206926 User submitted reviews online!!
Red Gate Campground & RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 64 user reviews. Phone: (912) 272-8028
CGID11082

Red Gate Campground & RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   10   9   7   7   9   8   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$40
Rate reflects overnight rate with Good Sam discount. Nice park and we would stay again; however, as mentioned before in reviews the layout is odd. The pads are white rock and the hookups all worked well. Convenient dumpster on the way out. We got our site assignment prior to arriving and got set up okay. The park manager was not on site at the time and came around to collect later. We had asked for a pull in specifically and our site was a back in. Not a big deal as there was more than ample room to get into position for the hookups. Some traffic noise but mostly quiet at night. Very convenient to historic Savannah and even a discount voucher available for the trolley tours. Some tours will pick up at the park. Loved the country setting with horses on property. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$26
Very pleasant. A little different; just an open field with RV hookups around the periphery. Very convenient to downtown. Generally quiet. Good access from I-95. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$40
I had seen this park reviewed and a few times people mentioned how open the spots were. Well. it was a farm at one point so open fields are the norm. However we didn't have reservations and the gentlemen that we checked in with quickly accommodated us in a site off the "square" field others talk about. It didn't have sewer but we knew we would be fine for the 4 days without that. Let me say it was an absolutely beautiful spot! All spots looked nice. He brought over a table for us and said if we needed anything else let him know. Yes, the trains run very close to here and yes, they are loud but you get used to them and even on the last night/day I loved hearing them pass by. Very close to downtown Savannah; also a short drive to major stores and restraints. Used the laundry which only had a single washer/dryer but lucky for us we were the only ones thats needed it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$36
Plus items for this park: Very close to downtown Savannah and easy traveling to get to park. Level gravel pad to park on, satellite reception, clean, friendly staff, lots of lawn area, and a pond on huge property Minus items: Train tracks were very close to park and heard whistles and the rumble of the trains all day and night. Only one washer and dryer for the entire park The internet connection sucked! Usually only got 2-3 bars and bounced us off line a lot. Couldn't download more than one item at a time and it took forever. The picnic table that was at our site was about 50 years old. We stayed a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
This park is fairly close to Savannah, (about 10 minute drive) some tour companies offer pick up from the park to tour Savannah. Beautiful grounds, no shade on most sites. There were 3 sites (we had one) that are located in the next field from the others with large oak trees that do have shade. Nice pool and deck. The office staff is rarely in the office so if you need anything you have to call them, they give you a number upon registering. There were several private homes on the grounds, one of which can be rented for special events, i.e weddings, etc. Nice park we would return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
Campground is just as advertised - it was a farm. Sites 1-12 & 18-21 are pretty much out in the open with little shade. Sites 13-17 back up to a tree line and will be shaded in the afternoon; however, satellite reception could be a problem. Sites B1-B3 are more secluded with B1 under a giant live oak and is mostly shaded. They trimmed up some limbs to allow rooftop satellite reception which worked well with Winegard Trav'ler using Dish. B2 is a little more in the open. B3 looks out over a field and is very private. All three of these sites are next to the "toy shed" where you can park your bike if you want to keep it out of the weather. Couldn't get the Wi-Fi at B1. B1 has a little slope from back to front, but not too bad. Had to use 25' of sewer hose in order to reach the drop. This campground is as close to Savannah as you can get I think and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
I really like the site I am on #20. All sites are goos and level. My only criticism is the laundry room needs a good cleaning and the fitness room smells like it has been closed up for a long time. Those things said, I love the park and would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$37
Nice little park...a little leary of the parking...as a lot of it is in the grass...sites are gravel. It was nice and quiet with a nice ambience. Great walking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Great location, easy access to downtown. We held a rally for 21 motorhomes here. The sites are large, level and easy to get into. The clubhouse was large and comfortably accommodated our 44 members. Two large screen TV's and a pool table were a hit with our campers too! The owners are incredibly pleasant and easy to work with. Lots of area to walk or relax by the water. The pool was recently renovated and a great place to chill out. We stayed for a week and will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$41
