206944 User submitted reviews online!!
Datil Well Campground (BLM) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (505) 835-0412
CGID11181

Datil Well Campground (BLM)

Camp Information
Sites
22
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   7   10   8   10   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2014
$5
This is a nice campground but the BLM has posted a large sign at the entrance that describes how due to budget constraints they have reduced services. The main effect is there IS NO WATER. This is a big issue as it is one site where the BLM website states they have water. There is no WIFI as other reviewers have stated, no firewood and there was no staff onsite. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$5
Nice spot at 7,400 ft elevation, just off Rt 60. Quiet, partly shaded. Sites are not level but OK with some leveling blocks. Cell signals are weak but usable with a booster if you have one, and unbelievably (considering the location) there is free WiFi in the little "visitor center"cabin at the entrance. This place is quite a bargain if you are traveling along Rt 60 through northern New Mexico, and enjoy quiet, less popular spots in natural settings. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$5
Very good BLM campground. Sites are a little tight, gravel, and not very level. Nice, helpful camp host. Nice trails. Due for major renovation next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$5
Dry camping that cannot be beat! There is a darling, new, little "visitor's center" cabin at the entrance that offers travel literature and strong, free Wi-Fi (how often does one get THAT while boondocking in the mountains?). We were just passing through on our favorite road, US 60, and had planned to stay in Pie Town, but locals recommended this place and we were very grateful. Very quiet, large sites. We stayed at the top of the loop, right by the hiking trail access, and enjoyed a 2-mile hike in the afternoon we arrived and then a different 2-mile hike in the morning. Spectacular views of the Plains of St. Augustin. Very well-marked trails on which we encountered elk a few times. And the water from the springs is delicious. Best $5 we've ever spent. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$3
Great campground at an amazing price. Half of the sites are pull-through. It's dry camping, but that's what an RV is for. No channels available on the antennae. Incredibly clean restroom. Loved the hiking trail with plenty of signs. Easy trail with a gorgeous sunrise view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$5
Very nice campground. The camp hosts are very helpful and inviting. The stars are absolutely amazing and the hiking is great during the day. Sure worth the stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$5
Yes: it's worth $5 but that's all. The scenery is spectacular, but there is no dump or electricity and few water spigots. Host is a typical smart-alect. Stay overnight and don't talk to anyone. It's a long drive for any supplies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$5
This is a BLM campground, about a quarter mile of excellent gravel road off US Hwy 60 a mile west of Datil. 12 Pull-through sites and 10 back-ins. Only three of the pull-throughs are large enough for a big rig, and even these are too sharply curved to allow a big rig to drive completely through. The pull-through sites do not have large level areas, so a large RV has difficulty getting level in them. Most of the back-ins are large enough for any rig and are quite level. Interior roads are good gravel, as are the sites themselves. Each site has a ramada with picnic bench, a fire ring, a barbecue, and a 32-gallon trash can. The sites are mostly hidden from one another by trees. The vault toilets are sparkling clean and have hand sanitizer dispensers. There are several water hydrants. There is a seven day limit on stays. There is a wonderful hiking trail near the campground. It has a couple two-mile loops, or you can take the outer three-mile loop. There are interpretive signs along the trail, describing the different kinds of trees and shrubs and providing some history. The $5 daily rate is eligible for the federal Senior Pass, so it only cost us $2.50/night. It's at 7,400' elevation. They provide free fire wood. With an external antenna I was able to get a weak Verizon signal; without the antenna, nothing. We will definitely stay here again next time through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com