221611 User submitted reviews online!!
Ventura Ranch KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (805) 933-3200
CGID11203

Ventura Ranch KOA

Camp Information
Sites
112
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   1   8   9   7   9   9   6   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$42
This park could be a gem if they could get things working right. There was an extremely helpful and friendly young lady in the office who worked very hard to find us a spot we could get into. The park is very nicely laid out with quiet areas for old fogies like us and more lively areas for those who want to party hearty. I like this arrangement in a park. The bathhouses are clean, with private shower rooms. Very few sites have sewer but there is a pump-out truck that comes Mondays and Fridays. The problem is that you don't know when it's coming. We would have to leave our basement doors open for him to get to the controls, which we didn't want to do, so we had to wait. Sites need more gravel; they are mostly dirt. Wi-Fi was useless in our part of the park; I had to take a hefty walk up to the office area to use it on a daily basis. Cable was terrible. We couldn't get some channels that were listed, several other channels came in very fuzzy. Periodically, the cable would go out altogether. Antenna brought in mostly Spanish- and Japanese-language stations. The office didn't seem to be overly concerned about the cable problems....the answer usually was "we'll have someone look at it", which nobody did. Our site was very unlevel; we had to use all our blocks to level the rig. High fee for guests: $10 for car and driver, $4 for each additional guests, even if they don't plan to use the pool. What pool, you might ask? Apparently, the pool had been closed for weeks for repair, a fact that they don't bother to mention when you make reservations or even when you check in. Of course, they didn't lower the camping price because of no pool. The river had dried up to a stagnant pond, so you couldn't even wade in the river. The pool finally opened on the day we left, and a very nice pool it is. It appears to me that they are going to let locals use the pool for a fee, so it was very crowded with people wearing wristbands. There are two zip lines ($$) that looked fun and some kids' activities on the weekends. On the whole, this could be a GREAT park if they would pay attention to the infrastructure and get things working. As it is right now, it's way too expensive for what they offer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
Unlike some other reviewers here I found this KOA lacking in every aspect as an RV park. It's more a tent type of place. The trees are in need of trimming, I couldn't get into my pull through site because of low hanging branches. I called the office to use a different site and all I got from the kid was the run around. Then I found that the 50 amp electrical was not wired correctly but I was ignored. There is a critical water shortage in CA but this place watered so much there was water running down the street. The price I paid was way too much for what I got. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
Great place for kids to run wild. Has gravel sites, and a nice amount of space between sites. Also has friendly, helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$55
We spent 5 days at Ventura Ranch KOA and plan on going back every year going forward. Wonderful patio's and huge sites. We are taking our whole family next year with our kids and grandkids because we did not relaize how much there is to do for children. And a pool and water slides are coming for the summer of 2014. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$65
This park will probably rank as a 9 or 10 in a year or two. There is quite a bit of construction going on in the common areas. The bathrooms and showers that have been rebuilt are great. The ones that haven't are absolutely disgusting. The pool looks like it will be nice when they get it done. There will be a small village and several more cabins added in the future. The kids enjoyed the jumping pillow and swings. We went mid-week, so the zip lines, bike rentals and nature walks were all closed. Again, looks like a typical activity packed KOA. The sites were fairly spacious with several of them having a brick patio and furniture. One thing we could have done without was the occasionally overwhelming smell of propane and sewer gas. Don't know what that was about. Peacocks and quail roam the campground and are interesting to watch. I think I'd like to return here in a year or two to see the finished product. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
This is a fairly new looking campground, and they seem to be working hard to make it a great one. There are some uncommon (to campgrounds) facilities such as a zip line and other activities that you can partake in. A pool will be available soon (it is under construction). My biggest complaint is that the closest bathrooms and showers to my site were quite a walk (up a couple flights of stairs) from my campsite, up by the clubhouse. If you can't walk that far, however, there is parking and you can drive there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$66
We were traveling with another couple and the four of us were knocked out at the clean bathrooms and showers. The setting is shady, up in the foothills. They have peacocks that wander around the grounds. The sites were nice and big and we had comfortable patio furniture. It's a bit of a drive to the Reagan Library but the beauty of this campground is worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$44
This campground is pretty, nice landscaping against a backdrop of mountains. However, it is a bit off the beaten track. There are peacocks running free on the site, but we did not get to see them. The site was unlevel from back to front, as well as side to side. You had to climb a fair number of stairs to washrooms, and there was no light in the shower, only skylight, making evening showers a bit difficult. The KOA guide says Internet is free, but that is only 1 hour in a 24-hour period. You need to pay $4 extra to have unlimited access for a day. Felt like false advertising. Dump station is inconveniently located, with nowhere to line up without blocking the access road. No pool either. Overall, expensive for what you get. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$50