Very well keep place. Clean and best of all - good customer service. I'm looking forward for my next visit . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
This is a nice park that is very convenient to Savannah. The sites are gravel, several are in a field (no shade). Some back up to a line of trees which offers some afternoon shade and a few others that are set apart from the rest that are very shaded. The grounds around the RV park are very nice. There is a nice nature trail, a plantation now used for events with beautiful gardens, several ponds, one with a beach. On the downside, there are only two showers and they were a bit of a walk from the sites, although there were a couple of bathrooms near the sites. We will definitely stay here again next time we visit Savannah. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
The park campsites are in a field and three or four shaded spots that are not within the other sites, but back in the trees isolated from others. There is no sun in these spots. In the field there was a bathroom that didn't have paper in there for the 4 days the we stayed. This location is fine for seeing the sites. Freeway is just around the corner. Trains 24 / 7 for those romantic nights. Pool was closed look like it was closed for some time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$41
Red Gate Campground is a very nice and clean place to stay a for a few days while visiting Savannah. It is quiet and the sites are very convenient to back into and are pretty level. The Wi-Fi could use some improvement as the signal was weak and a couple of times it would quit working for a few minutes. We picked up local TV channels on the RV antenna, but a cable TV system would be nice. The pool wasn't available however, the manager said they were close to having it open. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
Most of the previous reviewers were correct albeit a little harsh. Yes, most sites are in a big open field set up with FHU. This is a grass field with sites along the periphery. Quite acceptable for the time of year we were there. It might be unacceptable during the heat of Summer. An individual staff member was prompt in answering the phone and any of our questions. He also was available in the 'club house' several days. At the conclusion of our stay, he came to the site to settle up. Many areas to walk in and several ponds to explore. Warning signs regarding gators and snakes were posted near ponds. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again when visiting Savannah. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$34
All spots were gravel and grass. Fairly level spots. Nice area centrally located for sightseeing. Pet friendly. Needs more laundry facilities. 1 washer and 1 dryer. Was directed to a laundry facility in town which turned out to be very expensive. $2.29 or $3.39 per washer. $.39 per 15 mins drying time. Would stay here again but find different laundry facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$42
Beautiful surroundings, clean, large sites. Can only contact staff by cell phone. The laundry has one washer and one dryer and is far from all sites as is the shower and toilet. Each pad is graveled, but when the dirt/clay around the site is wet it becomes a mess. Would love to stay here again if they upgraded all the facilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$41
The sites at this campground vary in location. Most of the campers at this time of year were in the open field area. This is by no means a bad thing. The sites are relatively new and have full hookups. Each site has a long gravel pad that is level. There's plenty of room to maneuver your rig as necessary. There are other sites deeper into the complex and some were in use; but most campers were in the field area. The location is excellent as a main highway into Savannah is one traffic light and less than 1/4 mile from the campground entrance. There are showers, laundry, playground, lake, pavilion, etc. at this campground, but we did not partake due to the short time spent actually at the campground (visiting Savannah). Our rate was with Good Sam discount. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$40
Sites are easy to accesses and wide. All are gravel covered. All else is grass. Roads are gravel (and dusty). Trains are constant day and night. Restrooms and showers were clean albeit a bit of a walk. We'd stay again due to the close proximity to downtown Savannah. This is not a destination resort campground but is a good stop over for a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$45
While this was a nice RV park for our purposes, it is not an RV resort. The sites are spacious and access is good if you are not adverse to driving over grass (it seems solid even after rain). Plan on using your own facilities if you don't want to drive to the showers, laundry or fitness center. Make your reservations over the phone, drive directly to your site, and the manager will catch up with you sooner or later. There is train noise, but it didn't bother us with the windows closed. The park is overpriced, considering the facilities provided. Even with these shortcomings we would still stay here again because if the close proximity to downtown Savannah. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$35
