223398 User submitted reviews online!!
Southern Oaks Mobile Home & RV Community was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (228) 832-5528
CGID11397

Southern Oaks Mobile Home & RV Community

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   9   8   9   10   8   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Do not stop here if you use showers or rest rooms, they are not acceptable for multiple reasons. This is a mobile home park with a few spaces for transient RV's. The $30 fee for no amenities and unacceptable showers/restrooms is far too much. Cash only, they do not take credit cards. Wi-Fi non-existent and I wish camp owners would stop pretending they have it just because they can get internet in their office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Not a destination park, Southern Oaks Mobile Home Community is just as it’s name implies – it’s a park that has mostly homesteaders but obviously they do take in travelers. It’s close to the interstate, easy in and out on paved roads and we were escorted to a nice, level blacktop pull through site. They do have Wi-Fi but because the area was being blasted with thunderstorms it would be in but mostly out of service. We relied on our Verizon MiFi. The park is close by the Gulfport Biloxi International Airport but because of the storms we never heard any planes either landing or taking off. Walmart and other convenience stores plus restaurants are within easy driving distance. We were escorted to our site and with their Passport Rate we would definitely stay here again as a one niter. Our fee reflects the Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$27
This was a very strange park in that it combined transit RVers, semi permanent RVers and mobile home residents inter spaced all over the park. That said, it seemed to work. The manager was very friendly and helpful and put us in a site that he thought would be well suited to us. The individual sites were huge, grassy lawns with concrete slabs and patios. There were a good number of channels on the cable TV but the Wi-Fi was iffy at best even though we were next to the antenna. The manager said he was "working on it". We had the best meal of our trip on the recommendation of a park neighbor. We are coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
This is a great park about a mile off I-10 and about the same distance from all the shopping and restaurants you can possibly want. The streets are paved, the sites are all concrete, the place is clean, tidy and well looked after. You can hear the highway noise in the background but it wasn't a factor for us. The only problem we encountered was with the Wi-Fi. It's free but it's a challenge to get it to work. When you sign in you get a password and seven pages of instructions. After numerous phone calls to the office for new passwords and two late evening visits to our RV by the manager, we finally got it to work. The $20 was the Passport America rate We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$15
We would have rated this park a 10, but the interstate noise was just horrible, and it was constant. Because our space had at one time been for a trailer (or mobile home), it was extremely wide. The concrete pad was very narrow, but that was not a problem. The man who led us to our sight was very nice and so willing to help make our stay pleasant. The office person was ditzy. As the owner eliminates the old trailers and converts the spots to RV sites, this will be a very nice park. It was very clean and the people living there were quiet. It is not too far to drive anywhere we wanted to go including the casinos. Only the road noise was really bad. In spite of that we would probably stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$20
This was such a great place to stay, we decided to extend our stay for an entire week ($120 plus one free night). The manager and his staff work hard to make sure that you are happy. We will definitely stay here when we are in the Gulfport area again. They are working on a new laundry area but as someone said, the one directly across the street is clean, convenient, and does the job quite well. Everything you want is close by. We had an electrical problem one night; the manager hooked us up with a local to help us who lives in the park and the next day we were able to drive to an RV repair shop and get a repair to the inverter (total cost $150). This park is close to the interstate but in no way are you bothered by noise, etc. Airport is also close by but again, no bother to us. Clean, nice roads, nice sites...very nice place to stay for overnight or longer!! The manager is the best! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
Rate is daily rate for FHU 50 amp pull thru site with PA discount. Roads and pads were paved, but as mentioned in other reviews, watch out for the speed bumps. Grass areas between wide open sites. Good satellite and Verizon cell and 3G reception. Away from the Interstate so it is quiet, yet there is an abundance of great shopping nearby making it a great place to either do a little R&R, or get your shopping fix. Yes there are mobile homes in the park which is slowly being converted into an RV park, but all are in good condition, with the area around each clean and well maintained. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
This park is in a great location, just off the interstate, although there was no problem with noise. It is a mobile home park being converted to an RV park. Very clean, well kept park. We had a very long pull through site and there was no need to disconnect our toad. The manager of the park is retired Navy and gives a discount to military, park is also PA. Friendliest manager we have seen in a long time, and is very concerned that you are happy with the park. We had a little trouble with the Wi-Fi, but when we could connect the speed was fine. We would stay here if in this area again. Very close to about any store or restaurant you could want. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$20
As another poster commented: don't turn too soon into the "other" RV park. You probably won't like it. We originally checked in for two nights but extended one day because of weather. The park is family owned and managed and the owner is a former Navy SeaBee Chief and runs a tight organization. John Q and company are really nice people and we enjoyed our stay. They appear to be doing a lot of updating and our site was a long, pull-through, concrete pad and was easy in and easy out. This is a Passport America park and the $20 rate was perfect. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$28
This is a mobile home community with RV sites. As the mobile homes move out, those sites are being converted into RV sites. The RV sites are nice and big, level concrete pull throughs and back ins. They are all full hook-up sites with cable. There are bathroom facilities available now behind the office, but it is too far to walk to. The owner is currently planning to build a restroom building and laundromat. Laundromat is just across the street from this complex for now. Shopping, restaurants, and movie theater are very close. Best diesel price is at Sam's Club, which is very close, also. The owner is ex-military and very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$15
I struggled with the score on this one. For this price for a one or two night stop for self-contained units, Southern Oaks is easily a 10, but to legitimately compare it as an RV park, I’m in line with others who have rated it a 7. Although this is a large mobile home park, the RV sites are clean, level, long, concrete pull-throughs with perfectly-functioning utilities. The gentleman who escorted us to our site waited to be sure everything was in order and offered to help hook up, although I declined. The charming on-site manager is retired military and runs a tight operation. Some of the mobile homes have seen better days, but we both felt safe here, even walking the dog at night. They are adding more RV sites as older mobile homes are phased out. Great Verizon reception. Relatively easy on and off I-10 and easy maneuvering within the park. There is a mall at that exit and plenty of restaurants and fuel stops, although diesel was significantly less expensive a mile or so south of the interstate. Only complaint: double speed bumps near the entrance that are spaced perfectly to jar everything in the MH, even at a crawl, then bounce the toad a couple more times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$15
Very clean. Don't mistake it for the park you come to first on 3 Rivers Rd that is also called Southern something, It is not a good place but Southern Oaks is very nice: huge lots, friendly people. There is a laundry right across the street. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$20
Excellent site- concrete slab, level, 70 ft long, pull thru-- easily handled motorhome and toad. Set up was a breeze. Staff very friendly and provided site escort. Down side, this is a working person's mobile home park and reflected in the various sites. Great for a stop over, but wouldn't stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
The RV park does have a lot of permanent residents and just a few temporary RVers. We stayed 1 night just passing through. The description in Passport America stated that bathrooms were available: however they are not mainly for our use. The bathrooms had to be unlocked for us and were not that clean. The staff stated that Gulfport requires all RVs to be self-contained so they don't have to offer bathrooms. The site we stayed on was paved and really nice. The price is PA rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
This is a mobile home park that has converted many sites into RV sites. All sites are paved and the pull thrus can accommodate big rigs. There is no laundry or other amenities at this time. Free Wi-Fi was excellent at our site. Most RV sites are in one area and not mixed with the mobile homes. Our rate was $20 based on Passport America rate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com