Very nice park. It was a little noisy during the day because they are making tons of improvements. They have teepees, luxury tents, a zip line, kids play areas and they will be adding a pool. When the construction is done this will be a great park. There was a downside to our stay. The lady in the front office was totally incompetent. We had asked for a patio site and she didn't assign us to one even though several were available. Once we fixed that problem she gave me multiple, confusing directions on how to get to the site. Then, due to the fact we extended our stay we had to change sites part way through. When I contacted her, she told me to pick which site I wanted. I chose the site and she said it was mine. The next day she changed her mind and assigned me to another site. The next day when we were supposed to move, she again assigned us to another site. Get a grip lady, how hard is it to figure out where to put us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$37
Recently taken over by KOA, and they are putting sewer in at some sites, building new bathrooms and cleaning the park up. Had a nice spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$48
Friendly and helpful staff. Lots of work in progress which is inconvenient for guests. Toilets closed, showers closed. Nice facility in shaded, out of the way camp but close enough to highway. Hot part of the country during summer. They need to finish projects. Disappointed with this facility. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$59
This is a nice place with older trees and lots of shade. KOA is doing a lot of construction here but so far the work is looking rather nice. Nicely manicured roads and large sites. Only one loop has full hook ups, but lots and lots of electric and water sites as well as tent sites. The sites are gravel based so you will have to level your rig. They have some very eclectic stuff around like the “Frog Meadow”. A section of grass that is devoted to little frog sculptures. Interesting play area for the kids and families as well. Not only did they have teepees (they call them tipi's) and in some NICE areas of the place, right near the river, but also a full play area for the kids in that section with a pillow bounce, a climbable spaceship as well as pirate ship to crawl around, a rock wall to climb and both checkers and chess in large size. (Some of the chess pieces are bigger than the kids.) There is a nice river running through the place, but a little hard to get to. Verizon cell and MiFi worked great and because we were in the full hook up right near the office, the camp wifi was outstanding. Was able to see a clubhouse area that had been redone. Looked at the showers and I've got to say, quite impressive with wood all around and what looks like newer fixtures. Of course, KOA clean as well. Peacocks are everywhere and very pretty. They make some noise but are quiet at night. From here, you have access to Ojai and Ventura so we made a stop at Andria's Seafood in the Ventura Harbor. GREAT food but get there early as a line forms quickly on a weekend lunch. We WILL be coming back to this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$44
Beautiful setting in local hills outside of Santa Paula. Surrounded by citrus groves and beautiful vistas. No cable TV, pool or spa. Wide, gravel, unlevel, pull-through spots w/shade and table, firering, light. Took quite an effort to get our 37ft rig level enough for safety and comfort. Not many pull-through spots. With KOA mbrship, we paid $42.30 plus $1.80 for an unlevel pull through spot, at the very entrance to the park, and we had reservations. Pricey for a place with no cable TV, pool, gravel spots, and charming, but very noisy peacocks crowing in the very early AM and all day. Weak Wi-Fi. Office closes too early: 5PM. Santa Paula is a nice little town, away from the hustle of Ventura. Nice in spring but gets hot in the summer. Lots of Kamping Cabins which look new. Pool is planned for future. Nice place to go hiking as there is a nearby stream and trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$41
One of the best all around KOA's we have stayed at. Pull through sites were large, some shaded with table and fire ring, level with plenty of new gravel. People very friendly and accommodating as they changed my site on check in when they realized I had a satellite and need to be free of trees. Would definitely stay there again; however, it is a little out of the way. We did visit the Regan Library (29 miles) while we were there. Peacocks are beautiful and entertaining but are noisy at times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$20
Thank goodness for this campground. The staff was okay and the sites were wonderful. Problem with the septic truck, but was workable. After our last KOA, this was a dream. Clean restrooms and lots of things for the little ones to do. Keep up the improvements, it will be worth it in the long run. Will return on our next vacation. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$44
Nice facility in the middle of some upgrades and renovations. Friendly and helpful staff. Pretty during the month of November though cool. Close to many places but out of the crowds. Looking forward to return visit. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
What a delightful place to stay. The only problem is the peacocks, but I can stand that. The rock climbing wall was wonderful and the tepees would be fun to stay at. Everything is being worked on and this will be a fabulous park someday. My family and I will return soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