As with most folks that have posted, this is a great park if you want to be close to downtown Savannah and the surrounding sights. They just put in some new sites, 50 amp pull throughs and 2 of them are "buddy sites" if you want to park right next to each other and share the middle ground. We just want to come back to our RV and go to sleep and then go see things each day. Here for a week and for us, this is a great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$50
This was our second stay at Red Gate Campground. We chose to stay in the few shaded sites that they have available. These are set apart from the majority of their sites. This is a family owned campground and all of the staff that we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. We had a nice view of an open pasture complete with horses. Also saw deer around sunset. The site was grassy and level. The water pressure was fine. They were just completing the construction of additional sites. Wi-Fi was weak. No cable tV and very limited channels available via antenna. The pool was closed but they hope to bring it up to new codes or replace it by next year. (The additional sites were needed to help finance the pool upgrades.) River Street in Savannah is less than 10 minutes away. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
Because we don't really use the campground facilities, this park is fine for us. The sites are wide, grassy and easy to maneuver in a big rig. The campground is only 7 miles from city and good golf. We would definitely stay here again because of its closeness to activities. Some train noise but with a/c on, no problem. Good Wi-Fi. Watch out for fire ants. Picnic table, no fire ring. Because of its proximity to Savannah, it is about 7 miles off the I-95 but the roads are excellent. It is a family business they are are trying to expand. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
Rate shown is based on a weekly rate. Sites are gravel or grass and roads are gravel. The park is in the process of adding more sites. Basically it is a big grass field with marked off sites. Sites are big and wide with most being pull-through. Wi-Fi is free and fairly fast. Big issue is if you need to use shower and laundry as they are far away. Park is very nice and owner is very friendly and helpful. Park is close to all Savannah sites. Personally I think it is over priced at $45 to $55 per night. Beware, there is train noise and train horns all hours. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
This is a tough park to review. The setting is very nice and conveniently close to downtown Savannah. However, right now the park is very much a work in progress. They are still setting up additional sites, the swimming pool is closed until further notice. (They hope to have it open by next summer if it doesn't cost them too much to repair.) The restrooms are semi-clean, but dingy looking. There is only one washer and dryer in the laundry and they cost $2 each. The other reviews are correct about the dust from the gravel road, and how far it is to the laundry, fitness center and bathhouse. We stayed here a week and the daily rate is based on our weekly rate. Overall, the park is vastly overpriced right now for what you get. They should be charging in the $25/day rate based upon our experiences in other parks around the country. I would want to see what improvements they make over the next year before staying here again at their current daily/weekly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$50
Nothing "resort" about it. Most of this campground (except clubhouse) is in very rough shape. Also, no staff available on site. A call must be placed to manager if there are any issues, and he will come and meet you here: just odd. Too bad. It is a nice large property. Close to downtown Savannah. Could really make something good here, but it's not even close. I would not stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
We camped in the dry camping section of this spacious RV park, and loved the quiet solitude! We used their laundry facilities and they were quite nice. The staff is very friendly and helpful. One problem we noticed. When we arrived we used their dump station to empty our tanks as we had been dry camping for several days prior to our arrival, and the sewer line backed up. This happened again when we were exiting after stay. Not sure what the problem is. Otherwise we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$4t
This is a difficult park to review. It was a dairy farm. It is being converted into a garden center/farm supply store/event facility/RV park. First, the bad. This place only caters to self contained rigs. The shower facilities are about 1/4 mile down the road at the old farmhouse. Some of the out buildings are in pretty rough shape. Biggest problem is that the roads are crushed limestone and the people who live on the place fly on the road and raise clouds of white dust. Now the good. This place is huge, with 400 acres of fields and woods and 30 acres of ponds. It is beautiful with rolling and flat mowed fields and 250 year old live oak trees. There are paddocks for horses and lots of places to walk dogs (no dog run). There are 12 pull in sites along the access road with W/S/E. All sites are 50 amp. There is a "C" area in a grassy field with about 4 sites (E only). The best sites are B 1,2,3 which are very private under the oaks. There are lots of places to dry camp. Access from road is great. Its 4 miles to Savannah. Staff is helpful. If we come to Savannah again we will stay here. Beautiful place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$45
