223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Tanglewood Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (336) 703-6400
CGID11293

Tanglewood Park

Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   9   8   10   10   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$31
We were very pleased with this shady, spacious county park. Definitely will call next time to discuss a level site since the sloped ones were the most un-level paved sites we have ever seen! We spent one night using a lot of blocks to level one of those, then changed sites to a better one for our return visit.This is a great location for Winston-Salem and touring Old Salem. Also a perfect base for touring the Yadkin Valley wineries. Will recommend and return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$31
Beautiful park within a gorgeous large county park. Nice sites, very nice staff. Some sites are very difficult to level, best to call and discuss with staff. Wonderful experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$31
This is an excellent county park! Well maintained and operated. Three different camp hosts are on site and very helpful. No need for a satellite dish as over 70 cable SD channels are available via Time Warner. A terrific walking loop trail is adjacent to the campground for dogs and their people. The only drawback to the campground is that a number of the sites are moderately to intensely sloped (front to back). I did a walk through and rated the sites from level to moderate to just plain "try to avoid". Level sites: 1,2,3,10-23, and 38-43. Moderate: 4,8,9 and 44. Avoid: 24-37 these sites will take a lot of work to level out your unit. Additional, don't expect too much from the bathroom/showers. While the rest of the park has been nicely updated, surprisingly they missed the bath house. Tent campers and motorcycles are not allowed. Overall, I would definitely stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$31
Well maintained county park. Paved one way roads and angled back-in sites. Maximum stay is 2 weeks. As mentioned before many sites not level and some have quite a drop from front to back so leveling some rigs might be a problem. Can reserve online and even pick your site. Registration is not well marked but camp hosts are available and will escort to site. If in area we will definitely return We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$31
Nice county park with lots to do. Sites are paved and well maintained. Nothing fancy to the landscaping. Most sites will require some sort of leveling. About 10 sites are pretty well sloped (front/back) and would be better suited for trailers that can level with tongue jack. Over all a great value and we will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
As others have reported here, this campground is a hidden gem about 12 miles from Winston-Salem. Situated within the 1200 acre Tanglewood Park, the campground is located in a lovely grove of mature trees, far enough from the interstate highway to make for a quiet night's sleep. The trees are trimmed so as not to interfere with larger rigs. Full hookups all work well, including the free Wi-Fi. The large sites are paved, and some are considered "not level" so when you make your reservation be sure to inquire. Most sites are well separated from neighboring sites. The overall park sports an equestrian center and bridle trails, two 18 hole golf courses, a water park, an off-leash dog park, and hiking trails. This was our second visit here, and in fact, we travelled about 50 miles out of our way to camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
This is a fabulous RV park...the one that is used as our benchmark for all parks. You are greeting upon arrival with a golf cart escort to your site, and assisted with backing your rig. The park features a dog park, bike/walking trails, water park, and horse rides. Deer roam the property like they are parts. Note which sites are level, and which are not...as you will need leveling blocks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$31
This is a real gem. A small campground with only 44 sites set in a 1100 acre county park. Very well maintained with full hookups and friendly helpful hosts who escort you to your site and help in any way possible. The road is paved and the pad is asphalt. Sites are unlevel and they do slope, just make sure to ask for a level site when you make a reservation, this is a popular place, and gets booked up quickly. Most of the sites are back ins, and big rig access is good. Very quiet, with space and some privacy around the RV, lots of wonderful mature shade trees, grass, picnic table, and we had a lovely view into the woods and across fields. There is no laundry and the rustic bathrooms are old but clean. The off leash dog park is large with plenty of space for the dogs to run around, and there are pick up bags all around the campground. The bike trails and walking paths are lovely, along with tennis, golf, horse stables, pool etc. The park is located off 1-40, but we heard no traffic noise at all, and no motorcycles are allowed in the park or campground. Five minutes from the grocery store and ten minutes to Winston Salem. Wi-Fi and cell are good. We would definitely stay here again. It's a wonderful campground  open from March 1st to December 1st, and set in beautiful manicured grounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
