223611 User submitted reviews online!!
Mahlon Dickerson Reservation was rated 9 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (973) 697-3140
CGID11404

Mahlon Dickerson Reservation

Camp Information
Sites
29
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   8   9   7   10   10   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
This heavily wooded park has paved interior roads and sites but can be difficult for big rigs. Many sites are short or not level, roads are narrow and trees crowd both roads and sites. Electric was good, water is awkwardly placed and requires long hoses at most sites. The park is very quiet and sites offer good privacy. AT&T phone and data service was good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
The campground has very shady sites as this is a wooded campground in Northern New Jersey. It is at 1,200 foot elevation in a mature hardwood forest with some nice size rocks and boulders everywhere. Nicely separated sites. Easy to back into. There is a grass field that kids can run around in, but this is really a quiet, wooded and private county park campground. On a hot 4th of July, six adults sat outside the camper all day in the shade and enjoyed the beautiful weather and trees. Nice relaxing environment, but also lots of trails through the woods. Lots of wildlife also. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
This is a county park that is well maintained and has an on site manager who works afternoons. They accept reservations for no more than two weeks so you won't see any seasonals or temporary workers staying here. Other than a hiking tail there is no other activities. It is quiet but in the summer there are a fair share of mosquitoes. The 50 amp service proved not to be reliable as the voltage dropped below 110 and my surge protector would shut service down entirely until it came up. TV is limited to a few channels with the signal strength to broadcast this far. We would stay hear again when in the area as it is the best value this close to the metropolitan NY area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
This is a great campsite. Sites average approximately 60 feet apart in a heavily wooded area, which provides reasonable privacy. Sites are paved, though surprisingly, most are not very level. We stayed in site #4 with our fifth wheel and received 17 local channels. The campground already had long hoses provided, which ran all the way to the front of our site, so we didn't even need to use our own hose. Lots of hiking trails leaving right from the campground: we spent two days hiking in the immediate area. The first morning, a black bear sauntered down the road past our site. We also visited New York city from here. Lakeland Bus service runs from Dover. 30 minutes to the bus station and 1:20 to the Port Authority Bus Terminal in New York. Parking is free in Dover and the bus fare is $22 round trip. Another day, we drove to the Harrison Path station in Newark and then took the subway to the World Trade Center stop. 1:00 to the parking lot (add 20 minutes for rush hour) and 20 minutes on the subway. $7 for parking in the open lot. IIRC, it was $4 for a round trip subway fare. Would have rated the campground a "10", but for the uneven sites and the lack of sewer. But for the money, it's a great deal and we'd definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
We had a toad break down and had to find a place in NJ. I was pleasantly surprised at this campground. It was quiet, with some very pleasant hiking trails, paved roads and sites. All the sites had water and 50/30 amp service. The showers had great pressure and plenty of hot water. The sites were not right on top of one another and the park was not crowded or full on the week end before Labor Day. As of the Monday before they still had spaces available. Most of the sites are pretty flat but there are a few that you'll have to get some lifts out to get level. All and all a great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
I have camped, both RV and tent at this site many times over the years. The RV and tent areas are separate and both are maintained in tip-top shape. This is a county park and is, in fact, the only public campground in Morris County. The ranger is wonderful and lives on site during the summer months. The park is open year round but does not have water or sewage dumps in the winter. You can get potable water year round at the bathroom facility. This is a great weekend getaway and is also quite popular with hunters during hunting seasons. There ARE bears around and they are not afraid to check out your campsite. One peered into my tent, saw a cooler there and trashed the tent trying to get at it. All the food was sealed. There are great hiking trails. My only reservations about this park is that all sites are back-in. Trees can make it very difficult to do so. In addition, campfires are not permitted in the RV area, though they are in the tent area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Another great weekend. I have reviewed before but wanted to add some more comments. Hiking, mountain biking, geocaching, its all here. This time around we stayed on site # 12. This site is higher then all of the others so satellite TV worked along with over the air television reception (channel 7 out of new york). If you want a site close to the bathhouse then sites 4 & 5 are for you. Sites 1 through 8 will require over 50' of hose to reach the spigot. Sites with water in a "normal" distance away are 10,12,14 & 16. Note that on site #14 the picnic table is a little far from the camping pad (all sites are paved). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
955 Weldon Road, Jefferson Township, NJ. 17 RV sites, 8 tent sites, 4 Adirondack Sites (9X11 lean-to). RV sites and tent sites on different loops. Lovely forested 3200 acre park. Paved interior roads and RV sites. Spacious, well separated sites, each with picnic table and charcoal grill, no ground fires. Open all year. Water to sites is off in winter, comes on in May--on some sites, may be 30 feet or more to water hookup. Dump station. We had about a dozen HD over the air channels, two bar Verizon signal. Bear warnings posted. We will come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$18
Water was turned due to cold weather. Still great place to stay. Lots of deer and bear all around the area. Don't feed them! Clean showers an plenty of hot water. Ranger does great job of keeping everything as it should be. We will stay again, soon I hope. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
The Camp Host is available 2-5pm M-F and 8-5 Saturday. Spent two weeks here. Has a dump station. There is a library 2 miles north with internet service. DO NOT FEED THE BEARS. Deer and bear will walk by your site. Heavy woods: no dish access and TV reception is poor. Radio is not great either. Bring your videos or walk the wooded trails and enjoy nature. Stay here each year we come to New Jersey. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
We stayed here for a weekend (two nights) in April. Great campground for what we like: hiking, mountain bicycling, photography, geocaching. Many miles of hiking trails. There is also picnic area / pavilion within walking distance if you have a larger group. The tent and RV sites are not next to one another. We didn't use the bathhouse but I did check it out: very clean. The RV sites are heavily wooded. Note: water is not available at each site. The sites where you could have water hookups within 50' of your camper / RV are 10,12,14 and 16. This campground is also not far from I-80. You would take Rt 15 north to Weldon Road, around a 10 minute drive from I-80. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
We enjoyed our three-night stay. RV camping is separated from the tent camping. This park is not for those who want a resort atmosphere. The park is heavily wooded and has plenty of walking/hiking trails. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com