We stayed at Red Gate RV Park while visiting Savannah. Our site number was assigned when we called to make our reservation. Upon arrival we went directly to the site and settled up with the manager later in the day. Their check in procedure is different from any campground we have visited, but it works. At first blush the campground seems very basic, primarily due to the location of the facilities which are away from the primary camp area. It does however have showers, exercise room, club house and pool. Line voltage at our site ranged between 115-120 VAC. Old Town Trolley picked us up at our site and returned us at the end of the day. The trolley is a great way to see Savannah. Campground manager gave us a discount ticket for the trolley. Nearby train tracks are used at night quite frequently. Running the AC fan provided enough white noise to mask out the trains. Campground is well maintained and facilities well marked. Will definitely return if visiting the Savannah area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$40
We stayed here for only one night but wished we could have stayed longer. There was a large grassy area for our children to play in and a variety of activities for them to do. Sites were large. Close to downtown Savannah. Helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2011
$45
An open campground with E/W/S sites situated in a semi circle. There is a lovely large clubhouse. Wi-Fi is available at sites closest to the clubhouse. At $45 a night it is overpriced, but it is close to downtown Savannah which is only an 8 minute drive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$55
Nice grounds and friendly staff. We stayed in one of the three shaded sites (B1). Fairly level, crushed rock, 50amp, water and sewage. Out of the way and quiet. Nice rec room with Wi-Fi, three TV's, pool table and a couple of other games. The place is a horse farm with a couple of goats and chickens, plenty of hiking and biking can be done here to burn off the great Savannah food. Convenient to Savannah. Old Town Trolley picks you up and brings you back when you purchase day ticket. Well worth the price. The only problem we saw is the showers/restrooms are a good walk from the sites and need work. Only two available. And, the pool wasn't useable. That was no problem. When we return to Savannah we will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
The only things this campground has going for it are location and the wide sites. The campground is very conveniently located to attractions in Savannah. Sites are basically gravel pads lining two sides of a big field. We checked in on the phone and were given our site number. There was no information on where trash should be deposited, location of facilities, etc. The website is deceiving. Buildings are widely scattered. I do not know if there are showers, the restrooms are in an outhouse with running water, only one has a sink for hand washing. At $45 a night this is very over priced and not a good value. We would not return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
This is a field that has a few sites installed around the perimeter. The staff is friendly, but unavailable after 5pm. The pool could not be used as it had not been certified by the health department. This was a bit strange given it was late in the summer. We did discover the out houses, but not the showers. I assume they were there, we just didn't find them or look too hard to find them. The gravel road coming in will raise a lot of dust, so don't keep your windows open. Other than being convenient to downtown Savannah, I don't see this place as having much value for the price they charge. I won't be staying here again, at least not at this price for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
Read the reviews and checked out the website before making reservations. This property was exactly what we expected. It was clean, no frills but a perfect base to see Savannah and the surrounding areas from. Staff were very friendly, we loved the "feed store" they had fresh produce, eggs, etc and it was a nice change of pace from the typical campground office. The grounds were great for walks - we will definitely be here again. PS: found a great local restaurant, Brown's, that had fresh down home southern cooking about a mile from the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
Close to historic Savannah. Quiet, clean, and just what we needed for a base for seeing Savannah. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
Very easy access to Savannah, and to your site from entrance. The main campsite area consists of a large field with campsites on 2 sides. There is a cute, clean little restroom close to those sites (made to look like an outhouse, but is a real bathroom). Other facilities are very far away. You have to walk down a dirt road to the Pool (which was closed), shower house, bathroom and laundry, all of which were clean (we did not use, as we have all that). We just went looking for this, as no one tells you anything! This is a pretty setting...walk down another back road leads to gorgeous home on Lake, with another pretty home site before you reach the main one. It could be very nice RV park, but very confusing when you arrive, as there is no office and no information given out as to where everything is located. Someone just came out of the little store located just inside the gate, called via cell phone, then a few minutes later a young man arrived and led us to our site. There were 2 dumpsters at the opposite end of the field where we were parked. We noted that there were a few shaded sites in a remote area beyond the field where several motorhomes were parked. This was a very expensive park, and not well run. It has potential for being a very nice park, but needs someone with vision to make that happen. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
