214481 User submitted reviews online!!
Sleepy Hollow RV Park & Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 49 user reviews. Phone: (319) 828-4900
CGID1132

Sleepy Hollow RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
105
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   9   6   8   9   3   8   8   2   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
Campground is hilly, sites are narrow and not level. Very hard to navigate and you can't park with your towable, as sites are too short. Roads are rutted to the point you can get stuck. Staff is rude and depending on who you speak to they change their story on what is allowed. Although they say they are pet friendly, the sites are so small, it's hard to have enough room for your pet and you can't put up an ex-pen. Waterfront means across the street from the "fishing" lake, it's not accessible for swimming. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
This is a very well maintained and attractive park. It's a peaceful place to stay. The stocked lake was great for fishing. The pool was very nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. There were lots of activities for the kids. Though close to the interstate, there was no noise problems. It is conveniently located to area attractions so we spent one afternoon sightseeing and wine tasting. The only drawback was the WiFi was not camp-wide, but just a hotspot in the office building and we couldn't get TV reception with our camper antenna. Other then that, this is a great place to stay. I would highly recommend this campground and plan to camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
This is a pretty park. It is very hilly. Site 102 was not level and muddy. Satellite TV did not work, too many trees. Due to rain and mud, it was a little difficult to get out because road was so steep. Nice people and store. Grand kids caught fish in the lake. As I said, it is a pretty park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$29
Very friendly owner, nice camp store offering soft serve ice cream, local wine, and firewood. Campground is hilly, so plan to do some leveling. Quite a few permanent campers in mostly fifth wheels and trailers. Everything was neat and well kept and very quiet. Grounds are dirt and grass with some sites having gravel. It rained the night we were there and turned the dirt areas to mud. Bathrooms are old, but clean. Shower had decent pressure and new shower curtains. Lots of hooks for hanging things, but no shelf in the shower area. The water smelled rusty when it first came on, but felt softened. Nice, clean swimming pool, play ground and fishing lake. Very easy on and off I-80. Outside the RV some traffic noise could be heard, but not enough to be a bother. No noise could be heard from inside the RV. Picnic table and fire ring at each site. Lots of trees so opening a slide will take careful parking. We would stay here again for the peace and quiet and the easy freeway access. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$36
Great place for weekend getaways - adults and kids; plenty of things for kids to do, and pool is open for Memorial Day. Tables / fire pits at each site. Gravel roads and sites - some leveling required on some sites. Take water filter with you - they're working on improving it; "softened" water in showers/laundry. Dog owners kept dogs quiet - ground clean, and no noise or rowdiness; this was a very pleasant stay for us. 10 miles to "the mall," 4-5 to Amana Colonies. Owners were great - did their best not to move us or our traveling companions when husband's ER/hospital stay delayed our departure by four days. We'll definitely be back to Sleepy Hollow. (Good-Sam) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
I agree with others that the setting is nice but that is more than offset by the totally unlevel dirt/gravel sites. I have jacks on the motor home and still needed blocks. The pull-throughs are shorter than most RV parks. I had a full-hookup site and it had no cable and the sites have enough trees that it blocks the satellite signal. We checked out a day early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Nice place with a pleasant seting by the lake, all in all I liked it. Leveling of the RV was just a bit tricky, but if you're an experienced RV'er you won't have much trouble. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
This family is wonderful! They are so friendly and helpful and welcoming. While we were here we didn't swim in the pool but it looked lovely and the playground next to it kept my 5 & 2 year old boys happy! They also rent bikes, which my sons and I played on for a while (reasonably priced) and had a good time. I recommend it. HOWEVER please note: I don't think there is a truly level site in the place. We were here for only a night but after trying 8 spots, we settled for one near the water, enjoyed it but had to really use our levelers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
The most extreme out of level sites I have ever seen at a campground. It was very hard to get into our site. The place was very loud at night looks like there are a lot of drinkers, it seemed that the staff didn't really care about it. The play ground was ok but only 10ft from the lake edge--very dangerous for kids. The concrete around the lake had pieces of metal sticking out that could very easily hurt someone. We will stay at wal-mart when coming through next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2011
$27
Registration unattended and apparently no on-site management. Water was very rusty and smelled bad. After letting it run for awhile, it still clogged the hose filter in less than one minute. Fortunately, we had some water on board and did not connect to the local supply. Park was very noisy - Loud highway background noise, dogs barking all night and people yelling and arguing very late into the night. Finally packed up and left at 4:00 AM. Will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