This is a very nice park. We arrived a few minutes after the office had closed but our welcome packet was waiting in the mail box. We drove around into the campground and the host came out to meet us. He escorted us to our site since this was our first stay at the park and helped back us right in. He told us a little about the park and the area and if we had any questions to feel free to come to his camper and ask. Very friendly. Some of the sites are very sloped and we do not see how your could get very level. They do however tell you this when you book your site online. The roads are nicely paved and easy to navigate. The sites also have a pad and give you plenty of room. For all the activities you have to actually go into the park, they are not right at the campground. But they have plenty of trails you can walk or bike ride. They have a very large pool, 2 golf courses, a 3 par course, horseback riding, 2 lakes and 3 mountain bike paths. We were disappointed that you could not have a campfire at your campsite. Not sure why, there was plenty of room between spaces. There were some community fire rings by the pavilion but you would have to drag your firewood over there if you were not in one of the close spots. They have just opened a beautiful off leash dog park that is situated right at the entrance to the campground. We will definitely be frequenting this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
Wow. This is a beautiful park just minutes South of Winston-Salem. Great mountain bike trails, walking paths, golf course, and over all beauty in the woods. About half the sites are pretty level, the rest are sloped pretty good. They seem to know this and tend to put the trailers in the more sloped sites. I would call ahead and ask for a level site. Pads are wide and spaced well apart. Roads are paved and smooth. It is hard to get a 10 out of me, but this one comes close. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$31
This is the first park my family camped at with our new camper. I think we got spoiled now because every time we go camping we say Tanglewood is still our favorite. We love the fact the sites are all paved with plenty of space between your neighbor. There is so much to do here as a family. There is two golf courses, tennis(which you need white soled shoes because the courts are the real deal and there is a 6 dollar fine I think), water park, horse stables, miles of trails both mountain and walking, arces of beautiful land, and just a all around great campground close to the interstate. They just opened a new fenced in dog park where you can let you dog run like the wind. There is a grocery store right through the field so if you need anything its close enough to walk too. The only thing that some people may not like the fact that there is no fire pits at your campsite but they do have a couple down by the pavilion which was no big deal to us. We love this campground and I hate to brag to much because I don't want it to stay full all the time.:) Hope they build more sites in the near future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$31
Very nice park. Spent 2 nights enjoying the many walking trails through the park facilities. Also have mountain bike and horse trails. Big equestrian area including stables, steeplechase and wide open spaces. Golf, tennis, 2 lakes to enjoy and the list goes on. They are getting ready for the Festival of Lights and it looks like it will be a fabulous show. Sites are paved but leveling can be a problem. Staff is very helpful and the whole park is spotless. Enjoyed by the community daily. Good choice when in the area and will stay here again if that is the case. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$31
This is a lovely little campground in an 1100 acre county park that was once the estate of a member of the Reynolds tobacco family. Interior roads and sites are all paved and sites are all full-hookup. There is lots of space between sites, the trees are high and not obstructive. Some sites are not level, but when making reservations you can select a level or non-level site. Restrooms are rustic but spotless. Recreational activities within the campground are limited, but the park offers two 18-hole golf courses, two lakes, a tennis center, horseback riding, a playground, a pool, and many other things to do. There is no campground store, but there is a supermarket just down the road. The park is located off I-40, 10 minutes from Winston-Salem. There is no traffic noise to speak of. This is one of those campgrounds we wish we could find everywhere we travel with our RV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
This is a fabulous park. The sites are beautiful with big hardwood trees. The staff could not have been more helpful. We liked all the hiking trails and the horses in the adjoining pasture made for a lovely setting. Deer wander through the park almost daily. Many sites have a slope, but we were able to level. Once the dog park is built,this will be a 10 star park. It is very quiet during the week but fills up on the weekend. Be sure you have a reservation. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