We specifically planned to stay here for two reason. One it advertises a pool, two it arranges a trolley tour to pick you up from campground to tour Savannah. On arrival there was no one to speak to, another camper gave me a cell no. and I spoke with the 'new' manager. He came to see us and said the pool is not in use due to problems with it, and the trolley tour doesn't come there anymore!! He was however apologetic and gave us a discount (we paid for one night instead of two) and he even called the trolley tour and arranged it (well it didn't come get us the following morning, so I called them and they came, although I did hear him talking to them so I guess this is not his fault). The showers are at least a 5 minute walk away which was a pain (the one in our rental RV was broken!) It's a very pretty campground. Although the hook ups are in a field with not many trees or seclusion, there were some shady sites which were not full hook up. Midges were a problem and we soon discovered why no one set out at night! Given the manager's apologies etc we would stay here again and perhaps they'll have sorted out the problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
We stayed at this park 4 nights and its a beautiful property. Unfortunately the park seems like a sideline for the owners. At a rate of $45 per night we expected a park office (not a feed store), laundry (not working), cable TV (not available) and a pool (filthy dirty). They do a really good job keeping the grass mowed. I would not recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$41
Rate is based on AAA discount. Basically a big field with spots of gravel laid out to make a site. Same with sites near trees but they cost more. Trees are big old live oaks that might be risky in big winds. Close to highway noise but convenient to Savannah. Our site had only 50 amp service and no shut off switch or breaker on the pedestal. Could be dangerous having to unplug with live power, especially if raining. Good for a couple nights only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$41
This, my friends/RV buddies, is the place to stay. Excellent owners, just plain old people you like to be around. Only a short drive to downtown Savannah. They have a dog on the grounds that just loves to play. I will be back. Thanks Red Gate Farms for your southern welcome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$40
If you are going to spend time sight-seeing in Savannah this is the perfect location. Pet-friendly, enormous area to walk or bike ride. We found it to be very noisy with traffic and nightly trains nearby. We would stay again for a quick trip, but not for a lengthy stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2010
$36
This is just meant as a little warning... In our eleven years of camping experience, this has never happened to us before (and we are full-time campers). Two months before we came down to Georgia, we asked for a quote for staying one month with Red Gate Campground. They told us it would be $550/month and to call them a week ahead of our stay to make sure they had space. One week before leaving Massachusetts, we called the campground again and they told us there was space. But by then, their rate had gone up to $650 / month. Their explanation for that was, that they were in higher demand now and so they raised their prices. For us, the reason they mentioned to just raise the prize to $100 more was inappropriate, but we still told them we'd come and stay with them. It was a three day drive from MA with our small kids. When we arrived at Red Gate Campground, a host greeted us and told us then and there that they charge $700 / month. Now we were totally perplexed. Then we were told that they actually weren't sure that there was space for us. So the host went into his office and stayed there for 20 minutes. In the meantime, our little kids, tired from sitting in the car, played outside. During our wait, our three year old daughter's shirt was covered with ants and I had to rip all her clothes off of her quickly, but she was still bitten all over her upper body. We were told by a couple staying at the campground and seeing me fighting off the ants, that they had to go inside their camper early the night before, because ants would keep biting them on their site. At that point, I already wanted to leave this campground behind us. When the host finally came to us and told us that he only had a weekly site for us, where we could stay at until a monthly site would open up, and that for $250 / week, we decided to look for another place. We settled on Tybee Island's Campground and had a great time and a beautiful beach in walking distance. Red Gate campground looked very nice and clean, but after this unfortunate experience, I surely don't want to ever go back there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$45
This is a new campground with 17 sites but what a nice place to stay. Everyone is so friendly and the camp hosts went out of their way to make sure you were happy. We stayed their for 4-days and will come back to stay again. If this is your first time to Savannah take the trolley tour. The Orange Trolley will pick you up at the park and bring you back. The hosts will make the arrangements for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$45