Rating was marked down because there was no attendant at check-in. We had to pick our own site and couldn't ask any questions. Although they claimed to have WiFi, it did not reach across the campground to our site. The morning we left, flies were swarming all around our site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
An older type campground with mostly permanent residents in rigs of various levels of maintenance and care. The sewer location is at the extreme rear of the pull through sites, making setup difficult. There were numerous sites that were sufficiently sloped as to make leveling a big rig challenging, although our site and the one next to us were flat enough. This is ok for a stopover, but we would not camp here for an extended stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
Too much money for what is provided and that rate is with the Good Sam discount. The roads and sites are supposed to be gravel, but the gravel has long since disappeared. Thus, with the rains, it's a sloppy mess. The laundry room is old and so are the machines, but they seemed to do the job ok. No significant road noise although the park is right off the highway. It was easy to find. Several permanent residents here. There is a swimming pool but we didn't see anyone in it (don't know what that means, but we don't use them regardless). The children's playground is located adjacent to the pond/lake (within a few feet of it) which I think was poor planning. That's got "accident" written all over it! We would not use this facility again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
Most of the sites are so unlevel there is no way to level a 35' MH. Most sites are on the side of a hill and very muddy. The interior roads had large potholes in them. Would not recommend to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
This campground is centrally located to Iowa City, Coralville, and the Amana Colonies. This is a great area to visit. We were pleasantly surprised. The WiFi worked fine, and the grounds were clean. The campground is in a beautiful setting. However, the park needs a bit of upkeep. We couldn't use the bathrooms because they smelled bad. They smelled like rusty pipes. The water on site is well water. I skipped showering because the smell was overpowering. I'm not sure we will return. The central location is a plus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
Very pretty small park. Setting around a lake is great. Nice office staff and friendly residents/campers. Quite a few permanent sites: several with Mobile Homes, but they were well kept. A pool, but it was closed: understandably I guess since it was after Labor Day, although not much. Hookups were in good shape, but our site was really not level and the MH couldn't level itself. Limestone gravel was incredibly dusty: I mean REALLY dusty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
We camped here for a week while visiting the Amana colonies. Very nice campground. Well kept up. Nice pool that our children enjoyed. The playground was older and could use some remodeling. Other than that everything was very nice. The restrooms were clean. We enjoyed our stay here. Very reasonable price for what was available at the campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
We stayed here in the middle of the week. Very friendly staff. Our site was slightly downhill to the front of our motorhome. The staff allowed us to turn around and pull through the opposite way. The utilities were actually on the opposite side, so the switch worked well. There were plenty of shade trees. The only suggestion would be for the owners to set more trash recepticles around the park. They only have three or four big dumpsters and those are located along the "lower" lake road: probably so the trash truck doesn't need to drive up hill and down throughout the park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
Wow, a great place along I-80. The new owners are working hard to improve this campground. They are doing a great job. The little lake is wonderful. This is a great family friendly place. The areas that still need work, include WiFi signal, sites that are not level, nothing a couple of blocks did not fix. There is a very nice camp store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
Very large lake and all most all of the sites have a view. Easy access from I-80. Staff is friendly. Wi-Fi antenna was struck by lightning but I still got a good signal from my space. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
Beautiful place. Plenty of grass, tables, and shade. Our 34' had to wiggle once to level. Some rigs may be cramped but the ambiance is worth any effort. Free fishing. They make and deliver pizza Friday and Saturday. Free hayrides and a movie on Saturday night. This is a great mom & pop that has matured and been well maintained over the years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$16
The sites are arranged on a terraced hillside centered around a small lake. No water or sewage was available in late March, which we were advised of beforehand. Staff was very helpful and understanding when we were delayed. Sites are gravel, not terribly level, and it is hard to distinguish the roads from the campsites, especially if arriving at night. Many sites require driving downhill, also a little tricky at night. Just a warning: after you register, do not drive straight ahead or you will land in the lake! Very convenient off and on I-80, but it also means you do have some highway noise, which did not really bother us much. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$24
