218909 User submitted reviews online!!
Grand View Cafe & RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (907) 746-4480
CGID11342

Grand View Cafe & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   7   5   9   9   6   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
A nice place to spend a night. Sites were adequate sized. Might be a bit tight if full, but it wasn't. Hookups were good and we got Wi-Fi at the site (we pull in pretty well). They provide guests with a "special" inexpensive, very good breakfast of bacon, scrambled eggs, and pancakes. The rest of the menu was a bit pricey. While at breakfast, I was able to see some mountain sheep high on the hills across the road. Actually, there were nice views in every direction. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
This is a great stop over place along the Glenn Highway. The sites were level with crushed rock for a base. There is a very good restaurant on site with very good food. The hook-ups were mid-way on the site and no issues hooking up. We could see sheep on the mountain. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
A bit over priced but good stop over on way from Anchorage to Valdez. Small & clean. 3 shower/toilet rooms. Owner let us clean our rigs and trucks but had to use hose with shutoff. This was very nice as most RV parks restrict water use. Laundry has $2 washers and $2 dryers. Wi-Fi only good in cafe area because we were unable to get it at our site. Cafe food is good but expensive. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
We spent an overnight in this park on our way to Valdez. It is a clean, friendly park, with nice space and amazing views all around. The view of the Matanuska Glacier is down the road on a trail from the campground. We had difficulty with the wi-fi as we were at the far end of the row of motorhomes and campers which blocked the signal, but it was fine in the restaurant. Facilities were small but clean. Nice area to walk our dogs. We would recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
This gravel parking lot is surrounded by pretty mountain views. The sites are level, long pull-throughs for easy access, but a bit narrow. Electrical and water connections were convenient, but we did not choose a sewer site. The bathroom in the restaurant was large and clean, but showers require quarters and we didn't use them. Wi-Fi was free and worked well. The available laundry had just a couple of small machines, so we didn't try it out. It seemed a bit pricey, but so is everything else in Alaska. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
This is a gem of a campground. The sites are spaced with care, the view of the mountains is unbelievable. The small restaurant has great food. The owner takes personal care of the grounds and appreciates your business. We will return on our way back from Alaska. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
This place is beautiful. What a view of mountains and mountain goats. You park on rocks and there is a little grass between coaches. Although it took a little to get it level, we finally got it together. With 50 amp, sewer at each site, and cable TV, we enjoyed this location. The only bad thing was that the showers were $2.75, but they were large and clean. We would stay here again if in the area. . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
An easy right off the highway park, but noise is not an issue. We took the short walk to the glacier overlook, which was nice. We didn't eat in the cafe, but a lot of folks did. We paid $2 more for 50 amp service so we could easily do some laundry in the coach. The views were nice and the staff friendly. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Good park with great views. Nice restaurant. Close to highway but noise wasn't an issue. Typical gravel lot but plenty of room. My 42 foot coach and toad fit; there were others of similar size. Internet stable and good. Cable TV with 7 channels. Easy access in and out, although coming from the West, the access is just past some cabins and on a slight uphill curve. I would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
We stopped at Grand View on our way to Seward. It is a nice little RV park. We had sandwiches at the Cafe and they were very good. The staff were all friendly. The view is beautiful! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
Located near the Matanuska Glacier - 5 minute walk for view of the glacier. Berry picking options within walking distance. Sheep viewing. Adjacent to highway. Highway construction (repaving road) was occurring during our visits yet road noise was not an issue at night. Wi-Fi was intermittent. Would recommend against the restaurant because we were served uncooked food and charged full price. Food discounts are available. We are Good Sam Members. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$23
Nice little campground on the Glenn Hwy. Gravel sites of average width. Free cable TV and Wi-Fi. We received a discount for staying 8 nights. Laundry is just 2 washers and dryers, space is pretty tight. Park is near Matasuka glacier. You can hike a short trail to an overlook of the glacier and Lion's Head Mtn. Across the road from the park you can watch Dall sheep up on the mountains. Will need binoculars. They're way up there. Hosts and help are really friendly. Great little cafe here that serves good food. Try the carrot cake. This is a good place to get away from it all for a few days. We'd stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
This is really just a parking lot, but with full hookups (even cable & Wi-Fi). Actually, there is a tiny strip of grass between sites with a picnic table at each. And the view really is grand. There is a short nature trail out back that leads to a pretty overlook. Sparkling clean laundry/showers – but you have to pay extra for the showers. The cafe is pretty good eats, just sandwiches, pizza, and breakfast, but everything is well prepared. It’s a good place to stopover if you don’t want to do the Anchorage to Glennallen drive in one hop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
Rate is with GS discount. Based on previous reviews something more was expected. Located right next to the highway so there is a fair amount of noise. Sure, you can see wildlife right from the campsite but you had better bring some high powered binoculars or telescope to do so. Sites are very close together, typical, and there is a postage stamp bit of grass on which the picnic table sits. WiFi works most of the time but has a habit of disconnecting for no apparent reason. Cable TV is very very basic. Still, if only passing through for a couple days, worth a stop for the nearby glacier. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Rate is for 30 amp water and electric pull through site with Good Sam discount. Also have 50 amp FHU pull through sites. Charge for showers. Easy access from highway. Gravel access and pads with small patch of grass and picnic table at each site. Wonderful cafe with discount specials for RV'ers. Dall sheep and Mountain goats can be seen from the park. Within ten miles of Matanuska Glacier. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
A good Sam Park, price reflects discount. This is a great little park between Glennallen and Anchorage on the Glen highway. It is close to the road but road noise was not a problem. It was very clean and level. It is a fairly new park with a great restaurant and great views of the Dall Sheep mountain and sanctuary. It's close to the Matanuska glacier. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Parking lot style RV park in a beautiful high elevation setting. Georgeous views in every direction. Nice reception building with a nice looking restaurant. Discount meals offered to guests. We did not eat here so I don't know about the food. Many were eating breakfast when we left. I would stay here again: very very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
Listed as Sutton in Trailer Life. Actually farther north. Milepost 109.7 on Glenn Hwy. it is 79 miles south of Glennallen. All sites are long pull through sites. You can leave your tow attached to your big rig if you are just passing through. The WiFi is free and strong and there is cable TV. It is near the Matanuska Glacier. There is a cute restaurant with specials for campers. The view is beautiful and the price is right for full services, price quoted is for 50 amp,30 amp is slightly less. There is an area for walking your pooch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com