This is a nice park; it is clean and very well kept. It is a place where the other RV'ers are like neighbors. The location is very convenient and the Old Town Tours will even provide pickup service for their tours. There was no cable TV service however, there are several local stations your RV antenna will pickup clearly. The Wi-Fi service was weak in our RV, but at the clubhouse the service was great. I would gladly stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$45
Very friendly people but obviously they aren't experienced RVers. To develop a new park that caters to today's RVers, this park is lacking 30 amp service at some sites; has poor WiFi at sites; no cable TV; the services are at a poor position at the rear of the sites. Our site only had 30 amp service. Water pressure is very low. WiFi at site is bad even with my booster. Very dusty access road right behind our rig and WHO is policing the speeders in the 5 mph area? For what you get this park is VERY over priced! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
Just returned from a wonderful getaway at Red Gate last week. Everything about your campground is wonderful! We loved the site at C2, being on the lake, and loved biking around the property visiting the horses, chickens, and goats. The facilities were all clean and well equipped, the pool was quiet and relaxing, and... the hospitality was wonderful! We cant thank you enough for a wonderful trip and we hope to come back should our travels bring us to Georgia again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$42
This park is soon to be a jewel in the South. Stopped here for 2 days on the way home from a 6 week trip. The hosts and owners couldn't be more friendly and helpful. A truly beautiful property. Recently started to add RV sites, it was a long time cattle/dairy farm. Old home plantation buildings with many trails to drive or walk. Convenient to everything, only about 5 miles from downtown Savannah and 5 miles from Hunter AFB for those that have base commissary privileges. The owner and I had a great discussion about his plans and I can't wait to come back year after year to see the development. My wife has family in the area and said that coming here to visit will be a much more often made trip now that we have found this park. The only reason for a score of 9 instead of 10+ is that there are still a few details in the works on multiple option power pedestals and the possibility of adding cable TV. Antenna works great and receives and 10-12 stations. Many of the other coaches have their satellites up and appear to have no difficulty in sight lines. Wi-Fi works well and fast throughout the park. Truly one of the most beautiful and pleasant parks I have stayed at during our 6 week trip through the NE. A great place to stay and rest up for a few days on the way home to Orlando. Also honored Military ID for discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
Got off to a bad start here as they overbooked and tried to move us to a KOA. After balking they found us an overflow spot which has enormous space around it but no sewer or cable and poor satellite. Excellent Wi-Fi however. It's a nice place with mostly just field type sites and no amenities. Free washer and dryer, though, which is nice. Good base to see Savannah area. Would have been happier if they had offered to at least discount the rate given we had no sewer or cable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$47
Came here because of the Internet photos (which have changed on there web site in the last 2 weeks with NOT many pictures of the RV parking area) and recommendations of the people below me on this site. Boy was I mislead. First there is no RV site that can see any water, period. Also the previous posters need to understand the difference between a pond and a lake. There are small ponds here, not a lake. Second, the RV park is a field with no shade trees at all. Third, you are parked along the outside of the (football field as I call it) field by the dirt road in an L shaped formation with 16 sites long ways and 4 on the other part that form and L shape. Now for the bad part. We inquired about monthly stay 2 weeks before arrival and the owner quoted a price. We did arrive 2 weeks later (I have a brand new RV so don’t even think that I was turned down because of an older RV) and the first thing that was told to me was "we do not have monthly sites.”. Clearly, several of the sites and some around the office and barn have guest who have been staying here for a long time. Honestly I was glad because with no cable, no shade, no Wi-Fi except around the office (at least they have a strong signal there), no pond view, no posted rate on the Internet, which should have been my first clue; there was no desire to stay longer than 1 day. This park changes rules almost daily so please beware what was told to you before arrival may not be what you get when you arrive. Why bother coming here when the price changes without notice, no cable, no shade, no pond or water view (which there earlier website showed a fiver by the water with the impression that all sites were like that and by the way has been replaced with a website that has little information) but man they sure talk about being close to the “Historic District”. For a nightly rate of almost 50 dollars forget it. The people who run this place are far more impressed with their field than I ever was. Buyers beware. Oh and if