We live just over a half an hour from this campground and have returned many times. We do not know the owners on a first name basis however we have had the occasion to meet their daughter several times and she is wonderful! My children (ranging in age from 8-16) absolutely love it here! There is something for everyone. The willow trees around the small lake are lovely and there is a small restaurant on the property just in case you don't feel like cooking or if you are in the mood for ice cream after dinner. The restrooms have always been very clean and well kept. The pool, while chilly, is a very nice touch and Sleepy Hollow is the only campground in the area with a pool (to the best of my knowledge). Additionally, there is a playground, camp store, fishing and more. The campground is conveniently located along I80 but we have never had a problem with excessive noise of any sort. Sleepy Hollow is not just a good place to "stop for the night", it is a destination! We will be back again this year! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
This park may be OK for you if you only stay a night or active weekend and do not have to have any dealings with the owners and do not use any of the facilities. We stayed for a longer period of time and have plenty of input about it. The pool remains filthy - it is not kept clean and they do not seem to do the required checks and chemicals as they should. The owners are lazy, rude and have no common decency whatsoever. All they care about is the money. Electricity charges are outrageous. They do not do required maintenance or keep things in good running order. We do not expect this campground to thrive under these owners. This is one of the worst campground experiences we have had in over ten years, and the owners are the worst we have ever had the misfortune of dealing with. No one that stayed here when we were here were happy with them or their policies. I would recommend avoiding this campground if you are looking for anything more than a place to stay for the night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
I read the other comments on this park and yes there are problems, but the new owners are trying to do their best. In fact they camped here as kids and loved it. We loved it as well and will be back. This was our forth outing in 6 weeks and the best place we have been to. Please if you are reading this, give this place a try. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
Make sure you arrive before dark, if not, you might find yourself in the pond. The roads are not marked inside the park, the pull-through sites are certainly not "big-rig" friendly, more like a wash out dirt road. Would never ever stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
We stayed hear for a quick overnighter on our way back home from South Dakota. This campground has a terrible odor, and as far as I can tell, it came from the small lake. Now that we're back home and I've had a chance to read the reviews, I can see that this park has had water problems in the past. The actual drinking water tasted bad too- so their apparent prior problems don't appear to have been remedied. We too had problems with our site not being anywhere near level. We had a terrible thunderstorm during the night we stayed here and the drainage was awful. There was way too much mud surrounding our gravel 'pad' and the water did not percolate into the ground too well. There was also a 'street' light at the campground that was located far away from the street and on the site next to us. So we spent the whole night with our camper being lit up and having to breath in the awful odor from the lake. They do have a small store but it wasn't too well stocked. We were looking for something quick to make for dinner and they didn't even have any noodle products. The lady who checked us in was very friendly and they do have a nice restaurant that was just closing down when we checked in. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$24
Nice campground except that the sites are cut (sort of) into the side of a hill. Higher sites are awfully steep. If level sites were cut into the hill, would rate higher. There are lots of trees, close to the highway, WiFi (but weak signal) and a restuarant at the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
This is a very beautiful park, with a nice lake in the center of the park. The fishing was very good. Some sites are in a hillside and few, if any, are level. We moved twice trying to get level enough to stay. There is a very good cafe on the premises. Locals come there to eat. Although it is near I-80 the noise is not bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
Really enjoyed meeting the onsite owners. Even cooked our supper near closing time at the restaurant. His wife was our cook and daugther our wait person. Great food and great people who could not do enough to make us happy. Facilities are established and being upgraded. This is a nice jewel along a baren I 80. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$29
Stayed here on an overnight stop. The campground is OK for a one night stop. Sites were on a hill side and still need a little help with leveling. Many site are rented on a seasonal basis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
Park was very pretty, no paved lots. Laundry room and machines were clean and good. Wireless was a little lacking. We had to put our computers outside of our motorhome on park benches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
Nice peaceful, friendly park that is being upgraded by new owners. Great stop along I-80 or near Amana Colonies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$28
