214264 User submitted reviews online!!
Horse Thief Campground - BLM was rated 8 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (435) 259-2100
CGID11341

Horse Thief Campground - BLM

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   9   7   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$15
This is my kind of campground--large private sites great views and out in the country. But it is very convenient to Arches, Dead Horse, and I-70. It is on the same road as Dead Horse State Park but half the distance from the main highway. Most sites are back ins but they are large enough for big rigs with lots of wiggle room for those who are backing impaired. Hookups are way down on my list of amenities. If they is important to you then opt for one of the many private parks in Moab. We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$7.5
The rate is the senior discounted rate. This BLM Campground is on the road to Canyonlands National Park and near Dead Horse Point State Park. It has large, level sites and a very nice view of the distant snow-capped Henry Mountains. There are over 50 sites that filled to capacity three of the four nights we were there. This is dry camping with no utilities of any kind. You can get water in Moab or at the Shell Station near the intersection of 191 and 313, about 20 miles distant from the campground. This is a great campground for people who don’t mind being off the grid, who want a very quiet campground, who enjoy beautiful sunsets and star lit nights. My Verizon phone managed to get a few bars of cell service but data limped along with an occasional 1X connect. The roads and sites are all good gravel and the pit toilets are clean and have no “outhouse” odor. The entrance to the Island in the Sky portion of Canyonlands is nearby as is Dead Horse Point State Park with views you don't want to miss. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$12
A great campground. Plenty of room and level sites. We were here during one of Moab's busiest weekends of the spring and the campground was completely full. But it was still quiet overnight and we never felt crowded as there's lot's of room between spaces. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$12
This is a great campground in my opinion, one of the best that BLM offers in this area. Spacious sites for different lengths, lots of restrooms, and great views. It is a dry camping area with no water, dumping, or electric. With a rate of $6 for seniors with Golden Age Pass, it's hard to beat the price. It's a short distance to Dead Horse Point State Park where the rates are 3-5x higher. This makes a good day trip by bicycle or car from here (seven miles away). Bravo to the BLM for providing such campgrounds in an area where commercial campgrounds in Moab are expensive ($35 on average). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$12
Great location, beautiful setting, quiet spot. No hookups and no water to be found. This is definitely the definition of a primitive site. Our water tank is small, so even without showering, we were out on our third day. Bear that in mind if traveling with a smaller trailer, especially as the closest town Moab, is about an half an hour's drive. There are vault toilets, though, and a dumpster for trash. Location wise, Horse thief has great access to Canyonlands and Dead Horse. We didn't see a ranger the entire time we were here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$6
The campground host was very helpful and runs a very tight ship here; he even suggested Jeep trails we could try with our stock Liberty. He patrols the park numerous times a day to make sure things are fine for all of the guests. He will give anyone the boot if they are clearly breaking the rules. This is dry camping at its finest: come to the park with your water tank full and your other tanks empty if you plan to stay for a while. We stayed in our 38 ft motorhome with our Jeep towed and had plenty of room in one of the larger sites. We definitely would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$6
We stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend because everything else was full. This campground filled up also. It had about 60 to 70 sites. It is located on Rt 313 before you get to Dead Horse Point State Park. The park had lots of ATVs but they were respectful and drove very slowly through the park. The park was very dusty and the wind blew all the time we were here. The camp host is very helpful and actually does his job. He is a very nice fellow. He also maintains a hiking trail adjacent to the campground. It is a beautiful walk. I would stay here again in a pinch but it wouldn't be my first choice because it is completely dry. There is no water, dump or showers. It has pit toilets. Well maintained, however. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com