you inquire about anything at this park by email then don’t expect a quick answer because hardly ever anyone in the office during the day. They post there cell phone numbers and you get to track them down. Oops and the train at 11 PM and 3 AM was a real joy. Shook the entire RV while passing by. THIS IS A FARM FIRST AND AN RV PARK SECOND. This park is managed by cell phone, not someone in the office to answer questions you might have. It is like you have to ask for permission to do anything here. They do not like drop in arrivals either. It was made clear that the way they want it to work was by reservation only. Not a comfortable feeling at all. You can be the nicest owner but at some point you have to decide if you want to farm or manage an RV park. You are better off at the Flying J – it is about the same experience but at least you kept your 50 dollars. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
Red Gate is a small grouping of about 20 RV sites on an open field within an inactive farm setting. Overall, an attractive setting with good potential. I would never stay here again however because of what appears as a seriously deficient electrical service. My RV read no higher than 108 volts at any time. It went below 100 volts when the AC was turned on. Same with the water heater, it pegged well below 100 volts. I was located on the end of the sites with my generator on the outside. I ran it for A/C when needed and used propane for water heating and the refrig. When I registered, the nice lady told me there had been some problems with the WiFi which she “hoped had been fixed.” Based on an earlier review, I believe this was a polite way of saying not to expect much. The signal was so weak to be useless. The park has great potential, however for $45/night I believe it reasonable to expect electrical service that does not risk damaging my RV's electric system. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
Located close to Savannah. A very spacious park that has relatively few sites so it does not feel crowded.Wonderful owners and staff. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$50
This park is easy to reach from I-95 without having to deal with small city streets and tight intersections. The RV sites are arranged in an "L" and are wide open, unobstructed, if you want good satellite coverage. The family owners live on the plantation and take pride in maintaining and improving the RV park. Good WiFi, but no cable TV. The Savannah Trolley Tour comes right into the RV Park at 9 AM and drops people off at 4:30. Very convenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
A very cool place. It's like staying at a plantation. You park in around the edge of this very large field. It's very level, lots of space between you and your neighbor. Great bike paths that take you around to ponds and a beautiful plantation type home. It's very close to Savannah. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
Where do I begin? This park is Tops in our books. The owners are wonderful. The grounds are so peaceful and beautiful. Our family felt like we were in a different world. The owners were wonderful in helping us find a great mechanic to diagnose our truck problems and made our stay terrific. We would definitely go back and stay, actually hoping to go this fall. If you are going to the Savannah area this is the place you have to stay at. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
Wow! What a beautiful plantation! My husband and I didn't know what to expect when we pulled in but once we toured the park we were really pleased. The kids were in heaven. The first thing that we noticed was all the beautiful trees and the lakes. After we got settled, we immediately went to the pool, and it was very nice with a beautiful view. We spent the majority of our first day there at the pool. The owners of the property were there as well, and they were very kind and made us feel very welcomed. They even let us tour the Mackey House, a southern plantation home where they do weddings. This was southern hospitality at its best. If you are visiting Savannah this is the place to go. We are definitely coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$50
We LOVED this place. The setting is a family-owned farm that has been in the family for generations, and it is absolutely gorgeous. The people could not be nicer, and there is just a friendly, easy feeling about the place. Nice facilities, beautiful ponds, lush green fields, mature trees and very convenient to Savannah. Owners (who are all from the same family; most live on property) are continually making improvements and have plans to add more sites and upgrades. We will definitely be back to Red Gate Farm. And if you stay there, you must be sure to throw a ball or a stick for Disco! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2010
$45
We just spent 4 days at Red Gate Plantation while touring Savannah. Although we chose Red Gate because of its close proximity to town, we soon discovered its country charm. The farm is very well kept: clean, beautifully landscaped, newly painted, with spacious gravel sites. Unfortunately, if you arrive after May 1, you will miss the joy of the Big Red Bus. Two sites from us were the owners of the red bus, their dog, two cats and 4 hens. That's right, 4 hens. We spent time every morning drinking our coffee/tea and watching the hens nibbling away at their breakfast. You will also miss the taste of fresh brown eggs that were shared with us for breakfast. The Big Red Bus will be gone, but you will truly enjoy your stay at this family owned resort. They were available whenever I called, and were also a wealth of information about what to do and where to eat. When we visit or pass through Savannah again, Red Gate Plantation will be our place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$45