We read the previous reviews and were a little leary of this campground but then saw recent ones that were better. I called them and they explained they were new owners and had made many improvements. We reserved two nights and after we got there, we stayed for a third. Our grandchildren loved this campground. It is on a nice lake, is wooded and has a great pool. The only reason we didn't give it a 10 is because we do agree with the leveling problem others have had and it did take us some doing to get our rig level. Other than that, it was great. The staff was friendly and helpful and the campground now appears to be well kept. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$24
Even though it rained all weekend, it was a very nice campground. It is under new management since the last time we camped there, 3 years ago, and a lot of improvements are in the process of being made. The restaurant is opened again and they have wonderful food. They even had an all-you-can eat breakfast pancake for mother's day. The owners are friendly and very accommodating. Anytime you are around the Iowa City, Kalona, or Amana area, this is the place to camp. Very family oriented and a great place for children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
Very nice clean park. Restaurant on premises. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$26
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
Just a stop over for me but a very friendly staff accommodated me late in the evening; the only issue I had was the sites were not level. I just wish I could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$19
June 2005 Park is clean and quiet. They have a pond where kids were fishing and having a good time. It is under new management and the folks are friendly. When we had problem with my husband's oxygen equipment, they came immediately to offer assistance. Although we didn't eat dinner, they have great pie and ice cream, other folks were enjoying their meals. We would definitely return and spend more time in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$21
My husband and I were extremely happy with this campground. They had been given poor ratings, but I contacted the owners anyway and found out they were new owners. All the problems that I told them about (read in rvparkreviews) were fixed or being fixed at that time. I am glad I went with our instincts and gave these people a chance. Very friendly people, helpful with suggestions in the area, clean facilities and grounds. The water problem has been fixed. We would recommend this park to everyone planning on spending time in the Amana Colonies or Iowa City area. They also have a very nice restaurant with delicious food! We couldn't have asked for a better place to go. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$22
My husband, mother and myself stayed here in May and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. In fact, we waited till the last minute to check out. It was very peaceful. The owners were so very kind and helpful, answering all of our questions concerning various places of interest. One of the things that impressed me was the information they had on medical facilities, etc... in the area. Very few campgrounds we have stayed at offer this information, which is of a concern as we are getting older and if in an emergency we posssibly could have a hard time locating the proper help. I have read the reviews of previous years and these do not reflect the campground at this time. When we camped there they were laying gravel on the driveways and were really fixing the camp up. The restaurant had not opened yet, but they were planning to open by the end of the month. If we travel out west again we would plan on staying at Sleepy Hollow! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$27
If you have any intentions, any at all, of visiting anywhere near the Amana Colonies, Amish village, the outlets or just a sleep stop, this IS NOT the park to visit. Strongly recommend going to the Amana Colonies RV Park instead (right in heart of Amana Colonies, just down from outlets). Horrible leveling problems here, nasty water (even for somebody who grew up on well water), unsat cleanliness to the facilities. Never again and I regret not checking RV Park Reviews before going to this CG. Obvious insider posting of good reviews aside, I agree with the overall trends of the negative posts on this CG. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$27
I too will give this campground a poor rating, my dog wouldn't even drink the water, after I took a shower my towel came out brown, and dirty, which I'm not a dirty person. The sites are unlevel, and I heard that the people that own it are wanting to sell. I feel that something needs to be done with the water, and the smell is terrible. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2002
$23
I would have to agree with the negative comments on this park. The sites were horribly un-level, the water quality was very poor, and the pool was very dirty as were the restrooms. As to the park spokesperson who betrays their involvement with the intimate details they give in their review and their rebuttal, I would hope their "opinions" would be stricken from the postings as they obviously are biased and very far off base. I thought as it says in the opening page that owner's reviews are not allowed. As it stand here, there are 3 reviews from campers, all negative, 2 reviews from a park spokesman both positive (surprise!!). We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$22
In respect to opinion 4 about opinion 3 being an owner, guess again. And yes, I do get out and travel a lot. I don't need to add more comments, as my original number 3 opinion still stands. What I don't understand is if the campground is so bad, why is, after staying there for a weekend this past summer, the Honda Gold Wings are looking at bringing their 2003 rally there and reserving the whole campground for an entire weekend. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2002
