223598 User submitted reviews online!!
El Dorado State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (316) 321-7180
CGID1143

El Dorado State Park

Camp Information
Sites
1046
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   7   7   7   7   9   7   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
The bath house was locked so we couldn't get in to take a shower - ended up showering in the motorhome. The grass had not been cut even though it was the Labor Day . It is ok for an overnight stay, but would not want to stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
We stayed in Walnut River, in the Big Oak section in a water/electric only site. The positives: able to reserve for sites online through the KDWP site, with many sites to choose from. Wonderful large fully shaded sites in the Big Oak section with a walking bridge over to the very nice sandy clean-water beach. The walking trails are nice sidewalks along the pretty wooded stream area. Utilities worked well, and though it was crowded on the weekend we found it to be pretty quiet. The negatives: the campground had quite a bit of litter probably from endless strong Kansas winds and the fact that state funding for maintenance has been cut. Also, the restroom/shower was quite awful. Very very dirty and needing attention. Next time we will for sure stay in a campsite with full hookups and avoid the showerhouse altogether. The shower house at the beach was a little better, and the new one by the playground was closed due to vandalism and need of repair. But we will definitely happily return to this campground. It's a great place to camp with wonderful shade. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$19
We were the only one in the Quail Run loop for 3 nights. Lots of room per campsite, table, grill and fire pit. Space was pretty level -- only needed 2 levelers squares. Bath/Shower house was odd to me as this is the first I've seen with no ceiling over the small showers. It's just you and the sky! Showers are also small with no doors or curtains. Would not have used if others were camped and for this reason I will not come back although everything else was great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$21
This was the second Kansas State Park I've stayed at. I was in the Frontier loop. Again the park seems trashy. Bits of paper and trash around and the mowers run over the larger pieces of trash making a lot of small trash. I guess a "Premium" site is one that has sewer other wise there isn't much to make a site "Premium". There are a lot of construction workers in this loop. Evidently you can lease a site for 6 months. So much for the 14 and 28 day rule. This place is good for stopping for just a night or two. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
The camp Ground Holst was very nice to talk too. The park was very quiet, nice big sites (back in's). I saw a lot of wild turkeys but not any deer. The park's roads were a little bumpy, but paved. According to the park Holst this state park area has the most camp sites of any state parks in the USA. You do have to pay a state user fee of $4.25 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$21
We usually camp in Bluestem camping area of this state park, but this time chose the Walnut River camping area below the dam. We absolutely loved this campground. Most sites are along the river and heavily shaded. Many sites have full hook-ups. There is a swim beach and really nice new playground equipment. Cabins are also available. There are many very nice walking trails along the river and through the wooded areas. These trails are smooth cement and have lots of places along the way for fishing and benches for sitting. Very lovely area. So glad we chose to camp here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
This park should really be reviewed as four separate parks since there are four, very different camping areas. We stayed at the Walnut River area since it was the only area with water available in late October. The sites at Walnut River range from water and electric only, to full hookups. There are spaces where you can stay two weeks and others where you can spend the season. Some of the spaces are level but many of them are very unlevel. There is obviously a lot of deferred maintenance with some electrical boxes taped with yellow caution tape. In many ways, it has more the feel of a county park than a state park. The campground could use some cleanup. There was quite a bit of trash around. One of the host sites was very trashed: never a good sign. As noted in earlier reviews, the payment system is very difficult to figure out. The sign at the front gate said no credit cards, debit cards, or out-of-state checks were acceptable. That turned out to be for entry only. Out-of-state checks were OK for camping. There is a self registration kiosk, but that was for entry payment only. We could not find the camp host. Another camper said she would come around later for payment, which she did. It would be nice to have a simple sign saying to take a site and someone would come around to collect. By the way, the host said they were going on a reservations system next year. There is a maximum security correctional facility about a mile from the campground, if that is an issue for you. There is also a tornado siren just across the street. This is an urban park with views of houses across the street. Having said that, the park was nice and quiet at night. We would stay here again but only for a night passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
We camp at this lake often. Lots of trees and shade. Can pick up all of the Wichita Hi-Def TV stations over the antenna. This park can get very windy at times but that's just the Kansas weather for you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$21
Wow: this place is great! It is one of the nicest state parks we have stayed in anywhere. Has full hookups with good 50 amp electric. The sites are long and level, and well defined with lots of space between. We stayed in the Eagle Pass campground below the dam. El Dorado State Park has over 1000 campsites spread among several campgrounds around the lake. This is definitely the place to stay when visiting Wichita. as it is only about a 25 minute drive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$17
We camped in the Walnut Creek section. It was a very nice campground with modern facilities. We had a very large site, full hookups. Our only complaint was trying to figure out how to pay for the site! The park's entrances all had kiosks, but no one was there (probably because it is November). There was a self-pay slot, but the prices varied by the type of site, so we couldn't pay in advance as we didn't know what type of site we'd be in. So we drove in, chose a site intending to go back and pay, and THEN found out we were supposed to pay the campground host -- but only because we made a wrong turn and drove by the host's site where a sign said, "pay here.". A sign stating that at the kiosk would have saved us a lot of confusion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$17
We loved this park and added one more night to our stay. Beautiful walking paths. We stayed in the Walnut River area. My only complaint is that the electrical hook-up was located between the water spigot and sewer drain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
This state park has many campgrounds located around the lake. We stayed in a remodeled (within the last 2 years) campground located closest to Scenic Byway KS 177 just south of tall cell tower. I believe the campground is described as group/equestrian. All the sites were 50 amp with water and back-in. This campground has both open and partially shaded sites. Paved interior roads and grave/grass sites each with a hanging pole, picnic table, and cook grille. There is a camp host on site. A dump station is located near the entry gate of other campground sections about 1 mile north. Must pay entry fee for each vehicle in addition to camping fee. Annual passes are available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$23
A great campground especially if you like water sports. Clean well kept campgrounds with trails and swimming beaches. There is great shade in the area below the dam. Close to the Wichita area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
We had a very hard time finding campgrounds. Once we found them, there was no one at the check in booth. We had to stop and read all the instructions and try to figure out what to pay. We finally found a camp host and they checked us in. Very nice hosts. We had to back in or drive clear around the lake to find a pull through. There were many workers out here. They obviously drank way to much and got noisy at times. Camp grounds appear fairly clean. However, the bathrooms were full of spiders and were filthy. We decided to just use our own. The lake is designed for families, weekend parties, and workers who want to hang out and drink. We probably won't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
This is a great state park. Tons of sites. Very well maintained and manicured. Fantastic trails and outdoor resources available (biking, fishing...). We only stayed 1 night and wished we had given ourselves more time at the park. Very conveniently located just a couple miles off I-35. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$21
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$17
This campground has a lot to offer with lakeside campsites that have hookups and are mostly pull-through type sites. There is a moderate amount of shade available and the sites are quite large. There is ice and firewood available as well as daily newspaper. Groceries and WalMart are close by in ElDorado. Without a dish we were able to get 9 TV stations which was nice. The shorelines are very accessible for watercraft and swimming. We had a very good experience camping here and will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$14
Sites fronting lake are excellent. Sites across the road from lake can experience soft mud when it rains and are close together. Only a few sites can be reserved. Lots of opportunity for water sports including swimming, boating, jet-skies and fishing. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2000
$18
Very nice state park with many pull thrus handling 36' 5th and p/u. Nice lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com