We camped here and were very satisfied. They took my 11th hour reservation and got us in the same area with friends. Sure the park is being renovated, but hey, KOA just took over last October of '09. When finished, this park will be a top rate park. I give it a top rating as it was when we were here. It was nice, quiet, and very peaceful. I would definitely recommend this park to stay at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$39
Do not agree with the earlier, negative views. This park was clean and quiet. Our site was a bit short for our trailer and tow vehicle when hitched, but nobody seemed upset and people helped us get in / out. The WiFi did go down for a couple hours one night, other than that, had zero problems. No grumpy hosts, they were quite nice. Yes, improvements are still being made. This park is going to get better and better. We will absolutely camp here again. Oh, a peacock left a 'deposit' on our trailer, suppose I should complain about them? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
This could be a nice park, someday. Lots of good ideas and LOTS of construction going on. They would be wise to focus and complete one project before moving onto the next. Not much to do here, but it's close to many area attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2010
$42
This park is now a KOA park and is under renovation. Of the 16 full hook ups available only 3 or 4 were available, the rest seem to be filled with permanent guests. The Wi-Fi was up but would not assign an IP address to my laptop. Staff was definitely not focused on customer service. The park manager promised to contact us about the Wi-Fi problems and never showed. Our site (P3) was not level and not clean. Peacocks are beautiful but keep the dogs excited. I don't recommend walking your dog after dark, meeting a Peacock in the dark is guaranteed. The sites with just water and power are quite nice and separated from the full hook ups by quite a margin. The park is up a canyon and has only one way out, I would not use it during California's fire season. I hope that KOA improves the park and staff. I'm inclined to think it should be closed until complete renovations are through. A poor showing for KOA here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2010
$36
Too bad KOA took over! My wife and I actually used to love this park, as did many other people for many more years than us. It was the kind of place that was lost in time! You could still take your kids here and it was just like when you were here as a kid! Beautiful, quiet and tucked away from all the typical California camping. Wild peacocks running around, squirrels jumping in the trees and the sound of coyotes howling in the lemon orchards above the park. Wow! It was unbelievable. Don't get me wrong, the bathrooms were outdated but very clean, as was the clubhouse, but it was cool! Unfortunately KOA took over and as with many of their parks the are overpriced and under quality. Now they brought in a soundstage for concerts and attractions for a carnival like setting! I know times change and things move on, but we're only 40 years old and hate to see unique, hidden treasures like this one disappearing. The previous managers and assistant managers were what that place needed!!! Too bad they are all gone! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$52
When we arrived at this new KOA Ventura Ranch Resort, we were very disappointed. We have stayed here for several years in the past and absolutely loved it. Though it was an older park, the restrooms, showers and clubhouse were kept in great shape and always sanitary. The prices were fair. Now that KOA has taken over, the place seems to be regressing even though they are remodeling? The park manager was one of the most rude gentleman my wife and I have ever had the displeasure of meeting! I can't say much more for the rest of the staff either. What happened to the old managers and staff who always had a smile on their face and did whatever they could to try and make every situation the best they could? All I can say is the prices went up (almost double) and the service went down as well as the look and feel of the park. I would instead recommend a different park if you still desire to be in that area. Too bad! We'll never be coming back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
Decent park. Park staff is friendly. If your rig is tall, watch for the trees. All sites have electric and water and a few have sewer. Pump out service is available. Located 10 miles from Ventura, best priced location in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We camped here with a group on a very hot weekend. The park had very low voltage. I understand safe voltage is between 110-120. We were only getting 104-106 most of the weekend with only one air conditioner on and absolutely nothing else on. I was very concerned about damaging something with such low voltage. The service in the loop is only 30 amp. You could not have camped in an RV without the air being on as it was an extremely warm weekend and we were also camping with dogs. The campground is gorgeous nestled between hills and orange groves. However, I would never camp here again in the heat of the summer. I think it would be a gorgeous place to go back to in the Fall through Spring. The peacocks were fairly quiet during the night time hours and were definitely an added attraction. The restrooms were inadequate for a campground this size. There was one restroom with 2 toilets and a sink that all 3 campground loops shared. There was a another restroom attached to the clubhouse that had a toilet, sink and shower in it and was unisex. The 2nd restroom in the clubhouse was not working. It was rather annoying as we had rented the clubhouse to use for our group meals and we could not get in to use the toilet as there was a huge lineup of 10 people wanting to take a shower. Evidently there was another restroom out by the front gate, but people were using this one, which should have been off limits. The people using it were from the tent only area. That area should have it's own restroom facility, but only had Porta Potties. We did