214532 User submitted reviews online!!
Water Sports RV Park & Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (620) 225-8044
CGID1141

Water Sports RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
56
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   5   2   5   8   9   7   10   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
The best thing about this park is it's proximity to downtown Dodge. Just blocks to downtown. The park is reasonably clean and well maintained. The operators are friendly and helpful. You do have to drive through a older lower class part of town with mobile homes to get to the park, but once you arrive the WiFi works great and the rates are reasonable. The on site laundry has plenty of newer washing machines to take care of your laundry needs. The adjoining lake that inspired the park's name has succumbed to the drought that has been affecting the great plains and has completely dried up. Not much the park owners can do about that. So leave your swimsuit and fishing pole at home. Picnic tables are provided at most sites, and although there are several poorer condition long-termers, I was quite comfortable here. This is not a resort park but unless you are a appearance snob this park will meet your needs for a place to stay in Dodge. I would stay again without any qualms. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$32
This was my first stop in living in my camper and I was very pleased with the park. It was clean and quite. While the mobile home park adjacent to the park is older it was quiet. It may not be the most scenic place but I would highly recommend it to others. Staff was great and shower/bathrooms were very clean and comfortable. The washer and dryers worked great and inexpensive. The only negative is a burned out camper still sitting in the middle of the park. No watersports anymore also. I stayed 2 weeks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$21
First of all, the bathroom and shower area were some of the cleanest I've used in a LONG time. The staff at the onsite little convenience store was friendly and helpful. Campsite had good WiFi access. Those are the plus factors! Campsite was small - no table included. Cable had been cut off months ago but hadn't been taken off their website (we wanted cable to catch up with some programs). There was a "sewer" smell daily, at different times, but cleared up as time went by. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2013
$24
Very disappointed in this camp ground. It is in a very bad neighborhood. The whole camp ground just looks trashy. When I had a problem with the internet, the staff basically threw up their hands and said not our problem, maybe we will get it fixed tomorrow. Be careful how long you say you are going to stay. If you are not happy with things, there are no refunds! A lot of the occupants here are 'living' here. If you are looking for a friendly campground, I suggest you move on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
This place is pretty run down, however the people are friendly. We laughed so hard my wife nearly peed her pants when we saw " THE LAKE ". They have paddle boats and stuff to rent. There is not a drop of water in the lake, NOT A DROP... We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$24
We stayed here only one night. We came for the Boot Hill museum and the casino. This campground is located next to a lake and the area is designed as a seasonal water sports club that has a number of year round RV's on site that are only occupied during the warmer months. Plus there are a number of year round residents in Mobile Homes. They are in the process of expanding also. Staff was very friendly and gave us no squawk when we told them we wouldn't be leaving until late evening on check out day. Don't go here hoping to get wet in the lake as with many parts of Kansas we are entering our third year of drought and the lake is completely dry as is the Arkansas river that runs next to the lake. Overall it's not a bad area and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
I think this park is a great find. The staff was exceptionally friendly. The facilities were very clean and well kept. The spaces were nice sized pull throughs with room for slides. Full hook-ups included Wi-Fi & basic cable. The on-site laundry was one of the nicer ones that I've used. They also sold some convenience items in the office, like ice, milk, soda, etc., a nice thought that saved me a trip to the store a couple times. Don't be put off by the negative reviews out there, it's a nice place to stay. Yes, the lake was mostly dried up but that is no fault of the RV park, it's like that all over Kansas. There are mobile homes on the other side of the park but it was no different than any other mobile home park out there and definitely not a reason to feel unsafe. We stayed here for three weeks and we were very happy with our stay. We will return if in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
In 1974, this must have been a primo vacation spot! That's the impression we get from all the old mobile homes - once upon a time. This park had good utilities. The facilities were so nice and clean. The road in is not so great. Sites are pretty small but level. Sadly the lake is a victim of the terrible Kansas drought. The owners tried to pump water in, but the drought won. It's close enough to bike or walk to the attractions. The camp hosts are so friendly and are just glad to meet you. We didn't see the aforementioned negative signs. The trains are close. The laundry room is very clean and had 6 high efficiency washing machines. They appear to be expanding the RV park, so perhaps in time, the mobile homes will be cleaned up or phased out. We did not feel unsafe at all. Everyone we met was friendly and kind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