This campground has been updated and reopened 3 years ago, after a number of years being closed. It is part of Forsyth County's Tanglewood recreational park. We stayed here just one night, to check out this park, on our way home from a 3 week trip. We last camped here in the old campground in the 1980's. The newly renovated campground has many pluses, but some minuses. All paved campground roads and pads. Full hookups, including cable TV. No noticeable road traffic noise at night. The campsite pads are not all level. Many having a fair slope to them. They did not take the opportunity to level the sites before paving the pads. My wife checked out the shower building and was not pleased. The shower building has individual showers, each with a shower curtain, but provide only a common, shared, dressing area outside the shower stalls. That is very old style and should have been changed with the campground upgrade. Maybe the planners assumed that all RV campers would use their RV showers, since they have full hookups. We don't like trying to shower in our RV's small shower, unless we really don't want to shower in a campground's showers. The Tanglewood complex provides many recreational amenities: newly opened outdoor Aquatic Center, hiking and biking trails (paved and mountain), two golf courses, BMX course, play grounds, beautiful arboretum, horse riding stables open to the public, horse riding trails. All a short drive from the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$31
In previous years we had only visited Tanglewood Park at Christmas for their annual Festival of Lights. We had no idea there were so many amenities available. Biking trails, hiking trails, horse trails, soccer/cricket fields, tennis courts, fishing, paddle boats, pool, golf course, BMX track, manor house, arboretum, rose garden. I was amazed at how nice everything was. We camped in a fifth wheel at the only pull-through site. The campground is very well maintained. A family oriented place. We saw people flying kites, having picnics. Also very nice shelters for get-togethers. Would definitely return. There is a nice Harris-Teeter close by and also restaurants about five minutes away. Happy camping! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$31
This is a nice county park. We always enjoy staying here. Limited pads for Class "A". Many sites not level. Have three park "hosts" who rotate days and are wonderful. They can help with anything and are very personable. Park has two 18 hole golf courses, stables, pool, tennis, picnic areas, playgrounds. Lots of paved trails throughout the park for walking or running or riding bikes. Area is very convenient to downtown Winston Salem, wineries, grocery store, post office, pretty much anything you might need. Restrooms and showers are very old but clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$31
Very nice and clean campground. We really didn't take advantage of the amenities, since the weather was cool. We were looking for a place to take the kids camping. After arriving, we were informed that campfires were not permitted. The next morning, we left to go to another campground that allowed campfires. We might stay here again if looking for a place to sleep only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
Although not in Big Rig, this park can accommodate up to 45'. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. There's golf, tennis, pool, stables, driving range, Par 3 and facilities for those who visit without RV. There are a lot of trees, so just be prepared if you visit in the fall. Very convenient to shopping, restaurants, etc. Rules say only for 14 nights. Will definitely go back. One negative: they say level sites. They are not level. Just off I-40, so very easy off and on. Did not hear any traffic noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$31
Unless you read the fine print, you wouldn't know this was a county park! Easy access from major roads. Lots of things to do in the park - 2 golf courses, par 3 course, driving range, horse back riding, hiking/biking trails, etc. The campground itself is well-laid out. The camp hosts are friendly and willing to help in any way they can. The sites are paved and level, full hookups, including cable and a large picnic table. Lots of shade trees. The grounds are impeccably maintained and the wildlife (deer) is abundant. The only disappointment is the internet. Connections can be intermittent, especially if there are lots of RVs. A Harris Teeter grocery is across the main street and is convenient to Winston-Salem, Old Salem and Wake Forest University. Would return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
A really nice campground. Personnel are helpful and friendly. The only drawback to the park is the lack of pull through spaces. I think that even the novice can back into the spaces though. The length of the spaces are such that most trailers can stay hooked up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
This was a really nice park to stay in. It is located in a county park and the county has obviously invested in making it attractive and nice. My only regret is that I could only stay overnight. The camp hosts assigned to help me met me at check in, guided me to my site, helped me get backed in and were some of the nicest people I've ever met. There are 3 sites dedicated to camp hosts. The grounds were well kept and it was very quiet. I took off 2 points because the check in area had a tight curve with a drop off that you must be quite careful navigating, lest you kiss a tree and a tad more effort could have resulted in more level site. Don't let them fool you, they look level but they are not. Be sure to extend your landing gear properly or you'll never get leveled. I will be returning here in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Great county park! Most sites are level, but as others noted, some are very steep. Only a few sites clear enough for satellite, but very good cable TV channel selection. Very tall shade trees, friendly hosts, paved roads. Great for rallies, has large open sided meeting and BBQ area. When you make reservations, let them know you have a big rig, and they'll try to get you a great site. Camp hosts meet you at the entrance and lead you to your site. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