hear the public address system from a large group camped in the tent area. Just what you want to hear when you're camping. We saw no sign of Management the whole weekend, which could be a plus or a minus. It would have been nice if they had told the other group to turn off their music and public address system late at night. The campground had a lot of trees and a grass area. If you have dogs, check out the grass as some areas had burr patches. The only recreation I saw was the horseshoe pits. The sprinklers came on several times Saturday night and flooded our campsite creating a mud pit outside our front door. They don't seem to watch the sprinklers as I finally turned one off after it had been on for an hour flooding the horseshoe pit area. Our friends said earlier in the week the sprinkler came on in their campsite for 7 hours overnight. So much for water conservation! The clubhouse is very nice for a group with a stove/oven, fridge, microwave, sink, tables and chairs. The downside is it was not air conditioned and so we had to keep the unscreened sliding door open. I didn't see any mosquitoes, but they did have an abundance of small flies. I would not call this place a resort by any stretch of the imagination. However it is a cute and quaint campground and I'm sure it would be lovely to camp in, if it weren't the middle of summer. There is only one dump station at the entrance to the campground. No backflushing allowed, just dumping. There is a $1.00/day fee for dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
This campground does have sewer uphooks if you want to pay the 'premium price'. I felt it was too much but they said no other sites were available for my size rig. Wifi works but you will probably only be able to get it in the 'premium sites'. I have an ongoing problem with these campgrounds that call themselves a resort. This one has a horseshoe pit and that is it! I think that resorts have swimming pools, spas, etc. A lot of the sites are unlevel. The good is that the surrounding views are very nice. The grounds of the campground are pretty with lots of flowers and greenery. The peacocks are beautiful but they are loud at night. But still too expensive for what you get and my rate was a weekly one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
Paved sites, no sewer. Some sites are very un-level. The grass is watered every night, even in the rain. Some of the areas were quite muddy. During this trip the local Peacocks were mating. Loud screechs could be heard all through the night. Interesting to look at during the day, but tough to sleep at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
Our RV group camped here for three nights. We were treated very well, from the reservation process, through to the departing morning. They even supplied us with a free continental breakfast the day we left. We used their club house for the whole time we were there. It was very nice. It would have been nice to have sewer, but the hills make it impossible. There was a honey wagon twice a week for $15.00 per dump. There is an aded fee of $1.00 per dog per day. There is a tenting area which we visited. I would not recommend it. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$2
This is a beautiful roomy park, surrounded by mountains. There are gorgeous peacocks roaming around the property. We would definitely stay here again, but we have two complaints: 1. There was some trash left behind at our site, and; 2. We went to a movie and came back after 10PM. The staff did not warn us that they lock the gates after 10PM. We ultimately found out the combo to the lock and opened the gate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2007
$23
We stayed here on a monthly basis. Monthly fees are approx $600 + dogs + vehicles + electricity + breathing = $700/month. The pros: Extra nice office staff, very pretty park, petting zoo with horses, goats, lots of peacocks, great location for access to the hills, secluded instead of "downtown". The cons: Only one small area has full hookups, about 14 spaces. No TV reception if you do not speak Spanish, no cable. Wireless experience about a 9/10, occasionally frustrating. Fees for everything, showers, movie rental (no honor system), dogs. The extra money must go toward the policing system, it is quite active. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$23
Park is divided up into groves. Pine has sewer hookups, but for monthly stays only. Alder and Birch are for nightly and weekly stays. Cedar is for monthlies, but no sewer connections. It does have honey wagon service. Mature trees throughout the park make for a beautiful setting. WIFI is available in all the park except for Alder. A small laundromat up near the office (2 washers and 4 dryers) is kept very clean. This park would rate a 10 if it had a TV service and more full hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$22
We really enjoyed our stay here. Our camping club used the clubhouse - it was well appointed. The sites are a nice size and there was lots of shade. The best part were the camp hosts and other workers. This is one friendly group!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$27
Very quiet and scenic park with friendly staff. The only downside was the lack of power and no sewer hookups. When the park was full, the power to our site dropped below 98 volts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$21
Very attractive sites in some sections. There was lots of space between sites. All the sewer connection were in Pine Grove and are for campers staying one month or longer. Our first site was not level, but the second one was. The resort is located in Steckel County Park, 4 miles north of Santa Paula. There are fruit orchards and vineyards in the area. WIFI can be received throughout the park, but difficult at times to connect or stay connected. Best place to connect was at the laundry. About 25 peacocks roam around the park and can be quite noisy at times. Overall I would stay here again just for the scenery. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com