This was a strange campground: a farm that they are in the process of making into a campground. Our site was not at a lake, it was in a large field, no shade, with a 50 amp electric box that did not seem right, small box very low to the ground. The clubhouse was locked, the pool was being painted, an exercise room was being painted, and the laundry was only one washer and dryer in a building that closed at 6 PM. The one shower was also in there. There was a shed-type building right behind a motorhome, which housed a toilet and sink. And yes, there is a permanent resident here with chickens, but the chickens were kind of neat. This place is close to Savannah, and may be worth the money when finished, but they should not be charging this much at this time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$45
This park was not your ordinary park but that's what we loved about it. If you love plenty of room, large oak trees, ponds and wildlife, you will enjoy this park. I read some reviews that I couldn't disagree more with. The red bus was here but I was informed they were given 30 days notice to leave. However, I didn't think it was bad at all. The management was very helpful and provided us with information on things to do in the area. Many of the sites didn't have much shade, but ours did. This park has a lot of character and the potential is incredible. We have already recommended the park to some of our friends and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$45
We stayed here a couple of days while visiting Savannah, but it's not really a park I would spend any significant time at. The signage is terrible here and we kind of wandered around trying to find either an office, or someone to get us checked in and lead us to our site. There IS an office near the end of the park roadway (gravel), but don't try entering their long semi-circle driveway to get to the building. Between the low-handing tree branches and the narrow fenced entryway, most RVs will not make it. Facilities are extremely rustic here. The park appeared to be a former camp, with very old (ancient) facilities for recreation, entertainment, etc. The owners, I believe, are in the process of converting the facility into a nice RV resort or campground, but some things are a little strange. For example, the sewer hookup about 15 feet away from the other resources. The sites are all on crushed limestone pads. When it rained, we wound up with a lot of chalky splash-marks on our rig when we left. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$48
We camped here over the St. Patricks Day holiday. The park was very nice and has many beautiful ponds. We stayed on a bluff overlooking one of them. It was very private and the manager was very helpful. I would recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$41
We camped here because it was the closest RV park to historic downtown Savannah, and it was easy to go back and forth. The park seems to be in transition, as they were setting up new gravel pads while we were there (we didn't see anything that approximated 25 camp sites with hook-ups). Red Gate Plantation itself is quite spacious, and we had a nice large site under a beautiful oak tree with a view of the lake. We're not sure what amenities would be available in the summer, although that's not very important to us. The owners were very laid back (a plus), but never stopped by after we got set up to offer us a map of Savannah or any other information. This park also needs to do some work on the technical details: the 50 amp service had the wrong fitting for the plug, and there was no circuit breaker. The sewer also had no cover plug, and sloped upward around the opening. Even so, we made it all work, and really enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$45
After checking the reviews for parks in the area, we decided to stay here. The only plus was that the owner was very friendly. The utilities worked fine, but we have come to expect that as basic to park operations. None of the facilities listed on the website were available, even showers. There was no laundry, no showers, no reliable Wi-Fi, no exercise room. Even the bathrooms were incomplete with only one working toilet that had no sink for handwashing and no heat. We were parked next to someone living in a converted school bus that raised chickens that roamed freely and annoyed our dogs. The same full-time residents released the dog unsupervised to do his business and obviously did not pick up behind him. The property has terrific potential, but customers should not be expected to pay full-price rates for minimal functionality. We would stay here again if the facilities are completed as advertised or if the rates were adjusted. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$45
We stayed at Red Gate for 10 days and really enjoyed it. Park is close to everything in the city. The park has 2 different settings you can camp in. We camped on the lake under the oak trees. I would definitely stay in that spot again. The only complaint is that the bathrooms were being renovated however the manager did tell me in advance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com