214562 User submitted reviews online!!
Mt. Vernon Thousand Trails was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (360) 724-3331
CGID11339

Mt. Vernon Thousand Trails

Camp Information
Sites
227 + 2 ca
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$0



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   7   6   1   6   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$0
Rate is member rate. Getting there is a bit of a leap of faith. You exit I-5 onto Bow Hill Road and make your way to the campground without a single road sign. Not only that, but you turn at what appears to be only the entrance to the Skagit Casino. The road is marked as the entrance to the casino, there’s a “dead end” sign, and you basically drive a road that is part of the casino parking lot. At the northern end of the parking lot, you continue down a road marked “no thru way.” It looks for the world as if you are headed for an overflow parking lot for the casino. Then, at the end of that road, lo and behold, you’ve arrived at a large, “hidden,” campground. The roads through the campground are wide, gravel roads that are in pretty good shape. Many of the campsites are both deep and wide, big enough for most any rig. Many are cut into the woods, providing a great deal of privacy (but making it nearly impossible to get a satellite TV signal). There are some sewer hookup sites on the western side of the campground. They are pretty popular but there’s a price to pay for using them: not only will it be a challenge to get satellite TV at most of them, they are also situated quite close to the busy and noisy Interstate. The eastern side of the campground is quieter with no sewer connect but RVers in one section in particular (nicknamed “satellite row”) have a better than average chance of getting a satellite signal. Some of those sites are more crowded together than those in the rest of the campground. It’s quieter on the eastern side most of the time. The exception is Saturday evenings. Just below the campground is a raceway that’s in full swing on all but winter Saturday nights. The noise of the cars and announcers is very loud. The campground has a nice Activity Center and large, heated pool. These are out near the entrance – quite a walk from most of the campsites. We heard reports of people having low electrical voltage but we were fine. I had a decent 4G cell data signal but it was having problems and would go away once in a while. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$1
A typical Thousand Trails. There are no signs on I-5 or at the turn for the park. Turn towards the casino, then go down the dead end road at the end of the parking lot. The park is at the end of the road. Able to obtain satellite in B-section, near the ball field. Good cell service and convenient to Mt. Vernon. Watch for potholes on the roads in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$1
The pool here is enormous with enforced adult swim hours. The overlook point is very nice to visit. The sites near the highway can be quite loud, so be sure to look at the map upon entry to avoid those sites. We found a nice, large, quiet site though it was muddy (can't be helped). We will definitely be visiting this site again. We ate breakfast at the casino and the food was good but, once the casino opened at 9 am you could smell the casino smoke (gross). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$1
We had a free trial membership with Thousand Trails so we did not pay anything to stay here. This is a very popular park so do not come on Saturday and expect to find lots of empty sites. Most of the sites are nicely wooded. We finally located one to accommodate our 38' fifth wheel and had no satellite TV reception because of the tall trees and had no wifi connection with our Verizon either. All sites are back in and there is no sewer and only one of the dump station lanes was open. There is a clubhouse with activities. Saturday night there was very loud car racing noises until 10 p.m. from the racetrack nearby. Other than the car racing noises it was very quiet. With no sewer connections available I doubt we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$1
Quite possibly the worst camping experience in our 8+ years as fulltimers! Set up in a site that had such low voltage that we were unable to run any of our electrical appliances - this includes a fan! Staff originally told us that this 'was an older park that had low power' and that they told 'everyone not to run anything that required power', especially when the park is full! Later, they would tell us that there must be some kind of problem outside the park. We looked at moving to another site, but in talking to the folks set up around them learned that they also had little to no power. Of course, all of this happened while we were traveling with our grandchildren over the Fourth of July! After six days, waiting for things to get better, we finally ended up moving to a commercial campground in Mt Vernon! If we were new to Thousand Trails we would be demanding our money back. Just an awful experience! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$1
Very poor air TV. Good Verizon phone and data. Mostly wooded sites. Great indoor pickleball court. Store and weekend breakfast and lunch. Some road noise for sites near the freeway. Price shown is member price. Casino walking distance down road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$1
Stayed 3 nights with husband and boxer. Huge long sites and so many to choose from. Really nice pool and hot tub (adult only) outdoors, we did laps in it. Pickleball court was being repainted (it's indoors). Mini golf was good. Lots of trees and mostly dirt and gravel sites. Fire pits all at far end of sites. Clean bathrooms and showers. The Wi-Fi is weak to n/a mostly, unless you're right by or in lodge. Service is better near the open areas. We stayed in F and next time will choose A because it's closer to pool and lodge. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Park has a nice club house. We enjoyed the fact that the pool has an adult only time as well as a time for kids. If you like the forest this is the campground for you. Has lots of amenities. We'll be coming back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$1
Large, private camp sites. Roads are wide. Bath room's are clean. Lot's of trails to walk on. If you like Casinos a large one is 5 minutes away. If you like car racing the Skagit Motor speed way is near also. Just a warning about that: on Saturdays you can hear the cars pretty loud and our golden retriever didn't like the noise much and began shaking. Then some times they have a fire work show so keep an eye on your dog's. All in all a great place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com