While the lake is suffering from the severe Kansas drought, and the esthetics of the mobile home park may trouble someone, we gave this campground an excellent rating. The staff are efficient, helpful, courteous and friendly. The sites are level and well kept. The laundry facilities are superb. Don't even bother going else where. The shower facilities are clean and in good condition. The site store has a good selection of basic RV supplies, snacks and basic food items. Our stay was for several months, and we never once felt unsafe or unsure of leaving our RV unattended. They are just an extension of the overall impression we have of Dodge City. It is a very friendly town with citizens who are helpful and courteous. I am not certain of the actual nightly rate as we paid a monthly rate, though I believe this is within the ball park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
I called for reservation just for the night, she said no problem: if I arrived after *pm there would be a map and my site number listed with my name. When I arrived it was exactly as she had said, found site, close to office and bath area. Pull through site with plenty of room for both vehicles. My only issue with this park is that there were lots of old mobile home trailers and other, not so pleasant looking permanent sites that gave it a rather uncomfortable feel. For just me and my husband it was a concern as we are moving and had several items in the back of the trucks. Though nothing was stolen we didn't sleep well as we were constantly listening for something outside. I am only rating it this low because with this being an RV camp, driving in past a bunch of trailer homes that looked as though they were falling down was very unnerving. Staff was wonderful and reservation was flawless, my Good Sams membership was honored, they just need to clean up the surrounding area better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Ugh. What a sad place. Only a few RV spaces - the rest are permanent trailers, rusting yard cars and scary looking sites. No way would I come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Very nice and quiet private campground. They have full hookups. There is a great lake area for boating, swimming, and fishing. Would recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
Run down and trashy. Power was inadequate and would continually fall below 100 volts. Would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$19
Scary looking place. Lots of junky trailers and other permanent stuff. Bathrooms and showers are clean but outdated. Great WI-FI and cable. If they would clean up or kick out all the riff Raff this place would be nice. Don't know where the horrible smell is coming from, the lake? We would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
A gorgeous spot, and the staff was super nice. I didn't even know it was Good Sam so I missed the 10% discount, but hey, $18 for a lake front site! What's not to like. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
This park had a number of eyesores and the lake next to it is so trashy and smelly that I would not set a foot in it. The water pressure is low and the park has that junkyard look to it. Staff were more than friendly and helpful but the grounds need a major overhaul. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$19
Appears to be an older park with some trashy trailers. Close to Dodge City activities. Our site (#12) was barely enough for our big rig. During our visit, an offensive odor drifted from the processing plants. Friendly staff. Ask for AAA or Good Sam discount. We camped for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
A basic park with much of the property reserved for seasonal sites along the lake. Our pull through site was very long, but a little narrow to park the truck next to the trailer. Large fields are available for pet walking and a nice enclosed pet run. Short term visitors can fish for free in the lake, but can not boat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$19
A rather plain park; hosts were friendly and helpful. For the $19 rate, this is a suitable park. The biggest drawback was that the first row of sites is on a street that actually is used as a through street--traffic was obtrusive at times, and even school buses ran through in the a.m. and stirred up a lot of dust on the dirt road. We would have rated it higher had it not been for the traffic noise and dust. Sites are a bit short for longer rigs (ours is 42'); utilities were reliable and there are convenience items in the on-site store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2004
$10
Just a so, so park. The area is rather run down. Okay for a one night stop. Interesting sights in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2002
$20
We drove through this park without even considering stopping, and we're not THAT picky! In order to get to the RV sites, you must first drive through a crowded and rundown mobile home park. The RV park is not much better. The vast majority of the sites appeared to be occupied by permanent residents living in poorly maintained rigs. We opted to stay at the Gunsmoke, and were told by the owners here that permanent residents had become somewhat of a problem in the area, which had prompted them to stop advertising a monthly rate. I recommend the Gunsmoke for traveling RVers. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$18
A very pleasant surprise for a campground not well rated by the "directories". On a man made lake, created by a sand company that filled the hole with water. - Not a small lake, fed from wells with nice bass and other fishing. Since we didn't have our toad, the owner shuttled us back and forth to the museum, boot hill and other. Actually colocated with a trailer park but well positioned so that rv park has lake priority and trailer park doesn't come into play. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com