A 44 campground site, that is part of a huge county park with all sorts of activities from golf, to biking and hiking trails. Located about 12 miles s/west of Old Salem just off I-40. Sites 38-44 are flat and big rig friendly. All the sites and roads are paved and very well maintained. Antenna TV reception is excellent. There is a 14 day stay limit. Reservations are recommended. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$31
Looks new. Well taken care of park. Great paved roads. Bike trails. Close to everything. Loved it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$29
This is a very nice campground. It is a county owned RV park that is actually part of a bigger county park. The campground itself has no amenities other than what are for the hook ups for the RV's. However Just outside of the RV park is the rest of the county park with a playground area, horseback riding, and paddle boats. There are also many hiking and biking trails. The inside sites are next to a drainage culvert. Although the culvert is all grass and mowed, the sites slope backwards due to all being back ins. A motor home may have a problem lifting the back wheels high enough to get level. The other problem is that this campground closed for the winter on 11/13/10. It will re-open sometime next spring. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$29
This is a great campground! Well maintained, asphalt roads and sites, close to major attractions and quiet throughout the day and night. You really can't find any fault with the campground. There are three sites (31-33) that you will find difficult to level your RV as the sites slope severely. Leaves were changing while we were here and it was a nice atmosphere for all campers. There are many bike and walking trails that snake through the park and you can hike for miles if that is your pleasure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$29
This is a very nice park extremely convenient to the Winston-Salem area. All sites are on new asphalt with full hookups, but some are level and some are sloping. "Deluxe level" sites cost the same as non-level sites when we visited. All sites are large and shaded by tall, mature trees. Overall, it is a beautiful setting. Tanglewood offers a lot of recreation options including golf, tennis, two lakes, horseback riding, etc., so it's a destination in itself. There is a pavilion next to the campground for group events and a lot of grassy area for sports or games. Old Salem is 15 minutes away. There is some traffic noise audible from Rt 158 but it is not objectionable. Overall, the park is well worth a stop, and we would definitely visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
The setting for this city owned park is a section of the 1100 acre former estate of RJ Reynolds which includes 2 lakes, a steeple chase course, the manor house, several stables and barns. It is a very nice, treed park. Apparently the city recently totally renovated the campground. It really was a lovely spot but we would have to say that the campsites were a long way from level. We had our front jacks all the way to the ground! We were only here one night and we would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
I'll start by saying this is a nice, peaceful campground but how the previous posts give it a 9 I'll never know. The sites are paved and level. Aside from a bath house and pavilion, there are no amenities within the campground. You have to drive into Tanglewood Park if you want to fish or swim and you have to pay extra for that privilege. That is the reason I give it a 7. A nice campground in the Winston-Salem area was needed and this fits the bill. I will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
This was our first time at the park. We stayed in site 21 easy in and out. Very level, great water pressure and the fifty amp service was wonderful. We will be back. We would give it a 10 except no internet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
Beautiful campground located within a county park: has paved sites, large shade trees and quiet but convenient to access from I-40. Grocery store is across the street. Only complaint is that you have to drive to the pool, playground, fishing ponds, etc., and all the above (except the playground) charge fees. A playground would certainly be appreciated by campers with children. All in all, a nice place! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$29
This campground recently reopened after being closed for 10 years. The interior roads and sites have been refurbished, as well as all the hookups. Located under large shade trees, all sites are paved and have full hookups with 50 amp service, plus free cable TV. The campground is part of Tanglewood Park, an 1,100 acre county park that includes two golf courses, a driving range, swimming pool, tennis, horseback riding stables, hiking and mountain bike trails and two fishing lakes. Campers may enter the park without paying the $2.00 entrance fee, but must pay for other activities. The campground is quiet and has some restrictions. For example, motorcycles and golf carts are not allowed. Also no camp fires, but there is a “community” fire ring at the picnic shelter. The restroom and shower facilities were not refurbished, but are very clean and smell fresh. The campground hosts were very friendly and helpful. Registration office is open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 7 days a week. Located close to I-40 Exit 182. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com