like the guy just had a bad experience with the druggies and let it cloud his judgement. Great location for the beach and deathly quiet at night. Wi-fi was very in and out. Showers good and laundry, too. Excellent restaurant across the road, an absolute must if you stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$50
This is the place to be if you love the beach. You have to really LOVE the beach to overlook some of the other glaring issues. One: the sites are really small. Before we booked, I read some of the other postings on this issue but I didn't think I'd have a problem. I have a small 25' travel trailer. I thought: how small can they really be? They are very small in length and width. Not only are you almost on top of your neighbor but there isn't even enough room at the end to turn around. We had to stop traffic on the main road (midnight pass) so I could back in. It was a very stressful way to begin my beach vacation. Two: our neighbors smoked pot almost the entire weekend. I have a small child. You can imagine the two do not go hand in hand. Three: the showers are just like any other public beach shower. Sandy, old, and in need of repair. These were one of the worst I've seen. But despite all this, if you really love the beach this is the place to be. I've decided, I'm more of a pool person and will be camping elsewhere. $50.00 a night is too much to spend just to have beach access. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$25
Once established campground was wonderful with beach access steps away from 5th wheel. Only problem with this site is sites are very close, and very hard to get into. Otherwise great experience, and would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
If this campground were in the middle of the state it would rate a 2. But it is not In the middle of the state, it is right on the Gulf of Mexico on one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Turtle Beach is just South of Siesta Key and the sand is white, you can walk out in the water for 50 yards and still only be waist deep, and the water is very clear on most days. This campground has the beach and that is all it does have. The sites are small but once you are here if you wanted a beach, then this is the best you are going to get almost anywhere. Outside the campground there are numerous places to eat and spend time in the evening but on the campground it is all beach. The bathrooms and showers are kept fairly clean but are usually sandy. We love the beach so we really like this place. We stayed for a couple of weeks and our nightly cost includes the extra charge for AC and all taxes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2010
$50
This campground was ok. The sites were VERY tight, we had a 31 foot motorhome pulling a car and we almost didn't fit. I had to back the car right next to RV, that took 90% of sitting area. The people that run this park are VERY strict about rules and are always out in-between the hours 8am and 5pm, then they went home and people did what ever they wanted. I heard from other RV's that Sarasota wants that land to put up high priced hotels, so one mess-up with rules and bye-bye campground. Now the good. Walk 20 feet and you are in the ocean; go about 10 miles down the road and you are at Siesta Key Beach, a very cool beach. Go about 20 miles other way and you are at Venice Beach, another cool beach. Our beach was good: had lots of sea shells, was never crowded and was nice to walk out of the RV right to the beach. We would camp here again, but without the car. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$42
Located on beautiful Siesta Key, this tiny gem is right on the Gulf. Pets are not allowed. It's a squeeze to get in and out of the RV area and, due to space limitations, you must park your car next door at Turtle Beach Park. But where else in Sarasota can you open your RV door and be on the beach in less than a minute? Fine dining is located right across the street at Turtle's Restaurant and Ophelia's. If you like the beach, this is a very convenient place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$60
The last time we stayed, they were undergoing a beautification project here and at Siesta Village. I personally love it here. Nothing fancy, but you won't need that with the beautiful blue Gulf of Mexico at your footsteps. Sunsets are not surpassed. There is alot to do on Siesta Key and Sarasota if you want to venture out. Can't wait to stay here again this coming April. This time I'm bringing my sis along. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com