$25
I had to agree with the first review after staying there. The long winded third review sounds suspiciously like an owner. The sites were among the most unlevel we have encountered in 6 years of full-timing. The water was horrid. I too grew up on a farm and had well water most of my life. If our water had been this bad we would have dug a new well. On the counter during our check-in was a manual sent out by the local board of health regarding water quality and violations so obviously this is a routine problem there. To think that this park would be rated higher then 5 by anyone merits the question as to whether that person ought not get out more. I am quite tolerant, but I expect decent water, if not for drinking, at least for showering. It was most assuredly not present here. I expect to be able to reasonably level my coach. Very near impossible here. The staff seemed friendly in our limited contact with them, but it seems they could do a whole lot more about the basics instead of worrying about flowers and stuff first. A grader for site leveling, and a new well would seem in order. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$22
We have camped at Sleepy Hollow for 4 years now with the last two years being the entire summer, now just weekends. In 2001, the pool had a pump go out causing the water to look dirty but was tested daily and was well below the levels for safe levels. Once it was diagnosed that the seal was out of the pump and fixed, the water cleared up. Last fall, the pool was sandblasted and is now in the process of being repainted (if only the weather would cooperate). The pool has to be tested 1/2 hour before opening and each 4 hours thereafter (basically 4 times a day) for safety precautions. My son was in the pool (age 17) 24-7 last summer and enjoyed every minute of it. The shower houses are cleaned three times a day (on busy weekends, they are cleaned more often than that). As with any campground with swimming, you have campers running in and out of the shower houses on a regular basis which tracks in dirt and sand. (I wonder if parents allow their children to track in mud at home and leave the bathrooms in a shambles? Just curious!) Also, if anyone is familiar with Iowa's weather, during the summer the humidity is awful. Of course, the toilets and shower stalls sweat causing wet cement floors. There is no way to stop this even though exhaust fans, etc. are installed. I noticed in one of the reviews for a State park, they said the park rangers should spend less time cleaning the restrooms and spend more time mowing. I guess some people are never happy. I was down doing wash on Monday, 6/10/02, and a lady came out of the shower house and commented on how clean and beautiful the park was. As for the drinking water, it is well water. We do have an RV hose filter on our camper which we use no matter where we are camping. My husband and I lived on a farm when we were first married and my son was born. It was well water. I bought distilled water for him to drink as a small baby. As far as the smell, no, it does not smell, and yes, our dog drinks the water. The owners, Dewey and Darlene Nielsen, are wonderful people and do everything possible to make you stay a pleasant one. They also have Clark and Shirley, Frank and Lillie, and Eileen who also help with the campground and they are all wonderful. If you need a good cup of coffee, soft serve ice cream or just some friendly conversation, stop by the store and say hello. They'll all love to visit with you and answer any questions about what sites there are to see around Oxford such as Amana Colonies (12 miles away), Williamsburg Outlet Mall (10 miles away), Kalona working amish community (10 miles away), or the closest Wal-Mart no matter which direction you are headed. On holiday weekends, there are hayrack rides for the kids, movies at night, and craft activities. There is also a basketball court, playground, volleyball court, horseshoes, and free fishing (since it is private property) which you can try your luck at catching sunnies, bass, catfish, or just watch the geese with their babies swimming. If you like flowers, talk to Dewey. He'll tell you all about the flowers and tell you what kind they are. They are absolutely beautiful and he works hard at keeping the flower beds weeded. Dewey will be the one on the golf cart checking out the campground and stopping by your campsite to visit. I know this is only one opinion of this park but I felt it was necessary to write since the only other opinion written was definitely a negative one. Come and try out Sleepy Hollow as I'm sure you won't be disappointed. My family has been camping now for 17 years so we have stayed in many locations and so far, this is our favorite one. Why else would we come back, year after year. Now we have a grandson who just turned one year old who also enjoys camping. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$20
Nice cg on little lake. Terraced sites surround the lake. Many of the sites are too short for 40' but there are some pull thrus that will handle 40' 5th with toter. Nice office modem h/u with seating. Near Amana Colonies. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2001
$22
Poor maintanance, the pool water was black and green and the bath houses filthy, the tap water had an odor that was disgusting, even our dogs refused to drink it and we didn't want to shower in it either, have ruined a very pretty location. Owners need to fix up the problems and cure their drinking water supply and this park would be great. Until then this park is not fit to stop at. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com