219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Emporia RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (620) 343-3422
CGID1146

Emporia RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
36
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   10   1   3   6   4   7   4   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
This RV park is basically the only choice in the area. It is very close to the interstate which is great for a quick stop but also has some noise from traffic (really wasn't bad). Only a block from Flying J and close to town. Grocery store about 1 mile away and many restaurants. We recommend Gambinos pizza. We camped here two nights to attend the local county fair. This campground is basically a gravel parking lot. They have cable TV if you can get the cable box to work. The Wi-Fi might work if you are in the first space or two next to the office but too weak to reach into the park. They have a nice park-like play area, self service laundry. Spaces are close together but it wasn't crowded so it didn't seem to be a problem. No campfires or fire rings. Management seemed OK but not overly friendly. We would stay here again if needed. We paid $28 a night with Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
Very nice, convenient campground. Great place for a break. Clean, nice pull-throughs. Only drawback is it's next to Kansas turnpike so there is some traffic noise, but overall a decent place. Staff very helpful. We recommend this as a good convenient place for a break. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$29
Check in was speedy and easy. Staff was pleasant, friendly, and informative. The park was small in size but was well maintained. Laundry facilities were great with sufficient equipment, a laundry tub basin, and most importantly adequate chairs. Access to the grounds was easy as well as exiting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
I try to be fair when reviewing campgrounds, but this was a tough one. First of all, the office was closed when we arrived, but there was a note in the door directing us to our site. The manager came by later to collect and was a rude person. The site was long enough for our RV & car with W/S/50AMP/WIFI, but no cable although it was advertised as included. This campground is in between 1-35 on one side and Hwy. 50 on the other, and also a railroad crossing out back. Very, very noisy. All the sites are side by side. The site next to us set up a dog fence with 2 big dogs, and it was almost at our door step. That's what I call really close and rude. The whole place is dirty and scruffy, even the dirt is dirty. Trailer Life rates this 7.5/8.5/6.5. I think they need to take a closer look. Worse place we have ever stayed; glad to leave early next morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
We arrived about 3:30 on a Friday, and never saw the manager, so we finally did a night check-in. Park is bounded by state highway and turnpike with a railroad nearby; Very noisy and narrow sites . Some sites only had about 4 feet of crab-grass between them. Seemed to be a nice play area on one side, but it had a neglected look along with the rest of the park. Several rigs appeared as if they rented by the year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$29
Fine for an overnight. Lots of road noise. Find your site and settle in. Office staff shows up at 4 pm. Sites fairly close together. Would stay again, but only for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
OK for a quick overnight stay but too overpriced for what you get. Park needs some TLC to charge $33 a night. Very noisy from the interstate and trains sounding all night. Wi-Fi signal in space 14 was so poor we couldn't use it. Extra charge for 50 amp service. Old RV's were stored across from our site and had grass growing around them. Parks website makes it look much nicer than it really is. Wouldn't recommend for anything other than a quick overnight stop. Best thing about it was the friendly lady that took our information over the phone for our late arrival. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
We are Good Sam members so we got $3.00 off the quoted rate. Park is nothing to shout about but was clean and easy to get in and park. Wi-Fi work well and was a 9 on a scale of 1 to 10. We stay here on occasion, when we do not want to drive all the way to KCMO in one day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
Park is extremely noisy next to interstate. Lot of full time trailers. Level and clean, but in a decline. Might stay there overnight only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Nice plan jane park for overnight. Sites are right beside interstate so expect truck noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
I wouldn't want to stay here very long the traffic noise from the turnpike and trains were a nuisance. The staff was very friendly, the park was clean and neat. The cable was fuzzy but the WI-FI worked great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
If you have no where else to stay, this campground will work. It's fine for a place to sleep and get off the road. The site is for permament type campers and has a lot of government issued trailers. I think they got a good deal on them and rent them out. The road noise and train noise was unreal. The best thing about this site was that the sites were level. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
I agree with the other post, but for a place to stop it was alright. We had site 20 and were not affected by road noise. The staff was friendly on check in. We would use the park again for this price. If the price goes up we would move on to find a different park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
Very old KOA that is about 50% permanent. Looks bad but it worked for my one night. It is tight, but had many transient big rigs. If I could I would not stay again but then again it was not the worst I have been in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
The entrance to this park is extremely uninviting and looks like a run-down trailer park. There are many long-term units in the park in poor condition. Sites are crowded although level and of adequate length. There is a lot of highway noise both day and night. We stayed here two nights, out of necessity, but would not recommend this campground to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
There are not many choices for parks in this area of Kansas. They were a KOA years ago. Bathrooms were terrible. Park has many permanent residents living there, to me this is not a good sign. We would not return and cannot recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This is just an okay overnight stop. The road nose is terrible. We are facing the Turnpike and hear every truck that goes by. The sites are very tight as are the roads to the sites. One seasonal put his satellite dish on the utility pole by the edge of the road making it nearly impossible to swing wide enough to get into the site across from it. The sites are very narrow and it is difficult to get the slides out and the basement door open near the electric post. They also have posts on each side of the sites, front and back which makes the swing in and out of the site a problem. We are in site 27 and took that site because the lady in the office told us it would be easier to get out because there were no lots across from us. However, they allow cars to park across from the sites on the edge of the road which does make it difficult to swing wide enough to get out with a car in tow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Gravel sites. Some road noise. Friendly owner. No shade. Good short stay park that is unremarkable otherwise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
This was a reasonable place convenient to the Interstate, but surprisingly quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2008
$1
We were going to stay here but after arriving and seeing the park we went into town and stayed at Wal-Mart. Looks like a camp for construction workers, lots of cars/trucks parked everywhere. Also looked like they had been there a long time. The office was closed so we drove thru to look at the sites and with the other vehicles there we wouldn't have been able to get out of the site if we had found one that was long enough for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
This park is a seasonal place with a lot of semi-permanent guests. It is a pretty run-down place and I would not recommend it except for a one night only stopover. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
We stayed here for 2 nights on our way to Texas for the winter. It is a nice clean park. Easy access. Will stay here again on our way North or South. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$24
Was ranked fairly well with others but we found it not to our liking. Staff was friendly, however, wi-fi is very limited to first few rows only and the "coveted" facing the green belt locations are now blocked with an array of derelict trailers and vehicles that appear on longer (at least monthly) stays. One of the occupants right out our window urinated on a tree next to his site. Overnight OK since there are few to choose from . . . but more than a late evening, I would not go again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$22
Spaces were back to back and close together. It was also near several highways but the A/C drowned the noise out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$28
Park was OK. A little too close to the interstate and noisy but, AC took care of that. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$20
Heard that this was a very poor park, but enroute from Minnesota to Texas, there is nothing else in the area. Was surprised to find that the park was comfortable, but was close to the freeway. We were afraid the noise would keep us up, but, being tired and the A/C helped with what little noise filtered through. Park had a very nice looking green area that allows tents in a very nice shaded area. There were no shade trees around the trailer sites. Had cable and very clean (even better than some chain parks) restroom/showers, along with great water pressure in the showers. All sites were gravel/dirt and with the Kansas wind, things got alittle dusty. We would stay there again without hesitation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2001
$17
Very narrow pull thru sites though long enough. There is a pond. Would rate as "fair" though our log on this cg may be influenced by the fact that we pulled into the cg on the morning of 9/11/01 and spent the rest of the day watching the all the newscasts off satellite. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com